Jos Boils Again. 8 Killed in Midnight Raids. Protesting Women Shot, Hospitalised. Boko Haram Militants Kill Soldier in Borno | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 January 2011

Jos Boils Again. 8 Killed in Midnight Raids. Protesting Women Shot, Hospitalised. Boko Haram Militants Kill Soldier in Borno

I know this is a gory sight and I apologise. But I need you all to see what is going on in our country. What the hell is this? My goodness, what have we turned ourselves into...?

No fewer than eight people were killed with many others sustaining varying degrees of injuries in three different attacks in Plateau State on Sunday by two different groups of people suspected to be Fulani herdsmen. Nigerian Tribune learnt that the assailants, numbering about 50, armed with sophisticated weapons, swooped on a village called Farin-Lamba in Jos South Local Government Area of the state at about 11.00 p.m. and descended on the inhabitants who had all gone to bed.

It was gathered that before the people could recover for a possible counter attack, the invaders had overrun them and succeeded in killing four people, while many sustained serious injuries. It was further learnt that at about the same hour, Haman village, in Barkin-Ladi Local Government Area of the state, was also under attack with four people killed in the midnight attack. Four others, who were injured in the process are now receiving treatment at Jos University Teaching Hospital (JUTH).

Also, in Kopgai village in Mangu Local Government Area, three armed men stole 102 cattle and 12 sheep from one Hassan Abdulkarim after shooting sporadically into the air. Disturbed by the fresh attack in Jos South Local Government, the women of the local government area, in their hundreds on Monday, trooped to the streets to protest the invasion and in the process burnt some of the tents of the Special Task Force (STF) within the vicinity.

The protesters, in black attire, shouted anti-STF slogans and denounced the task force, which they accused of being privy to the attack. Some of the women, who spoke with the Nigerian Tribune said that those who carried out the attack on the village were in military uniform, adding that the assailants came into the village in a Hilux vehicle.

The state Commissioner of Police, Mr Abdulrahaman Akano, who confirmed the attacks in a press statement signed by him, however, said four people were killed and five people were injured in the Farin-Lamba attack, with two killed in Hamman village. He said the report he got indicated that those who carried out the attack were in military uniform, adding that he was yet to confirm that.

Speaking with the Nigerian Tribune on the protest by women in Farin-Lamba, the commissioner of police said the peaceful protest took a frightening dimension, when the women burnt down some tents of the STF men in the area.
In the scuffle that ensued, six women were shot and were receiving treatment at Vom Christian Hospital.

Written by Isaac Shobayo - The Nigerian Tribune.

24 comments:

prettygal said...

omgg...omgggggg......(tears)what is this?wHAT IS THE GOVERNMENT DOING ABOUT THIS?WHAT IS GOODLUCJ J DOING ABOUT THIS?WHATS WRONG WITH MUSLIMS? WHO ARE THOSE SAYING THIS IS POLITICALLY MOTIVATED? WHY ARE MUSLIMS THE ONLY ONES WHO ARE BEING USED FOR POLITICAL REASONS?WHY AREN'T CHRISTIANS BEING USED TO MASSACRE PPLE FOR POLITICAL REASONS?DONT CHRISTIANS LOVE POLITICS TOO? WHAT RUBBISH!IF ANYTHING HAPPENS TO MY FAMILY IN JOS, I PROMISE U, THERE'LL BE ONE MORE STRAY REVENGE MURDERER ON THE LOOSE..OMG..THAT'S SOMEONE'S DAUGHTER,MOTHER, SON,OMG ,LINDA WHAT SHOULD WE DO?WHAT CAN WE DO SINCE THE GOVT IS ASLEEP AND MORE CONCERNED ABOUT WHO IS PRESIDENT.

REMOVE THAT DAMN PICTURE!!!!! have some respect for whoever that person is, linda!
you should know better.

SOLA said...

