Position of the PDP on the outcome of the 2015 presidential election | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 2 April 2015

Position of the PDP on the outcome of the 2015 presidential election

Press statement from the PDP signed by its chairman, Adamu Mu'azu
Sixteen years ago, Nigerians gave our great party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) the mandate to build, nurture and deepen democracy after three decades of military rule in our country.
That historic mandate was freely given in recognition of the courageous and patriotic role of the founding fathers of our party whose resilience and doggedness championed the return of democracy and the personal freedom we all enjoy today.

Within this period, our party worked very hard in rebuilding and strengthening democratic institutions, tenets and norms while lifting our status as the leading democracy in Africa and one of the best in the world.

It is incontrovertible that under the PDP-led government, our nation moved from a near pariah status to a strong actor in the international democratic arena, a product of various electoral reforms and our iron-cast commitment to transparent, free and fair electoral process at all levels.

Even in the midst of obvious threats to our democracy, the PDP and the government it sponsored continued to stabilize the polity through strict adherence to rule of law and liberalization of the political and economic space.

In the last 16 years the PDP-led administration achieved significant milestones in our social and economic lives. We moved Nigeria from a debtor nation to Africa’s largest economy and one of the fastest growing in the world, a feat, which is accompanied with unprecedented expansion of the private sector as well as multi-sectorial infrastructural development, all, great legacies we achieved for our nation.

Presently, our nation is at the threshold of history and its defining moment for the future. As you are aware, in the early hours of Wednesday, April 1, 2015, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) returned the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Gen. Muhammadu Buhari as winner of the 2015 presidential election.

However, we have received reports of serious irregularities that characterized the conduct of the election and we shall channel our protests to the appropriate quarters in line with our profound respect for the rule of law and democratic ethos.

Our party comes with great values and tradition and we will adhere to them and ensure that nothing is done to truncate our democracy, which we have proudly worked so hard to nurture and sustain to maturity.

Therefore, if the outcome of the election is truly the reflection of the wishes and aspirations of our citizens, the PDP will most willingly respect that wish.

What is paramount to us is the survival of our democracy, the unity, peace and progress of our dear nation and the happiness of all our people. Nigeria is bigger than any political party, individual or group and her overall interest must be our priority at all times.

It is in this light that we as a party commend our flag bearer, President Goodluck Jonathan for his heroic act in conceding to the voice of the people, an action that stands him out as a true democrat and a statesman.

We also congratulate the APC flagbearer, Gen. Mohammadu Buhari for his resilience and victory in this election while wishing him success in the onerous task of leading our nation once again.

On the same note, we wish to also commend the electorate for the peaceful manner with which they conducted themselves in the course of this election.

For us in the PDP, we want to state in very clear terms that we are not down. We are only at our redefining moment. Rather than demoralize us, this election has afforded us great lessons and we are now more than ever before reinvigorated for the race ahead.

As we return to the electorate for the April 11, 2015 governorship and state assembly elections, we go recharged with faith in our heart. We assure all our candidates in the remaining elections that the party will stand with you, campaign with you and work vigourously to ensure your total victory at the polls.

Finally, we call on our party faithful to remain steadfast in our renewed effort to deliver our flag bearers in the remaining elections.

Signed:
Ahmadu, Adamu Mu’azu, CON.
National Chairman

40 comments:

Good 4 dem

The guys should just bow out honourably, but unfortunately they'll not honorable men, so they'll never.

Very well written and articulated!!!! The peace and unity of Nigeria is paramount, everyother thing comes after.

Thumbs up GEJ, you will always remain my HERO!!!!

Very well written and articulated!!!! The peace and unity of Nigeria is paramount, everyother thing comes after.

We don hear.
And we accept your congratulations.

Nice speech

Okay!

Every naturalista in the world must read this for their own good. Thank me after

Nice speech

Oky.....

Good one.. Great party, I hope to become a leader in this party someday, #GEJismyHero

mamalette said...

This write up can mk an encyclopedia, finished my m.sc in 2013 and cannot remember reading anythng dis long afterwards. Some1 help a sister with summary.

APPLELIPX said...

We commend u all for this piece
Please can we all just rest now
GEJ is tired of ruling, he just wanted out thats why he is not dragin it with anyone

The PDP is filled with a cabal of god fathers who rule the country indirectly through their puppets
That was what GEJ was and probably tired of

Its this same cabal that are the major importers or generators thats why we cant have constant power supply, because that means shutting out their biz, these god fathers are also actively involved in oil and gas thats why our refineries has to take centuries to be repaired not bcos it cant be rebuilt, but because these evil people wont let it happen

Let power change hands lets see if things will change...
But its regrettable to know that this same greedy people are quietly forming alliance with the winning team, so in the end we may still b complaining of same in 4yrs tym

He don do for pdp

Power doesn't belong to one group,, let's see wat this change will bring... Its a new democracy, a new fresh breathe.. God bless Nigeria

Well said.Maybe you guys can begin to build the many bridges that you burnt

Cool Story!!!

