Photos: Lagos cleaner who found $27k awarded N30k & a plaque by NOA | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 May 2015

Photos: Lagos cleaner who found $27k awarded N30k & a plaque by NOA

Josephine Ugwu, the honest airport cleaner who found and returned $27,000 (N5.4 m) at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport in January this year, was presented a plaque and a cash gift of N30,000 by the Nigerian Orientation Agency NOA in Abuja on Monday May 18th. The DG of NOA, Mike Omeri presented the award to her and appreciated her for her honesty. Josephine while showing appreciation for the award and cash gift, appealed for a better job.
"I was given N30,000. I was told that is the amount they give in reward for any patriotic act" Josephine said. More photos after the cut...

109 comments:

Just 30k? That not encouraging for other honest ppl oo the money too small jare

75billion said...

Nice one!!!

Chris said...

She sounds like she was given peanuts

7F098C19 said...

Who lost. The woman. Engr Emy

Dis woman go suffer ooo............5.4m.........she would haf gone far by nw....hw much is 30k

APATA ................ROCK OF AGE§

Ekanem said...

Honesty and Integrity has brought her this far. Weldone madam.

God don bless yu finish no doubt....

God bless her nd Family. I heard D Idiot That lost That Millions did'nt Appreciate #Lobatan

just 30k!! na wa ooo i rest my case

$27k for N30k... Really good, and nice to know dat its worth having a good conscience.

Dey shd gv r a well paid job jare, all dis small small money wl nt take r 4eva

Cool but isn't that what shes suppose to do? Hian! Na her own? Y'all need Jesus

How much was she expecting before??? Linda take note!

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

That little? These peeps must be insane

How much was she expecting before??? Linda take note!

30k na pple surround am to take pictures like this....nigerians can b really greedy

30k? Sound so poor ooo but anyway is a gift

In dis lady mind....she regrets returning it...lmao

They should raise the amount of money they give to this woman to encourage others to be honest. Enough of this meager amounts.

you did good...nobody owes you anything for doing good..its a personal decision.

Woman be balling. Kudos to all those who appreciate honesty in a world filled with so much dishonesty.

seriously..................

God is truly paying her back

30k!!! Seriously!! This is why no one will ever return lost money again

Your reward is in heaven madam

Evil people. Is that all you could reward for such honesty?

haba #30,000 and a plaque is too small jawe. they should have given her national honours than that useless plaque

Lucky her.

Still?!

The reward is nt encouraging, she deserves higher cash reward.

I feel like stealing some cash in the office safe n returning it later for a plaque at the end of year party.
Jst look at the Retarded DG of NOA wearing a Baban Riga whose design (green patterns) alone is more than 100k, bt felt that the lady deserve only 30k.

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

30K? Really
Its not a motivation actually

Imagine.. only 30k..it really sound strange

hian...are we still on this topic?

MR. REPLY said...

U SAY WHAT? 30K AND KPAKO.. ISORAIT I CONGRATULATE YOU MADAM.

It pays to honest and truthful no matter the situation.

...Wz awarded wif "k30" & dey'r showin us. Wot a poor way of showin aprction. #9ja wakeup#

Wow, if am d one, am in dubai now with the 5.4m! Its not enough for me,#Beyonce drinks balance.

Katrina said...

This woman deserves nothing less than N5.4m if you must reward her for her great heart then you should change her life once to encourage others who may find their selves in such situation. This will be the end of honesty. People are wicked

#Good Things Will keep on coming to you Ma'am!!

Who says that honesty does not pay? Now you know better that "HONESTY PAYS" Congratulations Mrs Ugwu.

andre kelvin said...

30k??? Out of 5.4M! Rubbish.

This woman is d most stupid person on mother earth. She's kinda saying d 30,000naira is too small abi??? U had d world in ur hands and blew d chance. Opportunity comes but once. Better Job my foot mtcheeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwWwwwwWwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwWwwww

Honesty pays

REPORTNAIJA said...

wow 5million naira...
this woman don sack her employer ooo..

thats d price for been honest people..

30k......hmmmmm

frank said...

She is like 30k for an award that's poor lol, but honesty pays

Dis woman don turn celeb overnight.

IF YOU WANT POWER, RICHES OR ANY SPIRITUAL PROBLEM YOU WANT TO SOLVE THEN TRY THIS (http://ekpo-iti-awara.hpage.com)

Mtshewww

Pls reward her with a better job,atleast to convince Nigerians we still appreciate honesty.

AbiolaVJ said...

`NOT ENCOURAGING!!!!!!!!

Bridget Ananaba a.k.a Unstoppable said...

In as much as I commend the effort of the NOA, in my opinion, I think this lady deserves more from a nation where $20billion can be declared missing.

chizzykwin said...

30k pere.. na wa ooo... wetin she wan use am do abeg, well na to find who she go dash na

Why don't we just declare every 3rd wednesday of the month a public holiday in honor of this nice lady that returned money that didn't belong to her in the first place? Yea..i think that would be cool

Nigeria will always remain corrupt if this kind of acts continue. How do u reward someone with 30k after returning 5.4m. I weep for honest people, there's no benefit 4 doing things right in this country, pathetic!

Timi Da Uyi said...

