Man being investigated for N91m fraud dies in EFCC custody | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 June 2016

Man being investigated for N91m fraud dies in EFCC custody

Desmond Nunugwo, a suspect under investigation by the EFCC, passed away today June 10th, few hours after he was taken into custody. His demise was confirmed at the hospital where he was rushed after he suddenly took ill.

Late Nunugwu allegedly fraudulently obtained N91million from an acquaintance after he tricked her into believing that he had high net worth business associates in Dubai, United Arab Emirates who were at the verge of buying Nicon Insurance and convinced her of their disposition to help her stock fish business.

Consequently, she wired N91m into Nunugwo’s nominated account (Mainagge General Merchants) in Diamond Bank. After the transfer of the funds, Nunugwo became evasive forcing the complainant to report the transaction to the EFCC. Consequently, Nunugwo was arrested in Utako, Abuja at about 5.33pm on Thursday, June 9, 2016.

His statement was taken, where he admitted receiving the money from the complainant, with the additional information that he transferred N30m of the said money to Norway. But he could not explain the whereabouts of the balance of N61m. The suspect was detained at about 7.30pm, in the absence of anybody to take him on bail. Six hours later, he suddenly complained of discomfort and was rushed to the hospital where he was pronounced dead.

The incident has already been reported at the Wuse Police Station, where investigation into the cause of the sudden death has commenced.

66 comments:

Nawa o

Nawa o

baba said...

May he rest in peace, but let's not get sentimental and condemn EFCC. They have important work to do. Monies should be recovered from thieves. Let it get into our consciousness that when you steal public money, you will answer for it. Let the EFCC continue its work. If some other looters die in custody, the Lord rest their souls.

Efcc doing more harm than good

Effc to be investigated finally

Pls dey shld wake him up ooo how can he die with our money....on a seriously note,hope no be person poison him

EFCC MUST BE VERY EXCITED WITH THIS NEWS. STUPID INDIVIDUALS! EFCC MUST BE HELD RESPOMSIBLE FOR THIS MAN'S DEATH. NOTHING DARES HAPPEN TO FFK ELSE THE WHOLE WORLD GO SHAKE

E wo , he must have had a heart attack

He must have died of shock. Linda take note!

them go do kill am.

##nawaao

See gobe! Oya,the family should sue,sue and sue!

Heaven is far from him o except he reconciled wit his God
Signed
#LibBadBoy

Ok ohhhh.EFCC are you sure you didn't torture the man??? E na get case to answer oh.

CheI...91m gone like that...madam pele

I suspect torture in this case. EFCC should be investigated very well if by any means he was tortured before he died. The family should sue them. The family should involve private hospital for an autopsy to determine the cause of his death. Thank you

Did u realy read the post young lady befor commentin rubbish what do u mean by "our money"??? Always quick to comment foolishly..

Not good at all. He shld ve paid d money first

Any family member wen come out now come sue, should be made to help trace the stolen funds. No peace for the wicked. Even in death.

EFCC don kill am now let me see how they'll get the remaining money wicked fools

Your father's house will shake asshole.who knows ffk outside of ur father's house.be forming toronto you bastard you are in canada yet you manage to comment on every story on the blog even when real pol sleeps in canada foolish ode.it's obvious you have no job nor life!

The N91 million, is not your money. He 419ed someone. But I'm certainly certain either two things. EFCC may have tortured him to death, or, eburu na oriwana onu

Godwin said...

How can somebody die in custody, someone that is been investigated for crime not convicted.
Well if is in my country they will sue them for murder.

*NWA 042*

Whaooooo!!

Thatbillzchick said...

Sad!

ONYI P.K. said...

A lot of questions are begging for answers. Where exactly in Utako did EFCC arrest him? Was he alone in the place and at the time of arrest? If he confessed he transferred N30m to Norway for the stock fish deal, what is the name and address of the presumptive recipient? Where are hard and electronic copies of correspondences exchanged before remittance to Norway was effected? What about his GSM phone (s), laptop (if any) etc.? Diamond Bank was named as the receiver-bank of the N91m; it should be able to give insights into the draw-down. Who were his friends and close associates including relatives? Let us hope the truth will prevail at last!

