Three different Nigerian-born track champions are the fastest men for Africa, Asia and Europe..lol | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 June 2015

Three different Nigerian-born track champions are the fastest men for Africa, Asia and Europe..lol

Na wa! Is this crazy? Three different Nigerians hold the 100m sprint records for Africa, Asia and Europe. Read the report below from QZ.com
That’s right, one country on one continent, has three different athletes representing three different continents. How to explain this? You can blame a badly-run sports administration and a scarcity of resources needed to keep finely-tuned athletes at the top level. And, of course, personal ambition is also a factor.
Take the case of the European record holder Francis Obikwelu, 36, who left his homeland as a teenager and settled in Portugal. He continued to represent Nigeria until 2001.
The circumstances that led him to switch nationality were unfortunate. After suffering a career threatening injury at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, the Athletics Federation of Nigerian abandoned the star in his hour of need. Not only had he to foot the medical bills himself but also spent a few months in hospital recuperating after surgery complications led to a blood clot. A year later he became a naturalized Portuguese citizen and his silver medal performance at the 2004 Athens Olympics was his career best as he set a European record of 9.86sec. The record is still standing.
Asia’s fastest man is Femi Ogunode, 24. He has said the move to become a Qatari national in 2010 was a calculated risk that paid off. He alleges nepotism and corruption in Nigerian athletics. Last year, he set a career best of 9.93sec at the Asian Games. This April he ran a few seconds faster to set the Asian record of 9.91sec at the Asian Athletics Championships.
The one who stayed is sprint master Olusoji Fasuba, 30, whose 9.85sec record is yet to be broken since 2006. This was a one-hundreth of a second better than the old record of 9.86sec that was set by Namibian track and field legend Frankie Fredericks for a decade. Fasuba is currently the ninth fastest 100m runner ever with a time below the 10sec mark.

It’s becoming something of a more frequent narrative for African athletes to leave their home countries and switch nationalities after facing perennial frustrations with how their local sports bodies are managed. Career civil servants with no sporting backgrounds bungle the administration of the sport by turning them into citadels of corruption and inefficiency.

In 2011, the African 100m record holder, Fasuba predicted African sprinters will continue to be underachievers, unless they get proper training facilities and adequate remuneration. As a result well-funded athletic bodies from rich countries eager to be competitive and boost their national pride by any means necessary exploit the situation by coming to lure Africa’s young talent.

An African Problem
While several European countries and the US have taken African athletes, Qatar, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates have been more aggressively pursuing talent from the continent in the last decade.

Last year there was a somewhat farcical scenario at the Asian Games in Incheon, South Korea when 14 of the 22 individual running events were won by athletes of African origin who had switched nationality. China’s Su Bingtian, who came second to Ogunode at last year’s Asian Games, told AFP that the Gulf states’ African contingent is “unfair”, because “they are taller and have a longer stride,” meaning Asian born athletes are at a physical disadvantage.

Nationality transfers by African athletes are not just limited to Asiatic countries but Europe and the US are some of the biggest beneficiaries. Star athletes from Ethiopia, Kenya, Morocco, have mostly gone to represent Nordic countries such as Finland, Denmark, Sweden among other countries.
While African countries are busy exporting talent elsewhere they have no means to keep young talent or attract foreign based athletes to return.

54 comments:

Great news

Good for thm @ least not another drug case

Rubylicious said...

I don't blame those that left for greener pastures. That is what the Nigerian situation causes.

We are breaking records. Good one

wow good

discover the secret of loosing weight and burning stubborn Belly fat CLICK HERE

wow good

discover the secret of loosing weight and burning stubborn Belly fat CLICK HERE

What do you want them to do? All the naija athletes that helped the country and retired, how did you guys compensate them? Mtsheew

I don't blame them for opting to represent countries where their talents could be better appreciated.
Why can't companies like MTN and Glo invest more in our other sports asides football. Not even talking of our government.

Just imagine...
Same as in football..England here i/we come

Naija's got talent

Wonderful

@BISHOP DAMMY...

I wish u HBD, and LLNP on ur BIRTHDAY - Monday, 22nd June 2015. God abundantly bless u, and everytin dat concerns u.

I wish u all ur heart desires, joy, good health, and a prosperous life. Enjoy ur day, and stay blessed alwaz!

NIGERIA? WHAT A MAD NATION!!!

