We had our own knife & yam and we cut it the way we wanted - Ijaw youth President says as he congratulates Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 2 April 2015

We had our own knife & yam and we cut it the way we wanted - Ijaw youth President says as he congratulates Buhari

The President of the Ijaw Youth Council, Mr. Udengs Eradiri has congratulated Gen Buhari on his victory at the presidential polls. In a statement released on behalf of all the youths in Ijaw land yesterday April 1st, Mr Eradiri said the Niger Delta had their own Knife and Yam and have cut it the way they wanted.

He said while the northerners went all out to vote, in some cases using their personal finances to transport themselves to cast their votes, the Southerners waited for people to pay them first before they go out to collect their PVCs and vote. He said they should not complain as "we are the architects of our own problems". The statement after the cut...

"I want to use this opportunity to congratulate Gen. Buhari who has emerged the winner of the presidential election. And so as IYC, when we had our own as President, the Igbo, the Yoruba, the Hausa were loyal to him. We will be loyal to the President-elect, Gen. Buhari, who from May 29, 2015 would become the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. We will accept it (the results of the election). We had our own knife and yam; we were not able to cut it the way we wanted. We have no other person to blame. It is in this part of the country that people ask for money to go and vote. However, the northerners were paying for their own transportation to go and exercise their rights and to go and pick their PVCs. Our people were expecting that they would be paid to collect PVCs and the results reflected so. We have no other choice; we are the architect of our own problem. So, we should be able to live with it. If you go and protest, you are on your own. If you go and destroy anything, you are on your own. I, as the leader of youths in this region, have reached out to other ethnic nationalities to canvass support. Maybe, we started late. Maybe the attention was not given that should have started with the political class. History has already recorded it. So, the best we can do is to key into his (Buhari’s) administration, just as the Yoruba and Hausa key into the administration. It is time for us to also key into the administration. So, I called on our people to steer clear of all those political manipulations.”he said

91 comments:

Keeep them coming in

Nice one. Lindaobserve

Whatever

Funso Samuel said...

Fact

Aww thanks so much Mr. Udengs.

Good one

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.

ANYA IKENGA said...

More reasonable than those threatening to go back to d creeks. OYO in d voice of Prince Mavin.

I see a future president in this dude.... God bless yu man...

He said it all.........Majority of d pple in the South, East and West neva went out to vote....and yet dey wanted Jonathan.to win.....Imagine Lagos withpopulation of 5m...only 1.5m voted and so with oda places....

For the very first time i went out...queued and voted.....and my vote counted.....

Wow.......I'm in awe. NICE!!!

APPLELIPX said...

Voting should not be subjected to tribe and ethnic grouping. When yar adua was contesting, people still went out to vote whether north south or west

The reason the south dint take it serios was bcos they thought it was biz as usual

PDP always wins whether u vote or not
But the elections were close to free n fair so no room for the rigging masters to do their ishhh

And this was only possible bcos GEJ gave a platform for such.... PVC was d first move and accepting the use of card readers was another

Good...

It could take a while before we are able to see beyond lines of tribe...

May God bless u for being truthful in defeat.Nigeria is bigger than all of us let's join hands to make it work.Mr President has accepted so should his followers also accept.

He is so right,
But I love the final result.

Meaning?

Meanwhile this post on Lagos girls though. Hahaha. you all need to read this I swear lol

WORDS OF WISDOM FROM A LEADER

4nkylization said...

They had better keyed into it bfor it gts too late. When APC was busy campaigning, u pple were busy lukin for Buhari's certificate, school bag nd sandals. "NTOORRR"

This is the most reasonable person that exist within the entire SS and SE

Well said! Bloody psychophants...

gab2shoes said...

Y MESSAGE TO BUHARI IF HE WINS!!
#baba If You Get There.
1) Dont come-up with 36-point agenda.
Just give us Light and security. Odas will fall in place
2) Reduce the costs for data bundles
3) Make Fashola a minister with 10
portfolios. He can handle it.
4) Baba, d number of fish in each tin of Titus
sardine used to be 8 in 1999. Please do something about it.
4) shut all borders. Our jail candidates
must not be allowed to escape to Cotonou.
5) Don't Use 1billion Naira to Eat. No Be
Food We Say Make U Go Chop!
6) Please arrest dat lady that says your
call credit is low please recharge!
7) stop jumbo salary 4 d politicians & pay
dem like civil servant 2 discourage rogues
from our politics
don't use all our money to buy shoes and private jets. use ur
old military boots and okada if necessary
9) let there be electricity, we don't want to be hugging
transformers
10) we want NTA to be clear like CNN,
BBC, Aljazeera and so on
YOURS SINCERELY,
NaijaYouth

U can add ur own.....
The gods are not to blame
Gab2shoessaysso

Beautiful beautiful statement.I wish that pumpkin called Asari can see this and understand the debt of this message.The milk has been spilled.No need to cry over it with threats and throwing tantrums

WAT DID U DO ON UR OWN?? AbEG PARK WEL NA WETIN U DO FOR SOUTH, EAST?? TOMJERRYSWIT

Well said Mr Udeng, we only have one nigeria if u can't bit them u join them.

