Nigerian Nnamdi Asomugha signs $60 Million 5year Deal With Philadelphia Eagles | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 July 2011

Nigerian Nnamdi Asomugha signs $60 Million 5year Deal With Philadelphia Eagles

Nnamdi Asomugha became the latest star cornerback to join the Eagles, signing a $60 million, five-year deal on Friday July 29, 2011.

One day after acquiring two-time Pro Bowl cornerback Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie from Arizona, the Eagles stunned the NFL world by landing Asomugha, a two-time All-Pro. Asomugha and Rodgers-Cromartie will team up with Asante Samuel, a four-time Pro Bowl pick, to form probably the best cover secondary in the league.

I'm claiming this one too, he's Nigerian. See him looking like Naeto C. Meanwhile, do these men ever come home? *cough*...:-)

Read more

33 comments:

Galore said...

No they dont come back *coughs*......@Linda wetin dey ur mind...

Noella said...

THIS YOUNG MAN HAS DIVINE FAVOUR ENCOMPASSING HIM..I WAS AT A TOWN FUNDRAISER WITH HIS MOTHER HERE IN LOS ANGELES TWO WEEKS AGO...AND THIS WOMAN WHO IS A WIDOW IS BY FAR THE MOST HUMBLE NIGERIAN WOMAN I HAVE EVER MET IN THIS US..BEAUTIFUL OLDER LADY WHO HAD ABSOLUTELY NO JEWELRY OR MAKE UP ON EXCEPT HER WATCH.....SHE RAISED HER FIVE KIDS WHO ALL ATTENDED IVY LEAGUE UNIVERSITIES ALONE, AFTER HER HUSBAND DIED...VERY STRONG, LOVING AND DEDICATED XTIAN WOMAN, WHOSE KIDS ARE ALL DOING HER PROUD, ESPECIALLY NNAMDI...AND U TELL ME GOD IS NOT ON HIS THRONE..HE DOESNT FAIL TO HONOR THOSE WHO DILIGENTLY SEEK HIM... AND IS THE FATHER OF THE FATHERLESS....HE HAS SEVERAL CHARITIES GOING ON IN NIGERIA....GOD IS WONDERFUL!!!

SMALL BOY WITH $60 MILLION CHINEKE DI EBUBE!!!

Kemiismyrealname said...

While I am not disputing the humble look of the mother - according to Noella, but I wonder why we judge people by their appearance? So if the woman was made up and bejewelled, would that diminish the fact that she brought up her 5 children without a husband to support her.

We must learn not to judge a book by it's cover. Congratulations to the young man and the best of the very best.

@Noella, you are exactly right! His mom, Auntie Lillian is so humble, its amazing, you'd never know who she is. Losing her husband in such an untimely manner with young kids in LA, and to see God really shower her with blessings. One thing is certain, she's extremely spiritual and Godly and so it makes sense, and so are her kids. Nnamdi is so humble, its absolutely fascinating, even with his last contract, nothing, you'd never know.

@Linda, yes they do, but abeg remove eye from this one, he's a good boy ;-)

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SEXY!!!!!

IGBO KWENU!!!

Noella said...

KEMIISMYREALNAME..IT IS PPL LIKE U THAT DON'T UNDERSTAND THE THE NUANCES IN STATEMENTS PPL MAKE....THERE ARE MANY NIJA WOMEN WHOM WHEN THAY THINK THEY HAVE ARRIVED LOOK LIKE MASQUERADES....SOMETIMES U CAN REALLY JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER....SOMETIMES WHEN A WOMAN IS OVERDRESSED AND BEJEWELLED IT REEKS OF WORLDLINESS AND VANITY!!!!....

HER HUMBLE APPEARANCE FURTHER REINFORCES HER GOD FEARING NATURE...AND YES MY DEAR SWEETHEART WHEN A WOMAN HAS NO MAKE UP EARRINGS OR JEWELS IT IS THE EPITOME OF HUMILITY..IN A SOCIETY WHERE EVERYONE LOOKS LIKE MASQUERADES WITH EXCESSIVE MAKEUP, GELES AND JEWELRY LOOKING LIKE XMAS TURKEYS...I WAS MAKING THE POINT THAT SHE IS A MODEST HUMBLE GOD FEARING SWEET LADY THAT EVERYONE CAN ATTEST TO...AND SHE IS REAPING THE REWARDS IN FORM OF WELL ACCOMPLISHED CHILDREN AND WELL ACCOMPLISHED HERSELF BEING A DOCTOR OF PHARMACY....

