"My father once shot at me" - J Martins | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 13 March 2011

"My father once shot at me" - J Martins

"My father didn’t support my music and at a point he tried to kill me too. He shot at me once. He’s an ex-military man . He was doing the right thing based on the information he had during his own time. At a point I hated him. But he was trying to keep me from going the wrong way." Singer, J Martins to a Vanguard reporter.

6 comments:

Good for him for openin up, it heals the soul so is music. Niger parents will kill for what they don't understand (so u don't bring shame to them as they say).Some are so concern in wat people wil say than there kids happiness.

A beg comot this arrogant dude from here. He has lost a lot of fans for refusing to say hi. He thinks he is too big. The interview was a PR shot from a reporter. Gbosa!

Wow. My one was the opposite. There used to be guns in the house when I was growing up. They were not loaded. One or two was my grand dad's. The others were my dad's from his young days - the civil war, etc. He never trusted the Hausa and Yorubas cos of what my grand parents went through in Jos - when the Nigerian war broke out. My parents got rid of them cos of me. I said something inappropriate.I didn't hate my dad, he wasn't a tyrant like some of my friends' dads, but he did my head in a few times. I was about 13. I was frustrated. In anger, made a comment to mum. I was calm. Mum told dad and he thought it was hilarious - he didn't think I could do such a thing, but, I never saw those guns again in the house. I could handle those things cos he showed me how, but the things.....u know for it were locked away. I knew were the keys were. He knew that I knew. I didn't get punished / told off or anything. My dad never spoke to me about it, but he adjusted his behaviur and was less autocratic. I did get over that bad feeling that could have led to family tragedyyyyyyyyyyyyy.

Anonymous @ 7:34 PM, WTF are u yapping about?

@ Anon March 13, 2011 7:22 PM

I don't know him and neither am I his publicist.

What if the interview "was a PR"???

Over 90 percent of interviews are PR / Advertising, etc.

Is PR now a crime? Na wa for you. Everything you see in the world of politics, business, fashion, politics, "News" is PR. Wake up.

Dith said...

And how exactly does shooting @ one signify protection???
This African mentality shit does my head in men most times man!!
I just can't!