Quote of the day: On Islamic Banking | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 July 2011

Quote of the day: On Islamic Banking

“Lawmakers failed to ask the CBN governor very probing questions about the workability of the Islamic bank, the plot to Islamise the country which has already begun by re-introduction of Arabic symbols in the nation’s currency notes, and why Lamido Sanusi is using state funds to promote Islamic banking.” - Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor, National President, Christian Association of Nigeria.

48 comments:

Islamic banking is simply banking that does not use interest in its lending practices.

If anyone has an issue with this, there's definitely a challenge.

Me said...

Seriously, it really pisses me off when educated Nigerians become cave men in the face of religion, first and foremost, Islamic banking is a legitimate form of banking done accross the world and it is an option, not by force, we need to move forward in this country, these are the things that keep us backward.

shola pacheco said...

With all due respect, this man should give it a rest,he should get some research done on Islamic banking and how it works in other developed countries. Nigeria already has religious issues and statements like these are not healthy for the existence of this nation..He should concentrate on his religious role and stop hopping on political wagons he shouldn't be on.

If he wants to help, he can use his position to help the less privileged, lobby with necessary authorities to light-up Nigeria and other pressing issues et al.
Sigh!!! all these religious leaders who want to be economist over night. There is absolutely nothing wrong with Islamic banking, Christianity is about love and tolerance,his quotes over the last few months on Islamic banking and political issues will do more harm than good.

true talk pastor ayo wish y'all can see it from the angle he's seeing it from

Rasheeia said...

Ignorance

You! said...

Linda you are quite intolerant and you keep promoting intolerance on your blog. You obviously have no understanding on many issues. It's time to open your mind! Like Me said, people like this make us sooo backward.

Have a paper degree doesnt make you educated. Morons abound in Nigeria, and to think someone like this is leading a flock. Actually CBN made a colossal mistake, they should have just called it "Non-interest banking" simple. That way these fools wont be able to incite anything.

yeah..CBN shoulda just said non interest banking and all this hullabaloo would have stopped. I'm a xtian and i'd be the first to "subscribe" with them when they open. about time these shylocks have competition

9jaFOODie said...

This is the most ignorant statement I have read in a while, makes my head hurt :(

I stopped taking these pasotrs serious since they confirmed their pro-establishment status.All this CAN and PFN should register with INEC and contest elections.As a Christian,they do not respresent me,one bit.They are just pressure groups that ad to the problem instead of aiding in solutions.Even the pulpit will not be spared the coming revolution.
SLS just change the name to 'non interest banking' so we can move unto more important issues.

I am not a muslim but i see proffessed christians misunderstand what is known about islamic banking. it is smiply non intrest banking which was practised in the old testament of the bible. It is not by force, it is an option you can chose from. a depositor in such bank is like a shareholder and and would partake in profit sharing when the bank declares profit and when one takes loan from such bank that person does not pay intrest rather when profit is made both the the bank and the deptor share profit after repaying the loan. The only problem that would occur is that of trust in nigeria which may cripple the institution and cause it to die out. So there is no need to be scared those who say it is a means to islamise this country are just ignorant and causing chaos. nigeria cannot be islamitized the constitution forbid the adoption of a national religon and nigeria being a member of organisation of islamic countries is simply for the common wealth of nigerian muslim an expression of international fredom of association. So i dont see where the panic is coming from. It does not stop christian from practising their fath and doing their business.

Why Islamic banking?..Why is the name not Christianity Banking...Dont call the pastor names but the so called people that initiated the stupid name or institution...Why make it religious when there are a lot of religious wars going on in the country...

doll (retired blogger) said...

interest free banking that. this is a non-issue

Please let me ask, why must it be called islamic banking? I dont care what many of you so called educated people know islamic banking n all. i bet most of you are muslims, not like is a bad thing. But if you claim to be educated,then you should have suggested a better name just like anonymous 4.31 and 4.38. Why isn't called christian banking instead or islamic /christian banking??

My candid opinion is, since our beloved country have 2 major religions and in order to avoid any form of discrimination, sensitivity or whatsoever, the name of that bank should be renamed....simply.

I think those going against Islamic banking because of the name should simply found christian banking, just like they have founded Redeemed University and the like.CBN would regulate it. The name is Islamic Banking all over the world. Why didnt the Muslim say they were "christianising" Nigeria when we all rest on Sundays and saturdays(as holiday of the week) why NOT on Fridays and Sundays?. The Muslim didnt complain when NUC was giving the christian schools licenses to establish Universities, and there are Muslims going to those schools, infact schooling in the Christian University is more of christianising Nigeria than Islamising Nigeria with Islamic Banking if at all it exist.Foolish people should just go and ponder on the things which Unite us rather that labouring on what would divides us.

James said...

