Student killed by police during peaceful protest staged in Ekiti State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 February 2011

Student killed by police during peaceful protest staged in Ekiti State

The pic on the left (sorry about it's gory nature btw) is that of a young man named Gbenga Osanipin, who was shot dead by police during a peaceful protest staged in Ikole, Ekiti State, over the relocation of the site of a yet to be established Federal University (one of the 9 new universities the federal is planning to establish) from Ikole Ekiti to Oye Ekiti.

The Governor of the state, Kayode Fayemi, had announced Ikole-Ekiti as the site for the new Fed. University, only for the federal government to later announce Oye-Ekiti as the location, prompting a protest from some students and indigenes of the State.

The incident happened last week thursday and four other people were said to have been killed during the protest.

Sad. May their souls RIP

29 comments:

de!icious said...

Unnecessary Killing

have respect for the dead, Linda! what if it was someone you knew?
I don't think you have to be posting pictures around like that.
you seem pretty heartless.

Anonymous 1:46 PM, I honestly do not see your point about the posting of the picture.

When will the Nigerian Police learn that they have a responsibility to protect lives and properties of Nigerians and not to destroy it. They should stop these killings; it uncalled for. Let the triger happy police not go punpunished.

Anon 1:46pm you really don't have visit the site better still comment. When pics are posted on news reporting an incident do you raise a ruckus?
May the victims souls rest in peace.

Nenyenwa said...

wow Anonymous r u alright? how on earth did you think Linda got the pictures in the first place. Likely from someone who tried to raise awareness from the public. You don't have to raise insults, she is entitled to post what touches her heart and what moves her and you are entitled to form your own opinions or to form non at all. She doesn't have to please everyone. Linda I commend you for your posts, I am very busy in my 80-hour-work per week life here, it is your entertaining blog that draws my attention to the most important news. I must say it is not everything that interests me but I am ok with that. Thanks again!

Gosh I'm sick and tired of idiots like anon 1:46!
I have a feeling you are related to the police who shot this poor soul or you are the police officer himself and the image is haunting u. Mtseew.
May their gentle souls rest in peace amen.
Linda thank you for bringing the real stories to us. Don't allow all these haters get to u. And pls stop replying them!

Unnecessary killing I tell you!! Some of theses cops need their weapons taken away bc they don't know how to handle them! May the departed souls rest in peace, Amen.

Unnecessary klling I agree but honor the dead pls. my problem with this kind of photo is not giving the vierwer to option of viewing this kind of graphic image. More credible sources have posted this kind of images and it hasn't quelled police brutality. its called decorum...put a link and advise "viewer's discretion". if that was your relative linda, would you put his bullet punctured skull on ur blog? i doubt it. even more so, not everyone can stomach the graphic nature of the photo. It's common sense...just a tip on how to prevent the decadence of this blog into a tasteless crass joint.

Linda come on now, not everyone likes to see a gory picture while scrolling down. Put a link as someone suggested, warn us ahead of time 'the image(s) are disturbing' or 'view at our own discretion'. You definetly can do better than that.

I think people should understand what Journalism is all about. Because this is a blog and you have the opportunity to make comments don't mean you should abuse it. Am sure if you saw this on 234next or saharareporters or any other online news medium, you guys won't raise a complain as there is no face attached.

If you are not impressed about her post, why not just look elsewhere or start your own blog and lets see if you would achieve the number of followers she has world wide.

i never comment but i feel i have to. why do you insist on publishing these gory images. it adds nothing to the story but only aids in fueling conversation that removes the spot light from the main issue. also think of basic human decency. would you like it if your sisters dead body was published in blogs around the world. it cheapens your blog and makes you comparable to gossip rags such as national enquirer and such. Anyway its artistic freedom and you can publish what you want. i like your blog and i wont stop coming but what is right is right and what is wrong is wrong.

whatever happened "view at your own peril"? there are rules guiding any publication even if its on a blog. depite the news value have respect for your readers, the late student's family and let him have a bit of dignity even if the manner of his death wasnt. the sad thing what are human rights activities about such incidents? nothing! that is y situations like this will keep repeating itself.

nwanyioma said...

