“There are cases in which separation is inevitable. Sometimes, it can even be morally necessary, when it’s about shielding the weaker spouse or young children from the more serious wounds caused by intimidation and violence, humiliation and exploitation”He went on to say that after separations, it is important that the couple is counseled so that the 'child does not become daddy or mummy’s hostage”. He noted that there are many families with 'irregular situations' in the world.
News, Events, Entertainment, Lifestyle, Fashion, Beauty, Inspiration and yes... Gossip! *Wink*
Wednesday, 24 June 2015
Sometimes it can be morally necessary for parents to separate - Pope Francis
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
114 comments:
Hmm true. Iv always been told to divorce if I end up marrying a witch. Lindaobserve
100% sure
Noted sir!
True talk.
That is the face,
ITS TRUE SIR BT MNY WILL MISQUOTE U....TOMJERRYSWIT
Ok morally,you are very right his holiness,,,suazo say so
Hmm the word of God keeps getting modified everyday!
My pope I luv u bt okwu gi na agwum ike sometimes. Lolo1
Absolutely true#Wisdom
Wow this guy just springs new surprises everyday, he is not your regular pope I can tell you that. His unconventional ways just endears me to him! I agree 100%
Spot on the Supreme Pontiff.
You couldn't have said it any better Holy father.
When the life of either of the spouse is being threatened and the children too, its right for them to separate than to kill each other.
God bless you servant of servants of God.
Et unam sanctam Catholicam, et apostolicam ecclesiam.
Nicely said.
God bless this my pope biko..nwoke nwechasialu ama mihe
True, I guess.
In as much as I have high regard for the pope when it comes to world view, I disagree with him considering the faith he believes.
Dat is very much true, I here u papi
Don't no y i don't believe in divorce but i believe in endurance i believe dat there is no problem dat can't be settle
I over support him,some people go through hell in their marriage,but they stay there miserably,maybe becos of their kids or fear of the unknown,but those kids dat u stay in marriage 4 might even be getting more traumatised,cos of what they see going on,so like I said b4,i support him.
Good talk from the Pope... Would our 'spiritual' fathers in Naija say the same?
Hmmm, somtyms it's nt Gud 4 d children 2 cope with d separation
linda please be posting complete story.... the story further went on to say, separation is not the same with divorce because though they are separated i.e living separately te marriage still exists and none can re-marry because it will still be regarded as adultery. That has been the church teaching since inception. So its not a new thing.
God bless you Pope
Some Men of God will ask women to stay until she dies and the husband will marry another lady to maltreat her children.
Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.
That's a man with sense...........there is nowhere its stated in the bible, that one shld die in an abusive marriage, my fellow Catholics and Africans who believe divorce its a sin, shld better listen........... It doesn't mean we shld separate at the slightest disagreement
True. I concur
He is right. When there is physical abuse, there has to be separation so no one gets killed or hurt. So through counseling they can work it out and if the abuser seems not to be mentally
Stable as only a mad person will abuse someone, then let him go to the nut house. I know of a neighbor whose daughter died of abuse from husband.
Nawaoooo. Which way forward na with this end time doctrines?
I trust people will start bashing him now even though he spoke the truth. Linda take note!
Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!
Makes sense.
I pray there'll be no cause for separation in my home. Satan, stay clear!
I agree with the Pope's position. Just last month I settled a dispute involving a couple who have been married for 26 years. The wife moved out of the house for one month, and after settling the issue, she is back home.
WOW.
COMING FROM D POPE.
He did take a liberal stance on gays somtym ago only to backtrack under pressure.
I solely agree with him
The pope is making a whole lot of sense here... Why staying as married couple, fighting and killing each other everyday and d kids are learning. Kids will grow up becoming terrorist thinking that d world is a battle field.. Better stay apart in peace and be good parents.. I couldn't agree with him any less👍
Who e help?
True!!!
Cherrykoko
The pope is making a whole lot of sense here... Why stay as married couple, fighting and killing each other everyday and d kids are learning. Kids will grow up becoming terrorist thinking that d world is a battle field.. Better stay apart in peace and be good parents.. I couldn't agree with him any less👍
I agree with him, marriage shouldn't be do or die affair as we make it look, some people have died trying to make marriage work when they can easily walk away alive..the earlier we make our spouses realize that we can walk away from the marriage if mistreated the more we will attach more value for each other as a married couple
I concur. He's right on this one
Indeed there r many families with 'irregular situations' in the world.
Not withstanding I wil alwaz say dat there is d right or wrong way of going abt some tins in life. Let b wise wit our deeds.
Yes na. They even teach this during marriage courses. In cases of extreme domestic violence, couples can be separated by d church. Even marriage based on deceit can be dissolved.
Love this pope! Practical Christian Counsel that can be applied to everyday, real modern issues.
This Spiritual figure is just brave and really Godly. It is the brave and courageous that will enter the kingdom of God.
Anyway i go with what the bible says on separation. I know a lot of divorced and unmarried women are happy reading this to make themselves feel better. Whether you like it or not, God instituted marriage and no one is wise than Him.