Anon 10:19am: Are you by any means alright? Of all has been said is that all that came to your mind
"REMOVE THAT DAMN PICTURE!!!!! have some respect for whoever that person is, linda!
you should know better."
As in .......???

This non-defined killings need be stopped and we all need to think up ways to fight this by any means we can without more blood spillage!

Prettygal, please stop crying... We all need to get to work to put an end to this nightmare.

Lord please, let your peace reign in Nigeria... Let your love permeate our senses and give us the grace to live happily with one another..

joicee said...

Keep that picture on ...so we all can see the evil going on in our country ....I do not know what to say ..even animals treat their own kind better than this.

There is no empathy, no kindness, no fear of God, there is not even an outrage.....What the FUCK is Jonathan and his cohorts doing or at least plan to do about this situation .

This has been going on long enough, but people do not care ...those fools in power are not concerned because it does not affect them directly...truly I weep for this country..I am heartbroken.

May their souls rest in peace.

prettygal said...

Sola, well said..how can Anonymous be talking about removing the pic?Its pple like u who sweep such inhumanity under the rug and turn a blind eye.If what it takes to make pple listen is posting these pics up here and everywhere we can, then we have to do it?Do u think Linda enjoys viewing such pics?Kudos to you Linda, i admire ur courage...let the world see what human beings are doing to each other.

Mbabazi said...

this picture although scary is only being used to make a point..how is it possible that such things are hapening ...the politicians should do something about this.infact the religious clerics should educate their congregations.no one gets into gods gook books by murdering your brother or sister,

Surprise said...

A state of emergency should be declared in plateau state as a matter of urgency. Also members of the military task force should consist of both christians and muslims and they should be mixed when they going for patrol or operation or foe whatever purpose.

May the soul of the dead rest in peace. May God give those in authority the wisdom to tackle this problem once and for all.

OMG........just one message to those responsible 4 dis act.........WHAT GOES AROUND COME AROUND.....

May they RIP

Gen. Yakubu Gowon, what are you saying about this. Same people you joined your hands with, to slaughter the ibos, are now slaughtering your people. And also how come the people are always sleeping, knowing danger is always around, cant their youths form vigilante groups as security for them while others are sleeping?

That photograph scared the hell out of me.

Prism of an Immigrant said...

Linda, you should have put the picture after the "read more" link and informed people that discretion is advised. You know not everyone handles such images well. Personally I was having breakfast while browsing your blog, I don't mind, but that's not the case for everyone

Linda Ikeji said...

@prism. sorry dear

Chilling said...

The politicians are behind it albeit using religion as a cover up. Yes, there should be a state of emergency, sack the government and have the army patrolling every street. For this sort of thing, i miss OBJ, he'd have flattened the town. It's not ideal, but it'd teach those behind the atrocities a lesson.

viewer discretion should have been advised. It's called Decorum Linda. Your website is becoming the one to browse when one is not eating cos every once in a frequent while it's guaranteed to ruin viewers appetite. No one is saying don't cover graphic things, but at viewers' discrection . that's journalism 101 for you my pretty lady

Ade_Cool said...

Linda leave that pic..this exactly was what happened in Rwanda..Liberia..Sierra Leaone..people want to be in denial..nice seeing fashion.. glossy weddngs..big boys..big girls but there's an undercurrent..
GEJ doesn't want to upset the Hausas 'cos of his quest to be the leader..so we have to put with their grand plan to move southwards and impose sharia law!!
Now this is what we need to be doing...R.I.P

UN Human Rights Chief Demands Justice For Victims Of Jos Violence

http://www.saharareporters.com/news-page/un-human-rights-chief-demands-justice-victims-jos-violence

@prettygal..thank goodness u didn't see the previous ones..babies on mother's back matcheted to death..skulls crushed..sickening!!

chinwe said...

prism of an immigrant... you have got it good in the land you migrated to haven't you???? people are getting killed and your freaking breakfast is more important to you? do us a favour love and get out more.

meanwhile, Linda, have some RESPECT for the family of that poor woman. Your putting this picture up here is not going to solve this boko haram problem in anyway. I know you mean it in a good way and want to help somehow, but THIS is NOT the way to do it. Leave all this to the sun and tabloids and step up above this level. Start a forum on your blog to discuss things you feel strongly about with other intelligent minds. Posting gory pictures doesn't help the victims in anyway.

anonymous said...

