'I will be leaving office in June - Prof. Jega says he has no interest in continuing as INEC chairman | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 April 2015

'I will be leaving office in June - Prof. Jega says he has no interest in continuing as INEC chairman

INEC Chairman, Professor Attahiru Jega says he will be leaving office in June this year when his tenure as Chairman of the electoral body ends. In an interview with BBC Hausa, Professor Jega said even if he is asked to continue in office, he would not.
"I am grateful to God. I was asked to come and contribute my own quota to the national development and I have done my bit to the best of my ability. Whatever assignment one will do for five years, just like this difficult one to me, if one is able to successfully accomplish the task, someone else should be given the opportunity. Because for me I am not interested & if I am requested to serve again, I will not do it, by God’s grace" he said.
Prof. Jega came into office in 2010 after the tenure of predecessor, Prof Maurice Iwu, expired.

126 comments:

K bye!

I love him joor I pray he marries me he's cute and charming in 19 and don't care his age

U have done well..u will be remembered..come and contest for presidency 2019..I'll vote for u

Sylvonce said...

I agree wiv u Prof. Dts the best way to go. Uve given us a credible historic election . Hope someone like Maurice Iwu doesn't come in.

You've done so well Prof, posterity will be so fair in judging you, you're a rare Nigerian.
I recommend you for TIMES man of the year.

Peter Ogunremi said...

but u can switch to EFCC sir.. we need you pls

That is a man with too much integrity..........Nice one

He has tried sef

CHERRY said...

Him don try sef!

What ah great man..!!! Thought us so many things in a single day...forever a legend...
HAIL MARY FULL OF GRACE

Such a sweet ,savvy,sassy,brainaic,mature and noble man.Nigeria will remember him as the one man who jegabonita INEC with his penchant for free and fair election.He isn't greedy and I luv him with the luv of christ#winks

U don chop ur share nau, y u go wan continue

You have tried my dear. Too much wahala!

Awwwwww, jega my crush!!! #crying

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Wish him all d best.

Awww! How honorable

nance said...

I hope this guy wasn't asked to step down. I hope the person dey will put der won't be corrupt come 2019.

Yu have done well sir so all the best in ur endeavors....

Linda I have a problem opening ur app on my phone. Whenever I click on a story to open ur advert covers d whole screen I wuld go back nd click again. Sometimes I hv to do dis severally before I can read a story. The adverts are really frustrating me.

McCarthy said...

#JEGAMUSTSTAY. Please lets forward this and make sure this man stays there until we get someone Nigerians agree is competent enough to succeed him

Mission accomplished #operation remove Jonathan.....

You served your country well Prof, God bless you...

He's the brain behind the incredible election
we all will remember him as a true leader.

Madam Hoha said...

You have done well sir. Your name would forever be remembered in good spirit. Take a bow in dignity and confidence. I'm proud to witness your kind in my life time. As we Nigerians seek change and progress for our great nation, we would remember a DISCIPLINED & HONEST man named Jega who created the platform for change and Transparency. GOD BLESSED YOU SIR.

Y is he leaving now..... U have helped Apc achieve their desperate ambitions..... Gerraout...

U hv tried jare afta ds go nd relax.

VERULE Says-gud to kn sir

elo tasha said...

I just love Jega....he"s so down to earth

Jega my love please tell me you are joking! Oh my God! I don't want to think about this right now....NO.

BrendaN

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

Don't know what to make of this, it must reallr be an exhausting job.

Kindly click on my name to visit my lifestyle/motivational blog, thank you

tsalz c.e.o said...

U don try joor.. and u don do well..

Good job Jega

So in about a year we will all hear about your compensation by APC for rigging this election in favour of your fellow hausa.

Allah is watching you.

May you choke on the Ministerial appointment they promised you.

Jega u are the HERO I salute u prof u did Nigerians Good by solidifying our democracy thnx to u sir

Hmm. The always cool, calm and collected Jega.

After allowing underage voters, God is watching you

Eucharia said...

