ATM in Lagos dispensing fake currency? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 June 2015

ATM in Lagos dispensing fake currency?

A LIB reader claims an ATM in Lagos dispensed fake money to him. Because it's an accusation and nothing has been proven, I removed the names of all the banks he mentioned. Read his story below
I made a withdrawal of N48,000.00 at *** ATM Ajose Adeogun branch (Victoria Island, Lagos) this afternoon. Immediately, i went to *** bank(ajose branch too) just after where i did my withdrawal to pay in N12,000.00. From there i went to **** bank (ajose branch too) to make another deposit. On getting there i filled my teller and waited on the queue for me to be called. i got a call from the teller and went straight to him, immediately i gave him the money as i wanted to deposit N5,000.00 he told me that the first N1,000.00 was fake and that where did i get it from, i told him that i just withdrew the money from *** ATM Machine (ajose branch) and he now told me to go back to the branch of the bank where I made the withdrawal to make a formal complaint and this i did (at this point he had perforated the N1,000 note he called fake)

Getting to the **** branch, i met a staff of *** who directed me to another colleague. I explained to the guy everything that happened and he was kind of not buying the story that the fake N1,000 was not from their ATM Machine, but he said that it was very possible for things of such to occur. i then asked him to help me scan the remaining cash i withdrew from their ATM Machine so i would know if their was still more of the fake currency with me which he did not want to, so i told him i wanted to see their manager and he did directed to  the manager. I saw her and explained every thing to her and all she could say was they don't dispense fake currency and that she was sorry about everything.

Eventually they scanned the balance of my cash.

Linda, the bottom line is that there is a criminal in that branch that must have done this and we don't even know if there are still more of those fake cash inside their ATM machine. This is how so many people die for no just cause because imagine if i had gone to a place like Oshodi with such money to buy stuffs  unknowingly and then One old woman will just screen Ole and you know happens next.

Only God know how many victims are out there but keep quiet because they personally feel its not worth the noise and all.

Everybody should be careful and beware!!!!

Please find attached the perforated N1,000 bill

129 comments:

They should hold the bankers that loaded the machine. Lindaobsv

Too bad

Return it o

You need to be caned for withdrawing such amount from the atm..

dont believe it, am sure the person must have missed it with the one he had in his wallet

Adonbilivit!

This is serious........And one cant just return ATM cash like dat

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Naija nawa

well its not new, Access Bank Saka to gave me N500 note over the weekend.

prettiyz said...

I have heard someone complain of such before

Debora chidume said...

They should try and find out the particular person that loaded the ATM that day.That person must have removed the main money and replaced it with fake ones for his own personal use.
Visit deborachidume.blogspot.com

Mehn... I hope something is done about this though.....

Hmmm Linda, it's not only in lag ooo. Abt 3weeks ago, my hubby gave money to go buy something from the supermarket and that money was given to by bnk that same day. To my greatest surprise, 1k from the money he gave me was fake. Hmmm I almost entered the ground Cuz the kind of crowd that was there was wow. Seriously I was more than ashamed

Na wa oo

BLAQ said...

Hmmm anything is possible in nigeria.

so true,ds is not the 1st tim,i've seen such case.

Eh! This is serious sturv

ok, thank GOD for ur advice will be watching now

oya LINDA TAKE NOTE

i never post on blogs but this is very true stanbic bank (ajose) and GTB (tiamiyu savage) do the same thing

Why hide the name of the bank? What's the essence of this news if you hide the banks name?

Hmn. 8th world wonder, atm and counterfeit money.

Its true oh a friend of mine got a 1000naira fake currency from Stanbic ibtc Atm machine buh when we went back they said its not true that they dont dispense fake currency.
I think banks shd be careful of who they put to load their machine nd when one or more customers complain they shd hold d person in charge responsible by d time a penalty is attached such will reduce. Bunch of thieves.

Darkchildlovethyhair said...

It could be true. Just like he says it's could be a rogue cash and teller staff.

How to make a cute headband with an old shirt

FCMB have done this to me twice in portharcourt

I gess the dude is tryn to say GTbank ..

*LIB Chief Defense Staff*

esmeralda said...

This has happened to my hubby too in ph.

I can't deal o! Eh, the bank go end up arresting me when I start to display for them. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

its happened to me GTB along Ogudu road even extremely damaged notes that cant be spent

Latest Nigerian News said...

This is serious... na wa oooo....

