Is there anything wrong with this promotional photo? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 5 June 2016

Is there anything wrong with this promotional photo?

Apparently, critics felt this billboard from a scene in the upcoming movie; X-Men Apocalypse, promotes violence against women. The criticism was so bad, 20th Century Fox had to apologize.

In a statement to The Hollywood Reporter, the film studio apologized for the billboard saying, "In our enthusiasm to show the villainy of the character Apocalypse we didn’t immediately recognize the upsetting connotation of this image in print form. Once we realized how insensitive it was, we quickly took steps to remove those materials. We apologize for our actions and would never condone violence against women."

60 comments:

I see

There is noting wrong with this picture.
This is an ordinary picture from a Movie scene,which one is violent against women?
May GOD SAVE THIS GENERATIONS OF WAILERS AND APC.

There is noting wrong with this picture.
This is an ordinary picture from a Movie scene,which one is violent against women,WHAT OF VIOLENT AGAINST MEN?
May GOD SAVE THIS GENERATIONS OF WAILERS AND APC.

Chai

Meenah_wakil on instagram

Chai

Meenah_wakil on instagram

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

U gat to be kidding me, this people don't av problem @ all, even if does promote violence against women, leave d billboard, focus on d msg....

I love the billboard..... Speaking as a creative designer

Leonard Omotayo (Hormortaryo #Frosh) said...

Its just a movie advert naaa. And there are fictional characters...

Them for delete all the fight scenes between women and men then, yes,it promotes violence, but what's d logic and idea behind the billboard? That's what matters.

Women wit ihoooo

That's true

Yea it somehow connotes tolerance for violence against women.The backlash won't surface if it was a man he is holding

Makjesty said...

I Agree, with them...

Long live the Queen...
(Linda Ikeji)...

Genny's Blog said...

Aunty Linda abeg everything is wrong with d pics.

Ayodele Jay said...

Seriously??? It's A movie for Christ sake....we human beings have big problem.

SNAP said...

Lol..when the feminist mob comes for you,untop billboard sef

Hmmmmmm

Oh well...

Hian

Iffa hear...

Its only a movie scene but I gex people see things differently. Linda take note!

Yeah it's bad...so violent in general

Terrible

Hmmmmmmmm ok

I totally agree!! It not a positive photo @ all!! Only the strong survive kor!! + Strangling a woman!!!

Folks shud take a grip it's just a movie......

Chinedu said...

Mtsheeeeeeewwwwwww

Well it depends on how you see it and who sees it.. It kinda promotes it.. Esp now that violence has become the order of the day

hrm paul ojeih said...

People are too quick to juge and rea meanings in things they ought not to.For Pete sake it's a movie if dey find dis offensive den dey shoul not watch d movie wen it is released

Nawao 4 u, you have said it all and you are still asking. The connotation is not good at all. Women violation

Hahahahahahah see me thinking it's bcos d bad guy looks like Donald Trump sef!!!!

But he does rite? Abi na my eyes

Oai

Thanos said...

don't expect women to be elevated to the status of superheroes if they cant take a choke once in a while. As far as I can tell, the whole superhero/supervillain game is a contact sport. You kick ass and u get ur ass kicked...

Everything now na violence against women inasmuch as I condemn violence against women but this is just a billboard if it were to be d other way round nobody would have complained

Feminism has taken it's equality to movie billboards, den, we are finally finished.

Mother Confessor

You remain a fool.

So pple cannot do movie again cos we have women in d society... dee

Don't mind them. It's not just some weak lady btw, it's mystique!

If it were a lady holding him nko?

As in, people can twist things sha

OKORO UPGRADED

If u are really a fan of xmen, u'll understand dat d lady in that pix 'miss Teeq' is the most violent character. So it's jst a matter of perspective.

kachi jobs said...

No I c it frm d view of insane pple to act according to wot dey c in big picture.dis is hw to treat woman.I like d western world fr dis idea dat"2 stop a river it must b frm d sorce"

Women's rights campaigners are polarising our world. Let's be clear, violence is not when a man's hand grips a woman's neck but the circumstances that warranted the grip. A chocking that occurs in a battle involving a male and female soldier cannot be termed violence against women.

Nufin is wrong wth dis pic abeg, we all knw d part mystique plays in xmen so she shld be able to handle a chock na.

Rilly

Insatiable world! You can never satisfy everybody..

WORD!!!

Abegi.. They should free that thing.. D movie is so delicious..lol.. Very interesting. Enjoyed it! Apocalypse badh baddo baddest!

Woman with violent, always make us feel they r soft n they can date 15 men at a time nonsense.

Them don come again. Simple minded feminists. Everything has to be a war of the sexes. It's a simple fucking ad. FOH

Ok women are stronger than men. thats what u people wanted to hear na abi?

It from a scene for Pete sake

They won't call it violence, shallow thinkers...it's just a billboard for crying out loud...

Ogbeni shurup, all those nollywood movies you watch, where you witches or prostitutes are on the covers, have you ever complained about them being negative?? Your head like Positive!

Asin nobody would say it's violence against Men... And you feel there would ever be gender equality, when women will always try to play the victims in any thing.

Chioyi u ghana be kitchen me #lolz

Pple say It's just a movie,its just an advert...etc but we all forget that this can cause a negative impact on some pple & even kids.

I have an experience as kids when we watched Rambo the in the mist of the action, my kid brother ran out took a stick and shattered the sliding door saying he wants to be like Rambo.we were all shocked as he was just 4yrs @d tym.so we must watch it.

De Imperfect Chick said...

i have seen this movie @firm house, the movie make sense die. they would have use the one he was fighting with charlie or the magneto.

Lolz

GLOWREEYAH said...

Issokay.