Nikki Laoye's Angel 4 Life Foundation provides relief aid for internally displaced persons in Abuja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 April 2015

Nikki Laoye's Angel 4 Life Foundation provides relief aid for internally displaced persons in Abuja

Award winning singer/humanitarian, Nikki Laoye has stepped out to support internally displaced Nigerians via her foundation, Angel 4 Life, with the relief project tagged "The Angel Relief Fund".

Nikki Laoye visited the Kuchingoro camp in FCT on Monday, March 23rd, along with her husband, Alex Oturu; top gospel artists from Abuja (Faith Yebo, Japhy Davies, Chris Ade, Chris Tover, Samfoni) and officials of the government agency, NCFRMI ...

(National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons) led by Director of IDPs, Mrs Magaret Essien and Director of Migration, Hajia Amina Ibrahim.

The Kuchingoro camp is a makeshift one with houses made of sticks and old sacks of rice used as walls & windows. The men have also built a viewing centre using the same materials, for amusement purposes & connection to the outside world.

The children were seen attending school on an open field, with the younger ones learning under the trees while the older ones are taught under a canopy.

Food supplies, Relief Items and Toys were distributed to the displaced men, women and children who had moved to the camp from Borno and Adamawa States.
Meetings were also held with the group leaders of the camp community to discuss their present situation with promises and plans of future support from the foundation to help with the empowerment of the men and women as well as the education of the children on the camp.

The women and children of the camp sang and danced to celebrate Nikki and the rest of her team, in appreciation of the love and concern that was shown to them.
In response, led by singer, Chris Tover, the musicians - Faith Yebo, Japhy Davies, Chris Ade, Chris Tover, Samfoni with Nikki Laoye also sang and prayed for them in Hausa.

Kuchingoro camp is just one of the many IDP camps set up with barely enough room for the thousands of Nigerians who had run for safety from the North Eastern part of Nigeria as no fewer than 3.3 million Nigerians were displaced by conflicts in the immediate past year.

In line with her service as an ambassador for the NCFRMI commission, Nikki Laoye has set up The Angel Relief Fund to further support the ongoing relief works for internally displaced persons (IDPs) within Nigeria, who have been badly hit by the scourge of violence & terrorism.
Last year, Nikki Laoye was appointed as the Celebrity Voice for Refugees and IDPs by the agency's SouthWest zone, to bring to the forefront the activities of the NCFRMI as well as the plight of refugees & internally displaced persons.

Speaking about the initiative, Nikki Laoye says "It is really a sad situation in the north for our fellow brothers and sisters and we do pray for God's help and strength to our troops to quench this invasion once and for all. In the meantime, We have to look out for our own and do what we can to soothe their pains. They are in constant need of food, water, clothing and more to survive daily as they rebuild their lives once again. It's the little we can do.

I say a big God bless you to everyone who has donated and supported this initiative – We are Strong Together, Thank you".

Nikki Laoye and her foundation kicked off The Angel Relief Fund last month, with the support and donations of well meaning individuals, organisations and her fellow colleagues in the entertainment industry.
A social media campaign was also created with specially designed promo pictures of celebrities speaking out for a better Nigeria and soliciting for more support for the displaced in the North which were shared on their social media platforms to create further awareness amongst their fan network. They also supported the relief fund with personal donations.

Some of the celebrities include Yemi Alade, Show Dem Camp, Faith Yebo, Steve Babaeko, Anny Ibrahim, Seyi Shay, Oscar & Titi Oyinsan , Waje, Rotimi Keys, Lara George, Kiki Omeili, Niyola, Ada Ehi, Olaitan Dada, Frank Edwards, Emma Nyra, Timi Dakolo, Monique, Sammie Okposo, Joe Praize, Mike Abdul, Onos, Ibitayo Jeje, Omenesa, Gaise Baba, Praiseworld Radio, Capital F.E.M.I, Do2Dtun of Cool FM, Uche Nnaji of OUCH, ToluFame, Jenny O (HipTV Presenter) and many more.

