Indian sister sentenced to rape after brother ran off with a married woman reveals her terrifying ordeal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 31 August 2015

Indian sister sentenced to rape after brother ran off with a married woman reveals her terrifying ordeal

One of two sisters sentenced to be raped in India after their brother ran off with a married woman from a higher caste has spoken out about her fear.

Meenakshi Kumari, 23, has described how she has been unable to sleep or leave the house for fear of the village elders - who sentenced her and her 15-year-old sister to rape – sending someone to deliver the punishment.

"I can’t sleep, I’m very scared. How will we ever return home or to our village? If we ever return they will harm us or rape us. If not today then in the future. ’ she said from a secret location in Delhi, 30 miles from their village Sankrot, in Uttar Pradesh, India.
'Jats never forget and they will not forget this humiliation. They want their revenge. Loving someone is not wrong.’

Meenakshi and her little sister were with their family in Delhi for a wedding when a neighbour called and told them not to return to their village. 

The neighbour warned that the un-elected village council, Khap panchayat, dominated by the upper caste 'Jat' men, had ordered the two sisters be raped and paraded naked with their faces blackened as punishment for their brother's actions. 

Their brother, Ravi Kumar, 25, from the Dalit caste - historically known as 'untouchables' - had been in a relationship with 21-year-old Krishna from the Jat caste for almost two years.
When both families discovered the relationship, they did all they could to keep the two lovers apart.
The siblings' older brother Sumit Kumar, 28, who works as a constable in the Delhi Police, told his younger brother to end the relationship immediately, as they would never be together. 

'We belong to a lower caste, they are from an upper caste,' he said. 
'I told him this relationship could never work. We are treated as untouchables but he didn't listen to me and now we are paying for it.'  
Ravi met Krishna two years ago, when she joined his computer classes for children in Khekada, Uttar Pradesh.

They exchanged phone numbers and quickly fell in love. They were on the phone to each other all the time and arranged covert meetings in secret locations.
But when Ravi's father Naik Dharampal Singh, 52, heard of the relationship he ordered it to end immediately. 

Even though Ravi ended the relationship, the pair couldn't bear to be apart. 
Eventually Krishna's parents started looking for prospective husbands for her but she refused.  

‘It was hard for my brother but he understood the situation,’ Sumit said. 
‘Her family knew about their relationship before the marriage. They beat their daughter a lot and gave my brother warnings many times. 
'In the end my brother told her to go ahead with the marriage, she had to. She went ahead with the marriage in Haryana but she was very unhappy. They treated her like a maid. 
'So she left and returned home. And that’s when she and my brother started their relationship again.’
Ravi and Krishna had eloped twice before but had returned. Each time Sumit claimed her family beat her. 
We made him understand it was dangerous. At the end of the day it’d be our family who would suffer. He understood what he was doing, he knew the risks but love took over. 

'When the girl got in touch with him he just couldn’t contain his emotions. We are now helpless. His future is ruined completely and our family is in danger.’
Krishna’s family was so furious that the couple had eloped again they told the police Ravi was involved with drugs. When they were caught in Delhi at the end of May, Ravi was arrested and has been in Meerut Jail ever since.

Meenakshi and her family were already in Delhi when a neighbour called them to tell them it’s not safe to return to their village called Baghpat, in Uttar Pradesh, 30 miles from Delhi. It has approximately 250 Dalits compared to 7,000 Jats. 

Meenakshi said: ‘My father got a call from a neighbour and told us not to come back. They said that the Khap panchayat – that are all Jats - took the decision to rape my sister and me and parade us naked. They want revenge.

‘It is wrong. We did nothing wrong so why should my sister and me be punished. They loved each other and it is they who decided to go. Why should we suffer? 
'We have not left the house, as we are scared they might send someone to attack us. I am finding it very difficult to cope. I am very scared.
'People today are still living in the caste system; it’s the root of everything here. Right now I do not have any hopes, our future is ruined.’

Culled from UK Daily Mail

57 comments:

Mind Treasures said...

Most times when we walk into big malls, boutiques, supermarkets, we never question their prices. We pay exactly what we see on the price tags and even hand out tips to the staff.
But the moment we are out of these shops and want to buy banana, our bargaining game gets off to the roof. Poor widow with 12 hungry children at home tells you banana is N100. She even takes out her time to explain how difficult it was for her to even buy it, how the economy is so tough.
But we insist that if it's not N50, we are not paying. Some of us even step back into our cars and make to drive away. But because 'half bread is better chin chin', this woman is forced to call you back and sell to you at little or no gain. In her heart, she cries, she's worried about how she'll survive with her children. She silently reassures herself that 'It's well.
God will definitely provide.'' While you happily chop the luscious banana. Take some seconds out and think about this, guys. Please don't bargain hard with small vendors like this. They do business not to buy designer bags, Gucci shoes but to LIVE and EAT!

My name is Rita.. I'm 33 years old, and I live in Lagos state.
Im a chief staff at NNPC, and I'm paid very well. Im not yet married,
and don't have any intention to, cos of the heart breaks I've faced..
Ive decided to live my life, alone.. I need a Guy who can satisfy me in Bed.
I will be paying him 300k monthly for a start.. If he impresses me, I will
Increase his pay. Ive not done this sugar mummy thing before, but I hope
I will get a good guy here.. Please contact me as soon as u get my number
This might be ur only Chance to be a big boy.
CLICK HERE TO GET MY NUMBER.

