Dr. Reuben Abati's statement | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 July 2011

Dr. Reuben Abati's statement

“It is not true that four years “is too short” for a President or a Governor to make a difference. The President didn’t get it, and it is important that he does. The period appears too short because many of our elected Governors and Presidents (well, we have had only a few) begin to think of what to do, only when they get to office. They have no blueprint, no clear understanding of what is required, they do not even listen to the people well enough, and the parties that brought them to power have no manifesto, no plan of action, no defined contract with the Nigerian people. Given such background, the complexity of bureaucracy and the enormity of official powers could prove so intimidating that the typical overnight man of power could find himself or herself completely ill-prepared for high office. But this is what we want changed. In states where the Governors are prepared, we have seen so much done in four years.” - Reuben Abati, current spokesman to President Jonathan, wrote and published this statement on May 29, 2011, before his appointment on July 2, 2011.

He's singing a totally different tune now!

24 comments:

Bee said...

Money washes your mouth and causes one to sing a new song

kenny said...

As far as im concerned...he's jusy another bloody psycophant....

total assholes all of them greedy ugly things!!!!

momoh adeola said...

that is y dey say money is the root of all evil

wivesroundtable said...

That is what happens to a man that dines with his enemies! Now is in their camp, he has no choice but to sing their tune.

HAA, WC KIN PRESIDO B THIS NOW! GOD HOPE AV NOT WASTED MY VOTE. IS THAT WHAT IS ON GROUND NOW,,, HE'S JUST GREEDY !HE HAS NOT EVEN STARTED ANYTHING AND HE AV BETTER FACE HIS WK AND FACE BOKO HARAM WEY DEY GROUND, HE WS BSY TALKING RUBBISH, AM BEGINING TO HATE THIS MAN, AND IF I SWEAR 4 AM NA 1 TIME

Ade_Cool said...

Just one word....BOLA IGE!!..who decided to get himself muddled with PIGS!!..and we all know what happened after that..
Gani Fawenhimi was the man talked the talk and walked the walk!!..not all this chaelatans..can't blame GEJ..got to draw your antagonists closer..
That one still never finish chose Ministers since May???..so the country is being ruled by......no one

stupid man thank God i did not vote cos i am based outside d country if not i for dey cry now.as for oga ruben abati,somebody should pls put this article on his table as a reminder

Are you guys listening to what he said he is not in support of more than 4 years. he is saying ppl think that 4 yrs is to short because they dont go into the office with a plan.

they go there to chop moni.

Money sweet but soon God go punish devil and his greedy children.

What's he saying now for those of us who don't know.

Kemi said...

This was to be expected. It never augers well when members of the press partake in politics - objectivity is lost. Look at Segun Adeniyi. Such a shame.

Myne said...

I shake my head, guess he's "seen the light" now.

Did you guys comprehend the statement at all? He is trying to make a point that 4 years is not too short to make a difference as a governor or president, but that most of the leaders just don't have it in them to govern. Now clamoring for a 6 year term for governors and president can only help to remove one of the most polarizing factors in governors - trying to please the godfathers so you can get reelected for second term. How is that contradicting the statement he made before he was appointed?

the question i expect people to ask LINDA is, please tell us what's he is saying now? i cant just crusify him untill i know what is position is now.
Obon

Ade_Cool said...

meant to say Charlatans

damie said...

I never thought Abati was a good journalist anyway. I haven't read many of his articles, just the one on Nigerian music today and Naija and in my opinion, if such an "enlightened" journalist could not take his time to verify his facts before castigating an entire generation then he is obviously a terrible journalist. No surprise that he would sing a different tune.

Pee Cee Cee said...

Journalists and government appointments? Are u kidding me? Its like giving a goat tubers of yam. Bad idea. A journalist will always be a journalist. Brown envelope rules him...

Na wah!! said...

According to Chxta, it's rude to eat and talk at the same time so please all, allow Abati eat in peace....

sleekreek said...

@annon July 28,,9:08pm.....his statement was well read and understood by everyone.....he said all that before his appointment,,,now he's having a different idea and seems to be supporting GEJ's tenure elongation plans.....

the man has fallen for naira or better still....naira has brainwashed him..lol

@sleekreek

Goodluck Jonathan stated that the 6 year term will start in 2015 and he is not going to be part of it. How is that tenure elongation for him?

I know many people are wary and suspicious because of the deceit of past leaders, but I think the 6 year single term makes a lot of sense in a country like Nigeria where elections alone cost more than some African countries budget.

check this out,Presidential Spokesman, Dr Reuben Abati who briefed State House Correspondents disclosed that President Jonathan welcome the national debate, the proposal has generated as healthy for democracy but denied that the issue is capable of crippling the business of governance at the federal level.

Dr Abati reiterated his boss earlier declaration in February this year that he will not run for a second term, and his recent statement on single term for the president and the 36 governors, which he (Jonathan) does not intend to benefit from.

“I believe what it means in very clear term is that the President will not be a beneficiary. In other words, the President will not come in 2015 to benefit if the amendment says so. Because, if he tries to do that, those who are saying it is an attempt at tenure elongation will have been vindicated. And he is fully aware of the concern of Nigerians and he is insisting, he is resolute in upholding that statement that he will not be a beneficiary”, he said.

Asked to be specific if the President will contest the 2015 presidential election, he said “that has been made clear by Mr President that this proposal is not to pursue any personal interest and he has also made it clear that if the proposed amendment scale through, he will not be a beneficiary.

I don’t see anything that can be more categorical than that. That is quite clear. I think the statement he made in Addis Ababa shortly before elections was that he will not seek a second term in office”.

The media aide however hinged his comment on the controversy on an earlier pronouncement of his boss during a trip to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia; saying that “now that the matter has come up I will have to meet him to get an answer for you later”.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2011/07/single-term-i-ll-not-run-in-2015-jonathan/
Okon

Overheard Naija said...

He is not "singing a different tune"! He is doing his job as a professional. He must in his present position advance the position of his employer, not his own! It is as simple as that! Can I ask a simple question? While in the the employment ThisDay, do you think Reuben Abati was at liberty to use the pages of the newspaper to openly disagree with Obaigbena is publisher? Can he? If he cannot do that in the employment of a company how on earth do you expect him to disagree with the president of Nigeria?

Please stop misunderstanding simple issues. Keep your ignorance to yourself. If you have nothing to blog about, then keep mum!

Daniel Jonah said...

The way people read, digest and comment on issues show their levels of assimilation and comprehension. The fact that Dr. Reuben said those things does not mean that this appointment has changed his posture on issues.

Please let us learn to understand before we blog. Give them time to convince us that they can do it.