House of Representatives and Chairman House Committee on Legislative Compliance, Abiodun Olasupo, says they were elected to pad the budget as it is their constitutional responsibility to pad the budget. According to the Nation, Olasupo said this while inspecting some projects within his constituency in Oke-Ogun area of Oyo State yesterday August 10th.
"If you look at the Nigeria Constitution, what Honourable AbdulMuminin Jibrin refer to as padding is tantamount to what the constitution defines as the function of a member of House of Representative because the constitution guarantees the three major function of making law, appropriation, and over sight. In appropriation it is either for us to add, subtract or change and what Hon Jibrin has been trying to say is that we are changing, inserting and adding, so if that is what he calls padding then that is what the constitution expects the house of representative to do. In my own opinion been an active member during the budget defence, I was involved in the budgeting system of up to six ministries, I participated in FERMA, NAVY, health institutions, governmental agencies and a whole lot of them. The entire budgeting system make it possible that if you are elected as a member of national assembly and you are not ready to do what Muminin Jibrin calls padding then you are a failure, because basically the budget that is been brought to the national assembly does not reflect the principle of federal character as guaranteed by the constitution” he saidSpeaking further, Olasupo said
"When the executive are bringing the budget they are not considering my constituency, so they will bring a budget to me and I am expected to approve it, and if it doesn’t have the interest of my constituency you want me to keep quite, no I won’t, what I will also do is to insert what will favour the people of my constituency which is what Jibrin calls padding. I am not saying somebody is wrong or right but I do not see what is bad in attracting projects to my constituency. For the first time in the history of this country a budget presented by the executive was reduced when a president personally presented the budget to the national assembly personally. It means that we are shifting away from impunity, and corruption that has characterized the government of the past.”

35 comments:
We ar watchin una
Ehn ehn!!!! What will i not hear in this country!!!!
APC FOOLS UNA DUNG EAR? NA FROM UNA MEMBER MOUT B DIS..OO, B4 UNA SAY NA PDP WORK B PADDING N APC DUNG EXPOSE AM,BUT NOW UNA DUNG EAR CLEARLY AS APC MEMBER DE TELL UNA SAY NA PART OF WATIN DEM VOTE APC TO COM DO B DAT. SO NEXT TIME MAKE UNA DE SHOT D FORK UP.
was this man misquoted or quoted out of context, perhaps he was high on something, this is unbelievable; God help us
Kontinu o...the thunder that will fire you will be like doctors' prescription, 1 in the morning, 1 in the afternoon and 2 in the evening
See yur padded face..idiot.
IDIOT
The controversy continues
But you people are padding the budget why?
Fucking asshole...rogues...so you can diver the projects and funds to your personal farms and companies....wow Nigeria , dead..Buhari has not denied too much of this...yet he is the one shouting corruption corruption...if Dogara was a PDP member,he woul have been locked up since the day such news broke...now every house member seems to be proud and coming out to support this mess..wow
GEJ tried to differentiate stealing and corruption but was misquoted and abused due to then opposition propaganda...now this is d supposed #Change Govt. And they telling us padding is cool...even Dogara inside the presidential villa himself saying padding is not an offence in public..ehehehe
***************************plsss*******let dey padding begin with d president's brain down to hix ministers ************plssss muna start substracting all d Cow milk he drank and add up woman breast****************
Add subtract and change... what a defence!
Long Live LIB
the turth is coming out gradually.
Imagine,this is an open confession,no doubt! And padding is exactly what they have been doing,even after all these drama,it will continue,not until something drastically is done about it. If Buhariaonudu will put his nepotism aside, and pass this test of anti-corruption campaign he has been claiming,probed everyone involved in the padding,and punish them severally to serve as deterrent to others,if not this rubbish will continue to rear its ugly head!
Can you how these people have legalized and institutionalized corruption. Which projects did they execute in their constituency that translates to helping their community. Has it not always gone to their budget. WE SHOULD HOLD A REFERENDUM TO SUSPEND/OR SCRAP EITHER THE SENATE OR HOUSE OF REP TILL THE ECONOMY IS BETTER OR IF AND WHEN WE THINK WE NEED THEM. THE COUNTRY CAN DO WITHOUT SOME OF THEM.
Mr man just keep quiet! Did ur so called project go through proper costing. Did you involve the right people that can do the job or u just use proxy to set up a company and awarded urself the so called project at inflated rate.Useless people. Ur so called constituency is under a local govt and the LGA is under a state that have a chairman and and gorvenor respectively. So if that project is really that important and will benefit ur people (like u all really care of ur people) then those two should be able to see it also and add to project they plan to work on cos they also receive billions for project.
Constituency project should be scrapped. This is a windfall money that likes of dino use to buy cars. They should focus on making better law for the nation cos your salary alone is like that of arm robber that went to steal from CBN
KNOWN ANNONYMOUS
I RESERVE MY COMMENT FOR NOW
Everybody now has his version of the constitution..! Too much talk on the subject matter. I just wanna see heads roll!
This guy needs to be recalled
I'm tired completely of everything
My God what is this??? This country is finished.
Nigeria is in trouble. How did Nigeria enter this 'one chance'
Ok legis padding
Ndi era
So...??
Mad men in power.
i guess is saying the trust and the real people we think we elected into power
Justifying acriminal act. If Buhari will not do anything about this budget padding, then he's not fighting curruption. Hence, #buharimuststepdown #buharinotfittobeNigeria'spresident
lol only that?
confusion every where. both past and present administration are dsame jare. just has d past administration said "stealing isn't corruption" now u are telling us that padding budget is constitutional.
Padding or no padding, let this people concentrate on their work.
In America it is called Pork Barrel politics...
It is very much in order..
Jubrin Mumin is playing to the gallery...
Elected by whom???To do what???Where have you executed any projects.May posterity dish out to you all what you have given Nigeria a hundred fold.Time will judge you and your cohorts.
A now deceased 1993 very wealth Nigerian politician once said the money a politician uses to pay for his prostitutes services is not from his emoluments