Indian with their barbaric kind of culture

uhmmmm what a story!
auntie linda shay u hear that one?

India is rurning to another thing,i pity for the ladies over there?since that raping has become a way of punishing ladies.
What a shame.

Uhmmmm what a story
Auntie linda shay you hear?

See ehn I hate Indians. . Don't tell me anything about them. They disgust me.

But mehn this people should temper justice with mercy nw.... This is nothing but wickiedness i swear.....

Ayodele Jay said...

Indians and there weird laws... smh

#Blessed child

Dis is madness. It's unacceptable in any way!!

Cast... Amitabh bachchan and sunitta and salman khan the bad guy from the jat castle... Indians and love eh... Watch out for part two.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

The untouchable but u can send sm1 to rape them, which kind yeye be this self, India shud be in Africa, it 2 3rd world to still be practicing this rubbish...

Na wa o. All this extremely weird things!

💋Hey boo said...

Indians and their marriage wahala

💋Hey boo said...

Na them sabi act love movies.
Anyway I dey manage zee world

I will believe that there are human rights activists in India who could take up the case of these girls and fight it legally and protest them physically from the stupid judgement / assault.
The women world world in India should rise up to this open challenge and fight the just cause of these girls. Why should they suffer for the ``offence'' committed by their brother in this age of 21st century.
The woman at the centre is of age to decide and not the family deciding for her.
It is rather nauseating to be reading something like this today in a place that is about 30 miles from the capital city of India.
Why has the parent of the woman at the centre refused to report at the police station and press charges against the man? For the police to do their job by looking for the eloped lovers and arrest them. May God set the girls free. Toks

As I dey read dis story he b Lyk say I dey watch Indian movie. Love no fi commit 4 der story.he b Lyk say der great grand father done giv love somthing.and som ppl talk say Na Nigeria was pass for corruption...uhmmmm nah dis country oo der face is still black.all d tin way civilisation 4 don change.corruption too plenty 4 der side.but wetin concern d girls wey no no anything dey wan dey punish. Make u call police oo or mak una stay wer u dey.dey fit trace u may b u shld relocate.god go save u

OmGod! Is it a crime to love? Nawah for indians and their horrible traditions!

Linda what movie is this? Pls include the name next time you advertise Indian film. Lol!

In this 21st century ? it is well with Índia people so all what we are watching in zee world is actually true. they don't know God still serving their lord krishna and other dead gods

dudette said...

Women don suffer for this life smh! Lizzy.davids87@gmail.com

I said it and i'll say it again, Indians are wicked

SWILL MARTIN said...

It is wa oooooo jeeeez.

Dis life and pple. So so foolish a sentence

So sad,

OK,

Nawa oooooo

anonymous said...

India that is an emerging super power could stoop so low with such barbarism in their judicial system. Are they no sane people in India to oppose this insane sentence. Why will this poor girl be punished for the crime of another? Why must she be raped? What is the lame duck United States doing to help this woman? Shame on the India People if they allow this sentence to go ahead. Are the India people not tired of Rape

This whole story sounds like Destiny abi The Promise or any of those indian soaps

Hahahahhaahaahaha ur a modafucker, I sorry for u

These Indians are just monsters

She shud jst tell her bro to return pples wife biko

Aunty linda take note

#TeamSept7

This reads like a typical Bollywood story without the rape though! Upper caste and lower caste, they still do stupid stuff like that in the modern society?!

Jobless and lazy man, don't look for something good to do with your time and life than looking for a way to scam people. Greedy guys Oya fall mugu. You seriously need JESUS.

Lmao. What the hell??

This made me cry

So true, the last paragraph made me cry.

Hmmm, raging kk kwa

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

God bless u for dis, people ll not reply such article, it cud b painful. I ve a friend who behaves exactly like dis.

Poor girls. Y punish them for the brother's case.

And allow dis yeye Indians 2 cm 2 Nigeria &invest... treating we Nigerians has sh*t in our fathers land

Oya were Nieeee......OLOSHI!!!!!!!

Eeeeeeeeeyah! Dis is so sad to read. Linda take note!

I have learnt today and will change. Father have mercy

They're afraid to report because even the police are prejudiced, can't you see how quick they were to arrest the boy based on lies.?

If you watch this Indian crime programme called Savdhan Indian:India fights backs"

558bf871

Terrible cultural practices that are still very much in existence

Exactly the same story they act for us in their movies.

dorothy said...

This one na real bollywood movie

Shameful.Indians have no morals whatsoever. Rape as punishment? Are you kidding?!

how sad that in this day and age this kind of thing still exit.Indian human activist should do something fast.
To the lady looking for a bed mate to pay,my wise counsel don't go down that route, you can do better.
visit my blog therapistmrs.blogspot.com lets chat on positive path.

Good advice

Chioma Ijomah said...

Thanks for this advice.. Very touching indeed.

If Anna Hazare could fight for workers right during Manmohan Sign's government, I expect an activist like him to "stand up" to this as well...

This was not the kind of India Mohandas Ghandi fought for...