Well said

Very well said.....

Chizzy says so! said...

Very wise words. Kudos to him!

Well said

silo swag said...

On point!

Good statement. If u destroy anything OYO is ur case. Case closed

Wa gbayi!!!

7F098C19 said...

Noted. Una don turn Jesus. Engr Emy

GOD BLESS U, WELL SAID

So commendable! Thank God the youths of Nigeria have so much more sense than the older generation. A great Nigeria is what want and a great Nigeria will benefit everyone! Many, many thanks to the Ijaw Youth President!!!

Person wey get ear,make him hear.

Enya said...

WELL SAID!! I stay in Abuja and I observe the way the northerners all travelled back home to collect their PVC's and vote. Pictures don't lie and the ones floating on social media shows the large turnover of voters in the north. We(Southerners) would learn from this, I believe this election was a victory for Nigerians. I voted Buhari though

geelane said...

you are indeed a youth leader. Kudos !!!

I love u even without knowing who u r. U r a true leader indeed.

GMB has won, we have heard. Change has come,
we agree. The Nigerian Lee Kwan Yew has
arrived. We welcome him. However, we expect
to see this change PRONTO.
Constant electricity in four years. WAEC pass
rate
should be 90%. In four years. There should be
no more potholes on our roads. In four years.
We shouldn't hear of crime. In four years. There
must be no corruption in ANY sector of our
public/private lives. The Naira should gain
grounds against foreign currency(that one no
favour me but I go still talk am). In four years.
Fuel price should be N16. In four years. All of
these and many more. In four years.
To all those who rained abuses on GEJ and
Patience in the name of campaign, all I ask is, be
as critical of the incoming government as u were
of GEJ's. Don't ask us if he's a magician oooo,
after all, GEJ was no magician either. We will not
hear the excuse that
Nigeria's problems did not start with Buhari ooo.
We will not hear that change takes time o. Let
us judge him by the same yardsticks...after all,
what is good for Nosa, is also good for Musa,
abi?
At the same time, we have not forgotten all the
promises o. Stipends to the poorest families.
Payment of 'allawee' to unemployed graduates.
Feeding Nigerian students daily. When he made
these promises, he knew about the country's
reserves. He knew that the crude prices were
falling. He said he would do it, and Nigerians
believed him.
We should watch carefully. How will he
constitute his cabinet? What will his body
language be towards bigwigs in his party that
have been accused of corruption? How exactly
does he intend to "pight kwaroption"?
Four years is a long time. A lot can be done in
four years, For the sake of our dear country, I
sincerely hope that change has come.

I beg you all in the name of God or anything you call god. Please stop all this ethnic & tribal remarks. We are all praying for One Nigeria and that is gradually happening. Don't take us a thousand step backward by using these terminologies (Western people, Eastern people e.t.c.).

Reading this I thought there would be
Something new. But at the end its the same
Old ranting.

Get your family visa to .U.A.E from us HUGE GROUP LLC.
no deposit required pay on arrival.
BBM: 52AE9D8E

Well said. Let's put the election behind us and move forward, for he who does not move with the tide, the tide will move without him. Even Esau when he missed his father's blessing asked for whatever was left. You have lost the presidency but do not loose the opportunity to play your part and be significant in the new Nigeria of Change.

On fleek!

Nice talk bro.

Sadly the truth. He has said it all, whether we like it or not, he spoke the truth. Linda take note!

God bless you, maybe you are the next president of Nigeria you never know but only God knows. Well done for your advice

As a sharp guy! lol! The watch word there is 'Key'. Nothing do you jare, na d way forward be dat.

sweetie said...

Huuuuuuu! True talk, southern, western believe in money. Corruption and proud is in our blood, U can't blame dem,corruption is also in blood of the president (GEJ) while proud is in blood of patient witch. The sun ll cause sun burn. Nonsense! hausa people is one of the honest people we got in dis country. They ar not after money, proud is not in them. They ar faithful. I serviced in North. There Bad side is wasting of life. Their own life got no meaning to them. If they lost any of their relative in few mints they ll buried he/her and continue their activities. U can never see them crying. May GOD take control. Here is change, Sai Baba

Well said Presido

good of the people we expect to cause problems to choose peace. ... but " ....in some cases using their personal finances to transport themselves to cast their votes" I thought their was no vehicular movement

Well said sir

My brother you are 100 percent correct,the northerners went out in mass to register ,while southerners were too busy with work and busness!Even our president GEJ own state did not even help him,the election votes do not represent one Nigeria.The election votes divided Nigeria into two! GEJ did more for the north but they betrayed him,the southerners will remember Ujukwu for good.

