Niger lawmakers abandon impeachment plan on Gov. Aliyu after receiving N17 million each | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 May 2015

Niger lawmakers abandon impeachment plan on Gov. Aliyu after receiving N17 million each

According to reports, the impeachment against the Niger State Governor, Aliyu Babangida, may have been dropped as members of the state House of Assembly pushing for the governor’s removal have been allegedly paid N17m each with the additional promise that their other demands would be met as well.
The N17m is said to be part of the allowances they were owed since February.

The speaker said he couldn't confirm this report.

However, one of the lawmakers said, “It was not as if the governor bribed us, it is our legal entitlements and we have a right to ask for it before the expiration of our tenure. We have been paid and calm has returned to the assembly complex.” So because they had been paid, they decided against impeaching the Governor, he said.

It will be recalled that last week, the lawmakers had sacked the leadership of the assembly and elected a new leadership over a series of allegations including non-implementation of house resolutions, poor staff and members’ welfare and non-release of the statutory allocation to the assembly for months. This, it was learnt, was done to pave the way for the removal of the governor.

To frustrate the lawmakers, the governor had headed for the court where he secured an order to restrain the legislators from making any move to impeach him.

The House of Assembly was also occupied by security operatives for so many days to prevent the members from entering into the assembly complex to carry out their legislative duties.

Due to this, Kawu had threatened to institute a legal action against the Niger State Police Commissioner, Mr. Emmanuel Amore, over what he described as the illegal occupation of the state House of Assembly by security operatives.

Calm seems to have returned and all seems to be well.

Punch

53 comments:

@arkiss said...

Money's speaking

...Yet civil sservants are being owed here and there. If they decide to demonstrate, police will show their power.
...Mama J...

Mtcheew

Igbinosa David said...

All these law makers... They don't have the interest of the people at heart... Just their pocket..

Money makes things happen

Money speaks...

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

You can imagine how much our government officials earn to serve

Naija I hail u.

Shame on them, "we have been paid and calm has returned to the house"

Linda "oasaro"

At dis point, anybody that fights for any Nigerian poliTRICKcian is more foolish than a fool! These self-centered pricks are not worth any ounce of sweat!

See his eyes sef

Our politicians and money.
Chai!!!

Owo!

Good to know.

ADAOBI said...

17m each jst for allowances....nd sum pple say there is no money In Naija...is it legally permitted or jst a bribe

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Ok na their way

this man would qualify for a free rhinoplasty.

Are u shitting me?
Instead of channelling these funds into developing d state αи∂ creating more employment opp...look at hw they are using it
Its well o

Welcome every morning with a smile.
Look on
the new day as another special gift from your
Creator, another golden opportunity to
complete what you were unable to finish
yesterday.
Be a self-starter. Let your first hour
set the theme of success and positive action
that is certain to echo through your entire day.
Today will never happen again. Don't waste it
with a false start or no start at all.
You were not
born to fail but to rule.
You just have to get out of ur own way αи∂
make it happen...
Never heard sm1 succeeded from staying idle
or from been too negative about everything....
U have to think right, u have to think well...u
have to reach out αи∂ do something
reasonable
You can't cross a sea by merely standing αи∂
looking at it...
Start something today, if u haven't .....that way,
u'd start heading somewhere
#beInSPIRED
#morningALL

I Rep 27th May

Damilola said...

Money conquers all it seems

Hehehe, is that the way we'll move forward? Please God let there be change.

Karlsson said...

Hope he's not owing C/S, politicians re just heartless most especially Nigerians
Ubanagum

17m for allowance since Feb? When many workers are owed their small salary. Its high time the lawmakers are called to order. In fact it should be a part time job like in most countries

Choi! The people wey God go flog plenty pass for Nigeria. Linda take note!

Cool N17m... OMG! Dis guys r freaking rich all thanks to our national treasure.

Hmmmmmmm naija

WAT DE HECK???17M FROM WUS POCKET???TOMJERRYSWIT

abujakenneth said...

The money will not be enough for them

angelite said...

Gud enof 2 shut em up

Corruption has eaten deep into the system with so much boldness labelled "entitlements".
First things first, GMB must flush out the greedy bad eggs from the system.

Okay Noted

#17m each? Der is God o

Obiora Jamal said...

Onye gba oso oracha glucose, entitlements indeed,ka ina echi nti Ida afu uzo lol

tony rich said...

Hungry lawmakers

The state workers are yet to be paid. Do something chief thief

NIGERIANS THIS IS EXACTLY THE REASON THE PIB BILL HAS NOT BEEN PASSED. I WILL SEE WHETHER THE NEXT ADMINISTRATION/ LAW MAKERS WILL BE ABLE TO PASS IT.

He didn't bribe us its our entitlement it's okay! God is watching

“It was not as if the governor bribed us, it is our legal entitlements and we have a right to ask for it before the expiration of our tenure. We have been paid and calm has returned to the assembly complex.” Hey! Hey! Hey!(Weeping for my dear nation nkiru sylvanus style)

Werey its not bribe u hear, its ur legal entitlement, ur real father. Dave now Daniel Craig

You gotta be fucking kiddin me.....

What change? Corruption as usual. By the way, what happened to Debola? I thought Buhari would have appointed him as SA media and publicity? Na wa o!

So this is the change???!!! SMH. THEY ARE ALL THIEVES.

Dis is day time robbery of our national treasure. Wht a shame.

Nawa oo

Nky said...

17m? My God how much is left in this country?

cool

why is he scared of impeachment anyway if he only got a few weeks left