Nigerian mother with leukaemia urgently searches for matching blood stem donor (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 August 2016

Nigerian mother with leukaemia urgently searches for matching blood stem donor (photos)

A 23-year-old Nigerian mother with cancer is appealing to the Nigerian community to help find a matching blood stem donor.

The campaign to find a suitable match for May Brown, from Dorset, has become more urgent following a relapse of the leukaemia that she had. As Brown's leukaemia has just returned more aggressively than before, her doctors have told her that she will need the blood stem cell donation as soon as she goes into remission, which they hope will happen again soon.

Blood cancer charities African-Caribbean Leukaemia Trust (ACLT) and DKMS have come together to appeal for people to register as potential blood stem cell donors to help find a matching donor for Brown and anyone in need of a lifesaving donation.

Brown, who was a London 2012 Olympics volunteer, was diagnosed with acute myeloid leukaemia in June last year. For many with a blood cancer or blood disorder, a blood stem cell donation from another person is their only chance of survival.

As a Nigerian, those with a similar heritage are urged in particular to join the registry, as this is likely to provide the most suitable match for her. Beverley De-Gale, ACLT co-founder, added:
"Due to May’s unfortunate relapse, her search for a matched stem cell donor is even more urgent than before. If you are of West African descent, I urge you to step forward while encouraging your family and friends to do the same. Join the stem cell register today by providing a cheek swab to help potentially save May’s life."
The importance of people who share Brown’s West African heritage registering is underscored by the fact that, while close to a quarter of potential donors in the UK are from ethnic minority backgrounds, patients from these backgrounds continue to have difficulty in finding suitable donors due to a disproportionate lack of available donors.

A black, ethnic minority individual living with blood cancer has less than a 20 per cent chance of finding the best possible match from an unrelated donor. White British individuals have a 90 per cent chance at best.

Brown, who is mother to two-year-old daughter Selina-May, desperately wants to watch her child grow up. Urging people to register, she said:
"Please register today as a potential blood stem cell donor. Do it, if not for my sake, but for the sake of my little girl. She is only two years old and needs her mummy. Your selfless act of registering could ultimately save my life and those of other people suffering from blood cancer or blood disorders."
Supporting his wife’s appeal, Brown's husband Michael who was a British former soldier said:
"Please register to help my beautiful wife May. It is so easy to register as a potential blood stem cell donor. It takes a few minutes to do, and it could lead to you giving decades to May, which our small family are praying so desperately for."
Source: The Voice Newspaper UK

41 comments:

Its well

***************************God pls gbaghara ayi njo anyi*******jux giv us d cure for Cancer *********vry deadly somtin ***********kai*********wiL dia ever be a cure for it ????????

So how. Will u knw if ure a match? U'll have to register nd do d test?

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

its well wt her.

It is well oh

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

its well wt her.

Chaiya...i pray help comes for her soonest!

I don't even kno my blood group.how can I help.I will love to. . .

Eyaah... God please heal her

How do we get to check Considering she is far away. Would have loved to help.

I hope she gets help soon

I pray she finds. May God health u dear

Long Live LIB

I pray she finds. May God heal her

Long Live LIB

Nigerians and hypocritical prayers .Go and register they keep praying ...

I wish I could help, but don't know how to get in toich with her as a donor.

a said...

It's well

GOD PROTECTION TO HER

I am in the Uk,how do i donate please? Theres no link or no?

Chai God help her.(1)A fairly used clean Toyota Avalon 2006model and a 2007model camry for sale very cheap & affordable (2) Own a land in portharcourt for as cheap as 800k for enquires contact 08107095662

may Almighty God meets her at the point of her needs IJN

This woman has really suffered. She attempted suicide years back when ukba wanted to deport her. Her husband stood by her till they gave her asylum. Now this,oma she o.

Awe said...

Where can I register or do note mine to her, am serious before fear makes me change my mind am ready to help her see her daughter grow am a mother too. Contact me lewa27@yahoo.ca

Xploral said...

Let her try and Register at www.enterthe healingschool.org and anttend the healing section. i was watching a testimony of a woman that have the same condition as her's that God healed via the man of God Pastor Chris

God will see tru..

Joey said...

This is not the time for prayers, it is time to act. If you really want to help, get on Google and search of how and where you can get tested.
thanks

PLEASE ANYBODY WHO KNOWS THIS YOUNG WOMAN SHOULD PLEASE TELL HER TO TRY SOURSOP LEAVE TEA AND FRUITS.IT HAS HELPED PEOPLE PUT CANCER IN REMISSION ESPECIALLY LEUKAMIA,BREAST /COLON AND PROSTRATE CANCER.MORE INFO ABOUND ONLINE IF SHE CAN GOOGLE IT.NO HARM IN TRYING!

superwoman said...

i will luv to help.am O+ positive. pls hw can i help her ?

Where are we to get tested? There is no info on that.

oluchi said...

What her blood group @?

It is well with her. Linda take note!

TheRealAkon said...

I dearly wish I could reach out but can't as my blood group is rare and I was born naturally anaemic.

I can donate . But how do I know . I match . O+ AA just text I will reach u back . 08057478039

would really love to help, but don't how to do that, contact me on this email id, elish025@gmail.com if u know how one can help.

please how do we test to know if we re eligible to donate......please send me the details asap at cyprianduruaku86@yahoo.com

Hope she finds

heya

Where can someone register? faithluchyeze@gmail.com

How can I register?

Whr do we register