Pastor Tunde Ayeni of Graceville Christian Centre Abuja also supported the outreach with the provision of two large white buses with drivers to help with the transportation of the team and relief items to and fro the camp.
Top media companies in Abuja - Big H Studios and El-Gibbor Video Productions supported the initiative with  free photography & video services for the day.

#TheAngelReliefFund initative is an ongoing awareness fund raising campaign to synthesize the public about the situation in Northern Nigeria and also get more involvement and donations from the society towards their needs.
All Donations are used to provide food, medical supplies, care and support for internally displaced persons at different IDP camps across the nation.

Nikki Laoye's Angel 4 Life Foundation has actively conducted humanitarian projects in Nigeria for the past five years and impacted many Nigerians through different programs for people with disabilities such as the Buy A Cane project for visually impaired individuals; Inclusive Education projects for physically challenged students and currently the empowerment and support of internally displaced Nigerians via The Angel Relief Fund initiative.

Here are pictures and the video from the camp visit.

Photo Credit: Big H Studios, Abuja
Video Credit: El-Gibbor Productions

Watch video below..

67 comments:

God Bless

God bless you nikki

tsalz c.e.o said...

Weldone aunty

Nice gesture, a big thanks to her.......Linda did u say award winning singer, wch song is she known with....or u mean imaginary singer

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

God loves a cheerful giver.....Maximum respect to her.

That's so Nice and kind of them

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

When the doctor told the helpless man that he has AIDs, he said "Thank Goodness, I would like to see the person paying my bills"

Well done Nikki. God bless u. Lindaobserve

Waho am impressed

Nice one.....God bless 'em

Nice gesture.God bless her beautiful heart

So kind of her, may God continue to bless her.

Nice of her o

God bless dem.

linda said...

So sweet! I prefer private humanitarian activities sha, smetin bout Ur reward being in heaven. All d same....d heart matters so kudos to her. GOD BLESS HER.

that's kind of her. God bless her!

Nice of them

Dat is so good of them...seen.

Ebele Nwabasili said...

Nice of her, God bless her! Oya 123r!!!!

Awesome, More grease to your elbow

Wow!! God bless you all: Nikki of life, my wonderful artists... Pastor Tee!!! Great man. NellyWealth

God bless her...

@pwiityshantel said...

Nicki baby ....... Nice 1 Jare ....... But why the show off NW........

May God bless her and her team......

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Nice of her.

Nikki, good job. God bless you.

danex said...

weldone sis

Awww nice....GOD bless her

Setting a good example for other celebrities, instead of just following politicians to campaign they should be helping out the masses. God bless you Nikki, I love ur new album too 'the 123 Project'

Thats really thoughtful

Dele Bosun said...

The video is really touching. Nikki God will bless you and make you bigger!!!

Darling Nikki, watching your presentation made me so glad although tears well up my eyes for some reasons. Well done dear. That was a fantastic move. May God continually make provision for this venture in Jesus name. I want to thank all the other gospel singers who accompanied you. A special thanks to your darling husband who has been a good support in all you do. May they all receive Gods blessings for lifting up your hands in Jesus name. Keep it up darling. A giver never lacks. Omo Laoye, Omo Aji lala oso, Omo afi ojo gbogbo dara bi egbin. Ku ise oluwa.

I have loved Nikki since 'Never Felt this Way b4' in 2006, I think you are a real blessing. Keep on doing what you are doing, God will lift you higher. congrats on all the awards last year.

Bola said...

Wow..the truth is we need to remember our fellow Nigerians in the north some more. we seem to assume it didnt happen here..hmmm. Linda, how can we reach Nikki and donate our own widow's mite?

For real? OMG!! Can you see the houses they live in? made of sacks? OMG!! *tears*
In this same Nigeria...Gosh!! God bless you Nikki for letting us see this. We've heard of the issues out there but had no clear pictures of what they were going through.
Pls let us all come out to support this Relief Fund, let it not be said that we didnt do anything and outsiders came to help our own.

Timi Akerele said...

this is why she's one of my favourite artistes!!! She can sing, she can dance and she has a heart of gold!

But really, what are we doing to help one another? We cant leave it all to our leaders alone.
It's little things like this that really matter at the end of the day.