Buahaaahahaahahahahahahakirkirkirkrirkrirkrkrirkrirkr

i suspect the branch he went to deposit the money, not sure he got it from the Atm in this case, if it was a bad money i wld suspect the atm but fake money naaaa. too bad the guy just got scammed.

STERN 4:56pm, you must be very broke. 48k withdrawal from ATM and the person must be caned???????????????

There is definitely a criminal in that bank.

Second chance

Irene said...

this is very true. it happened to my sister too one time and even went inside the bank to complain and they accused her of lying.

In Nigeria, everything is possible.

TONIA GREEN said...

Hmm. . . Nawa! One has to be extra vigilant now.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤

I can't stop laughing. I did tellering for years and I can assure you that no matter how careful you are as a teller, it still does not rule out the possibility of fake currency. Saying that there's a fraudulent person in that bank is a sure sign of ignorance. Tellers are humans including the cash officer and the head of Operation in-charge of ATM cash. Even the counting machines that are supposed to scan the money for fake notes still allow some of them to pass to say the least.

babyAA said...

Well I can say for sure that I believe his story as I worked in a bank and have heard customers complain of such. Now the first person to be question should be the teller team lead...the person might have exchanged the funds while loading the machine with cash. Nigeria time to grow up pls and stop this Wickedness.

Lol..

Naija.com, unmaginable happens therein

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

Wat if those dt loaded it also did bt know anytn abt it??? Linda just cal d name of d bank biko.. White collar thiefs!!!

Well, it's unbelievable but it happens. I have witnessed it happened to someone in my area here. I was so surprised, luckily for the man, it was still working our and he got to know immediately he withdrew from atm. He informed the security men and he was direction to the appropriately quarters.

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

U Berra beliv it cus it's bn happening nd it's still happening.. Best thing is to be reporting ds banks with names to curb ds act..

Dear All, please when people make complaints like this, for once be objective and reason before you attack him or her like some often do. You might be a victim too (which I pray not).

Who even thought or would believe that what happened at the CBN branch in Ibadan was going on? Don't you know that those who assisted and connived with the staffers of the CBN bank to re-introduce these monies (cash) into circulation were bankers? Please be watchful and careful.

I think I need to comment on this. Same thing happened to me @ UBA, the branch close to along ikeja. I went there to withdraw from their atm @ nite gave the money to someone, just the next day, the person told me one of the N1000 was fake, I was really shocked cause that was the first time I was hearing such.. My opinion is, the management of these banks might be unaware of this wicked act ,I feel these said banks are just unfortunate to have criminal minded staffs (Some tho).

Mamapapa said...

Even if you check the ATM money in the full glare of the CCTV cameras, you see a counterfeit, show people around you, turn, enter the banking hall, they'll claim you hid it and brought it along from outside the bank (which fraudsters are capable of). Naming and shaming will help, though.

Same thing happened to my sister at zenith bank ojuelegba branch, #1,000 was fake from the ATM dispensed cash, I was with her, and i told her to complain but she said she doesn't have the time because she was preparing for her wedding.so she let it slide.

I have never commented on this blog but this news is a thing of great concern and I must say this same thing happened to me just LAST WEEK MONDAY ,I withdrew 5,000 unsuspecting because actually who suspects the ATM?! where else can one get original currency?! ... After the withdrawal i slid money into my back pocket and moved on , only for me to walk into a restaurant in University Of Lagos and got the embarrassment of my life, everyone looking at me like some low life. We all should be careful it's gettin' too real nowadays.

ecobank chevron branch gave me a fake 500 note over the counter once when i collected huge sum of money

Revealed: How to lose 20kg in just 3 months
http://wp.me/p5vFYe-7D

Its very possible, My brother had same experience in Warri,he went straight to the bank manager $ they denied that it's not possible for ATM to dispense fake currency too bad!

Nemo said...

Na wa Naija

Shouldn't there be a governing body that monitors these types of incidents

The Bank is UBA. Am the one it's happened to this afternoon.

Its so through 1st Bank ATM in port harcourt gave my hubby fake 1000 sometime last year

Its simple, they could be a mistake from a teller in the bank or some one must have done some thing funny in the process of sorting ATM cash. cash from ATM re usually cash you and i deposit in in the bank. but it passed thrpough a sorting process removing notes that cannot pass through the ATM EASILY:that is Notes in good condition, so a teller must ve made a mistake in the process of sorting or rather has intentional added a fake not for personal benefit.

