Jonathan conceding defeat averted evil in Nigeria - Gov Fashola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 May 2015

Jonathan conceding defeat averted evil in Nigeria - Gov Fashola

In an interview with select media houses in Lagos today, outgoing governor of Lagos state, Babatunde Fashola said President Jonathan's decision to concede defeat after the presidential election helped to avert evil in Nigeria. He said he sees President Jonathan's action to concede as courageous.
"I won’t join the debate because it is a raging debate; some say he is now a statesman, some say he is now a hero, others say he is not a hero as he did what he was expected to do. I will just say that first you must understand what we have become. All of us are looking at an election. Do we normally, as a people, accept that we have been defeated? Let us ask ourselves that question. Let me animate it a little: can you remember how many times in football that we lost – we can’t qualify – and some people will still be saying ‘no, if somebody beats somebody by 20-0, we will qualify?’ And they will continue to raise hope where, clearly, hope is gone. Logic says to you ‘this is over.’ That is us. We don’t accept that it is over. It can be a positive energy somewhere else, to fight to the last. But in that context, I think we should acknowledge what President Jonathan did as the right thing. If you lose, you should concede that you have lost. I won’t join the debate on whether he is a hero or a statesman, people will have their views. But was that the right thing to do? Yes. And I hope that from there we can pick an example. Was it courageous? I would think so in the circumstance that I have created. He had to go and tell a party that wanted to rule for 60 years that we have lost and I have accepted it.
There is a saying that while it seems ordinary to praise people for doing what is right or what is good, we must understand that it is not just for doing what is right or good that they got the praise or acknowledgement. It is because they avoided evil. And the kind of evil we could have seen is unfolding in Burundi now. The question is to ask the many ifs; ‘what if he (Jonathan) had said no?’ That is my final word" he said
Source: Punch

93 comments:

We all know

One Nigeria!!

Well said Fashola , doing what is right makes you human not hero, people should copy $ paste what this intelligent man just said, shekenan! No be only Hero,na Shero!

If he had said no then we will see what would become of him. Thank God for peace which is most essential.

@wizkidayo Fanatic said...

Bobo juice...Jonathan weep and wept inside his house as he created that Negative record...ask Pay-sheh'..wia she dey sef!...Payy' Baby!!!

Word...

You are right Fashola. Fashola is my best governor. Oga i beg is it true that your mistress gave birth to twins?? *scratching my head*

Nice words, am sure de oyibo pple u went to visit thought u manners too, becos u didnt have dis much to say during de election nd aftawards.

Dis man sense don come back finally from d election bruhaha nice write up Raji u have spoken well again like d governor I used to know

What would have happened had APC lost?
ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM.

D-PinPionter Says: If he had said no, then what happened to Mubarak would have happened to him; after all, the presidency is not his birthright and he is from a minority state.

Well said!

Gbam.at fashola,i agree with u.
Ovwi9

Gej my hero

Discover amazing Fat-melting and delicious weightloss food commonly found in nigeria click here

Gej my hero

Discover amazing Fat-melting and delicious weightloss food commonly found in nigeria click here

Stupid party that wanted to rule for 60yrs as if their farther own Nigeria.Shame on Jonathan and his cohort.

Pidgin Mistress said...

If you ask me, na who I go ask *in omawunmi's voice*

Gonna said...

Hmmmmmm! All is well that ends well!

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Jonathan will always be my favourite president

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
www.hawtshoes.co.uk

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, he said d ryt tin, vry correct cos our case would v bn far worse dan dat of burundi. God bless him 4 conceding defeat o

Copy

If he fashola believes in is statment can he pls advice his party member to accept defeat and move on in d states dey lost, pls Linda kindly ask dem yo leave ekiti state govt and governor elect in rivers alone...bunsh of hypocrates called APC.

PARENTAL ADVISORY!!!

So Jonathan had a choice to say No? Interesting...

Nice one al though he was deplomatic witth words. He should go and tell his supporters to respect GEJ and also ask Amechi to consider defect and allow peace in Rivers state.

Pidgin Mistress said...

Had it been Jonathan said NO, na only God know wetin for them happen now. But thank God he said YES.

Karlsson said...

APC that threatened to form a parallel govt if they lose, U guys should learn from GEJ. Any election APC loose was rigged, that's what they ll always say.
Ubanagum

oyekunle.b said...

WORD!!! even though i voted for change i still respect GBJ To me he is a hero...

True talk.... Jonah too try abeg....

True.

Have u thanked those two cars yet?

Go to www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com and do so

pink said...

It would have been war! So indirectly Fashola is calling him a hero too. Indeed he is a hero!

pink said...

It would have been war! So indirectly Fashola is calling him a hero too. Indeed he is a hero!

Hmmmm owk

The only truth from APC in recent times. Kudos to Fash

OK. Buhari would have unleashed his murderers as he did in 2011. So the fear of Buhari's blood thirsty brothers is the beginning of wisdom. It is a shame.

Perfect.

We are celebrating wickedness.
A man promised bloodbath if he loses the election. We are here praising another one for giving in to intimidation and blackmail.
Africa will forever remain backwards until we learn to stand up against evil and wickedness.

You tribalistic bigots are nothing short of obnoxious! Two faced humans! It is now perfect cos it's coming from Fashola! I suppose if it came from an SS or SE person you would have unleashed your tribal smelly opinion! I can't wait for the end of this charade called a Nation!

One Nigeria cos it's coming from fashola abi? Bloody fools! Be it known to you SW and north that SS are wise now and are patiently observing!