Wish you well

U were not fair, pvcs were more in the north ,most people in SS And SE didn't get theirs

Yes you should leave, mission accomplished.Ndi oso chi egbu!!!!

No prof we need you again,, we need men like you to help Nigeria get a better candidate come 2019...well u av been a great man, God av used you twice its probably time to go #respect sir

You have done ur best sir. U are a Good and a credible servant of d FRN

Sai jega.

Oh My Jega, U r a man of prestige, honour n ur name has been written in gold for ur achievements as d INEC chairman. Kudos. I'll further say that u deserve a political appointment in this government.

Sad....i pray and hope the person coming is of sound mind like u.

Wow, man of integrity, we love u jare. God bless u, u v done so well

Plz my Professor have really tried......,they should allow him rest....., #NiceMan

All student forum said...

You are a wise man my prof, others would have chosen to die on the post. Go and rest, you will be remembered for a long time.

Lady C said...

Jega his a true hero.

History will always remember you president Johnathan,.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

Flora said...

He has done well. Sm oda peeps wld want 2 die on dat seat, but here is a man willing 2 gv oda pple chances 2 prove demselves. May u succeed in ur future endeavours. Well done Jega...

Goaldyn Boy said...

JEGA is talking as if he has a choice! That is your retirement date and you can't change it! While APC and their supporters will miss you, PDP and their supporters won't miss you! The latter would wish you weren't there in the first place!!!

Kponskii said...

Well done prof. History will be kind to you.

we no go gree o, we no go gree, jega must stay, we no go gree

I quite agree with him especially now the ovation is high, he has set the pace and others should trend in the already set path.

After you have finished d assignment you promised the Northern Elders. God bless GEJ for accepting defeat.

Hi guys if you haven't seen my newest video click on these link to watch enjoy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZH0DoeQjXc

good for him

This man is the real hero. Jonathan apologists claim Jonathan was tired and so he gave up lol. Why didn't he just leave? Why did he contest so vigorously and spent over 3 trillion on campaign? Senseless people #JEGAMYHERO

U have done well. A hero of d people unlike Maurice Iwu( according to prof Wole Soyinka- "iwuruwuru" cos of his corrupt nature"). We release u. Maybe u also could become d Emir of ur state". A good soldier, u fought well, go well. Good luck

Berry said...

Awwwwwwwwwww, this election was hell for him.

Bless you distinguished man.

I said sooooooooooooooo

This man is the real hero. Jonathan apologists claim Jonathan was tired and so he gave up lol. Why didn't he just leave? Why did he contest so vigorously and spent over 3 trillion on campaign? Senseless people #JEGAMYHERO

Zikora said...

You have done your part! You better leave now that the ovation is at loudest!!! Anyi macha ihe ndi i me gasiri.

Oh pls! Make I hear. That's bcus u eyeing anoda position. I get d gimmick.

He is indeed a great man. Itz nt easy 2handle dat post

Prof Jega please naw. We love you and wouldn't want to loose you sir. You still have got a lot more to contribute sir. ****cageyberry ****

Well done Sir, God bless you for serving us diligently. Linda take note!

jasmine said...

Such a wonderful man..

Gud for him

My Hero!!!!

Nooooooooooooooooooo

after u have fulfilled ur part in the script abi. return power to d north then dissapear. there is no hiding from judgement u & no sleep for d wicked

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooo! Not my crush! Am so heart broken! Not fair! Pls stay! Don't go! Jegalize the suitation na! Pls!

Aamarachiogueji said...

Na orubebe cos am..
#nwamas

Shut up!

Jega, you came, you saw, you conquered!

Nigerians will remember you as man of integrity and righteousness.any one suffering orubebeism should take jegaquin
#onlymewakacome

This is a man of great integrity. Will really miss ur good works. Gud luck sir.

Stupid betrayer!! Fuck off!! Why won't you retire , you want to minister after sabotaging your boss.

Wow, you are an accomplished gentle man in all ramifications. well done sir.

ochigboE said...

You have done a great job, I think you deserve to rest. Thank you sir for your service

Good for him!!!