I GUESS YOU WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER OFF IF I CURSED HER OUT!!!

Noella said...

ANON@3:13 PM...I FEEL U MY DEAR SIS...U MUST BE IN THE LOS ANGELES AREA LIKE ME...AND U OBVIOUSLY KNOW THE FAMILY.AND UNDERSTAND EXACTLY THE POINT I WAS TRYING TO MAKE..

CHUKWU DEBE GI!!!

Linda, don't get your hopes up. People like him date African American celebrities or white girls!

sweetie said...

Hewooooo I don dream finish!make this boy come marry me na?chei!

Uche said...

Nnamdi is as humble as they come and well grounded with his foundations. He can sing igbo christain songs even though he has never lived in nigeria and helps out a lot of underpriviledged yanky kids. Kudos to him... humble and meek!!!

Uche said...

sorry Linda, no need to claim him. He already claims us and we Know

Steph said...

Alicia its Nigerians Kwenu!!! Abeg stop all this tribalistic talks that divides us. when you are fighting with Tanzanians the other time, No one heard your Igbo Kwenu, because no one cares. Its time for us to forget this whole Igbo, hausa, yoruba or south south, and stand together as one for the good cause of Nigeria. I had to point this out, cus have noticed the way you drop your tribalistic views especially when it concerns people of same tribe as yourself. Linda said A Nigerian, not an Igbo man

I can say Igbo Kwenu if i want to. DONT WORRY, IF HE WERE COMMITTING A CRIME, NOBODY WILL BE SAYING I SHOULD SAY "NIGERIA KWENU"
some folks wanna claim the Igbos as Nigerians when convenient, so I don't even give them the benefit of the doubt. YES i will defend Nigeria when I have to, because I am still a Nigerian, but i will still say "Igbo Kwenu" because this boy is "Aba-made" LOL, ROGER THAT!

as for that Tanzanian Ho thread, that one is history. it only shows the mentality of so many sadf-faced Nigerians. bash yourselves to praise another, and when the attacks come, nothing to say. SHAME!
i dont even want to remember such a "national" embarrassment. -_-

Steph said...

Alicia no one is fighting you. Relax! And with regards to Tanzania issue, my point was that, the people dont know whether it is Igbo or Yoruba. You should get all that aba made or whatever out of your brain. I am from South-South and no other tribe as been segregated in Nigeria has we have been, but still I represent Nigeria Period. Like I said Linda earlier, Linda said a Nigeria and lets leave it at that.
Forget your Biafra mentality, it wont work!

CCL said...

Linda, please focus on the ones there at home, abeg. Don't get your heart broken. Someone with the kind of money Nnamdi has will never believe a girl is with him because of his character, the money will always be in the middle like the pink elephant in the room UNLESS a chick met him BEFORE the money OR she has her own loot. Leave these Nigerian-American dudes here, they do come home to visit, chill with the available chicks willing to give it up easily then come home and marry an American woman black, white, Asian, exotic but not Nigerian. It isn't that they don't want to marry a Nigerian woman but the thing is that a Nigerian raised and a Nigerian AMERICAN raised man are two different types - the latter and a woman raised at home dating is like a Chinese dude dating a Namibian woman. I hope I don't come off like I am generalizing, if I am, I don't mean to offend but from my personal experience, it doesn't work as well as people often think it should simply because both people are Nigerians. Each were raised in a different culture even if they are Naija by blood.

Glad our girl kareen won BBA said...

I think Steph is right. I got a BBM message Yesterday that read 'the problem with many people in Nigeria is that there are too many Igbo, too many Yoruba, too many hausa, to many South- South, but only few Nigerians'.
Steph thumb up for calling Alicia out on that, and Yes Linda was right to say a Nigerian. Alicia your Problem is your like the sound of your own voice abi na typying I go call am, to listen to anyone else. Steph was right on this one.
CCL Yes your point to Linda is also very valid, but u sound like u have a crush on Linda, she is a babe thou. Linda love, love your blog. xxx

I'll have to defend Alicia on this one - whenever a crime or something negative has an Igbo person attached to it the tribalists come out in droves.

Another thing - how come I never see any one of these "One Nigeria" preachers comment when a Yoruba, Hausa, or person from any other tribe praises someone or something of their own? I swear some of you guys can be hypocritical.

and i believe his chick is AA or mixed with AA and some other race.
typical....

i think he should start dating Munachi. LOL

Noella said...