One can be a Pastor by profession but not such in heart. But all in all they can only be known by their fruit.

KELE GOLDMIND said...

The man of God is right, ...why the name, "Islamic banking" when there is countless, nameless religions in Nigeria - I hope he is not trying to fan the amber of disunity or regionalization of Nigeria economy, give it a better name for christ-sake!, 'cos God should be for every man!

James said...

One can be a Pastor by profession but not such in heart. But all in all they can only be known by their fruits.

Dike said...

This man is irresponsible.

CAN had better find a more reasonable leader. He's not helping matters.

I don't take Nigeria seriously these days.

why is no body talking about the arabic writings on the note, who speaks arabic in nigeria

Bee said...

Nonsense man....trying to incite violence for no reason.

babe said...

exactly y the arabic inscription on the naira and again y is the sharia association saying it would go to war if this banking system does not see the light of the day(http://allafrica.com/stories/201107260666.html)?

i think we shld read in btwn the lines

Hmmm Linda! now I understand that your beauty of the day should be renamed "Joke of the day"

the cbn governor lamido sanusi is the confusionist. sometimes l wanna believe the guy has a 'hidden' agenda'. the man talk's too, too much.

cbn governor of most country are not news makers. they talk policy. and, when it's absolutely necessary. sanusi seems to reel and love to hear himself speak all the time. everyday, you see him in noting less that 4newspaper saying all sorts.

Islamic banking is noting new in Nigeria. habib bank, and so many finance companies, including fola adeola's wife finance company publicly sell sold islamic banking product and people of all religion buy into it.

in this time of boko haram terrorizing the country why do the cbn governor make endless issue about islamic banking....islamic banking....islamic banking all over the place.

why cant the cbn give whoever passes its benchmark the authority to sell Islamic banking product without all the attendant noise and grandstanding.

l have always wonder what could be the effect of sensible comment as this one from the can president versus boko haram/Muslim sentiments for oragainst Islamic banking. more than anything it is the cbn governor endless comments and cho....cho....cho like parrot that could inflame the nation not comments from people like can president.

when government give lifeline to the oceanic and co, the man will not allow appointed head rest, so, so talk today, abuse tomorrow. he's always breathing down their neck saying so many negative things about the banks. this is the the same bank you put taxpayers money, and the same bank you want investors to buy into; which investor will put its money in a bank that by ur endless statement you dont even believe in?. you give them food and follow it up with 'purge medicine'

anyway, what do you expect from a guy with 4 wives?

methinks said...

for those who have issues with the name, it was named so because the idea came about as a result of an injunction from God in the Quran, so like we always do in life, whatever/whoever makes an idea, we name it after (Newtonian law of motion, Pythagoras theorem, Einstein's law of relativity, Murphy's law and gbo gboe gbogboe). the idea was gotten from Islam itself not the Prophet (pbuh), else it would probably have been called Mohammedan banking or something like that. the truth is there are different kinds of non-interest banking but the peculiarity of Islamic banking are kinds of businesses it abhors and would not be part of e.g gambling, alcohol, excessive speculations etc (all those yeye biz that tear at the moral fabric of the society).

Omuwa said...

Anon 5:26, your comment is so heart rending. How did you become so ignorant... Information is so readily available and here you are parading ignorance...smh

If we should rename islamic banking which is a product we might as well rename tomato and fish and shoes and dresses...whatever we feel like.

Rio of informationnigeria.org said...

Promoting non-interest banking under the name "Islamic banking" was a colossal mistake that CBN shouldn't have made. While Islamic banking may be a good move to all intents and purposes, Nigeria is under far too much religious tension for the Government to push any agenda that seems to give "preference" to any religious group. Sadly, as a result of this the Supreme Council for Sharia in Nigeria is now threatening to war against Christians over this Islamic banking thing. *smh*.

Adebola said...

@ Rio of informationnigeria.org, well said, my thoughts exactly. I know there are Islamic Banks here in Europe and other parts of the world, functioning well, but in a country like Nigeria, am afraid it is not the right move especially with what is going on right now, ie Boko haram, and the recent post election crisis. Also the arabic symbols on the Naira note, that just gives superiority to one religion over another, and you can understand why people might feel threatened by this, but unfortunately people on this blog dont feel the same, which makes a bit worried!

if its 'simply non interest banking' the why is it called islamic banking??? i'm confused, u guys seem to be missing the point, Nigeria is slowly becoming turned into a muslim state and it is an agenda by some muslim leaders and people with power in nigeria, some use force e.g. boko haram, others use influence... room should be made for us to live in peace and not gradual Islamization

Dosumu said...