Chidifine said...

But you have completed your mission so ......

Who careS

Arh arh oga inec, dis is nt d tym to quite or dnt u pipu want to remain as presidnt for mor 8yrs? U hav to b der o so dat kano state can produce atleast 3.5m votes nxt tym against d yoruba man dat wil b in d race by 2019. So dat by den, sukling nd unborn babies can boast of voter cards. U know u ar d voter card cum card reader xpert. Sentimental cow.

That is a man of discipline, I great u sir , I start to like this man when FFK, said that PDP is win 23 state already, then Jega, now said that I don't know where FFK is getting his result from, it was there I know that this election is going to be free and fair elections

...love dat courage of nt wanting to do more. Ds is d way tins shld be done...allowing ods to participate. Nt a household chieftancy

Proff Jega the Great!

Hmmmmmmmn well said atahiru

Prof'Jega,Man of PRESTIGE.

Jaga lol you are not interested noni after conniving with APC to rig.

One thing is certain, you will forever remain in that guilt till the rest of your life/career. The law of nature.

Halleluyah Bye bye!. NEXT

He has served his purpose. Well done.. Anticipating

Jega you will soon meet your own doom...

South Sudan said...

I saw this coming. Prof. Jega, you have every reason to be proud of what you have achieved.

South Sudan said...

I saw this coming. Prof. Jega, you have every reason to be proud of what you have achieved.

After betraying your master why won't u leave..!.. Guys be like I will leave in June as if this present govt even has vacancy for him. Jega your mission is over. Bye bye...

Da fuck is wrong with u?

Leave when the ovation is high. Jega did a good job. Wise man.

Nnenne George sorry ur 5k job no yield well , you are still battling with bitterness.Hope ure not promised appointment with SureP

Bitch shut the fuck up!

U will never know how it feels to be inec chairman unless you have been ...jega tried but still some loopholes...Underage voting how do we tackle that ish

Tank u anonym 4p.m, i was bgining to wonder weda nigerians no longer hav undastandn.

Dumb ass

Dumb ass. Orubebe stands for justice. Ur stupidity wil nt let u see.

Nnenne G, ur plan and ur PDP plan u belong to has failed. Lol, u and ur evil PDP party plan against Nigeria will continue to fail.

I concur!!my dear nice one!!i Luv me some attahiru jega!!!

Wht wont u leave when you have completed your assignment for your paymasters,ok bye

He has done well

it is only sentimental and tribalistic people who would not see d intergrity in this man.d same 1 dt conducted elections in 2011 dt brought in GEJ is no longer credible in 2015 cos GEJ lost. u guys should go and seat down. i dont even understand how just d SS and SE regions feel they can outnumber northerners n yorubas. Jega is #myownhero

u don try

Mumu.., I know a fool like you will surface and add a senseless comment. Idiot.

May God keep you alive, in future you will definitely tell us why you did what you did in these elections, especially the presidential elections.