Jeezzzzz....This is Incredibly Inhuman! the people who did this are animals.

@preetygal....u are not thinking straight, this is not a muslin/christian fight (maybe u are not in naija and u've been getting ur news thru media)

These killings are being carried out by d "cattle fulanis" who have no regard for human life, uneducated, inhuman and so on. (if u watch movies.....they are like savages)These guys are very ruthless....I've heard reports of their robbery in Niger and Kwara states, They rape wives, kill husbands, cut children and so on. Trust me, they don't need a serious and reasonable reason. they are probably being sponsored by a cleric or one useless local politician who has a personal reason.

BUT! guys, don't let's talk about the problems, let's proffer peaceful solutions......who knows who's reading

HOW CAN THIS STOP???

Prism of an Immigrant said...

@Chinwe, you obviously missed the "I don't mind" part of my comment. This is not a function of anyone's location. It's about different individuals and how they handle disturbing images.

BlackDakta said...

I blame these killings on radical Islam, northern Nigeria’s systematic domination of power in Nigeria, the Islamic Arabs (especially the Lebanese) and our so called President, Goodluck Jonathan, whose main priority is to corruptly enrich himself, his family and his associates.
Nigeria’s Inspector-General of Police, the (Nigerian) State Security Service, the Nigerian military, the Federal Government of Nigeria all know the source of the problem. But due to the politics of money there is no real determination to bring the paymasters of those carrying out the attacks to justice.
The problem going on in Plateau State is the hand work of the Arabs. Nigeria’s Al Quaeda / Taliban, Boko Haram (Boko Al-Haram) are trained, armed and financed by the Shia Islamic political group and paramilitary group, Hezbollah terrorists and Iran's Islamic mullahs. Hezbollah in Nigeria and the Muslims of Nigeria want complete Islamization and Shariazation of Northern Nigeria and Nigeria as a whole.
Nigeria was politically and economically colonized by the British empire. Now we are economically colonized by Zionist Israel. The Hausas and the Muslims of Nigeria wants to have us colonized by the bloody Arabs and Islam. Hell no. The Arabs and the Jews are in Africa only for their own selfish interests. They are the source of the violence in northern Nigeria. The sooner they and the backers are thrown out, the better for Nigeria. No one should be made to live in fear or have any religion or way of life forced on them. No religion, be it Christianity or Islam or Judaism or Catholicism should be allowed to hold Nigeria hostage. Hezbollah in Nigeria are the ones coordinating the attack. Radical Islam which has taken hold in Nigeria is not right for Nigeria. Wake up before it is too late.

ugo said...

linda please,

i think i have made this comment before. i think you should put a disclaimer before putting disturbing images up. and then you can place the images (if you must) after the cut.

i'm just sitting here and having a leisurely browse, i don't really want to see such things.

thanks.

NINA said...

WHAT EXACTLY IS THE GOVT DOING ABOUT THIS??? ARE THEY TOO CAUGHT UP WITH THE ELECTIONS TO ADDRESS THIS DIRE PROBLEM????

Michael Techme Monwuba said...

An absolutely failed govt. Is the government of Nigeria confused?

linda,pls never ever take down this pic.personally,i am alarmed by this pic because i scare easily!Pls let us pray for our country.to all those who hv been offended,PLS DON'T BE,SORRY!but sometimes the hard way is the only way.if we turn a blind eye to ds injustice,soon the fight will be at our doorstep or those of our children,where will we turn then.pls let us be aware.these r d pics we don't get to see bcz of a grand cover-up!i am a xtian but i love muslims and northerners.this fight is being sponsored by politicians.let hate not fill our hearts pls!