ABC's "What would you do - Nigerian Scam Episode". | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 27 February 2011

ABC's "What would you do - Nigerian Scam Episode".

Oh dear! We need to do something about our image man...this is absolutely not the way the world should see us.

17 comments:

honestly that guy didn't sound like a nigerian, there are other african countries that do scam stuffs but disguise themselves as nigerians, and you know these news people they know how to make nigeria look bad, something about nigeria that is very fascinating for them...

@anonymous 10:34, u took d words rite out of my mouth, he sure doesn't sound like a Nigerian, dis pple don't get thier facts rite, any black man dat commits fraud is authomaticaly a nigerian, i don't blame dem, i blame out govt dat don't sue dem 4 defamation of character n oda charges sueable 4 tarnishing our image.

anonymous do not deceive urself this particular man right there is nigerian....May God help our country

Gochi said...

The two characters in the news programme are Actors. The guy isn't Nigerian but that isn't the issue.

They are clearly trying to educate people on being weary of such activities...

@ the end of the day, what counts is perception. Why should an ordinary person take some time out of their way and do some research on behalf of nigeria . The answer is no one living in the western world would go out of their way and busy schedule help do the such research on our behalf and help us tell it to the world. They have more important yet in some cases distracting things to do like school, work, tv(news), internet , games etc. The premise here is to educate ourselves first and then we can educate the world. We nigerians need to stop talking and need to start doing to change our country.We can start with This coming election and make a huge difference. we eon the way to make yet another huge mistake. I live out of the country to start with but i'd let my opinion out. So, If you are satisfied and wanna repeat the last 4years , vote Jonathan but if you want something new, vote Buhari. it will take extra ordinary measures to switch things around from it's current state. So go out and vote..Ciao !

@ anonymous3:16, i totaly agree wit u, buhari though has ruled us b4 is d breath of fresh air dat we need n not G.E.J, wans't born during buhari's regime but i heard of all d things he did n from d litile i know n read about him, he's a selfless leader

NK said...

This is why the Arab world hates the West. Because the West continues to use its media to paint the Arabs as a bunch of terrorists and suicide bombers. That's why Aljazeera was born; because the Arabs want to tell THEIR story by THEMSELVES without the Western perspective.

Now the West, through their media as well have succeeded in painting Africa as a famine ravaged, backward continent where HIV/AIDS is as common as malaria. The West doesn't want to paint Africa and particularly Nigeria in good light. As far as they're concerned, Nigeria=419 yet America on it's own is on the world's top 3 list for internet fraud. So I say screw the West and let us go the way of Aljazeera and tell OUR stories BY OURSELVES

@Linda Ikeji,
I watch this program 'what will you do' usually aired during the week days.

They had a funny one two yrs ago on Nigerian drivers without legal immigration papers,they acted like cops,pulled an illegal Nigerian young guy to the road (they probably had the info that he was illegal).Instead of the usual sit in the car and wait for the cops to issue a ticket, they told him to step down, this grown dude, came out of car and busted into tears, confessing without being asked & wailing:'I dn't want to go back to Nigeria pls.' It was very funny yet sad.but yeah,this scam issue is even sadder.

I saw the show live on ABC on friday and I was like these guys are not even Nigerians. I know they are trying to create awareness but why not the other way? Why not show how greedy some Americans can be to agree to wire money to some guy in Africa for a huge return.

I went on Twitter as soon as the show was over to blast ABC. They make life difficult for Nigerians like me working in Financial Services here in the U.S. My job is all about building trust and what if one of my clients was watching the show.

Dlapikin said...