Hypocritical yoruba woman now your anthem Don change tune abi! Shame on you and your kind!

You have agreed cos your yoruba brother have spoken otherwise u for no gree! Be deceiving yourselves.

Saintk said...

The problem we have wt some pple in dis country is dah dey dont have a mind of their own. . .yesterday yhu guys condemned GEJ's action and called it cowardly, today yhu applaud him and call him a hero jus because yhur so called outgoing governor admits to him being a hero. . .it's time for us to build our own mind and stop allowing our fake politicians run our mind. . .let's judge pple by the content of their characters, not by d tone of dia voice nor d colour of dia skin nor d religion dey come from!!! GEJ still remains a man wt a good heart irrespective of his flaws. . .

@Have Alhaji Buhari ever accept defeat in all his elections? he always call out his hausa fulani brothers to start slaughtering innocent non hausas. Did you think Jonathan's people cannot bring Nigerian's economy to it's knees if Jonathan is as remorseless as Buhari.

So why didn't ur party accept defeat in Ekiti after dat big mouthed,big nose Fayemi conceded and congratulated Fayose.U APC people speak from both sides of ur mouth. It's a shame u guys r just bunch of rascals parading to b Democrats, u guys r just bunch of loosers.Buhari will pull out from d whole arrangement soon, don't worry keep chanting change, u all will b changed

cant agree more

Fake bbleaching idiot like you. Na waooo even people with mouth disorder talks this days

Niga u dumb or wat? Try to read thoroughly n understand b4 u coment.Coz its quite obvious u dnt read btw d lines#getunderstaning dude

Jojo said...

Time they say will tell. Still watching.......

Mehn... People go fear na, na which incumbent President for anywhere don ever fail and fail out, it's either he fail and repeat or fail but promoted by fire or by force, he must stay, his slogan will be continuity by fire by force. President Jonathan na hero ooo, whether APC like am or not. When Buhari don ever concede defeat? Hate no be small thing.

Do you understand English at all? This is what you summarized from this statement? Abolish please go back to school and pay attention to comprehension especially. It is really disgraceful

Can u do what he did by given out power just like that, this are very uncommon things in Africa leadership even in a family is not easy lot go when u have all it takes to change things u Fashola cannot do it.

Fashola so na now u know baaaa u been they slp before???

All of a sudden, reality dawns on all of them. Mtcheeew!

Shame on you and your family!

Don't mind this razz yoruba woman, Always commenting rubbish.

<< LIB Addict >>

Bunch of hypocrites indeed!

Just see the way u reason ..u are one of Nigeria's problem

Fashola should advise the Rivers and Ekiti State APC to concede defeat.
Rivers State does not belong to Amechi. If Dakuku who lost the election hasn't even coughed, why is Amechi taking it upon himself to fight Nwike and his camp?

What is the interest of APC in Ekiti and why are they bent on frustrating Fayose's government?

If he thinks GEJ did the right thing by conceding defeat, why not advise your party to do same?

<< LIB Addict >>

U are very stupid for dis comment

U r just a shameless fool

Nice reply

Thunder fire u 10* minority that have feed the entire nation and u open ur smelling mouth to call him minority

Thank you for that comment.

Some can read but lack understanding. Pray to God to give you understanding.

ib naija o said...

And you have gone right back to saying stupid things. Just when I thought u had changed. Mugu... is that what Fashola said?

Maybe u would have been dead by now if he had said no. Then u can write this comment from the pit of hell

Hmmmm it's the like the rumour going on that Fashola and Tinubu are having issues is true. If not why this sudden change of view by Fashola?

Thank you for this true observation.

Abeg u fools should all get a life.hero my foot;don't u misquote fashola ok he's throwing words nii that there's nothing special abt what Jonathan did that u all fools called him "hero"a losers is always a loser;he lost n he knew is glaring he can't fight it so better that he accepted.

Obviously you didn't comprehend his statement

Thank God the opposition recognize this.

Wiseman fashola, you rock.

And you are from a majority state? Big fool

He made history, and exhinited character of a real statemanship. God bless him abundantlly.

To note dat he has defeated GMB b4 so dis makes its 50:50.

You this Hausa man I wonder if you ever went to school because you think like a dumb ass mother f...,ker .read his last statement , he said what of if he had said no. Go and reason your brain out he also said what is happening in Burundi now. Even buhari refer to jona as a state man.

Yea from the minority but that minority is feeding the entire nation fool. If he had said no the economy of the nation would have cripple fool.

Fool. Miniority state meanwhile u are scooping oil at out backyard. U dat came from majority state, what is ur contribution at the centre? IDIOT!

We all know that already. Linda take note!

Fashola you are a man of truth and reality.All these people talking rubbish abt GEJ probably wil not be alife now to say so if he didn't concede defeat

Jonathan is my hero, the best president Nigeria has had so far .

GEJ remains d best president dis country av eva produced. Even Fashola couldn't shy away from d truth

NAMO said...

Nigeria is a BIG project.. We need unity to accomplish it.
I respect fashola for his views. After all we are experiencing true Democracy we never had. GEJ is truly the " BREATH OF FRESH AIR " Nigeria needs. We breathe with hope that Nigeria will be better.

Relax.
Fash simply said the truth.

You be idiot...minority my foot...wetin u come be majority ba? Ur a fool..mumu..calling d people whose natural resources feed ur silly ass major wetin!!!..ur sick on d head

U just an idiot with no home training.

Shame on ur generation

Let me state it now!!! Jonathan is not a Hero!!!

No your God ni

Believe it or not he is a stateman /hero

He has made history for doing that