YOU GUYS REALLY LOVE TO SHOUT WOLF WHERE THERE IS NONE...WHAT IS BITING YOU THAT ALICIA SAID IGBO KWENU!!! DOES THAT NEGATE THE FACT THAT SHE IS A CONSUMMATE NIGERIAN??? WHY SHOULDN'T SHE BE PROUD OF HER CULTURE JUXTAPOSED WITH ALSO BEING PROUD OF BEING A NIGERIAN...THE TWO ARE NOT MUTUALLY EXCLUSIVE ...IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH BEING LESS OF A NIGERIAN...THE BEAUTY OF OUR GLORIOUS NATION WITH ALL ITS ILLS AND TRAVAILS..IS THE DIVERSITY WE OFFER IN TERMS OF DIFFERENT ETHNIC GROUPS, CULTURES, TONGUES, TRADITIONS AND SO ON...AND IT INDEED MAKES US A UNIQUE NATION, AND THE GIANT OF AFRICA...ONE SHOULD NOT BE VILIFIED FOR MAKING A SIMPLE STATEMENT AS IGBO KWENU..THIS IS CLASSIC MAKING A MOUNTAIN OUT OF A MOLE HILL...

MANY OF YOU MAKE ACCUSATIONS YOU HAVE NO CLARITY ON!!! AND NEED TO LEARN HOW TO HAVE INTELLIGENT DISCOURSE !!! AND YOU NEED TO STOP THE FOOLERY!!!

KA CHINEKE MEZIOKWU!!!

@10:31 PM, THANK YOU!
first of all, i was only saying Igbo Kwenu because of how sexy he is and not because of anything else. if i see a fine Igbo dude i will say "Igbo Kwenu" because thats just my thing. after all, his papa and his mama are to thank for what he looks like, no be so? there is nothing "tribalistic" about it. SOME FOLKS ARE READING TOO DEEPLY INTO THINGS.

but when its an Igbo criminal, I (and a few others) are the few folks to point out that there are criminals from all tribes and the outside world only sees the guy as a Nigerian. NO ONE EVER comes out with their "One Nigeria" speeches when an Igbo does something wrong. but when folks leave comments like "Yoruba beauty" etc etc etc, I don't see "One Nigeria" comments either. but when it's an Igbo, "OHHHHH NOOOO!"

besides, how many times have folks been called "too Igbo" "Igbotic" on this site? abeg.

There are soo many Nigerians in the NFL or playing professional American football with mouth watering contract - Ibo, urhobo, bini, yoruba, you name it!

Nnamdi is just one of them...so guys chill!!!

Kemiismyrealname said...

Noella, no be fight. Haba. People like me? You do not know me? So why would you jump to that conclusion? The post is about Nnamdi, and you made mention of his mother so if you choose to curse her or say derogatory things about her, it is your opinion, not mine.

Cecilia Ibru is also a humble woman as she always only wore small pearl earrings, a pearl necklace and blue suit abi?

CHARLES said...

IGBO KWENU IS THE RIGHT WORLD AND NOT NIGERIA KWENU BECAUSE OTHER TRIBES DONT UNDERSTAND THE KWENU IN QUESTION.. I KNOW THE COST OF ALL THIS BUT ALICIA AM WITH YOU.

CHARLES.

Noella said...

@KEMI ISMYNAME...TO PUT THE NAME OF CECILIA IBRU AND MRS ASOMUGHA IN THE SAME SENTENCE IS A TRAVESTY..AND FRANKLY MAKES MY SKIN CRAWL!!!! ALL WOMEN ARE NOT CREATED EQUAL...WHO IS CECILIA COMPARED TO NNAMDI'S MOM BIKO NUNU....I FIRMLY INSIST THAT NNAMDI'S SUCCESS CANNOT, SHOULD NOT AND WILL NOT BE DISCUSSED WITHOUT ACKNOWLEDGING THE HUMBLE XTIAN UNWORLDLY WOMAN WHO SINGLE HANDEDLY AS A WIDOW, RAISED ALL FIVE OF HER KIDS MOST NOTABLY NNAMDI TO BE FULLY FUNCTIONING PROFESSIONAL MEMBERS OF THE SOCIETY....TO TALK ABOUT NNAMDI AND NOT ACKNOWLEDGE HIS MOTHER, AND EXTOL HER HUMILITY IS LUDICROUS!!...I KNOW THE LADY AND HER CHILDREN AND SPEAK WITH ABSOLUTE AUTHORITY ON THE SUBJECT!!!

