12 Nigerian billionaires unite to raise money for Jonathan and PDP campaign | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 February 2011

12 Nigerian billionaires unite to raise money for Jonathan and PDP campaign

Twelve top Nigerian businessmen, including billionaires Aliko Dangote, Femi Otedola and Mike Adenuga, were on Monday Feb 14 selected in Abuja by the People’s Democratic Party to join a committee that will raise funds to support President Goodluck Jonathan’s presidential campaign. Others in the Donor Committee are Tony Elumelu, former chairman of the United Bank for Africa; Jimoh Ibrahim, chairman of NICON Insurance; Emeka Offor, Kashim Bukar, Sayyu Dantata, Jim Ovia, Dahiru Manga, Abdulsamad Rabiu and Kola Salako. The ruling party also named a nine-member finance and fund raising committee headed by former chairman of the Nigeria Stock Exchange, Oba Otudeko.

The members of the committee are Atedo Peterside, Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, Funsho Lawal, Bola Shagaya, Tukur Mani, Tony Onoh, Funsho Awoyemi and the party’s director of finance. A list, which was obtained at the party secretariat in Abuja, also has former president, Olusegun Obasanjo and former chairman of the board of trustees of the PDP, Tony Anenih, and former director-general of the Jonathan-Sambo Presidential Campaign Organisation, Dalhatu Tafida, appointed into the 28-member Presidential Campaign Council (PCC) that will coordinate the presidential campaign.

Others members of the 28-member include Mr Jonathan; his deputy, Namadi Sambo; Senate President, David Mark; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole; former national chairman of the PDP, Ahmadu Ali; acting national chairman of the party, Bello Mohammed; deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweramadu; minister of Niger Delta, Godswill Orubebe; and Senator Grace Bent. However, Mr. Jonathan will head the nine-member monitoring and strategy committee, which has Messrs Sambo, Mohammed and Mark as members. Other members of the committee are former Senate President, Anyim Pius Anyim, Benue State Governor, Gabriel Suswam, former foreign affairs minister, Ojo Maduekwe, Anenih, Suleman Shuiabu Oyedokun and Abubakar Baraje, PDP national secretary.

The list revealed that members of the Atiku Abubakar and Ibrahim Babangida campaign organisations were also appointed into the presidential campaign organisation. Senator Ben Obi, DG of the Atiku Campaign Organisation is a member of the resource committee while Raymond Dokpesi of the Ibrahim Babangida Campaign Organisation will serve in both the resource and publicity committees. Also, Ken Nanamai, a former Senate president and a strong supporter of Mr. Abubakar was named as a member of the resource and reconciliation committees.

Sarah Jubril, who ran against Mr. Jonathan in the primaries, was appointed into the resource persons committee. It was gathered that the committee members will be inaugurated at the party’s Presidential Campaign Office in Maitama District of Abuja later this week. According to our source, they were billed to be inaugurated last Saturday evening but the event was put off out of respect to the Nigerians who died during Mr. Jonathan’s campaign rally in Port Harcourt, the Rivers State capital.

Source: 234next

21 comments:

They all shud be locked up in Siberia. Jonathan wins, big contract for them - Naija asset given to a few for peanuts. All men are equal in death. One day Naija will be free of these rogues.

Prism of an Immigrant said...

Is this supposed to be news? Congratulations to all of them. They've owned Naija for so long already! They should stop pretending they're trying to "win" another election, when they already have the receipt for owning the election.

Drajke said...

Very nice... I guess under Jonathan, the fact that Nigeria is on sale is no longer a secret...

Lol...strategy to continue to own the country. /they are investing in Goodluck, so Goodluck will have to pretty much hand these fellas the keys to the Nigerian Treasury as a return on their investment. No honor among thieves

This is total BS. Johnathan is the incumbent. If Naija history is instructive, incumbents usually win and mostly b/c they control the electoral process including the stuffing of machines. As for these individuals raising money for Johnathan, it's simply a security deposit to guarantee contracts for themselves.

anonymous@ 10:00pm God bless you.
One day we shall be free.

anonymous@ 10:00pm God bless you.
One day we shall be free.

I am so fucking disappointed that this guys would support badluck!

So sad...a group of 8 people has just bought 150 million people...so cheaply!!!!!

GOOD INVESTMENT....GOOD RETURNS!!!

12 wise men purchase i50 million fools...slavery in disguess

who says these billionaires are not good business men? hahahaha!!!

Lily said...

The billionaires should also get together to find ways of developing infrastructures and investments in the country!!!!

Chilling said...

Wow and the beat goes on OBJ style! Same old, same old. Cecilia Ibru missed this by whiskers!!! I wonder what GEJ will do with the dissenters (IBB, Atiku, Dokpesi etc) after the election. That will be interesting. In politics there are no permanent friends and foes, just permanent interests (such a true cliché!)

Surprise said...

The zeal and energey at which GEJ is going about winning this election, if he puts 10% of it into running the country, the country would have been better by now.

Assuming immediately he became the president after the death of Yar Adua, he appoints these business moguls into seeing that there is infrastructural development in the country or he appoints them into seeing that the economy is running well, Nigeria would have moved forward. But because he wants them to rub his back now so that he will rub their back later, he puts them into this money making ventures.

Like some people have said, one day we will be free. But we can fast track our freedom by following the Egypt example. I am ready to be among the crowd that will converge to PUSH (Persist Until Something Happens) in Aso Rock.

Are they politely informing us that 2011-2015 is destined to be business as usual? Continue to push us, we will soon gather enough balls to ask for change the Egyptian and Tunisian way. The ballot boxes have failed to produce the change that we need.

deeflamez said...

If my father had been among these 'rascals' I still would have said this... "e no go better for partisan politics and anybody wey no go allow our systems work well all in the name of their selfish interests." As for you, Jona...you don use leg march shit and so u go smell well well...u don use bible wipe yansh and so God go punish you. ***shikena

Ribadu: "Jonathan blew $60m in reserves & there is nothing to show for it" http://ow.ly/3YiP5

Abike said...

Na wa o

Nigerian said...

These guys are not father christmas o. They will definitely get their money back in some other ways at the expense of the masses

Well, nothing new, the big money people always support their favorite politicians because if he/she wins more power to them.

I just wish these people can all gather like this to raise money to feed the hungry, build the infrastrature, create jobs, help the less fortunate. Looking at Nigeria, a lot can be done with all that money instead of wasting and squadering it.