I think the plaque is worth more than the 30k. If they wanna give her something they should and stop using her to remain relevant in public eye or score cheap points. its all showmanship

Oskirin said...

tank God 4 her.she must also b given a national award.

Izzy becoz of 30k that they surrounded d woman like dah???? Dis huge cloud giving 1person 30k. Abegi

Allah sarki.. don't worry.. God doesn't sleep. Your helper is on the way.

Bad business......

gyga said...

she should be flogged 30,000 strokes of hot iron.. mumu of the highest order.

Good for him, he will receive even greater rewards than the 30k. I hope my sinful heart would have done the same.

Good for her

"I was told that's the reward they give for patriotic acts"
they made sure she said that

This is God's set time to bless and announce this woman to the world. Enjoy it ma'am.

ZiZi Kokoye said...

Welldone Josephine..Bt 30k is too small sha

30k outta 5.4million.. I shake my head once again

some returns N5.4m,u reward her with N30,000 & a stick award?
shame of Nigeria.

Lmao... bros u sef

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

It's unfortunate that with the all the money Mike has embezzled, he can't add to that 30 grand.... See their faces

30k is small but at least shez bin recognised for her integrity nd good conscience. A good name is better dan silver and gold

Oga daniel how much did u give her?

The diff is clear tho.. all d same, honesty pays much.....Goodluck good lady #GodWin

I knw say most of these libers will begin to condemn b4 thinking well. The money does not belong to NOA, NOA gave her money from their pocket. So it makes no sense comparing 5.4 million to 30k. If u want to protest on her behalf look for the owner of the 5.4mill n insult him.

Aren't we suppose to be honest? Any reward is jst bonus. How are NOA evil pple? Is the 5.4mil for them? Pple talking without thinking

For ur mind shey? Does she look disgruntled? see her smiling from ear to ear. Some people are jst honest

I jst knew someone wld rain insults on well meaning gestures. They chose to acknowledge her and give her something small as encouragement una dey vex. If una wan vex, vex for the owner of the money wey no appreciate her well

God bless the organization.
L
I
N
D
A
Observe

Mr anonymous some pple are honest and have a conscience. If u fit disappear wit money does not belong to u, some pple can't.

Jst becos u are thief doesn't mean everybody is. I wld have returned the money without thinking twice. That's how I was brot up

Damilola Ade said...

Honesty is not about reward. ... Its about peace of mind.

Aunty gwegzzz.... said...

Nne, is it not high time u stopped this ur double commenting and shouting Linda,take note...how many people Linda wan dash 100k? With the likes of davido'd driver,lwkmd-nigeria and royal priesthood who are jobless and practically live on LIB, do u think u have a chance? Out of 30 post a day,these three people(that's if it's not one person commenting with 3 diff I.d) are in d first 4 commenters on abt 29 and they are very consistent and comment on every post. Biko,take a chill pill and join another struggle. Rest,biko.

Congrats, and I wish her all d best.

i would have loovvveeed to overlook this news but My Good God in Heaven......30k!!!! what is that? i mean its way way too small.what encouragement are you giving to people to do the right thing.....well a man cannot give when he does not have...which is not encouraging people in doing the right thing.Those in public office need to show good example and reward same.

She did the right thing. Is not a must they reward her jare, nobody forced her to return the money, it was intrinsical cos she's a conscience. So I see no big deal with what she did. She's a good woman and she's content with what she has.

Veeon said...

That's not enough. That's ridiculously unfair.

That's why no should praise Jonathan for conceding defeat. Isn't that what he was supposed to do?

Opuowei Jack said...

And she is Igbo. I also the remember that the journalist who refused to take a 50 000 naira bribe from the pastor whose church collapsed on mostly south-africans in Lagos was also Igbo.
After money-loving hypocritical Nigerians will accuse only the Igbos of loving money too much. Even as we Nigerians love money as much as the Igbos but we are too lazy to put in the same amount of efforts that they do.

Imagine!!!!!!!!just 30k for reward ND they all surrounded her taking yeye pictures as if they did something tangible..hissssSssss

Really sad. 30k is nothing.

uwaifo peter osaa said...

eya....looks like a smile of regret on her face.

but my question is., who gets to keep the returned $27k? cos obviously its not going back to whoever forgot it at the airport...?

30k hmmm ooo

Ur type no fit drop the money if u see am

Truth be told,that amount is just a peanut
...NA ZO

Lol, aunty gwes, leave my Juliet. Juliet dear, drop your email address. You are very persistent.

Because of 30k you dragged her from her house? What's that!! ,I beg !- Warri Babe

How much is her tfair to Abuja frm Lag? Ds pple shld av just coded d cash for anybody not to hr abt it bcos ds is peanut

Next when u see that kind money return am make dem give u 30 as u say na suffer u like....hisssss

Real Igbo woman~ezi afa ka ego!

INSPIRATION UNIVERSITY said...

Honesty is the best policy. www.princeinspires.blogspot.com

INSPIRATION UNIVERSITY said...

honesty is the best policy.

Lol nice reply!

Damilola thank you. We tend to measure reward in monetary terms but it is solo much than that. Peace of mind has no price tag. The immeasurable blessings of God have no price tag. Please people, live and learn.

very cool

Is good to be honest.....happy for you woman