@Noella You really need to calm the fuck down...

@Alicia, I am the anonymous at 10:31. I'm not a tribalist at all but the internet has left me with disillusion. The hate that young Nigerians spew for others on the basis of tribe is very sad and has shown that Nigeria has no hope. I won't go into detail but I'm sure you understand.

For some reason Igbo people get the most hate - not playing victim but an honest survey of what is written in this website and at most Nigerian forums will show that this is true.

I just glanced at some of the preachy posts and found a snide comment about you having a "Biafran" mentality. They think they are smart.

Biko is he straight? We don't want that money to go to a same sex relationship o? Yes I am Igbo - female... Congrats to him though

Kemiismyrealname said...

Haba Noella it is simple English. Read my comment s-l-o-w-l-y and maybe with a glass of water.

Your words.....' when a woman wears no make up..........'. So I used an example of a woman who portayed herself to be humble, to butress my thoughts that it is not only by a humble look that people are humble.

This is not a fight, now? I gather from your comments that you know the family, but please, read well what is written and understand the comment. I do not write negative stuff and so I KNOW that all my comments have been clean, in
good faith and my opinion. I have not personalised my comments at all as I do not know them, but I can appreciate the efforts of the mother as I am also a more to 5 children.

Igbo kwenu!!! See fine Igbo man. Nnamdi do us proud. Nna mere anyi ofuma ooo.
@Linda- please dream big- you can have Nnamdi if it is God's will.

LOL@ all the claimer of his mother this and that- who asked you?

Lol@ all the tribalistic remarks- my dear go jump into the lagos lagoon.
I live in California- even in this USA- states claim their own ppl(comments like Celtic's Paul Pierce is coming home to play against Lakers; or he is a californian making us proud in Boston Massachusette; or his got a California style to his play, etc are common in this world)-so shatap dia; Igbo kwenu is not the only claiming words you probably have heard in ur life. Alicia- Say Igbo Kwenu once more.

Igbo kwenu!!! See fine Igbo man. Nnamdi do us proud. Nna mere anyi ofuma ooo.
@Linda- please dream big- you can have Nnamdi if it is God's will.

LOL@ all the claimer of his mother this and that- who asked you?

Lol@ all the tribalistic remarks- my dear go jump into the lagos lagoon.
I live in California- even in this USA- states claim their own ppl(comments like Celtic's Paul Pierce is coming home to play against Lakers; or he is a californian making us proud in Boston Massachusette; or his got a California style to his play, etc are common in this world)-so shatap dia; Igbo kwenu is not the only claiming words you probably have heard in ur life. Alicia- Say Igbo Kwenu once more.

Noella said...

@anon u lose all credibility and break down intelligent discourse when you use a swear word that is not only totally inappropriate but completely out of place...it is a cop out ...and should not be entertained!! you could easily have said calm down without adding the F..word..who talks like that??? using such a base word is indeed truly pathetic!! so my dear next time u read my post just keep it moving!!!

Jay O said...

Breathe people...in and out.
Now repeat!

How did this go from praising Nnamdi to one filled with curse words?

Nnamdi considers himself a "American born Nigerian". Nnamdi is Igbo.
We are all proud of him, proud of his mom's strong influence on him and he's a great image for all that can be affiliated with him. At 30, he has also established a great legacy that is greater than his peers, athletes and non athletes alike.
Great charisma, charming personality and handsome.

Lets not take away from it with these comments, people googling his name, will come across this and its not a good look for us.

Celebrating one aspect of a person doesnt take away from other aspects. Igbos can celebrate him, Americans can, Nigerians can, Californians can, folks from Los Angeles can, folks from his high schl can, folks from Berkeley can (college), folks from Louisiana can (where he was born), folks from his mama's village, his papa's village, his family friends, list goes on.

No need to get threatened by that.

Igbo kwenu
Naija kwezuonu
America hi
Ekene diri onye nwe anyi :-)

Again inhale and exhale...

CCL said...

@Glad Our Girl Karen etc - I am a woman, I am a straight, married mother of two and I have NO interest in Linda on a romantic level. I do not get where my advice and explanation rings as a crush but if that floats your boat, let it.

PS: If I were gay, Linda, I wouldn't mind having a crush on you. You ain't hard of the eyes, you are successful, what's not to crush on? LOL