Former Minister faults Buhari's claim of meeting empty treasury, says GEJ left behind $30bn | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 24 June 2015

Former Minister faults Buhari's claim of meeting empty treasury, says GEJ left behind $30bn

The immediate past Minister/Deputy Chairman, National Planning Commission (NPC), Dr. Abubakar Sulaiman has faulted President Buhari's claim that the immediate past government left behind an empty treasury.

Pres. Buhari had in a media parley with state House correspondents on Monday June 22nd calimed that his administration met 'virtually an empty treasury'. In a statement released yesterday June 23rd, Dr Suleiman said the Good luck administration left behind $30 billion in the national treasury.

He argued that saying the past government did not leave behind any money implies that revenue generating agencies of the government seized to work before and after the Goodluck administration ended on May 29th .
“Government can’t tell us that there is no Excess Crude Account (ECA), Sovereign Wealth Fund (SWF) or are we saying the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIR) and related agencies had not in the last one month been generating revenue? Until they are able to prove they had no receipts from these government agencies in the last one month before Nigerians can now buy into Mr. President’s claims of an empty treasury. Money made by government is meant to be spent, and this the immediate past administration did responsibly. Every government operates on deficit even in the so-called western world, including the US which today remains one of the largest debtor nations in the world. Is it not on record that President Obama inherited $3 trillion debt, a collapsed banking sector and mortgage industry, yet he never raised any alarm.
None of these has happened in Nigeria under Jonathan. Under Jonathan, Nigeria became the largest Africa economy and 26th in the world amidst deadly security challenges and dwindling international prices of oil. In spite of all these, the Federal Government never owed salary. Upon inception of Jonathan’s administration, it is on record that the price of oil at the global stage was over $100 per barrel and at the close of the administration, it dropped to $46. Yet, there wasn’t collapse of government and federal civil servants were paid as at when due. It will be misleading, therefore, for our respected President Muhammadu Buhari and indeed the ruling APC to claim to have met an empty treasury. Aspiration to governance is a call to meeting and confronting challenges headlong. So, we urge the APC-led government to hit the ground running as promised Nigerians by confronting the challenges. We are not in doubt of the capability of Mr. President to do it. He should, therefore, get to business, put in place structures and personnel to redeem the pledges made to Nigerians.”.

118 comments:

O he should shot the latrine he called mouth! Thank God Nigerians showed the criminals called leaders the exist door! Very soon ona yansh go open!

original gluthathione products call 07082661360 said...

politics and drama

Gbam!

Let buhari just work .. he complains too much

Now who is lying..Mr president u beta talk how much dem leave behind

WE NEED WAY FORWARD AND NOT EVRY TYM EXCUSES...DID DS 30B USD DISAPEAR NI??TOMJERRYSWIT

ASHANKA said...

HMMMM

Gbam! Gbam!! Gbam!!! Who r we to believe. Definitely no excuse not to fulfilled d promises made to Nigerians by APC. God help them.

Only 30bn?

Which way Nigeria?

WAIT OH, I DONT UNDERSTAND ALL THESE PDP HOODLUMPS. ARE YOU SAYING BUHARI SHOULD KEEP QUIET AND COVER UP THE FACT THAT PDP EMTIED THE TREASURY?? PLS BUHARI GIVE US MORE EXCUSES. IT IS WELCOMED BY US NIGERIANS AS LONG AS YOU ARE EXPOSING PDP THIEVES

Which way Nigeria?

Kayode Odusanya said...

No matter how bad a Government is, they would still have loyalists. Don't worry, most of these people will keep quiet when looted funds and people who looted it are revealed.

Are You a One Minute Man?

Whatever

Politics

If GEJ's government was that good how come some federal workers are being owed several months salary? Being the largest economy does not translate to a wealthy citizenry

Mr Obot said...

Obot, a publisher on the illash network created a lovely content. Click here to view the interesting content

Have you visited illash network today?
illash network has several platforms(channels) that categorize contents created by the publishers for easier access by anybody in the world.

You could publish contents for your School, department, faculty, fellowship under the students channel and have it accessed by anybody in the world

You too can be a publisher and create lovely contents on the illash network. Click here to sign up as a publisher on the network or VISIT the about page to know more about the illash network

Tell him oga minister....he shud get to work hard, looking for something to give as an excuse @ all times. Pls show me that change, ona acha ola Edo ka obu ndu ndu?

My thought exactly!

Oga minister oil prices started to dwidle in June of last year. Was that wen ur oga Gej was elected abi u don crase? 30b dollars for an oil rich country u must be mad. Please go home and sleep with ur wife.