There are situations that not separating is tantamount to suicide. No one prays for a marriage to end but when all fails, then separation is it.
So true.
It's pay so much for a honest man of God to speak truth. God bless pop Francis.
Honestly I like pop Francis, he speak from d heart.
Well said because a lot of Nigerian men are useless husbands and useless fathers. Their wife and children need to separate from them so as to give them space to live that selfish and heartless life they think they can live while married. The irony is that they are weaklings who can't live alone but who will continue in their evil ways as long as the wife and kids stays with them. Most times separation is the answer to living with evil minded , selfish, cheating Nigerian man. There are very few good Nigerian men out there and to those ones, I wish them the best family life as they will live and die happy because they deserve to be happy.
Pope has a very vital point in what he said concerning separation. Most pple believe bn separation u wld be seen as not responsible fellow. U can't die cos u wants 2 remain in dat marriage dat hurts u everyday of ur life.
The Church allows separation; not divorce. And after separation each spouse MUST not have sexual contact with anyone else if they wish to remain a devoted Catholic.
Hmmmm, cmin drm a Catholic pope
It's pay so much for a honest man of God to speak truth. God bless pop Francis.
Thats a civilised, realistic christian for you! Nigerians go dey preach against separation even when one partner is suffering molestation! Hypocrites!
True and correct...
The family should be a safe haven, not a dreaded institution.
now you marriage fanatics in nigeria have some confirmation that marriage is not by force. all those violent unfaithful nigerian men need to be taught a lesson
Yes, we know that Pope, but you are not expected to say it. There are certain things a religious leader is not supposed to say considering the bible's stance on divorce. This statement will be interpreted wrongly by many people
Well said!
And violent unfaithful nigerian women dear
Y is he not supposed 2 say it???...
Bitter truth.... well said.
God bless U richly
Pope has just expressed his opinion and not a bye-law or addendum to d bible . People will begin to abuse marriage union just for this singular statement.
See d few comments "as if some have been set free from bondage"
Pls whether U like it or not, marriage is for better for worst till DEATH do U part. That is why u have to leap b4 U jump.
.....i wish this statement from d Pope can be retrieved back.
God have mercy.
na d truth b dt mpa.coz some people na animal.dem fit kill n @ d end of d day,dem go say na satan.pls if u r in a marriage n d atmosphere is nt condusive,carry ur load n waka. dnt pretend o,if nt we go blame u @ d end of of day.
yes marriage is not a do or die affairs men are becoming irresponsible too much
What about the bible stance for adultery ? Even the ten commandments has it bcoz God himself know the destruction adultery brings. Instead of the Nigerian church's to emphasize more on the number 1 causes of devorce which d bible says it's d only reason husband and wife can divorce you guys are busy preaching don't devorce so let one party cont to be a slave for ever abi?
Mum! Must u comment? Read the Speech again please
Thank you Pope Francis, he has spoken the truth
Lyndy Mk read in between the lines... the fact that he is a religious leader is the major reason why the bitter truth has to come from his mouth.
Amen but most time the honest men end up being with unfaithful wife
The realest and best Pope ever!
Well i guess u havnt seen cases..ps..just incase u said this in relation to what the pope said- he said separate then counselling not divorce!
Na ur type they prefer to die for husband house all in the name of religion, stop being local
Temporarily though...in extreme circumstances like he rightly said
Nah..itz rather end time stupidity on your part as you have refused to be logical....a woman n her kids should continue to stay under thesame roof with a father who is an abusive and violent alcoholic? They shouldnt tell his family or autborities and move to safety in the meantime pending when he gets the needed help?
ps..common sense isnt very common ...u are proving it.
People like u...as u no see the sense for something wey dey affect many families worldwide..e show say u need help mentally..
i be professor of ENGLISH,but i say mk i use pidgin nak sense enter your brain- perhaps u no understand pope grammar! U think say everything na joke!Moronic element!😂
Lyndy...i dont think u r that smart sha....from ur statement - sad! Plz tell us o...who should say it?
Either u r blind or stupid...didnt u see the counselling part...???
U think christ wont favour counselling if a man is dangerously abusive?
If a man dangerously attacks ur sister all the time,will you not advise on temporary separation and involve family members and even the authorities sometimes to get a permanent solution- not divorce as a christian( also depends on what u bliv in- not everybody believes in xtianity or other faiths with similar marriage ideologies).
....& yes alot feel like being let off bondage- it shows u it is a serious problem!
Nice speech..... Some divorce are morally necessary in other to help the children get out of bondage.
I
K
P
O
N
W
A
Na agwu gi ike how is it better for u to stay and commit murder or to separate answer me Chioma or whatever u called ur self
@Ojide, are you saying that women or men should remain in abusive relationships just because the Bible does not address it specifically? Are people to remain in relationships with drug addicts, gamblers who have impoverished the family, someone who has joined a Satanic cult, addicted to pornography? Not everything is mentioned in the Bible, because not every instance of moral decay was present in that period. No, marriage is not until death do you part, many people write their own vows, or take none, so do not mix up what you will or have done with everyone else!
Esp. When life is involved.
