Photo of the 14-year-old maid who attempted to kill her employer with rat poison | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 28 May 2017

Photo of the 14-year-old maid who attempted to kill her employer with rat poison

A man narrowly escaped death by poisoning when his 14-year-old maid, who was angry that he scolded her the night before, mixed rat poison with his meal.

63-year-old Nasiru Akinlosotu, a former medicine store operator, had scolded Mary Akinnifesi the night before because she spilled water in the living room.
The next day, her madam, while leaving for work, asked her to prepare beans for dinner and serve the husband. The wife, Sikirat, is a primary school teacher who owns a shop where she goes to each day after school. Because of that, she returns home late and Mary mostly handles dinner.

That night, Mary, who was still harboring the grudge or the night before, prepared the beans as instructed then when going to serve her master, she added rat poison. As fate will have it, as Akinsolotu lifted the spoon with food in it to eat, he noticed an unusual smell and asked Mary what she put in it. She said it was only spices that were added but as soon as Akinsolotu put the food in his mouth he spat it out. He raised an alarm and neighbors joined him to interrogate the girl and she allegedly confessed to adding rat poison to the food. She had lived with the couple for two years and had never displayed such behavior.

Speaking to Vanguard, Akinsolotu narrated the incident and described his survival as an act of God.

He said:
“I had even put a spoon of the beans in my mouth and about to swallow it when I discovered  offensive odour and  unpleasant taste from the food. I immediately vomited the beans and called Mary to ask why the beans was smelling in such a manner and the taste  was awful but she claimed she added spice”.
He said her explanation was not convincing so he raised the alarm and invited neighbours.
“It was in the course of interrogation by neighbours that the housemaid confessed that she crushed  the medicine meant for rat that was bought few days ago by my wife and poured it into my own share of the food. She later stated that she decided to add the poison into my food in retaliation for the correction which I made  when she committed an offense in the house. After the confession, I contacted my wife by phone and narrated the incident to her. Upon her arrival in the house, she decided to report the matter at Yaba Divisional Police Station in Ondo town for further investigation into the matter”.
Akinsolotu said he and his family have decided to drop the charges against Mary because she is a relative and they only reported to the police so people can be aware of the activities of some maids.
“Since God has delivered me from death, why should I fight again?  I have left everything to God”.

32 comments:

Evil 😈

Who planted this seed in the poor girl?

IF THESE IS A TRUE STORY ,THE YOUNG MAID IS A WITCH....

What a narrow deliverance!

Mari said...

in nigeria it should be illegal to employ a housemaid that is below the age of 18 years. if she were over the age of eighteen years then she would be completely responsible for her actions.

discover how to increase your penis size here

Adewale wunmi said...

A young girl like this is already wicked at heart,I pity her future husband

Haven't u reported on this b4? Abi u don dey recycle gist?

First you are your wife are as malicious as Mary..how can you employ a young girl young enough to be your daughter as a maid . obviously the little girl had being serving you as a maid since when she was 12 years old...that's is child abuse and enslavery.your wife cannot cook but leave everything in the care of a 14years old to manage her home just because she was too lazy to do it herself...this girl ought to be in SCHOOL!!! Because she is less privileged doesn't mean you cannot send her to school and treat her like ur child...
Secondly the child is evil!!!!....how can a 14 year old think the best way to take vengeance is to kill someone.what was she thinking that made her come to that conclusion....too bad.

Hmmmm,u get luck.

Joyous babe, Linda Ikeji FIrst Cousin said...

Nawa o, this is another lesson for looking for maid.

Bishop Ebube said...

Hmmmmmmm this world ÅŸef.

old post Linda

Chi said...

Just look at, this man no fear, he still reported to the police when turned a child into a slave. Am sure he beats the girl silly that is why a child will decide to feed his with rat poison. Stop child labour, the couple should be arrested and the child rehabilitated

Enter your comment...now the girl is d culprit,all d domestic violence that the couple where making her pass through has been buried, look at d gal,does she look healthy and happy?b4 a gal of such can decide to end it dt way,she mint have been uselessed.

She should be punished accordingly. No domestic violence in any body.

This is child labour. The children cannot be blamed as this is the level of he intelligence. People should treat orphans as their own and not leave them to be servicing their masters

the young girl went too far, the case should also be looked into. The man might also be maltreating the little girl.
if the man hits the girl, He should be arrested as well. bcos I know how some people beat their house help

May God continue to excape you from the hands of the evil once... See small girl, who even gave her such idea? Thank God for his life

hmmmm

AMIJEZ said...

Choice,end time house maid. That girl must be demonic for her to get mind poison someone's food. People should beware.

Heart of men desperately wicked. Happy survival oga.

I'd like to hear d maid's version of the story told when she's in a secure place under no fear of retribution. Weach may find out some interesting goings-on in that house. In naija this 'kids have 'no voice/no say' thing goes too far. It must take real hatred to try and kill someone. Is it ordinary 'admonishment' that brought out such in this little girl?was it physical abuse...beating. ..or worse and more nefarious physical abuse (of d type that many female house helps are subjected to by the ogas of the house? Sad story however one looks at it. @ogodomigodo

Girl or boy under the age of 18 should not be house maids. They should be in school. Moreover, what she did was wrong irrespective of her age.

Joshua Orekhie said...

This is really really bad

Nobody serves my husband food talkless of cook it I think all married women should be mindful of this

He said she is a relation. If my child is 14, she should be able to fix food for the family.she was told to fix dinner not breakfast. This means she goes to school. The girl needs counselling. Her mind has to be renewed.

Linda bhet y naaw? You don report this gist b4 naaaw, ehhh.

I don't know how some people think. U r blaming d couple for bringing her as maid. Remember he said she is a relation. Dat someone is a maid doesn't mean she doesn't go to school.if d man was her father , will she poison him just bcos he scolded or beat her.wicked girl.

Chi N said...

Evn if u does d cookn n serving,u may want to get smtn frm d room,,and d heartles maid wil stil poison d fud if she wants to.....z only God dat z our saviour.and wetin he no knw no de appn,so alwayz b prayerful

Chi N said...

And dat one bad pass ,cos d story wil nw change dat u killd ur husby

OLD POST LINDA!!

Thank you anonymous 07:27 I like ur reply to anonymous 18:12. Most pple read articles but don't get it at all. In this case is there any thing like child abuse, to prepare dinner does it make one not go to shool? If ur daughter or sister is already 14yrs and can't cook my dear u better start teaching her now for ur own good. look at a child at dis age, no matter d gravity of the maltreat for her to hv such decision of adding a substance into ones food to end his life. This girl belongs to an evil group. period. pls Nigerians i urge us all to be realistic.