An armed robbery suspect, 45 year old Jide Abass (pictured right) who
was arrested alongside his accomplice (Lukmon Bello) while they were attempting to rob outside a bank in Ogun state on Monday May 11th, said
during his interrogation by the Ogun state police command, that the
cashless policy introduced by the Central Bank of Nigeria has affected
the operations of armed robbers in Nigeria. According to him, people do
not move around with large sums of money anymore as they now go about
paying for things with their debit cards.
"We
usually laid ambush for bank customers, especially those who had gone
to withdraw money. It is not difficult to notice them. For the men, it
is either their pockets would be bulging or they would come out with the
usual black nylon. For customers who came in their vehicles, we would
either ambush them or trail them to safer places where we would collect
the withdrawn amount. But since the introduction of cashless policy,
people don’t usually got out with cash. Even when they go to eateries
or super markets, they make use of POS and this has been affecting our
operations. We started operating in Ikorodu, Lagos State but since the police
seem to have braced up to the challenge, we decided to relocate to Ogun
State. This is our fourth operation here. I am ashamed of myself because
my two wives may likely divorce me if they find out their husband is a
robber,” he said.
His other partner, Lukman said he was a
clothier before he resorted to armed robbery due to his inability to
fend for his two wives and children
"I
was initially into international trade. I usually travelled to Dubai
to buy men’s clothes to sell until the trade crumbled. I had also
travelled to Mecca, Saudi Arabia, twice, to perform Holy Pilgrimage.
While the going was good, I got married to two wives. But along the
line, my business crumbled and I started driving commercial bus. At a
point, I could barely feed my family. In the process, I met Jide Abass,
who introduced me to robbery. On that fateful day, we
left Ikorodu where we live, to Abeouta to
operate. It was Jide who suggested we went far to operate to avoid being
recognised during operation. We trailed this particular man to
Oke-Ilewo. We saw him counting some money and kept some in the safe
of his car. We did not know he would not stay long inside the office he
entered. We were busy ransacking his vehicle for the money he left and
never noticed him coming out until he was close. As we attempted to
enter our car and flee he pulled out a pistol and shot me in the thigh.
I managed to hop into my Mercedez benz car which was used for the
operation and sped off towards Ibara Housing en-route Kuto
(Abeokuta)/Isiun Expressway. But I became unconscious as a result of
loss of blood and in the process ran into an oncoming vehicle on
reaching the Ogun State NUT Conference Hall junction, close to MKO
Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta. Some good Samaritans who did not know what
actually happened came to
our rescue and rushed us to the Federal Medical Centre,FMC, Idi-Aba,
Abeokuta, for treatment. But to our surprise, the man who shot me
located us and arrested us. It was after we were arrested that we
discovered that he was a policeman. My wives and children are not aware
I have been arrested. Greed lured me into this”. he said
Source:
Vanguard
73 comments:
Wuna neva chi chum chin! Ole!!!
Thank God they were caught.
Lolzzzz
Learners
the long arm of the law has finally caught up with them w
Die na bastard....no other work? lazy men dem....
Ike wilheminna anara na m uche m
This story looks like an advert for POS.
Are u serious? Lol
Still an arm robber at age 45, this one will even rob the devil in hell.
Indeed greed lured him into it. God help, and save us frm attacks of armed robbery.
R U SERIOUS DS OLD MEN R ROBBERS??TOMJERRYSWIT
The same greed will lure you into prison so that you remarry there too! Oloshi
Everyday for the thief one day for the owner.
Welcome to the 21st century Nigeria
Lol. Funny
Sowi is your name
LooL.. wetin man no go hear
Yoruba people always. Why are they so lazy?
You never start
The policy did not affect pen robbers that much. The incoming government should do something about that.
http://234jam.blogspot.com
why must it be yoruba people all the time? Why are they so lazy, why can't they work hard to make it in life? But they will be not be ashamed to envy other people.
I swear she set die, I don send her email tire she doesn't reply. I think am in love
Eyaa
Eyaa
Lol! Stupid people
They say Every day for the thief one day for the owner . Imagine the other one's fear,if his two wives find out, they might divorce him. Divorce him, his talking about or you re going to prison.
Bad market. Theyshould b lock up, and d keys thrown into d lagoon.
Hmmm Na wa O
http://ajukuti.blogspot.com
Lolz Well said Bona
I love this story, nice one. Lindaobserve
@rp *locked
Good for you. Jaguda.
Chai see old men. Na wao. Check out here for sports news
Good for you ole
Thank God you can now see what results from greed.
Igbo girl, iji ya. Gbam!!!. Lol
Gud 4 dem, dey r a disgrace husband n father. Bush meat don catch ur hunter now, ole
Master but I will advise you to repent okay.
Foolish idiot....
Greed indeed
Guys be after vain things..how sure are you that it is her ass?
This two old me should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves- imagine armed robbery at their age! Don't these men understand that you should only marry one wife and not have too many children?
Lol...Wish all those robbers could be caught dis way.
Lesson to others
Kudos jare, ur head dey there. They never hesitate to point accusing fingers. Good to know someone is paying them back in their own coin.
They both have two wives. Just imagine? Poor men having two wives, why wount they do something sinister?
#FOCUS n #ACHIEVE
Dats not her joh, I saw her at linda ikeji self made, she looks as hateful as her comments, yash no ikebe ni, federick I sorry for u and ur love for yash!
I have always said if Nigerians could inculcate the habit of buying guns armed robbery rate will reduce. Just look at this action film narrated above. That oga police deserves a medal.
Anon 10:12 then you don't really know who wilhiminna is, its her ass. I follow her on insta
Lol...they're not serious.
U dnt even consider how pipo suffer to make money but u just want to snatch. It by force. U should face the law
You just want o snatch pipo money without considering how they suffered for it. U should face the law
lots of lesson learnt
thanks guys for the clue
oya time to face the law
if u no fit tiff Government money
no tiff at all cos u gon be caught
Lol. Still dry
Hmmmmmm
Shit..
Shit..
See aw pale they look,.oma se ooo
My Year Of Linda's 100k
hahahaha Good for them.
Two wives Una try
lol lol, sorry cant help but laugh
Accept Jesus into your life now
May technology continues to destroy the operations of the wicked in Jesus name. ..thank God for the cashless policy which nigerians almost did not want to accept..see the blessing
Lolz this ones dey for armed robbers category? Wet in I no go see,old man way suppose dey house...glad dey caught them..lolzzzzz..post a free classified advert
Dis old men
Are u sure he is 45? They both look older than 45 sef. At 45, what are you doing with 2 wives in these hard times? Some people are so foolish
For real? These two old men? Robbers?.....things are happening indeed.
Linda, when i saw the headline, i scrolled down expecting to see a banker talking about the economic woes and reeling of economic indices to buttress his points, i never knew it would he a hardened criminal talking about his robbery woes with robbery indices to back it up. Nawa oo!!
BUT SHEBI I KEEP ON SAYING IT THAT CRIME HAS NO MOTHER TONGUE.
Hilarious