People keep attacking Pastors but can't point out any credible Imam in Nigeria. Remember the fast one those phony Imams pulled during Yar'Dua saga.
All this back door move to Islamize Nigeria isn't going anywhere. More than 50% of Nigerian's are against Islamic Banking. If truly Sanusi (Imam of CBN) wants it, he can use the proceeds gotten from groundnuts and cows to fund it.
PS: Islamic Banking is subjected to Sharia Laws meaning the growth of Sharia in Nigeria.

Abdullahi said...

The world will be a better place without people forcing their beliefs and religion in an imaginary friend on us (namely Allah).

Its not about being literate or not. Unfortunately, Nigeria has a history of religious intolerance unlike other countries.
well lets see how many christains they take as customers? they lend money to. from the reputation of the north, i think nil. they bought sharia in and stated that it was only meant for moslems in the north. Now they say it applies to everyone.he does have a point. they should not be putting arabic symbols on the currency.What he should do is produce a special currency for sharia dominated states. Thats what they have done in England and Scotland.

dada said...

1. funny thing is if it were called christianity banking, it wud b a non issue for the "men of God"

2. islamic banking is one of the things that made south africa's economy as good as it is today. however it was founded to get the name islamic banking i don't know but they do it in the UK too.

3. christians, islamic banking is not going to take your money and give it to the muslims, don't be scared.

4. if you do not want to bank there... by force ko ni... there is gtb, first bank, zenith, uba, so on and so forth.

5. linda ikeji is a blog writer, she has a right to put up stories she doesn't support. just so you all know the gist she heard. because YOU don't support it doesn't mean other people reading this don't.

6. i think religion should stick to its own religion. stop dabbling in celebritism, politics, economy stuff e.t.c just do what God sent you to do, don't deviate, win souls don't win ignorance.

monty said...

From the comments above. I can easily decipher that most of the guys here are overfed buffoons. The Pastor raised a pertinent concern. I have legitimate concerns too about Islamic interest-free banking system in Nigeria. I'm neither a religious bigot nor am I intolerant to other people's opinion. These are some of my concerns about the interest-free banking system:

1. How can the salary of the workers at the bank be paid? Where is the money coming from? Taxpayers?

2. How can the bank be able to deal with a default in payment by borrowers? Conventional Banks are even struggling in this aspect.

3. How can CBN checkmate people who will abuse the system by borrowing from a interest-free banks and fixing the money in an interest-generating bank(using a different Id) for the sole aim of making profit?

4. Can the practice be sustained on the long run without CBN coming to their rescue with taxpayers money? Given the precedents of Sanusi to rescue banks with taxpayers fund.

5. Will every Nigerians(no matter religion or tribe) be allowed to participate in interest-free bank?

6. If government refuses to rescue the bank in the event of insolvency; don't you think that conventional banks will be a target of violence by muslim extremists?

I have many more concerns and we have discussed this topic extensively in forums like nairaland. One thing I discovered about we Nigerians is that we are intellectually lazy. We tends not to look beyond the hype. We don't have technocrats as our representatives so they will hardly have any question to ask. We must imbibe the habit of looking beyond the HYPE into the micro issues that are involved which overtime gives rise to macro problems.

Linda.. Haba.. you truly wants to make your blog CONTROVERSIAL. This your quote of the day no be am...

@Omuwa....oh pls spare me tha rant of urs. I know all i should know about islamic banking and im no way ignorant about it. Dont be so insensitive my dear. U should know how sensitive things like this can be in Nigeria and that is all i am about. It should be simply be renamed plus i agree with monty, read his comment.

Joan said...

Thanks Monty. You have been able to express the concerns I have about it too. Nigerians should begin to realise that religion and tribal sentiments won't solve our problems.

Again, why do people love making negative comments about men of God, always wanting something to happen so they can be torn apart? Why all the insults on his person, when from your comments all you haters revealed your ignorance too.Can't he have an opinion again bcos he's a pastor?

When a muslim cleric says something, we all keep quiet cos we don't want to start something but if it's a christian, it becomes free for all. Pls, pls...

Besides, I don't believe any religion encourages insulting religious clerics whether we think they are wrong .

The issue here is Nigeria, okay?

lush said...

This comment simply means Islamic banking will be used out of its contest by the Muslims in the nearest future.

Developed countries have used it and it worked abi? But the last time I checked Nigeria is yet to be develop and religious crisis has been the order of the day. Whether or not its for the benefit of the nation I think there should be a governing body guiding its operations and rules so it's not used as another tactics for Muslims to act on again.

Come to think of it, they are all fighting for the good of us the Christians so I think you all who think this is a great idea should think out of the box for a minute and understand why they are fighting this cause.

For sure its a great idea (Non interest and all) but as for me, I think its going to turn into something else shekinan!!

i totally agree with monty, joan and lush. they have spoken really well. i could hug you guys. some people acream other are ignorant yet are unable to remain objective. they are just not interested in the truth or open to other's opinion. muppets. Nigeria is not ready for something like this, simple.