Bank boy

LOL.....had a similar experience with First Bank..Ifako/Gbagada branch.......the cash operations officer flat out denied it but something doesn"t smell right..In naija anything"s possible...smh

Nigeria my country, where everything is possible

McQueen said...

Its true, I've had such experience at access bank around lawanson surulere.. Twas d banks atm I used nd went upstairs to pay in d money to someone else, and dey gave me dat crap of fake note.. It was resolved sha nd I was given my money back

I had to comment. GTB did that once, went into diamond to pay in and they said the 1k was bad, they wanted to destroy the money but I refused, insisting they give it back.

I went back to gtb, and customer service directed me to the guy in charge of loading the ATM. I told him and he was trying to be smart with me, till I questioned his integrity, he quickly have me a fresh note from his wallet.... Them guys are thieves

Guys u rly cant blame anybody 4 d fake notes i duh fink any staff there can intentionally load a fake note in d atm machine cos it's noh easy sorting cash 2 get gud 4rm bad 4 d atm machines so when such mistakes occur nobody wants 2 take responsibility 4 it cos dat'ld mean dat person will b liable 4 it out of his or her salary and in actual truth dat fake note was brought into d bank by another customer

How is he supposed to know it's fake dat is coming out of d machine, dint u read where he said he went back to complain & dey said dey don't dispense fake notes in dat branch.

Human Being said...

From some people's experience, this is not new.

Human Being No Be God

Please any one with Linda e-mail address please inbox it to me via obisunny1@gmail.com I have a story to share

Please I need Linda email address

MISS UNDERSTOOD said...

Not including the names of the banks is the wisest decision you ever made. I don't doubt the credibility of this likewise I can't vouch its authenticity but one thing i know is that too many LIBers seek attention. Linda do you pay for these stories cos I don't understand the hustle in these LIBers coming up with fictitious stories 80% of the time.

D days r evil.
Wah pipul wld do 4 money sha, I tire O

What a mess, polluted country,

D Days r evil.
Wah pipul wld do 4 money sha, I tired O!

You need to be caned too for not having sense. What's the use of an ATM if not to be able to withdraw cash. Are you that poor ni? Common N48,000. I used to withdraw up to 150k from the ATM until they reduced the daily withdrawal to 100k or so. I now live in the UK I can't remember entering a bank to withdraw except it's over £1000 for some banks.

For better clarification, d bank involved shd gather all d remaining money in d atm house 4 proper scanning by wh dey wl knw d truth n if any fake money is found, dey shd hold d atm loader responsible

Goziem Oh LORD said...

This is not new to me coz I once a victim of this but unfortunately they latter refunded d money to me after two days though i went to make a complain immediately I found d fake 1k

This has personally happened to me Linda...on a weekend wen I thought lemme go to d ATM to take my last card bt in d end na fake note I see...it was more dan words can describe cos I cldn't say precisely hw I felt.

Gbogbo Bigz girlz (GBG) said...

It has happened to me twice.
Both times it was first bank but different branches.

#TomatoJos# said...

It's so true. It has happened to me before. I withdrew from Eco bank atm. I innocently went to shop with the money and hmmmmmm that was like the most embarrassing moment of my life. Some bank workers are fraudulent.

Speaking of banks...withdrawal & deposit is through ATM over here,even check...check cashing & deposit is through ATM...Asia style,We no dey queue,Yes u care,STFU!!! :P

iyke cindy said...

Acan believe dis....thorough investigation shud be carried out...

Nawh o. Nothing in this country is trasparent anymore.

something does not ring right with this story -- why would someone withdraw money from an atm and try to deposit same cash in different installments in different bank branches. I smell a rat with the actions of this person.

It happened to me some months back. Withdrew 30k for my mum from ecobank ATM @ Ojodu berger bus-stop, was surprised when she handed me 1000 Naira note telling twas fake! . I went back there days later to complain and it was changed for me.

