Photo: MTN staff protest in South Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 May 2015

Photo: MTN staff protest in South Africa

Nearly 2,000 workers are on strike at the headquarters of telecoms giant MTN in Johannesburg, SA. Workers, who were singing and chanting anti-establishment slogans, are demanding bonuses and a 10% wage increase. Communications Workers Union national organiser Tshepo Matlou told the BBC that they also want temporary workers' contracts to be upgraded to permanent staff. (BBC)

39 comments:

Na them sabi

Xenobians, na God don dey punish them so....

Then do it for them, not like the money isn't available.

The kyn tins staff dey request sometimes sef

MTN is even exploiting their very own.
I hail una well well. Fraudulent Company

NMaa said...

Stingy network mtn

It seems dis south Africans re trouble makers.

hmmmm always sa

6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast

It seems dis south Africans re trouble makers.

Has mtn stinginess extended to their workers too?

We should do same here... They are about laying us all off here on August 1.
God hep us in this country.
#MTNNigeria

Karlsson said...

MTN n their inhumane treatment of their customers n staff is very pathetic n annoying
Ubanagum

Empty hen. Thank God for etisalat that came.

Mcheeeeeeew! Dats their headache. E no concern me. Linda take note!

They're not asking 4 too much

eproductsNG said...

www.konga/ELITE-PERFUME

The ones in Nigeria should strike too in support loool

And they do things like that here; arguably their biggest market and get away scot-free. Na we no know our rights

Dis is wht I call fighting for ur right where d right exist. Wil MTN workers in Nigeria ever dare? Hell No except they want to look for another job.

They make more money here in Nigeria...than in SA.

Dia business

Dis is wht I call fighting for ur right where d right exist. Wil MTN workers in Nigeria ever dare? Hell No except they want to look for another job.

Der headache

The contract job things also happens here in Nigeria. The protesting because the have a union. One day this same thing will happen in all this telecoms company in Nigeria contracting our citizens.

#MTNNigeria own is coming soon.... They are giving up over 6000 staff to an indian company a

Good luck to dem

Hope Nigeria MTN workers are not hiding In fears.... Come out in mass to demand for your right oh.....Kindly contact dis number for more information... 08036116664 or 08096638075

Ruby said...

MTN workers in Nigeria can never have the guts to put such a fight......ye level of cowardice in this country is appalling....becos u don't want to lose ur job....employes are cheating Nigerians so badly.....especially these Indians n S.Africans. Unfortunately our unions always fight for the wrong reasons.....i wonder why we even have them sef...so annoying!!!!!!

Ruby said...

*employers*

Ruby said...

*employers*

Meanwhile in Nigeria, they have said there are no plans to sack staff ( NO TRUTH IN PLAN TO SACK STAFF on their facebook page) which is a good thing in the light of all these events here and there.

Such tough times!

o se se bere

My Year Of Linda's 100k

wouldn't have guessed MTN don't pay well

Dear Linda pls i would like to have your Email address or a contact no. I'd like you to run a story on behalf of many,for publishing on your blog to gain traction. This will go a long way in helping lives and people. Thanks for your anticipated

Latest News Updates said...

Best News Updates and Latest Headlines from All Over Africa.

MTN prefers to lavish money on advertisement than to pay salary.