His family should carry out an autopsy,it's weird,he could have been tortured or poisoned,trust no one! RIP Man #Sad

I suspect his "colleagues" must have engaged an EFCC staff to poison him so he won't speak of the 61million.

People are blaming EFCC and have forgotten that the man is a thief. Shameless and useless Nigerians

Who the hell is FFK. He should die if he likes. Why did he steal our 800 million naira that would have created jobs for us? The world can never shake for a thief's death. Them go even thank God say he don die make he no go steal again.

So many deaths in June. I plead the blood of Jesus o,,,,.

#Linda'spal

It is only in Nigeria that thieves and 419 are celebrated. What a shame!

The juju they are using to try to get more from them is now taking their lives. Someone should sue EFCC. This is getting too much!!!! Aboki himself dey chop and steal quietly, what is this?

Stern mumu

@stern: When will u stop talking like an idiot?,or is it an inherited trait?..who are u..and who d hell is FaniKayode?..crazy maggots in human form!!!

Abi na.'Pele' to d madam..swindled of 91million box?..Umm,maybe d guy even died of "spiritual arrow/bullet" from d lady..or it was God that took him?..abi foul play at EFCC custody?.. Since I want to believe an autopsy shall be conducted, then no sh**t.

Download this video young talented rapper as Dagrin amazing

You are a mighty fool! Which public fund? If you check well now it cld actually be the woman dat stole public fund to invest elsewhere. If he was your brother or father will you say d same thing? How are you sure of the authenticity of the story? Did the report say he refused to pay back? That he was evasive does not mean you have the whole story! Dats how aluu 4 wer called thieves and murdered for everyone to now find out it was a lie! Nigerians and their wicked hearts...efcc must have tortured him, maybe d woman has a relation in efcc so they decided to use their connection to deal with the guy. I hope they are happy now.

EFCC has killed him. Bastards. The family should carry out an autopsy and take the necessary steps. Nonsense

uchenna said...

late this efcc be investigated for they kill the. man

Gbege and gobe,efcc don't enter be dat

**********************************kai*********dix deaths evrywhr *************ayam beginning to get scared !!!!!!!!!!!!!looks like some1 can jux close eyes n jux die !!!!!!!!!!!!! Nawa ooooo

Such a pathetic story, rest in peace

chommy said...

Stern u r ryt. Linda observe!

nwosu said...

what a pity may his soul rest in peace.amen.

zimuzochi said...

i pity for him

Nawao Beht how? Hmm BTW how far FFK?

diana said...

Big problems

Peace nwadire said...

Efcc should be held responsible for his death cos i suspected torture

How is it r money fool

They have tortured the young man to death and came out here to tell us cow and chicken story.. Ndi ara!! God is watching you..!!

EFCC be steadfast. Don't mind the corpse go after the #91million.

Maybe the man is not even dead. He must have planned with his doctor to declare him dead so that the lady will forget the money. No be 419 the man be? Anything can happen when it comes to 419. They should demand to see the corpse after one week because his doctor can give him sleeping injection that will make it look like he is dead. I dont believe this story.

OBA'S BLOG said...

Rip to him ooo. Bk was here!!

Jude Akinwole said...

Hmmm... this one get as ever be o! I just hope it's not as a result of torture

Unkown said...

Okay so I wouldn't normally comment on stories but this one hurts me because I know Desmond personally. He is a good man. He got involved in a deal that went bad. He was not trying to steal from the woman. He got scammed. RIP Bishop. Efcc whatever y'all did; God sees and God will definitely judge.

EFCC ahead ahead, the corpse should not distract your investigations.

May his soul rest in peace.

May his soul rest in peace. I think he was tortured. Efcc should be sued.