At least na hin fellow Hausa man, there would not be any claim of conspiracy or tribal prejudice.

My thought exactly! I don't understand all these complaining And excuses.

When the president said he met an empty treasury, he was saying it against the current deficit.
If you leave $30bn and the deficit is over $50bn, so you would like us to believe you left something.
After settling the huge debts incurred by the GEJ led govt we're going to be left with little or nothing.
Stop looking for every loophole to criticize this new government that is barely a month,when the govt is trying to hard to clean up the 16years old mess PDP left behind.

Nice one.....they just want 2 use the code no money in the national treasury method....so dt they can steal enough!

COLLIN said...

Dnt mind d aboki

7F098C19 said...

Buhari is just like his masters, Tinubu and lia Mohammed. " a mango fruit wont fall from an orange tree". Two stupid muslim liars. Engr Emy

Iam_Blaise said...

Which money has he been using to travel from one country to another... Buhari go siddon for one place joor

Chidinma Grace said...

Hmmmm when will Nigerians be wise? This write up is from a wise Nigerian. Someone told me dt d refineries are now working, n I told dd person dt if it is so, it simply means dt Gej had been working on it bc it impossible to revive a dead refinery in just 2weeks as he claimed. Nigerians should be wise, propaganda is not a way forward. We need solutions not complains, reasons n excuses.

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

Bros J carry everytn go otuoke now... Ds man don quick frgt?? Largest economy my foot!!! Smone is lying Nd we knw it's bros J

He left $30b after using $20b for campaign smh....all these speculations about empty treasury, they should give us the accnt number let's check ourselves jawe....thnc lin

THIS PDP EX-MINISTER IS JUST AN IDIOT TO COME HERE AND CONTRADICT HIMSELF. YOU JUST SAID YOU LEFT MONEY IN THE TREASURY. LATER YOU SAID THE MONEY IS MEANT TO BE SPENT. INDIRECTLY, YOU ARE SAYING YOU DIDNT LEAVE MONEY. YOU ARE ALSO GIVING EXCUSES OF HOW OBAMA AND CO SAW DEBT IN THEIR TREASURY. IS THAT WHY NIGERIA SHOULD BE ALSO BE IN DEBT? DOES OBAMA PRODUCE CRUDE OIL LIKE NIGERIA? YOU THINK YOU CAN COME HERE AND CONFUSE NIGERIANS? PLS SHUT UP IF YOU DONT HAVE WHAT TO SAY. FOOL

mikkyjanec said...

dont mind them. they are looking for excuses to effect the change they have been hammering us with. Jonathan has done his work as a president. so PMB you better start, u are almost going to 100 days in office yet we havent seen any work done yet.

Dem still get mouth to talk.. this pple r so shameless..its only in Nigeria all these kind of nonense will happen..smh

THIS PDP EX-MINISTER IS JUST AN IDIOT TO COME HERE AND CONTRADICT HIMSELF. YOU JUST SAID YOU LEFT MONEY IN THE TREASURY. LATER YOU SAID THE MONEY IS MEANT TO BE SPENT. INDIRECTLY, YOU ARE SAYING YOU DIDNT LEAVE MONEY. YOU ARE ALSO GIVING EXCUSES OF HOW OBAMA AND CO SAW DEBT IN THEIR TREASURY. IS THAT WHY NIGERIA SHOULD BE ALSO BE IN DEBT? DOES OBAMA PRODUCE CRUDE OIL LIKE NIGERIA? YOU THINK YOU CAN COME HERE AND CONFUSE NIGERIANS? PLS SHUT UP IF YOU DONT HAVE WHAT TO SAY. FOOL

I knew they were lying when they gave eccuses of empty treasury but I wonder for how long Buhari intends to give excuses and lay blames on Jonathan.

<< LIB Addict >>

SEE PDP ALSO GIVING EXCUSES OH. POT CALLING KETTLE BLACK

Okowright Balaxy said...

Buhari and his APC caucus are busy looting trying to recover the money they spent during the campaign. Buhari and the APC are criminals. GEJ's administration left billions of dollars in the nation's treasury,yet Buhari and APC will always want to mislead gullible Nigerians. No money in the treasury yet he gave billions of naira to assist the Joint Task Force. Buhari should stop giving stupid excuses and start working. I just hope his illiteracy and archaic mentality is not affecting his reasoning.