Well done bro

True talk my brother. But u will need to watch ur back. Many of ur ppl will not support ur stand. They may see it as betrayal. U hav simply said d truth. Let them invest with d yams they hv cut and create employment for d ppl in region if truly they hv been fighting d cause of d ijo ppl. Let us see d place developed. By now an ordinary ijo person 's standard of living should hv improved

I love this man statement. He say the truth and his very very correct.

You've spoken very well..So pls let's live in peace and unite as a people..God bless Nigeria

Wise words from a young man

Well said my brother! God bless you for saying it as it is.

Well said
Sai Buhari
#BlackIsBeautiful#

Baba pls Ban bleaching Cream
Sai Buhari

Well said
Sai Buhari
#BlackIsBeautiful#

Sai Buhari

Well said
Sai Buhari
#BlackIsBeautiful#

Sai Buhari

Well said
Sai Buhari
#BlackIsBeautiful#

Sai Buhari

elo tasha said...

Its rather too late...u should have know from the onset

sisi said...

Don't generalise Ur statement, the ijaws had the knife and yam, point of correction , not southerners.

Nice piece there. one good thing about our brothers and sisters in the north is that they rally round their own and we all can see the result.
SAI BABA!!! SAI BUHARI. #CHANGEISHERE

no said...

Indeed! the wind of positive change has started blowing on Nigerians. @ President of Ijaw Youth,you are indeed a defender of democracy.

Hmmmm... Truth to an extent

Wise head...

joycares said...

The hausas are wonderful and committed,I am a fan of Bahuri,but this is a lesson to all who can not sacrifice without been paid in retune.

GOOD TALK FROM A PATRIOT...THAT IS HOW TO BE A LEADER. ACCEPTING THE TRUTH OF THE MOMENT AND KEY INTO THE REALITIES ON GROUND.

HOWEVER, ASARI DOKUMBO OR WHATSOEVER HE CALLS HIMSELF IS BUSYING THREATENING FIRE AND BRIMSTONE...HE WILL BE DEFINITELY CONSUMED BY HIS ACTION. MARK MY WORDS.

Chop up

oiza said...

What he said is true though.. But.

True talk. Well said!

I can't believe this! So some people were asking for money b4 they will collect their PVC kai poverty is a bastard haba!!!

Thank God for the reasonable but sadly few leaders we have in this country.
For the first time in a long time, I'm hopeful

U open ur mouth 2 insult patience jonathan,u r d main reason we need change in dis country,n I fink it ought 2 start frm u....................
U just murdered english

Tanks for your words of advice

oiza said...

#Handshake.. Funny @d same time

The highest number of voters as a % of registered vote was from Rivers, Bayelsa & Akwa Ibom. Can anyone be blamed for asking for money when other regions are sprayed with dollar by the same person. If he can doll out $ to South west for vote, i do not blame anyone for asking for same.

Am back,shey una miss me.miss all d funny funny comment here.lol

Helo mr some people didnt just want to vote anymore cos d government are liars so nobody was waiting for money unless mayb in ur village o. Lolzz. maureen

Be rest assured we will demand accountability because we are confident we will see change. And trust me no matter how little this man does it will be miles ahead of what your darling Jonathan did in 6 years!

ochigboE said...

Right step in the right direction. Youth leader with vision.

GOOD IMPRESSION FROM YOU SIR...WHAT IS GOOD FOR THE GOOSE IS GOOD FOR THE GANDER

Your people ask for money to vote because they had no motivation to vote for your man! They rather not partake in the election than vote a northerner and most of them who still had a little conscience decided not to while others demanded for money. The public support for APC was more than a political party but a movement! People send their money to pilot a movement! Quit this my people and regional bullshit please! You are first a Nigerian!

I for one...am voting PDP in Lagos to keep the opposition strong.

His words reveal that the citizens of the SS and SE have always known their problems. They believe that everything should be handed over to them, they don't work for anything. They want oil jobs but wont apply, they want development but wont allow government projects be executed in their domain if the 'KINGDOM' has not been settled.

If this is not checked by them, they will only keep suffering no matter the government in power.

when did he said that? @linda ikeja. u are found of pasting false news.