Nkem4ever said...

It's not crazy Linda. It's brain drain finish. A prophet is without honor in his own domain therefore he will go where he is appreciated chikena. Am waiting for my own opportunity.

NIGERIA? WHAT A MAD NATION!!

yay. proud nigerian

Meanwhile this post on Lagos girls though. Hahaha. you all need to read this I swear lol

GUD FOR US...USIN SOMEONE AND WEN HE WAS IN NEED HE WAS ABANDONED...WATS DAT???TOMJERRYSWIT

NIGERIA? WHAT A MAD NATION!

It's not about blaming a badly run sport administration, it's about the whole system in Nigeria, we see Nigerians being the best in their respective fields in different country, because the system isn't properly run in Nigeria.

very unfortunate situations...braindrains ...i almost switched to the Usa national team @ london olympics, but make i still dey look dem shaaa...lol

Hmmm Africa arise and take your place!!!

Nna this is really shocking though....

Na wa o! I hope dat dis would serve as a pointer to those directly involved to do something about dis before we lose all our talented people to the outside world. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

African countries dont have the retain-ship culture of our young stars until there is a shift in our behaviours, it will continue to get worse as the years goes by

When i begin to think of the Dreams that have been butchered & assasinated in this country,i feel pity for the younger generations.We just have to get it right ,else there'll be nothing good to pass down.The problems bedeviling this country are as tall as iroko tree

I dnt even understand it

I weep 4 Nigeria....Francis Obiekwelu own na him pain me pass....what a country!

BigPoppa said...

Nigeria is blessed with corrupt humans in every organisation. Quote me. It lives and grows in their system. So I can never blame any nigerian that abandons his country for a better country.

And this will continue for a LONG time cos they don't care about us! personal glory before national, cos national no go out food for your belle.

Na egg plant I dey see so?

Linda cogitate

NEPOTISM HAS MADE US TO LOSE BEAUTIFUL TALENT,NIGERIA WILL ALWAYS DO MAN NO MAN IN EVERYTHING,EVEN IN JOBS,IT IS WELL OO.

Pls can anybody help me, i Know it sound crazy. Pls i need six thousand naria. Pls i really need d money to use it complete my younger brother hospital bill. I ve tried to borrow but no body want to help me. pls help me call 08129240494

Nigerians always cm 1st in whatever they do Weda gud or bad....................go naija!

When you read this article, it indicts Nigerian sporting administration for poor athlete treatment, corruption and cronyism and speaks to how the system has disappointed its athletes. That these athletes broke records is secondary to the story of them being driven out by Nigeria though the resources should have been made available for them to have nurtured their talent "at home."

Africa Leaders had failed in all ramifications of governance - Sport, Health, Housing, Infrastructure, to mention but a few. How about most of our best brains teaching in foreign schools? How about best brains working on grat innovations for telecoms & automobile industry. Is this continent cursed?

Frm d way gala sellers run,u will knw Nigerians r very athletic

We keep hoping and praying for the best, one day we will get it right by God's grace. All is well

Nigeria is richly blessed with both human and natural resources. Unfortunately, we care less about developing the human potentials in our people. Our greedy politicians are only concerned about tapping the mineral resources to enrich their already rich pockets

Saintk said...

The truth of d old saying still stands "one does not value wah he has untill he looses it to other contenders". . .we really need to také our time and tap our resources and talents from d root, only den can we really learn. . .

God bless Nigerian!!!

Nor b only Government need change ,we also need change in other aspect of government like the sport etc.....people who cant ordinaraly take care of their house maid or gate man with basic things of life ,how can they take care of people with talent and a great future ? this are the type of people we have heading our sports sector or other government agencies so change has to come to this places also....proud of them and good luck to them because nigeria will always come to mention each time they talk about them in any country.

Anon,,, lol,u ii nt kill me oooo

Are you?Are we?

Read below:
While African countries are busy exporting talent elsewhere they have no means to keep young talent or attract foreign based athletes to return.

The problems bedeviling this country are her people.

The kokoro that is eating the vegetable is inside the vegetable

Do we care about ourselves?

We just naturally good#i wish to date one of them someday#wink

doc said...

prettiyz said...

I don't blame them they left for greener pasture and that what any sane person will do because our country and their way of doing things is nothing to write home about

Probably a record there somewhere.