WAIT OH, I DONT UNDERSTAND ALL THESE PDP HOODLUMPS. ARE YOU SAYING BUHARI SHOULD KEEP QUIET AND COVER UP THE FACT THAT PDP EMTIED THE TREASURY?? PLS BUHARI GIVE US MORE EXCUSES. IT IS WELCOMED BY US NIGERIANS AS LONG AS YOU ARE EXPOSING PDP THIEVES

Some people are just narrow minded. Ce talk. I don't blame him, an opportunist. What will you say

Perhaps this man didnt comprehend what "virtually empty treasury" mean.Even blind bartimaus could see the extravagance,corruption and looting that pervaded the former administration.Its no wonder Buhari had to stress the dryness of our purse.A treasury is empty if its suppose to have 30trillion and its having 30million.
No matter how we love the "hero" ,frugality wasnt one of his strengths

Buhari is always talking like wet pussy. @amfestus

ANYA IKENGA said...

The problem with APC is that they think that they are still in opposition and that elections have not held. One month has passed and all we hear is excuses< fight in National assembly and boko haram killing more people. By now they should have shown sign of seriousness in solving all the problems as the promised months ago.

Cotonou Nigga said...

Claims and counter claims,all in a bid to deceive the poor masses.

At the age of 72 still lies, just too bad.

WHY IS PDP ALSO GIVING EXCUSES?. I THOUGHT YOU WERE ACCUSING APC OF GIVING EXCUSES. SMTCHEW

David Iyke said...

Hmmmmmm! taken.

God bless u mr ex minister for dis great information, and may God continue to strengthen my ex president GEJ. I knew apc are propagandists. So for more lies text apc to 419.

Ok now. Accusations and counter-accusations. We'll soon know who is lying.

These folks need to stop confusing Z.
I usually get Retarded when ish seems incomprehensible.

Tnk u sir,God bless u fr speaking d truth.sumply put;Buhari is a failure" d signs are obvious now.mtcheeew.

Pa Bugari and the APC failed on this one...Empty treasury made no sense to me when the news came out...yet some APC remote control followers can't think for themselves....so because of #Change,Sai Buhari ...u guys don't have brain anymore ?...Zombie

Dat is all dey do , keep laying to us

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Tell him sire! PMB be giving lame excuses since 1920,he knws d task ahead of him is not gonna be easy as he thought..still waiting for d so called CHANGE tho

Aiinuel said...

Thanks for speaking out sir. APC should stop talking rubbish and work!

Gideon said...

we all know this daura dullardinho is just crying wolf.oga buhari u beta stat workin and soon pls.u no ow many people don die since u enter abi,close to 700.

Thank u sir,he has been talking as if GEJ didn't do anything.my friend start ur work before u complain,its been over 3weeks now.ovwi is back.

It's a pity what our president has reduced himself to. Cheap lies. I never believed them with their change slogan because looking at all of them...They can't offer any change. God help us in Nigeria. Cheers. Don Casey

Under Jonathan, Nigeria became the largest Africa economy and 26th in the world? while 60% of Nigerians are living below the poverty level. Useless man, useless GEJ and useless government

Just shut up! U think wit all these ur stupid blind comments,u wil be given or awarded a contract by the Apc,go get a life

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

Thank u very much my brother..

How is possible dat Jonathan left the said amount behind when he has plunged Nigerians neck deep into debt???? Are dey talking to babies??? If Nigeria had dat kind of money, why are so many people still being owed??? Mr minister go & do your homework well. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

What is all dis excuses for sef? huh!Mr. President Nigerians are expectant, you guys promised us alot, pls get down to work and stop complaining. My fellow Nigerian, stop tribal war on social media, we are all one.

May be thats not the kind of money Buhari was expecting shah.....

U don't reason properly. Are you the accountant general of the federation? How do u know how much the treasury is supposed to have? Don't comment blindly! Get ur facts straight. Idiat!!

Be informed my dear, nobody is owing any federal worker, it's only d states n d Governors shud be held responsible

Oooooyes!!! Tel dem, dey re ready to run to foreign aid but dey won't learn other governance tips from dem....loosers

Everybody clap 4 Jonathan!Gbam! It has hpnd looool shai cont!

He argued that saying the past government did not leave behind any money implies that revenue generating agencies of the government seized to work before AND AFTER the Goodluck administration ended on May 29th .
“Government can’t tell us that there is no Excess Crude Account (ECA), Sovereign Wealth Fund (SWF) or are we saying the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIR) and related agencies had not IN THE LAST ONE MONTH been generating revenue? Until they are able to prove they had no receipts from these government agencies IN THE LAST ONE MONTH before Nigerians can now buy into Mr. President’s claims of an empty treasury.

