Former President Jonathan has repudiated a newspaper publication indicating that he returned last Wednesday from Cote d’Ivoire, a country the paper claimed, he allegedly considered going into exile. A story in This Day of Saturday 04 June, 2016 entitled ‘Buhari Holds Secret Meeting with Jonathan, Niger Delta Tops Agenda’, had insisted that President Jonathan had gone on self-exile for fear of being arrested.However, dismissing the allegation as false, insensitive and tendentious, the former President warned newspapers to desist from reckless sensationalism. Dr. Jonathan who stressed that he returned from the United Kingdom and not Cote d’Ivoire as erroneously claimed in the This Day story however reiterated that he “has no intention of turning his back on Nigeria, a homeland he served diligently as President, to the best of his abilities.”
Below are the full details of the statement signed by Ikechukwu Eze, media aide to the former President: FORMER PRESIDENT JONATHAN NEVER CONSIDERED GOING ON EXILE Our attention has been drawn to a spurious publication in This Day of Saturday 04 June, 2016 entitled ‘Buhari Holds Secret Meeting with Jonathan, Niger Delta Tops Agenda’.
We had thought that the newspaper only set out to report a routine meeting between the former President and President Muhammadu Buhari, while speculating on the agenda just as newspapers are wont to freely do, especially as no statement was issued by either of the parties. We are however dismayed that This Day, unlike other newspapers, went beyond this brief and turned the report into a veil for its vain and futile attempt to justify its earlier ‘exclusive’ report, on a speculated Jonathan’s self-exile to Cote D’Ivoire. We are inclined to proclaim straightaway that this claim or any insinuation to Dr. Jonathan’s contemplation of exile is not only false, tendentious but inciting.
Isn’t it reprehensible that the only truth in the This Day publication is that former President Jonathan paid a visit to President Buhari, while the rest of the content are bogus insinuations and fabrications? It is surprising that, rather than apologise to the former President and the nation for an obvious gaffe, This Day continues to pursue this illusory line of thought, which achieves nothing but mislead its readers, even after the former President had clearly stated that he never, at any point in time, considered going into exile.
We are persuaded to believe that the newspaper is pursuing a yet-to-be-declared agenda, especially after a call earlier made, out of respect, to the newspaper by the former President, to offer a clarification, was deliberately misrepresented, to agree with this premeditated conclusion.
We are disappointed that a serious newspaper like This Day could carelessly wager its reputation and encouraging perception, by submitting itself to such recklessness and needless sensationalism. We therefore seek to make the following assertions, as a means of stating the facts:
* We maintain as Dr. Jonathan has himself stated, that the former President has no intention of turning his back on Nigeria, a homeland he served diligently as President, to the best of his abilities.
* It is instructive to note that while This Day continues to insist that Jonathan came from Cote d’Ivoire, the former President actually returned to the country last Wednesday evening from London, after visiting many countries including United States, United Kingdom, Senegal and Cote d’Ivoire on a six-week long international engagements and speaking tour.
*As a former President, Dr. Jonathan should be obliged the freedom to visit President Buhari, anytime he likes, to brief him on his international engagements and other commitments. We will like to advise media houses to desist from this fruitless predilection of Jonathan bashing, just because it is convenient, and in tune with the disposition in some quarters.
Signed
Ikechukwu Eze
Media Aide to former President, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan
41 comments:
Time will tell.
Signed
#LibBadBoy
No mind yeye Dis day my Jona
U remain my best
U wia called bad block sometime during campaign,i wonder what buhari shld b called as tomatoes ebola and maize HIV don add 2 naira depreciation
God is surely intervening 4 u my jona
Is well wit my country
God bless nigeria
Linda don't take note!
God punish This Day
Stupid Publisher
You guyz wouldn't leave Jonathan alone
Indiot Newspaper
Ignore the bastards GEJ. Nduka Obaigbena is not one to be taken seriously.
His Excellency sir. Who God has wonderfully made, no man can try to tamper with him. They are running their mouths in vain while you are sailing and soaring higher than ever. Mark it today, apologies will be tendered sooner or later from both the users and the used. Let them say! Azu anu uka jare!!!
Issohk seen.
says,Genevieve.
GEJ is is a nightmare to all this SW ppl, they believe dey can write anything to water their Ego cos they feel the media belongs them. Like it or not as long as OBJ,Atiku,IBB n tinubu are free,GEJ a Just man can't be touched except u want...
#GEJNowThatYouAreBack help us talk to ur Niger-Delta brothers to stop vandalizing oil pipelines and facilities...