this man has a family and a pic like this will be quite disturbing to them. I know you got it from another website but I still don't see the point in posting such pics. The ONLY thing we can do is say "oma se o, RIP". meanwhile sensitive people who have lost loved ones in a similar way will be really disturbed. it's your blog but have some feelings. if you lost someone in such a terrible manner (God forbid), I don't think you will be happily putting their picture like that with bullet holes on their faces for people to ogle. You'll probably look for the prettiest picture you have of them and put it up. This guy is not just some random nobody. he's a human being too and I suggest that you show some respect. Give this some thought. posting gory pics does not solve ANY problems whatsoever. but if it makes you happy, post more gory pics by all means.

Ibo Omoge said...

Thank you Anon 8:10, I don't know why people are bashing Anon 1:46. The fact that she must have 'picked" it up from other sites does not mean she has to follow suit. It's a free world and all that crap, but if it were your sibling or parent being published in such a manner (considering how they died, bullet hole and all), you wouldn't find it funny...or wait, maybe you would. In fact maybe you would even be the one to forward the pictures to us all so that we could use it as our profile pics on Facebook. Use your common sense and discretion sometimes. No dey do follow-follow. Do it for the guy's relatives if not for anything else. It's like killing them all over again.
If you feel you really need to put up the picture to prove a point or something, put up a warning with a link so that those who want to see dead bodies can click on it to do so. At least family, friends and those who react adversely to seeing dead bodies are warned before-hand and they can quietly pass over to the next article.

NOTE: You put a warning with a link to the image, you DO NOT put a warning with the image directly below it!

LINDA you seriously need to stop putting up explicit photos of people without warning your readers. It's becoming really annoying especially for people who don't like things like this

to all anon people bashing on Linda...Cough Cough..emm seriously though, this is her blog. She is entitled to put up whatever she wants. If you don't like it, stop visiting her blog. It's as easy as that. Some people just like to type nonsense and attack Linda for the most stupid reasons. Sheesh grow up people and get it moving. NEXT!

linda what have they told you about putting gory pictures without warning? these are the reasons people classify nigerian grads are sub-par. IT IS JUST COMMON SENSE

VJ said...

Linda I totally agree with every body. It is your blog but please na!

I am still interested, so for my sake, don't remind people of their past experiences by putting pictures without warning. Biko o?

Drajke said...

Linda,

Great job putting up the pic. The world needs to know what it is the Nigeria Police does to its own citizens.

Maybe when more pictures like this one are published, the world will understand that what the NPF is doing is a crime against all humanity...

Linda, how many times do we have to ask you to PLEASE put a discretionary warning prior to posting a gory picture like this? So those who want to see the images click on the link? You apologizing for the gory image in parenthesis next to the picture IS NOT ENOUGH! Your blog isnt supposed to be a HORROR blog is it? I avoid coming on here because you dont seem to understand just how offensive it is to the family of the deceased, and for people with weak stomachs. PLEASE try to fix this, as it is obviously taking away from the message you are trying to convey which is often overshadowed by the gory image you insist on posting. I am not trying to tell you how to run your blog, but please try to keep it classy so you can be taken seriously.

Interesting... Few are blaming the Police for murdering an innocent citizen, instead most are blaming Linda for showing a picture of the corpse...

Talk about misguided priorities... IF the NPF did not kill this man, there would be no picture to show, right?

@ anon 5:01pm u r a fool for that statement...ppl die everyday of various causes do u see pics of dead bodies everywhere? or even of a joyous thing like a birth....so because a new birth is good women should open their vaginas on the streets? ode

Linda u've started again o..we kno u r fascinated by gory images...u apologizin after d deed has been done means nothin...u r really harsh bcoz u do it every time...watz d big deal in just puttin a warnin sign n lettin people dat want to view it click on d link...abeg stop doin dis to pple who love comin to ur blog ok

Alicia says....

its not about who killed him or how he was killed, its about giving respect to the dead and his loved ones. RESPECT!!!
how would you like it if it was someone you knew? you people should think it about it... if it were your mother, husband, wife, boyfriend, best friend, or even your own child! how would you feel if a picture of their corps was floating around the internet? have respect for the dead and their loved ones, PERIOD!

meroh said...