He argued that saying the past government did not leave behind any money implies that revenue generating agencies of the government seized to work before AND AFTER the Goodluck administration ended on May 29th .
“Government can’t tell us that there is no Excess Crude Account (ECA), Sovereign Wealth Fund (SWF) or are we saying the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIR) and related agencies had not IN THE LAST ONE MONTH been generating revenue? Until they are able to prove they had no receipts from these government agencies IN THE LAST ONE MONTH before Nigerians can now buy into Mr. President’s claims of an empty treasury.

So who is telling the truth huh hmmm!!!

ILLITERATES EMPTY TREASURY IS FIGURATIVE. IT DOESNT MEAN IT IS TATALLY EMPTY. IT MEANS THE MONEY IS NOT ENOUGH TO CARRY OUT LOTS OF THE CHANGES HE PROMISED. ODE!

Definitely, PMB wil get there meeting d promises dat was made to Nigerians during d period of campaign.

PDP THINK THEY CAN DECEIVE NIGERIANS. THEY QUICKLY USED A NORNTHERN MAN TO REPLY BUHARI SO THAT THEY WONT LOOK BIASED. NIGERIANS ARE NOW EDUCATED AND WISE. YOU CAN NO LONGER DECEIVE US. WE KNOW THE TRICKS AND HOW TO PLAY THE POLITICS BETTER THAN YOU

Please sir u dont just come up and tell us the immediate govt left virtually an empty treasury.we are no fools sir...tell us how much you met there and be specific about it. See if the whole governing thing is too much for u to handle we can understand and as patient people that we are,we will be patient with you but dont rub this crap to our face like we are babies.

I NEED TO READ THE FULL TEXT OF THE STATEMENT BY THE FORMER MINISTER , NATIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION. THE EXCERPT IN QUOTES HERE SHOWS APPALLING MEDIOCRITY.

U always come up with assumed analysis to defend ur blind argument. Try to understand details before commenting.

Shut up! He didn't emptied the treasury, he left 30bn United state dollars in the government s account

True talk ndubisi

Karlsson said...

Buhari wasn't totally honest with that baseless assertion that he met empty treasury. APC is just making series of excuses for their imminent failure
Ubanagum

$30b not naira....driver without brain....kc say so.

@bonario STFU do u even know a damn thing about economics? Obama inherited $3 trillion debt did u hear him shouting the treasury is empty? Only morons like u talk before thinking.

frank said...

Juliet Iwuno don't be a fool, states are owning that federal, an there is no way a federal body will live an empty purse, so grow up bitch

You are very wise for this, you do know the refineries started working almost immediately PMB took over. My question is which money was used? You're always criticising GEJ deep down inside you do you believe MB got the refinery working in 2weeks or accumulated work of the past administration? Be wise in your approach to things

Please let's just stop playing this card, and let's get the job done

WAIT OH. IS 30 BILLION ANYTHING COMPARED TO THE WEALTH OF NIGERIA? CAN 30 BILLION PAY WORKERS SALARIES LET ALONE REPAIR REFINERIES??? BUHARI PLS I AM IN SUPPORT OF YOUR EDUCATION CAMPAIGN BECAUSE THESE NIGERIANS THINK AND REASON LIKE ILLITERATES. EVERY NIGERIAN NEEDS TO GET SOUND EDUCATION SO THAT ONE STUPID PDP POLITICIAN WILL NOT COME AND TELL YOU TRASH AND YOU BELIEVE

Business Barbie said...

Empty treasury and yet look at how much they have been disbursing. $21m to mjtf. Liar liar. I don't blame them, most our youtgs don't like to use their brains. So they can easily feed us with so many lies

Yes, I absolutely agree with you as money doesn't necessarily mean just cash or money in bank. Revenue generating assets are money hence, the present govt couldn't have met an empty purse.