Thats wht m talking abt
d best president in history, gej
That newspaper needs to be sanctioned
BUHARI DID NOT NAME THE LOOTERS BECAUSE GOODLUCK WOULD HAVE BEEN IMPLICATED AND THIS WOULD HAVE INCREASED THE AGITATIONS OF THE MILITANTS. OBJ FORESAW THIS AND BROKERED THE MEETING. I FEEL SORRY FOR NIGERIANS. IF THEY TRULY UNDERSTOOD THE LEVEL OF PLUNDERING THAT TOOK PLACE UNDER THE LAST ADMINISTRATION THEY WOULD NOT LET ANY OF ITS LEADERS WALK AROUND FREELY. GEJ HAS A SPECIAL GRACE FROM GOD...AND GOODWILL WITH THE PEOPLE AND THIS HAS KEPT HIM SHIELDED. THE MILITANTS WERE FUNDED BY GOODLUCK JONATHAN...I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT THEY RECEIVED MORE MONEY THAN THE MILITARY FOR AMMUNITION OVER THE PAST FEW YEARS AND THIS WAS CALCULATED. THE PROBLEM IS...THEY WOULD NO BE LOYAL TO JONATHAN...THEIR PURPOSE IS SELFISH.
ThisDay is only doing business, anything to make the paper sell is what dey would print. Linda take note!
Jona be looking like Alphonse Capone lately
Good. So now how is he going to protect himself from his Ijaw Brothers who are waiting anxiously to kidnap him for ransom ? Where is he going to be parking his Private Jets? Which road will he use from Otuoke to Port Harcourt since the East West Road is too dangerous? How will Helicopters pick him up since the Presidential Library was not designed with a helipad?
How is he going to get fresh fish since the Niger Delta Avengers have spilled Oil all over Bayelsa? How is he going to get his Fresh Salad since his Ijaw Brothers have driven away all the Tomatato and Potato sellers from Yenagoa? How is he going to get his Biafra Passport now that Ijawland has emerged with Igboland to declare secession? How is he going to cope with life in Nigeria since Biafrans say he belongs to them? What will happen to all the Dollars and Euros buried in Otuoke now that Bureau de Change are hiding from him and he cannot trust his Ijaw Militants to escort or guard the money? All his fellow looters are on the run or on exile? Is life in exile not better?
Suddenly all the good luck seems to have disappeared. Every body around him is in hiding from EFCC. Even OBJ is weeping for poor poor Jonathan.
He can always return to his house in Badore. That seems to be the safest hiding place for him now. If the Militants want to kidnap him he can at least count on the kindhearted Lagosians for protection.
THIS DAY SHAME ON YOU!
Buh he sha went to cote d'ivoire... dee
Shitty journalists!!
My dear President Jonathan, please ignore them. The only thing failures know how to do is to ignore how they have failed in life and try to make a mockery of the success of others. Apc can use magazines, newspapers and d Internet to fool their blind stupid followers but we know better. Soar on sir
Thanks. Wish you will sue them and nail their ass to the wall.
Please Quiet. You talk crap
Jesus! Never knew people could be this terrible. Pls check ur comment over Gej before the election, and what u are commenting now. U alone will nell down by urselfoo. and ask God,Gej,Nigerians and the entire world for forgiveness.
Monika Okale, the Ex President's Media Aid accused This Day Newspaper and not APC. If you need to be schooled, This Day Newspaper is owned by Nduka Obaigbena one of the biggest beneficiaries from ONSA, he was also a big associate of President Ebele Jonathan. You need to read well before you comment not to always look like a nuisance.
You're just a stupid mallam that's opportune to have laptop
Mumu
How is he
How is he
That's d only English you know
Fool
Go rest, Gej has move on, so do too
Get well soon since u'r drinking Panadol for Gej
God bless you GEJ
Thank you GEJ media aide for the elegant and dignified language. No insult. But you made your point. Let's see how This Day will react when they publish this. I just hate their mercenary method. QED
Rest easy good man......u are their worst nightmare.....they idolize you Sir
WORD!!
We We the ppl that owns the newspaper
And you know this because? Pls shut ur dirty trap.
Self centred, arm chair, opportunistic, play-to-the-gallery journalism.
You re d most foolish and useless idiot I be ever seen,if u say Gej sponsored militants wat bokoharam that buhari founded u re not talking about that,u re simply oxwine fool tribalism will continue to camp ur blood and it will lead u guys to a terrible situation.bunks.
Am a good reader of disday but just for dis fales information I will not decive myself again buying disday paper I promise
Na dem sabi jare.