The Bible now comes in emoji format | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 29 May 2016

The Bible now comes in emoji format

An emoji version of the King James Bible is set to be released on iTunes. Called Bible emoji: scripture 4 millenials, the Bible makes it easier for tech-obsessed young people to read the scriptures.

The book's online description says: 'A great and fun way to share the gospel. Explore all 66 books chronicling the the stories of Abraham, Noah and Jesus like never before!'

The Bible's translator said in an interview: 'You start with emojis that are really common — for instance, the earth emoji can mean earth, world, or planet. Eventually I created an actual translator program with a list of 80 different emoji icons, and 200 corresponding words.

'In addition: I built in some common shorthand — so that "and" became &, and "first" became 1st.'
'I've received a lot of tweets, some very nice some very, not nice. But it's all worth the goal of making the Bible a little more approachable, to inject some levity, and to get people to look at it, with no particular agenda beyond that.'

'Emojis are emotional, and allow people to express feelings in a visual way within the structure of "normal", written language."
'What's made them so successful, is that they're language-agnostic — they allow you to convey an idea to anyone, regardless of what language they speak.'

The translator who completed the project in six months wishes to remain anonymous.
Now you have no excuse for skipping morning devotion.

42 comments:

Same phone they use in watching porn,sending nudes and sexting with.i hear.

Lobatan .....change era.

Is this really necessary???

I hope technology won't drive us to a point where initial meaning of things would be lost oh. Now we have Bible emoji, what next?

I comment my reserve. Get your today's exclusive soccer prediction tips.. visit www.fortunatusblog.com

Orisirisi 🙄🙄🙄🙄

This is great.

That's nice

Kool

Awwwwww what a great fabulous thing who invent this pls?
Is like i will start going to church very soon.

the Lord, thank you making a Muslim and nt a religion makin fun wit ur "words" wit smileys.

Olumide Abiodun said...

lol! What wont we see in this social media age.

Top 10 Nigerian Actresses with the Biggest Boobs

No time for long thing. Everytin now is shot hand.

Not feeling it jor

Interesting

Halleluyah!

PEARL😃 said...

Hahahaha! Nice... Na who dey talk say Christian no dey gbedu? #Melikey

Not cool

Mr 47 said...

This very nice. Best app coming itunes

Not interested @ all

Lovely. No excuse for not reading the Bible. Very interesting indeed.

So Wat happens when they reach the bible verse dat says "and lot knew his daughters or and Abraham knew Sarah. ..will dey put an emoji of two pple fucking? Una no get the fear of God oh na dis kine thing God go just vez collect trumpet from angel hand blow am. ..nothing remain again!

GLOWREEYAH said...

Hmmmm...na wah o

Gyasi said...

Exactly what Robin was talking abt when he wrote abt grammar.

The Author said...

Lol. Oyibo the craze

Genny's Blog said...

ohk seen.

says,Genevieve.

Chinedu said...

Nope...

Hmmmmmm,i dnt like joor

It's kinda kool😎😘. Me like it 👍

Emeka said...

I pray this is not to dilute the Bible further. Why should they use an emoji as the face of God? From first glance my instinct is to tell people to read the normal Bible, especially the King James version.

If the intention for this is good then to God be the Glory but I am sceptical about this. What people should understand is that Christianity is under attack from every corner and Christians need to wake up and stand strong for our faith.

Somehow cool

Hmm

Go and die,u think Christians are blood suckers like u guys,if it were Ismael descendants blood would ve been everywhere

Go and die..u think we are like Ismael descendants where they take issues like this to d shedding blood?

Muslim are sick people,a case like this u in particular would ve killed many,stupid pig barging about being d dead Muslim

God bless you.
Well said Emeka.

I don't like this-its very satanic.
They have replaced the word 'GOD' with emoji and will gradually wipe it out.
Let's just be ready for Christ's coming cos even sodom and gomorah didn't sin like this

***Lush said...

This is why young people in the Western world, with English as their primary language (or at least one of their primary languages) can no longer spell and use proper grammar.

***Lush

The same heart where God resides is where the devil comes to tempt!
It's better to still have a Bible in such phone so u may just one day read it and see what God truly expect of u. Rather than push away anything that wud take u back to God.

That said, I must say I'm somewhat disappointed at ur comments these days. U seemed one of the few intelligent ones here before, but what happened now?

Rubbish.... Don't like abeg