Clara

deeflamez said...

Its a lame idea. Rename it or simply SCRAP it it!!! shikena

mariamah said...

I am a christian, and i know that islamic banking is not bad,it is done all over the world,and it is supposed to improve the economy, it is just that i have a problem with the way it was presented.
1.When the CBN governor made a presentation to the senate and nigerians, he did not give reasons and advantages for islamic banking,all he went there to perove was that his predessesor started it, and all he is doing is continuing it.
2. Ignorance is causing a problem here too,a lot of people do not understand what islamic banking is,a lot of people are looking at it from a religious point of view.
3. The timing is a little bit off, not with the boko haram threat that nigeria is battling wit,coupled with the wroung utterance of the moslem leader.
For those of you that are confused about islamic banking, it is non interest banking,and any body, inrespective of religion, and ethnic group, can bank, work, ang loan there. People should try and look beyound the name.
The questions we should be asking is -:
1.How will the bank be run.
2.How will they pay salaries,since it is interest banking
3.what will the bank survive on 'and how.
The questions the pastor asked should not cause wahala, his questions should simply be answered cause a lot of people are asking the same questions.

Skillz said...

Pls help tell dis people,dat d only mistake Sanusi made was to call it ISLAMIC banking...Simple text NON-PROFIT BANKING....y are u all making a fuss we av better issues to discuss NEXT
In btw...its is not by force u cud put ur money in a KOLO for all we kia

Below is a principle of islamic banking; The interest charged at (gtb,etb,uba...) and the higher-than-market price islamic banks provide? KINI DIFFERENCE. Pls enlighten me

"Islamic banks handle loans for vehicles in a similar way (selling the vehicle at a higher-than-market price to the debtor and then retaining ownership of the vehicle until the loan is paid)".

If with only 2 major practicing religion we r avn issues den wat apens wen start practicing more dan 2...Dis is all abt maturity...

AT LEAST MONTY HAS MADE DE BEST SENSE IN ALL THIS. I JUST PITY PEOPLE INSULTING A MAN OF GOD.

please have a handshake with me monty for well analyzed observation.

as i read the comments, i couldn't help to notice how religious-bigoted most of the commenters are!

a man simply stated his fears, just unfortunately he happens to be the head of a christain flock. then the fanatics came out brandishing their dagger to kill!

you lots make me sick! you don't see above religion in this backward, godforsaken, babaric country of yours called NIGERIA! yes, it worked in other developed countries because they are not myopic like you all!

we all know, quite alright if it is allowed; the country would be further separated because nigerians in their usual manner would begin to discriminate saying it's OURS!

who is the moron that talked about christian universities? did the Muslims ever applied for a license and it was not given? how can they even have the money to build a university when they are marrying wives here and there and even 13years old and populating the country and buying weapons to kill their fellow nigerians in the name of their god!!

you abuse Christians yet they turn the other cheek but do same to a Muslim, they slaughter people like they do to their cows!

soludo should go and siddon o jare! he should think of improving the banking sector and NOT POURING MORE FUEL ON AN ALREADY BURNING INFERNO! NIGERIA IS ALREADY SITTING ON A KEG OF RELIGIOUS DYNAMITE,WAITING TO EXPLODE INTO SMITHEREENS, AND HERE ARE LOUD-MOUTHED ISLAMIC FAGGOTS SPEWING RUBBISH FROM THEIR MOUTH SINCE THEY CAN DIE AND GO TO SLEEP WITH VIRGINS IN THEIR OWN HEAVEN!

he should not be allowed PERIOD! thief! thief! people who don't want to pay interest! AWOOF DEY PURGE BELLY UNA HEAR?

People are so dumb! What are you waiting for? Are you waiting until they rename your country the Islamic Republic of Nigeria before you understand what their program has been all along? Or do you think that if Nigeria were to be called an Islamic republic it would be because everyone in the country was a muslim? Thats why some of you have been forced to rename yourselves Musa instead of Moses, and yet believe that it doesn't matter. Why don't you just go ahead and sell yourselves into the hands of your enemies and stop wasting your time writing useless comments about spiritual issues which you know nothing about?

j said...

@last anon God bless u
lush,monty et al you have said it all
people are ignorant in this country with their beer-parlour talk SMH

Are you all aware a bank was attacked in the north few weeks ago and money distributed to the "poor" by BH because they are against "western ideas" ,they are against banks that are not "islamic"
have you guys thought for a second what will happen to all the skye,gt,first,uba banks all over the north should this islamic banks come into effect

these animals will view them as christian banks,burn them and attack their staffs
I wonder sometimes if some people dont look at the big picture!
sigh