WAIT OH. IS 30 BILLION ANYTHING COMPARED TO THE WEALTH OF NIGERIA? CAN 30 BILLION PAY WORKERS SALARIES LET ALONE REPAIR REFINERIES??? BUHARI PLS I AM IN SUPPORT OF YOUR EDUCATION CAMPAIGN BECAUSE THESE NIGERIANS THINK AND REASON LIKE ILLITERATES. EVERY NIGERIAN NEEDS TO GET SOUND EDUCATION SO THAT ONE STUPID PDP POLITICIAN WILL NOT COME AND TELL YOU TRASH AND YOU BELIEVE

All of you always being insulting and bad mouthing Gej stop fooling your self , his not your problem, your problem is your fathers that didn't hustle to become local govt chairman or governor not to talk of president, insult him at home because his the cause of ur frustration.

this old man has nothing to offer,making only excuses,pls just work and let me remind you of oshodi Apapa express way GEJ has been working oi but now nothing is going on there .Stop complaining,make your own money and work with it

Look at PDP and their hopeless supporters. They keep trying to shut Buhari up. If Obama had not mentioned the debt he inherited, how would this useless malu know about it. So revealing the blunder of Jonathan is now a bad thing? If you pdp malus had any shame, you people will shut your mouth.

Hahahahahahaha yall have spoken my mind, dis dude had to be put in his place dnt mind d Apc fanatic

Abeg enough with d excuses, Buhari get to wrk alrdy

You fool i didnt indicate the currency to draw the attention of fools

Ignorant fellow...federal govt also owe salaries

Shut up your mouth you senseless castrated imbecile do you know who you Are Talking to he was a senior lecturer in my school before being appointed to be a minister in Good luck administration...if he wasn't worthy of such a position he won't be placed der...he is my teacher and am always proud of him

Your brain is active. Change indeed!

Buhari should shut up and work joor. All govts always complain of how empty the treasury is when they take over(State and Fedral).

We are tired of all these lame excuses. Just a pre announcement of failure and an excuse to loot the masses funds.

hahahahah its everywhere! even here in Malawi any President says they found no money at the treasury yet the outgoing president says they left the money!!! who is fooling who? African politics mxiewww!

There, you hit the nail on the head.

Dis pple jst dey call money lyk say na stone or smtin else den dey call, $30B no b small money bt am sure PMB can nt lie dat he met empty treasury wh we all knw. Nigeria is in debt, way forward is d koko now

Buhari is a moron. Animal in craze man skin! That's your president.

Talk is always cheap. Restore Nigeria Buhari, Yoruba pple, una don see una sef? No money where did he borrow to buy fuel into his plane? Where the wife get money to host party? Soon you will say it's oil price. Where are those kids that voted in kano? No money for your almajiri teachers, Good reward for your fake votes. Jega, get ready. Poverty is hitting everywhere. Sai Baba. See mumu

ILLITERATES EMPTY TREASURY IS FIGURATIVE. IT DOESNT MEAN IT IS TOTALLY EMPTY. IT MEANS THE MONEY IS NOT ENOUGH TO CARRY OUT LOTS OF THE CHANGES HE PROMISED. ODE!

PLS BUHARI GIVE US MORE EXCUSES. IT IS WELCOMED BY US NIGERIANS AS LONG AS YOU ARE EXPOSING PDP THIEVES

LISTEN AND LISTEN GOOD. YORUBAS WILL CONTINUE TO VOTE FOR BUHARI. GO HANG YOURSELF IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE FACT

THIS PDP EX-MINISTER IS JUST AN IDIOT TO COME HERE AND CONTRADICT HIMSELF. YOU JUST SAID YOU LEFT MONEY IN THE TREASURY. LATER YOU SAID THE MONEY IS MEANT TO BE SPENT. INDIRECTLY, YOU ARE SAYING YOU DIDNT LEAVE MONEY. YOU ARE ALSO GIVING EXCUSES OF HOW OBAMA AND CO SAW DEBT IN THEIR TREASURY. IS THAT WHY NIGERIA SHOULD ALSO BE IN DEBT? DOES OBAMA PRODUCE CRUDE OIL LIKE NIGERIA? YOU THINK YOU CAN COME HERE AND CONFUSE NIGERIANS? PLS SHUT UP IF YOU DONT HAVE WHAT TO SAY. FOOL

30 BILLION IS NOTHING COMPARED TO 200 MILLION NIGERIANS. HOW COME WORKERS SALARIES WERE NOT PAID FOR 6TH MONTHS IN MANY STATES AND YOU CLAIM YOU LEFT 30 BILLION?? YOU MUST HAVE BRAIN DISORDER!

BUHARI PLS PROBE ALL PAST PDP THIEVES BECAUSE YOU HAVE NOW BEEN PUSHED TO THE WALL BY THEM

LOOK AT THIS IDIOT SAYING RESTORE NIGERIA. RESTORE NIGERIA WITH WHAT? LET HIM START BY PROBING PDP PEOPLE THEN NIGERIA WILL BE RESTORED BECAUSE ALL THE MONEY THEY STOLE WILL BE RECOVERED