They did say the guy is not really nigerian and not in nigeria either.. Hello!?
Now instead of brushing off the show because they used an actor to do what is usually known as, and for good cause a nigerian scam, you are here letting a misplaced national pride get the best of your thoughts.
This week I was on the receiving en of a nigerian scam as i put my resume onto monster.com and someone pretending to be an irish businessman tried to scam me pretending to give me a personnal asistant job until he called me from a 234 country code with a bad nigerian accent.
I love nigerians and I am sorry they have such a bad rep but it's all warranted. Ivorians do the same type of frauds but how many ivorians are there in the world? if 10% of the ivorian population decides to do scams they would still be less than if only 1% of nigerians decide to do the same. And you have to realize that nigerians have a larger internet access than the rest of africa and a greater presence on the US soil than any other country so it is only normal that their frauds be reported more. if all the gabonese or cameroonian in the US decided to do those web fraud and all get arrested they will still be less than the number of nigerian arrested or wanted in this country in a year period for the same type of crime...
We are only 60 days into 2011 on this very blog I've read two big cases of Scams committed by nigerians (the one that emptied the intuit account from a small city in nigeria and the runaway millionaire from Texas) Now think again if you truly believe that nigerians get a bad rep for free...

LOL @ all these Nigerians with misplaced patriotism. so the new way of denying is saying "ohh no, everyone doing scam/419 uses Nigeria's name when they are not Nigerian" please!!! every time I see a scam/419 bust case which involves a Nigerian man everyone will leave the same tired comment!

Truth is...NIGERIANS ARE PROFESSIONAL SCAMMERS BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF JOB OPPORTUNITIES IN NIGERIA! THEY TRAVEL ABROAD TO DO THIS AND THIS IS THE UNDILUTED TRUTH WEDA YOU WANT TO AGREE WIT ME OR NOT!

don't go crying foul when news like this goes around...its self made! there are alot of poverty stricken African countries out there who are far worse than Nigeria but you never hear such nonsense from there so y'all need to shut up!

you are always claiming "giant of Africa" well if you are indeed the giant of Africa then you need to get yourselves together and oppose your dead government! take a leaf from the Arab world...

LINDA IF YOU DON'T POST MY COMMENT YAWA GO GAS OO...

SandiN said...

It is funny that you posted this. I am taking a class on Online Business and Security, and there are about 3 pages and a diagram dedicated to "An Example of a Nigerian Email Scam". Smh! I am definitely not going to class that Tuesday! Too embarrassing!

We need to call a spade a spade. I'm based in the UK, and anytime I see an arab in the train with me, I get scared; but not every Arab is a terrorist, infact most are decent people. It is the same with Nigerians. I get loads of scam emails from Nigeria (and am sure most people over here get those kinds of mails). So what would then be the perception about Nigeria? I'm not saying every Nigerian is fraudulent, but unless we accept that there are many fraudsters in Nigeria and tackle these problems seriously, the World is gonna continue to see us that way

You've gotta be greedy to scammed in the first instance..no one is addressing the fact that these people think they are more intelligent than Africans..

Ada said...

There is no fire without firewood!! We placed the firewood but we scream when others shout "FIRE"
I love my country (Naija) I no go lie but in the good ol USA, I wave my blue pali high up and say "God bless America". My people una no go kill me!
We need to stop getting defensive and try to make ourselves better individually for the world to take notice.
I mean if I were on a plane and an arab man shouts "asalamalakum", I'll shout "terrorist, attack him now!"
Unless we actually acknowledge there is a prob, we'll never know we have to solve them. On American TV, for a few mths South Africa was advertising, then lately its been Australia. Naija has the money to pay for such commercials, after all what did we do with our rebranding money????
Imagine if Naija set up a good 30mins commercial that plays even 1x a day during prime time for 3mths in America, talking about good facts about Nigerians and highlighting achievements on Nigeria.

I'm proud to be Nigerian. I accept the good and the bad(eventhough it doesn't feel good).

The truth is most of the scams are done by some greedy Nigerians. Let's face the truth and work to make a difference.

Wow. There are some genuinely stupid people on this blog.

This is not real. It is not an attack an attack on Nigerians. It's a FAKE set up and Nigerians are being used as one example of fraud because stats show it's one of the places that operate these scams. They are actors. They playing a very loose example of African money scams, they don't need to perfect the Nigerian accent. So drop the defensive bullshit and engage your brain before spouting off about Nigerians being targeted. It's not real. It's a scenairo based on real life stories. Not politics or international bigotory.