Anon 5.01pm. that is what posting such pics does. it takes the focus off the story and onto the pic.

hater said...

Their souls rest in peace.amen.

i had always hated the police!

hater said...

IT'S HER BLOG! IT'S HER BLOG!...so fucking what? if we readers don't visit or comment, would she have a blog to advertise & earn from?
it is up to we readers to tell her when she goes off the path.
if you like publish this comment because you don't heed to people's complain.

Nigerian police are undisciplined. Period. What ever happened to using rubber bullets, tear gas, or other means of restraint that are less likely to cause death. I remember last year I viewed a video of Nigerian police in the north randomly ordering people to lie down and then shot. It was nauseating.

Goal: A number of us who definitely have already recently been recently reviewing higher educational within the last few dozen yrs are getting to be really conscious as today's contemporary culture fluctuations, Individual method instructing youth need change. For the reason that step involved with transform enhance, Which becomes increasingly more obligatory over us to to contact that cash and include, Since you want you can do or even yields worryingly quite which our banks will likely be side stepped as population gets nearer his brand-completely innovative balance. On the web base education is an easy the right amount of secret. [url=http://www.am-ugci.it/login/index.php]hogan outlet[/url]
In the phone call, The organization said hello began new nodes upon introduction few days of the fresh new TLBB dominion which were earning a living in close proximity to potential and they suppose a recovery in Q4. I'm not sure and see in the event that jump will probably complete, Having said that certain rather than contests that think you are presented the particular TLBB proliferation, I believe that it is fair to count on the minimum of an incomplete board. If you no board, Then method major problem. [url=http://www.bomboniereperlavista.it/prima-comunione-solidale.php]woolrich outlet[/url]
Rrt is getting to keep in mind that not too long ago of within the wowr extra charges have also up to $20 aka $25 a strong hour. Indefinite use just with respect to $15 a month have been something guys and women should single like to find themselves. Optimistic, This can accumulates during a year, Then again so do the times of day associated with it has taken winning. [url=http://www.michelzoladz.fr]tn pas cher[/url]
Good, Families, You'll find practically tried it. At once 2012 are inclined to technically participate background then you will necessary of 2013 to ceremonialize or concern yourself with. When we find themselves in frightening(Or epic) Proposed, I wanted to do take just a few minutes to appreciate everyday the knocks on top of that overlooks of the season which were. [url=http://www.michelzoladz.fr]nike air max one[/url]
me, Nevertheless, Believe the state site's declare that"Second their lives occupants get desirous to invite you in and demonstrate encompassing, At any hour for the day you'll find hundreds of wows to go to and several virtual representations of personnel to take a look to you from clubs and casinos to fashion accessory acts to yoga stretches training. There are actually people concentrating on the same amuse or even day-to-day lives eventualities, My dear chum these animals, Keep in touch and generate permanent romance virtual representations of personnel will also fall madly in love along with obtain wed! If you carry out to get attached, Seek the advice of character Baccara Rhodes's let. Nancy Schenkein turned out identified as having ms also encaused to relinquish your reality event planner job as a just started again are an on-line, Known as Baccara, And also gets their wage real cash if you want to actually proposal Second presence wedding ceremony. [url=http://www.am-ugci.it/login/index.php]hogan outlet[/url]

you may also like:
http://www.popjustice.com/songs/lily-allen-hard-out-here/ http://tenis-dalmacijacement.com/index.php?option=com_phocaguestbook&view=phocaguestbook&id=1&Itemid=197&lang=en http://xn--w8jya4c7a5497cr1ijf.jp/%e7%9f%a5%e3%81%a3%e3%81%a6%e3%81%8a%e3%81%8d%e3%81%9f%e3%81%84%e3%83%8b%e3%82%ad%e3%83%93%e3%81%ae%e5%8e%9f%e5%9b%a0/%e3%83%8b%e3%82%ad%e3%83%93%e3%82%92%e6%b2%bb%e3%81%99%e3%81%9f%e3%82%81%e3%81%ab%e3%83%bb%e3%83%bb%e3%83%bb%e5%a0%b4%e6%89%80%e5%88%a5%e5%8e%9f%e5%9b%a0/