Nice talk.

Your party was a disappointment and did nothing big to change nigeria after almost 2 decades. Becaus GEJ accepted defeat we should all now accept your party is great?

Adams said...

Nice statement from pdp . Gej thanks for serving us for 6years . Good democrat & states man

oh well, not the worst I have seen from them.

By God's grace nigeria will be better! And They keep saying nigeria is the largest economy, yet no jobs, no infrastructure, good health care etc hmm, he forgot to mention the heavy corruption going on in their govt, God is watching you all in 3D o!!!

GMB has won, we have heard. Change has come,
we agree. The Nigerian Lee Kwan Yew has
arrived. We welcome him. However, we expect
to see this change PRONTO.
Constant electricity in four years. WAEC pass
rate
should be 90%. In four years. There should be
no more potholes on our roads. In four years.
We shouldn't hear of crime. In four years. There
must be no corruption in ANY sector of our
public/private lives. The Naira should gain
grounds against foreign currency(that one no
favour me but I go still talk am). In four years.
Fuel price should be N16. In four years. All of
these and many more. In four years.
To all those who rained abuses on GEJ and
Patience in the name of campaign, all I ask is, be
as critical of the incoming government as u were
of GEJ's. Don't ask us if he's a magician oooo,
after all, GEJ was no magician either. We will not
hear the excuse that
Nigeria's problems did not start with Buhari ooo.
We will not hear that change takes time o. Let
us judge him by the same yardsticks...after all,
what is good for Nosa, is also good for Musa,
abi?
At the same time, we have not forgotten all the
promises o. Stipends to the poorest families.
Payment of 'allawee' to unemployed graduates.
Feeding Nigerian students daily. When he made
these promises, he knew about the country's
reserves. He knew that the crude prices were
falling. He said he would do it, and Nigerians
believed him.
We should watch carefully. How will he
constitute his cabinet? What will his body
language be towards bigwigs in his party that
have been accused of corruption? How exactly
does he intend to "pight kwaroption"?
Four years is a long time. A lot can be done in
four years, For the sake of our dear country, I
sincerely hope that change has come.

5thMarch said...

Well said!

I've never been his biggest fan,
But credit where credit's due.
Mr Adamu you have spoken
Well.

As they so desire, we have moved on already. Linda take note!

Well done!

This PDP should shut up & go and hide their heads in shame. They had a whole 16yrs to steer the nation in the right direction. why are they complaining now that they lost. When they were busy rigging Rivers state and other states did anybody complain.
To cut the long story short lets give the keys of the vehicle to another driver and see how well he performs.

chinwelovesnseikpeetim said...

@DUMO....u sound like one who just drank shekpe....The other driver(APC)ur talking bout dint they all come from PDP...d earlier u realise all politicians nd political parties re d same d faster d shekpe gets off ur head...cos as it stands now ur brain is smelling.

Happy to hear this. I want a Nigeria with two strong parties. One messes up and we switch to the other, no time!

Nnaah, ndi bu ndi araa mehnn!!! Next!!!

What of lagos state that has been under the slavery of APC for 16years. What have they done so far?.Tnk God for the wind of change, it will by the power in THY NAME OF JESUS blow to the east, west, North and south. Change all the way. PDP will rise again.

Mr dumo, you should hide with APC.
My previous response on wind of change to the east, west, North and south was based on your unwise statement. Wind of change all through which no power can stop.

DIVINE CHANGE IN LAGOS STATE!!!!!!!

ColdFlame said...

And the PDP's 60 year projected reign is brought to a screeching halt...
SAI BUHARI!

It is evident that PDP established the Nigerian democracy, planted its root to grow, but they left d tree to stand on a verdant land without being looked after. It is sad that PDP always believe that it owns and has to rule Nigerians, but the truth has to be told; no one or group has been given the stewardship of another person or group of people. PDP as a political party should stop thinking and daydreaming that it should continue to steer the ship until the cows come home. Nigeria is a Democratic society and democracy should be practiced with utmost good faith if Nigeria is to see the promised land. As for GEJ, he has tried in his own special way and I think within him, he knew he would lose the election and that was why he requested a six-week postponement of the election that was supposed to hold in February. Mr President, stay calm as you have conceded defeat, and I assure you that this doesn't make you a defeatist in any way. Believe in what you did and always know that one cannot eat one's cake and have it.

you cannot always eat your cake and have it Mr Adamu

Mr 47 said...

We the APC have received reports of serious irregularities that characterized the conduct of the election too and we shall channel our protests to the appropriate quarters with Evidence. So no harm done. U do me i do u. Man no go vex

We don hear nah