It has happened to me 3 times, and frm 3 diff banks

It's cos u dnt knw d rudiments of banking dt ur talking lik dis, let me lecture u, u dnt go inside d atm wit personal cash, 2 pp r always custodians nt 1 person. An avrg banker earns 200k per month so tell me of wat benefit is 1k? Also d cash r cash counted by tellers wu may nt knw dey v being given fake by our esteemed customers(some knowingly and some un knowingly) dey put it a wrapper submit to wueva is going to load, d person loads d cash myt evn flip d cash bt nt detect jus as d person above dint detect. Its nev intentional for any banker for watsoeva reason to put fakes in atms. Nobody wants to loose dia job bcos of 1k pls! Or blacklisted for a mere 1k. So customer with fake cash sorry. I bliv it was nt intentional maybe d bosses shd v taken responsibility it wul nt v escalated to this point

Dey shld Ave a person in charge of d cash...if anyfin goes wrong d person shld b held responsible

Gtb hmmmmm

Stern u so silly
Na ppl like u go tanda for queue to withdraw 5k with teller with ur atm in ur back pocket mtshewwww

claris Davids said...

Same thing happened to my colleague today she went to cash cheque and when she took d money to another bank to deposit the money she was told that 1k note was fake and before u know it they perforated d note. She did not complain anyway . Dis happened at diamond bank Garki2.

@Sattyboi said...

You just stole my response. Readin thru comments here jst highlights the diff levels of ignorance. Wish I culd enlighten evry1 here hw it indeed works buh....mayb i'd just let ur response slide in2 d ignorant minds.

Na today...Wema bank abule egba things

If this story is true, then something needs to be done bout it. ATMs ain't supposed to be dispensing fake currency....

It happened to me also in first bank festac. I withdrew 10k and 1k was fake. the woman I bought something from came to meet me as I was about driving off and told me I gave her fake money. I was so embarrassed.

Mc4real said...

So u think dis dude could cook up such story? U must be a maga

Hummmm....poor guy. He's made to pay for what he doesn't know about. He has lost the fake notes in the whole money he withdrew.

I don't blame u! Nigerians will never bliv something until they become victims. Sometimes u tell a Nigerian that acid is corrosive n he will ask u have u taken a bath with acid? Dats foolishness. So Miss Understood u r waiting until u withdraw 10k n all are fake den u bliv. For me dats the height of foolishness.

CYNTHIA said...

Wow... when it happened to me, everybody said i was scammed by an aboki guy!! This was my experience.... I withdrew 2k from an Access bank branch at jibowu, spent 1k from the money to pay for a taxi home as it was already late that day. 2 days later, to make my fare easier, i asked a keke guy to help me break the remaining 1k into smaller notes, of which he did and gave me 2 #500 Naira notes. I had already settled for a transport home, when the aboki guy came back and asked me to give him back his money, when i did he started making noise, calling me a thief that i gave him fake #1,000 naira note,i had to shout him down before he calmed down, i was so red with rage that day because i felt if one cant get original money from the ATM machine where else would you get it? Everybody said it wasn't the ATM, because ATMs dont dispense fake money it was the aboki guy that scammed me. My heart goes out to the guy, mine was just 1k, his i wonder how much was fake from the whole #48,000.

Switch said...

Mr/Ms. Rudiments of banking. Are you also aware that there is last minute sorting of notes before ATMs are loaded? A
dishonest staff could easily slip a fake note in at that point. For instance, if they "accidentally" drop a valid note on the floor, and then pick up a counterfeit that has been conveniently left on the floor before then. And who said the two ATM custodians can't work as a team to steal? Are you a learner?

Linda same thing happened to me last week at Gtb in port harcout

Switch said...

Miss Understood. Wisest decision she ever made? As in, ever? You sound foolish. Of all the thousands of decisions Linda Ikeji has made, this is the wisest?

Aunty gwegzzz.... said...

I ve bn given fake note too at union bank. Its an over d counter withdrawal. And i didnt know till i got to diamond bank where i am supposed to deposit the cash to someone else's acct. The cashier found out and perforated it. So if they could give me fake 1000 naaira note over the counter,then putting it in d atm will be very easy for them naa. Meanwhile, i served in a bank and i remember getting 3k worth of fake notes frm a friend.. I simply
gave it to a cashier i was close to and she gave me genuine notes and stashed my fake in d money she has which will be paid to customers.So i am not in doubt of this story at all.

Kas said...

defo an inside job, or could of been counted by mistake in big pile.... thank god u didn't go to the market... great point! god bless u, god bless nigeria..

Same thing happened to a friend of mine in Auchi, she withdrew 40k, from Uba and 1000 naira note was a fake, the bank denied it and claimed it wasn't from them.smh to all the thieves working in banks now.

Stern get a life...Alan poser.... U don chop today?