Very thoughtful of her, may the Lord continue to enrich her. Linda take note!

Folashade said...

Glad to hear that Yemi Alade, Seyi Shay ,Anny Ibrahim, Show Dem Camp and co supported and donated towards this. Been seeing the different pic designs with their faces on instagram for this relief fund.
God bless them all.

Emeka said...

@Henry Eze Google is your friend and get your head out of junk music alone.
Nikki Laoye is one of the singers in Naija since 2005. her songs - Never Felt This Way Before, 123, Only You.
She even won the Headies in 2013 against Waje, Seyi Shay and co.
You people should learn your music history and know your artistes. na wa o. Loved her from day one..consistent and a great dancer too.

Wow..am so touched...dese kids r so happy evn wif d little dy v..God provide and protect dem..tnx nikki. May God bless you abundantly and evry1 hu hs contributed to ur foundation in one way or the other...

Gideon Nweke said...

Sometimes i wonder how people think..which one be show off and private humanitarian activities? this is called news and that is how you get to know what's happening out there and what people are going through...
why do we want to act as if nothing is happening around us and that the less of suffering we see, the better off we are?

Read it and find out how to be a part of it. These are our fellow Nigerians,affected by Boko Haram she helped for Christ's sake. I will do so as well.

Well done Nikki, its good to know we still have Angels like you,looking out for others.

Adebola Ralph said...

@Henry Eze, if you don't know who she is, don't show your stupidity! She won the Headies (Hip Hop Awards) in 2013 for Best female vocalist, beating Seyi Shay, Waje and Zaina! Her song 123 enjoyed massive airplay and she's been in the industry since 2005 when you were still in primary school or something! So don't show your stupidity while trying to be smart

Wale Adebiyi said...

*Passing by*
Some comments here surprise me though
"God bless them" , "So Nice of her, "That's so kind of them"
Really? Them? so y'all think its just a great thing she did and that one na her own business?
She and the other artistes are caring for Nigerians affected by Boko Haram.
Who you help?
Nikki, I will find you on twitter and instagram and ask how I can help too.

Kelechi Iwu said...

Henry, Google is your friend, if you don't know who she is.

A simple check from Google would show you she won 'NMVA' 2014 for best Alternative Video for 'Only You', she also won AFRIMA 2014, Best Inspirational Female Artiste in Africa and many other awards, the question should be 'which world are you living in????'

"On 26 December 2013, Laoye was unveiled as the winner of the category for the Best Vocal Performance (Female) for her soulful ballad "Only You" in a strong field that included singers Waje, Niyola, Seyi Shay and Zaina, at The Headies 2013 Award ceremony in Lagos, Nigeria." from Wikipedia

See this Yeye boy oh! Wetin you sabi? Which song is she known for?

1. Never Felt this Way b4
2. Oya 123ri
3. Taka Sufe
4. Only You
5. African Dance
6. Your Number

Just to mention a few, you don't have to comment on everything, if you don't know! Ode!!!

Judith said...

In this same NIgeria???? Wow this is really sad. We just dey Lagos dey shout change, meanwhile people are going through hell. God bless Nikki for this initiative, I would really like to volunteer for this. Is there a website we can go to?

That's really nice, I saw nikki perform 2 weeks ago at #GLAat30 and I was really inspired, didn't know she was a humanitarian too. Great job. I am impressed

Weldone Nikky. God bless u real big.

God wl continue 2 bless u Nikky laoye, may u never lack gud tins in life

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZH0DoeQjXc visit us on youtube guys.

Weldone dearie!!!

Kudos to her, will donate as well

Thank so much Nikki for starting and encouraging the Love revolution. You are so kind, loving, giving and wonderful person in all ways. Thank you so much once again for letting us know the condition of those that are suffering around us.
Pls Linda is there a website we can go to i order to donate and offer our support for the cause.
We pray that the amazing grace of God will always be with you Nikki and to all others who are in support of LOVE.
Well done sister of Grace. xoxo

Apart from observing, what have you ever done to help the IDPs?

Visit her website www.angel4lifefoundation.org to be a part of this initiative #TheAngelReliefFund to support internally displaced families