Governor Amosun narrowly escapes death as CBN bullion van rams into his convoy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 May 2017

Governor Amosun narrowly escapes death as CBN bullion van rams into his convoy

Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun on Thursday narrowly escaped unhurt when a convoy of bullion vans belonging to the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN rammed into the governor’s convoy on the Lagos-Ibadan Expressway.

The incident, which occurred around Ibafo, while the Governor was traveling to Lagos for an official assignment, saw the CBN convoy damaging the escort vehicle in the governor’s convoy.
The CBN convoy, driving dangerously, attempted to overtake the governor’s convoy without regards for the safety of other road users.

On sensing danger, the Ogun Governor’s escort commander used a public address system mounted on his vehicle to warn the CBN convoy to desist from such reckless driving.

Not only was the Governor’s escort commander ignored, the CBN convoy drivers went ahead to crush his vehicle and subsequently went after other vehicles in the Governor’s convoy, including the Governor’s official car, before they were brought to a halt by the security team attached to the Governor.

Reacting to the incident, Governor Amosun said,
“this is lawlessness and the height of impunity.”
He added that,
“if this could happen to a governor within his territory, you can imagine what they would do to our citizens who are simply going about their legitimate business.”
Governor Amosun expressed disappointment with the reckless manner in which the CBN bullion van convoy often conducts itself on the road and warned that such acts of impunity will not be tolerated within the borders of Ogun State.
“We will not allow such senseless and reckless behavior in Ogun State,” Governor Amosun said.
This is not the first time the Governor would have cause to personally caution reckless CBN convoy drivers in Ogun State. On several occasions, the Ogun State Governor had to personally turn back reckless CBN bullion van drivers who often drive against traffic, with impunity, on the Lagos-Ibadan expressway.

25 comments:

Gud to knw then.....

I am now understanding this word, zoo

Timothy said...

if it was an ordinary citizen, the police attached to the

looking for penis enlargement? click here now

bullion van. ooo would have come down to beat up the people in the car.

here is how to get a big penis said...

the police would just be fighting themselves over the issue.

Yesy them no nearu fa official assignment in lagos wat is there were them elect U

Mumu Governor, this is what Nigerians go through every day and you people pretend until it happens to you. In other climes, the Governor would take this as a personal matter at the Federal level to ensure no one goes through it. He cannot even outline what he will do in his state. Just making mouth. -newyorker

Gun past power,more guns more power...cbn mobile police re more than he's.

The money in the state house is not enough for him,na cbn money him they target..

The Governor is not above the law. This show of Force can only happen here in Nigeria.

Chioma Prisca said...

I hope this is actually his son.not relative or family friend? Since people now claims to be related to Obasanjo...ie Church hill

They are damn useless drivers branch support

They are damn useless driver branch support and their bc no go fit dey shit

They are damn useless drivers branch support

Simulation... How did he narrowly escape death?. They were no jammed vehicles there... Press ehn

They also need to protect the cash there are carrying the governor's convoy should have given them right of way because if there are attacked and the money stolen no body will give them audience

Govenor that's your people jare.

In fact it's even good like that, at least, he too can feel what an average Nigerians goes through everyday on our roads in the hands of these useless animals. That is your change, please take it.

e fit both of una well well. When trailer jam caterpillar.

Rest in peace

Sounds very much like a failed assassination attempt to me.....
Just saying.

hmmm

wrightabidemi1 said...

But wait o,just because they are carrying cash gives them the right to be lords of the roads??? They need to be put under control

@ 8:20pm on 30th of April 2017, a rider (only one) double crossed on d highway, d jeep (the only car except for mine) slowed down... Note: I couldn't reverse nor turn (to avoid accident, jus in case other cars are coming) but all tht rang through my head was "kidnapper or armed robber" then "survival". The space to the left is wide enough for me to drive through and immediately I saw his hands moving towards is stomach (I thought mayb gun), so I drove off. Few seconds later, several cars (convoy of not less than 10cars and 4riders) drove past and I kept to a side of the road driving at 12km/hr and when the last rider (probably the one that crossed/blocked the road) got to my side, he broke my side mirror with his hand.‎

Before I go further, whoever he was/is before this year runs out, his life shall shatter like the mirror he broke and as he adds to my expenses so shall God mount up his liabilities, Amen!

My question is, how am I suppose to know he his with a convoy when he was the only one there? And the last I check, na human being them they drive (probably one of the thieves) not God or Angel...‎

80% of convoy drives recklessly whether CBN, govt or not... na jus their own fall out we they hear.