I think the Holy is not supporting divorce but advocating temporary separation pending the time the warring couple is ready to settle their differences. Personally I have seen it saved a marriage I know before now.
I've keenly listened to this Pope's utterances for a while. Always itching to be politically correct. Bachelor's shouldn't discuss marriage, they should be talking about wedding. Oga Pope is a bachelor, he should tutor us on weddings.
Don't mind them my dear. My Bible is my pastor, pope,prophet,... I forgot these men long ago.
Hmmm......
The Bible... our Map!
So on point there sir,abortion is next
U definitely can not read and digest....did he talk against marriage, my dear he simply said if circumstances is too hot for u to handle leave the marriage with your life.......or did God institute man or woman to die because of marriage
Idiot. Get married to a wife beater. Then endure until u die there.
Stop pouring out your frustration on us, bad woman. Change your ways if you want to be treated well. With such venomous disposition, I don't see any man being nice to you.
Dilinger don't mind the bitch. Women have been confirmed to be more violent in relationships. More women physically attack their men than the other way round. The thing is, we don't go out bitching about it. Umu nwanyi, ndi ihe ojo.
WhY is some people finding this as a new teaching by the Catholic church??The church has always been teaching this as part of the marriage course!Comments here is an evidencce that many people even self acclaimed catholics knows nothing about the catholic church!
Indeed there r many families with 'irregular situations' in the world.
Not withstanding I wil alwaz say dat there is d right or wrong way of going abt some tins in life. Let b wise wit our deeds.
So lyndy mk haven't you read the bible where even Christ himself talk about adultery as a possible reaSon for divorce??do you read your ownbible up side down?
Separation and divorce are two different things regards to the Catholic Church. Separation takes place as explained by the Pope and he is the only one in the Catholic faith that has the power to separate couples in the whole Catholic Church. This has been the teaching of the church from the beginning. Anyone that does otherwise does not align with the church's teaching.
Am sure this article is incomplete, during the period of separation, both parties are not allowed to have sexual intercourse because their marriage is still legitimate otherwise considered adultery. Teaching of the Catholic Church.
If you read the Bible very well, you will discover that God made provision for divorce, not just separation in certain circumstances. The problem is that in trying to show that we know more than God, we hide the truth from people in our churches while some couples continue to suffer unnecessarily. Kolaq.
You have told us what the church allows. Please tell us what God allows!
If He is not supposed to say it, How will people be educated! Again, why hide what is not hidden even by God himself?
So why must d pope open his month and say such. He should as well tell people to marry family member aftrrall they know themselves inside out.
To call a spade a spade, .ga pope's statement is highly uncalled for.
Sorry, you are very ignorant concerning what God said about divorce! Divorce is allowed in certain circumstances. In case you don't mind a discussion on this, please mail me : churchmatters.aj@gmail.com
My dear, god gave conditions for divorce in His word! If you don't mind some deep discussion on this subject, you may mail me on churchmatters.aj@gmail.com
My dear, god allows diverce in certain circumstances! For some interesting discussions on this, please email me: churchmatters.aj@gmail.com
My dear, no one is happy to ecperience separation not to talk of divorce. In any case, God Himself allows divorce in certain circumstances. If you are interested in discussing this topic deeply, you may mail me on: churchmatters.aj@gmail.com
Bonairo. Thank you!
My dear you are wrong! God allows even divorce in certain circumstances. If you don't mind, we can discuss this topic for more light. Please mail me : churchmatters.aj@gmail.com
Only the Pope can nullify a marriage. Teaching of the Catholic Church.
And did your bible forbid separation? The bible allows it as long as each of d couple does not remarry. Read ur map well before commenting biko.
some nigerians are so ignorant, the fact that he said they can separate does that mean that they can divorce? the law (whether the civil law of a country and the canon law of the catholic church) both make a distinction between divorce and separation and in both cases the spouses are not allowed to remarry. it is only civil law that allows divorce, the catholic church does not even recognise the word.
so because the bible forbids divorce how does that preclude taking steps to save a wife from an abusive husband, who beats her terribly with sticks or a woman who sleeps around and brings back home STD. It is high time we start speaking like EDUCATED and LITERATE human beings and not like animals that live in the bush. No Pope can allow remarriage amongst catholics,Canon law strongly forbids it. All he is saying is that separation is sometimes very necessary, and i agree with him but not divorce and remarriage. get your facts right.
And linda you are fund of misrepresenting this man, you chop off the entire context of his teaching and pin point those areas you know are controversial. Pope francis has always taught marriage to be permanent and nothing less.
Thanks dear. Almost started judging the poor niggy
The bible said get understanding even if it cost you all you have. Yet, people have continued to lack understanding. You cant have wisdom and knowledge without understanding, it just doesn't work. The pope didn't say divorce, he said separation. Divorce is permanent and the church does not encourage it. He said separation for counseling and reconciliation. So whoever does not understand is on his own.
Its a separation for counselling. The Church never agrees to or support divorce. The separation might be pressures coming on the side of one of the spouse, then vetting it on the family. That has been the church doctrine.
@blunt... u can't comment what u don't know... mtshewwww
nice one.