Aunty close ur mouth biko...na Una dey spoil dis Naija... Ekwesu

Anonymous b yarning rubbish..Mo b dis naija we dey Wey obasanjo.dey collect one one naira on top our mtn recharge cards? Another way bank dey steal from Nigerians is thru ATM....Wey no go dispense money for u yet Dem go debit ur account ,dey will then keep promising to reimburse ur money till Jesus comes

Dis one na hiding?...banks with three and four letter words in naija...put d puzzle together abeg....gtb na baba for fake money distribution Awon new generational thieves

D funniest part b say na always d highest denomination not 500 always 1k

10k? U still pity her....I pray u become stranded and av to withdraw ur last one thousand naira note and it becomes fake....if someone tells u there r one billion stars in d sky u will believe but if anoda tells u a wall got wet paints on u will av to touch before u blive...smh

charles ejike nwankwo said...

yes it is true. i have been paid fake n1000 notes from an atm and even less than the amount i wanted to withdraw.

I hardly comment but am so with u on this. Cos I also av experienced it @ d Gtb bank along Ogudu road. Like u said with some very bad notes . but I took it to their Oregun branch, after much talk it was then replaced.

This is true.... I withdraw 120,000 from an Ecobank ATM machine in Port Harcourt and I got 4000 Fake currency! I have no idea until I got home!

Chineke! @aunty gwegs.

Theresa urateh#password ish#

Ecobank Auchi ATM paid me a fake 1,000 note and claim is not from them too,so we have some fraudulent bankers in there

June 22, 2015 at 5:33 PM

You make sense half of the people who comment here are juvenile hence the lousy comments.

not surprise. He might not be the only victim

HUMBLE EVE said...

Linda,this is so damn true.It has happened to me b4 last year November,i withdrew 90k from an Ecobank ATM precisely Rumukoro branch in Port Harcourt.I had one fake 1 thousand naira note,after I complained to them.You knw wat they dey did,dey took the money frm me and destroyed it telling me I was lying and no refund was made.Mtchewww.

HUMBLE EVE

olleny said...

i have had a similar experience like this before, I made a withdrawal at gtb in yaba, went to the market at yaba to get some stuff, and when i paid the guy, he looked at the money and said it was counterfeit, i was shocked and confident and insisted he was lying dat i was just coming from the bank, after making jest of me,he threw the money back at me and i was very embarrassed, then i recalled that at d bank i was really pissed with d lady dat was suppose to pay me cos she was wasting my tym, i think she careless collected a fake money from a customer and den decided to play a smart one on me and my hard earned money. please watch out before collecting money from people even in d banking hall. most of them are thieves and scammers on suit.

CCTV CCTV.. NIGERIA !! FOR GODS SAKE.. CCTV

MISS UNDERSTOOD MISSUNDERSANDS HER SELF.. FOOLISH PUNK.

Yep. I experienced this at Keystone bank on Adeola Odeku earlier this year. They were looking at me like I was lying because they were saying it is not possible for ATM to dispense fake note because it has the technology to scans fakes. I left the bank because I couldn't be arguing over 1k

linda you should name the bank and get them to debunk the allegation rather than protect them.

GTBANK AJOSE IS GUILTY OF THIS AS WELL, IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME TWICE. I THINK WHEN PEOPLE COME IN TO PAY MILLIONS OF NAIRA IN CASE, THE TELLER GETS TOO TIRED TO WANT TO OBSERVE EACH NOTE CAREFULLY, THAT'S HOW THE FAKE SLIPS INTO THE BUNCH

Back to u pp, I will lik to lecture u again since u dnt seem to knw nothing bout banking, nt all branches have sorting machines. Also sorted cash myt finish during the day and dia will b a need to load fresh cash which mayy unfortunately b unsorted cash jus to make sure u esteemed customers v cash to always withdraw frm d atms. Also pls note cctv's r in all areas so no foolish banker will drop gud pick fake okay. It shows ao little u knw of d banking system. Plus I'm nt saying dia r no thieves bt pls bliv 99% of d tym it's nt intentional also the HOP shd v taken responsibility. Also for debited accts tru atm usage, dia r lots of reconciliation dt. Needs to b done b4 reversing cash into customers, den if iits anoda bank's atm pls it takes longer cos the oda banks v to verify reconcile den credit the customers head office wu will den v to reconcile thousands of this b4 dey credit d customer's brn and..... it's a long process plss. In short we can't say everybody in nigeria is a 419er or all blacks in America r gangsters neither r all bankers or banks thieves. Pls bear wit them. My name is Mrs salisu and ex banker