I AM NOT A POLITICIAN BUT I UNDERSTAND THE POLITICS OF NIGERIA VERY WELL. GEJ MAY NOT BE THE BEST PERSON TO LEAD THE COUNTRY AT THIS MOMENT BUT THAT DOES NOT REMOVE THE FACT THAT BUHARI VICTORY FOUNDATION WAS CRAFTILY PLANNED BY JEGA AND THE HAUSA FULANI DIRECTORS IN-CHARGE OF ALL THE KEY INEC POSITIONS SINCE 3 YEARS AGO. I REMEMBER THAT THERE HAS BEEN HUE AND CRY OVER THIS LOPSIDED INEC ARRANGEMENT THAT EVENTUALLY LED TO THE MASSIVE REGISTRATION OF CHILD VOTERS AND TOTAL MOBILISATION OF VOTERS IN THE CORE NORTHERN STATES BY VERY PARTIAL INEC DIRECTORS WORKING ON A REGIONAL AGENDA DRAWN BY AN ETHNIC CABAL THAT IS BENT ON SEIZING POWER AT ALL COST.
IT WILL BE DIFFICULT FOR SOME PEOPLE TO AGREE WITH ME BECAUSE OF THEIR PARTISAN AFFILIATIONS BUT THE TRUTH IS THAT JEGA HANDED VICTORY TO BUHARI TECHNICALLY EVEN BEFORE THE CAMPAIGNS.
WHY JONATHAN WAS BUSY CAMPAIGNING JEGA AND HIS PEOPLE WERE BUSY LAYING INVISIBLE LAND MINES FOR JONATHAN DEFEAT.
THE UNFORTUNATE THING NOW IS THIS SAME PERSON IS BEEN REGARDED AS A HERO BY BECAUSE WHAT HE HAS DONE IS WHAT THEY EXPECTED HIM TO DO AND THEN CALL IT NATIONALISM. I DEY LAUGH.
THE DANGER NOW IS HOW TO CONTAIN THE COMING UPRISING FROM THE NIGER DELTA AS A RESULT OF THIS TECHNICAL CHEATING AND THE GANG UP TO NAIL THE NIGER DELTA TO THE WALL. I KNOW BUHARI WILL GO 4 THE KILL BUT THAT IS WHERE HE WILL FAIL COMPLETELY BECAUSE THE EVER RELIABLE AND RUTHLESS SPIRITUAL LEADER( EGBESU OF THE IJAW NATION) WILL AGAIN HUMILIATE AND FEAST ON THE BLOOD & FLESH OF ALL INTRUDERS JUST LIKE BEFORE.
NIGERIA MUST START THINKING OF HOW TO START EXPORTING GRAINS AND FINISHED PRODUCTS FROM LAGOS & KANO FACTORIES TO EARN FOREIGN EXCHANGE TO AURGUMENT THE 600,000 BARRELS OF CRUDE OIL THAT WILL BE AVAILABLE FROM THE MAINLAND OIL WELLS.
THERE WILL DEFINITELY BE A FIGHT TO FINISH WITH THE MILITARY THAT BUHARI WILL UNLEASH ON THE NIGER DELTA PEOPLES SOLDIERS.
THE REAL & FINAL SOLUTION IS THE EXPRESS DIVISION OF THE COUNTRY ALONG REGIONAL LINES. WE ARE NOT THE SAME PEOPLE,SOCIALLY,POLITICALLY AND CULTURALLY,SO WHY STAY TOGETHER. WE MUST HOLD ANOTHER CONFRENCE SUPERVISE BY THE UN TO DECIDE OUR FUTURE BECAUSE WHAT WE HAVE NOW IS A FAKE NATION ,WE ARE NOT ONE .THE NORTH MUST STAY ON THEIR OWN TO PRACTICE THEIR SHARIA THING AND OTHER WAYS OF LIFE THAT IS FAR DIFFERENT FROM OURS IN THE SOUTH.
ONE NIGERIA SLOGAN IS A FRAUD MEANT TO HIJACK THE RESOURCES OF THE NIGER DELTA AND TURN THE AREA TO A CONQUER TERRITORY OF SLAVES.
WE KNOW BUHARI VERY WELL SO HIS ACTIONS WILL NOT SURPRISE ANY ONE ONE HERE. HE WAS DINING WITH THE LATE GENERAL ABACHA AND GEN ABDULSAMI WHEN KEN SARO WIWA AND CHIEF MKO ABIOLA WERE MURDERED BY THE STATE. WHAT DID BUHARI SAY THEN? NOTHING BECAUSE THE ACTION MET HIS EXPECTION AND THAT OF HIS OWN PEOPLE.
SIDDON LOOK NOW DOG NAME.WE ARE PREPARED FOR THE WORST.

OSAMA CAYMAN

Bakrshah said...

Sheila!!!!!!!.....I will tell somebody oooo....you better start bribing me lol!

mikel said...

yeah,it's time lest he over stays his welcome

mira cookie said...

Idiota! Uneducated homo sapien.

Orubebe is a fool and the biggest loser of the Election.

Ask them o?