700 migrants feared dead in deadliest Mediterranean ship capsize | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 19 April 2015

700 migrants feared dead in deadliest Mediterranean ship capsize

700 migrants are feared dead after their packed 20-meter fishing boat capsized off Libya today April 19th. Reports say the migrants, whose boat was 70 miles (126 km) off the Libyan coast and 110 miles (177 km) south of the Italian island of Lampedusa, issued a distress call to Italy's coastguard who immediately instructed a nearby merchant ship to go to its aid and it was when the merchant ship arrived at the scene that the fishing boat capsized, most likely as the migrants tried to get its attention, stampeding to one side of the boat.

UNHCR spokeswoman Carlotta Sami said today's shipwreck appears to be the worst in the Mediterranean

"It seems we are looking at the worst massacre ever seen in the Mediterranean,".
Meanwhile 28 people survived the incident while 24 bodies have been recovered from the water. 17 Coastal boats are currently combing the Mediterranean to see if there are still possible survivors.

78 comments:

Rip to them. Lindaobserve

yumyum said...

na to stay Naija dey look be that o!IgboBorn!

Folashade Idowu said...

God have mercy. This is very sad, mat the soul of the departed Rest In Peace. Amen

Sad. Rip

Paul Ofou said...

OMG will they ever stop?

May good God.Rip to d dead.

obiora said...

Oh God! Not again

It is well

Oh no! How sad, RIP to the dead

Hmmm! May their souls rest in peace . Amen

Oh jesus. RIP

Is it by force to go to italy?is a pity sha!

ANYA IKENGA said...

The shores of lampedusa must be filled with bones and human particles by now. It is the new Golgotha .

AMIJEZ said...

Omg, where they running away from something or what that made them fill this boat like this? I hate travelling by sea.

Too bad

Chai. All these happening are signs of the end time.

ASHANKA said...

OMG !!!

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Lord have mercy!

I pray they all survives.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

oh no..this is bad..may their souls rest in peace.

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

What a tragedy..

RIP to the departed soul.

..JOSHSAYSO...LIB..FAN

Over 600 untimely death, God save us frm untimely death, and tragic accident. RIP.

God have mercy

ooooo...disis nt good

were they not wearing a life jacket?

R.I.p

Hai!

silo swag said...

Have mercy o lord!

Onomiroro Dono Okeh said...

Terrible! I'm so hoping for a day, I won't have to read or hear anything about death or the ills going on in this world.
What's the mission of your words? Need not I remind you of the Zulu king Goodwill Zwelithini of his hate speech that literally lead to the violation of human rights, death and lost of properties. Kindly click
What Are You Talking About?
Love From a Distance

God save us frm untimely death, and tragic accident.

Nky said...

So help them God.

princess said...

So sad!

OMG! Ah very sad hmmm!!!

May their souls rest in peace.

Joyce said...

Oh God pls av mercy.

These guys actually spend thousands of dollars on their trip to Italy, why not go through the airports, u can get ur tourist or student visa and live illegally when u land instead of risking ur lives for uncertainty. Europe is struggling to survive itself, stay back and be creative! U need to visit Greece, Italy and Spain to see how migrants live like animals, they ain't even guaranteed food not to talk of a job. People waste their productive years polishing techniques of living illegally. Even if u earn 60k in naija monthly, even if ur boss is the devil. He ll promote u twice in 5yrs. I can't believe people go through all this stress to live as second class citizens.

This is indeed disastrous.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

May God save them all. RIP 2 d dead.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

I agree wit u dear,may God help them,europe is difficult to survive

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Have always known you to be dumb,24 bodies found n you still pray everybody survives!!! Smh

700! damn! RIP. Rate at which people die these days is alarming

Ethel said...

Jeez! How do u travel in an open boat like dis....this is one scary way of transportation for me. RIPP!

D rate at Wch ppl die dese days is unfathomable. God ve mercy

LORD HAVE MERCY.RIP.

isaac damon said...

Babe dis ur beauty no match with ur brain oo..kai

Okpa they weren't travelling in those boats by choice, they were fleeing to better life since they are either from war torn countries or economically dead areas. If their countries are good trust me no one chooses to take on da high seas in a fishing boat packed like that.

Don't mind her,they will rush $ comment on a post with out reading properly,RIP to d dead

Goaldyn Boy said...

You might say the the Libyans or the Somalians or the North-Eastern Nigerians have strong reasons to go through this ordeal just to get to Europe due to the crisis in their land! But when I hear of my Igbo brothers being among them, I can't find an answer for such desperation! Why can't they stay in Nigeria and become a farmer or an Agbero or Alaba tout! These are better than being a slave or nuisance in the white man's land!!!

A related issue here is that the Libyan government are not ready to close that route where these immigrants pass through because of the revenue it yields to them! I hear the Libyans collect a lot of dollars from these immigrants before they can pass their country through the Mediterranean sea to Italy!......On the other hand, the Italians are helpless in this situation because they can not control the Libyan Government! All the Italian Government can do is to Let some immigrants pass through to other European countries, integrate some, imprison some and repatriate majority back to their country !!!

Kat said...

All these to get to europe.where there is nothing there but suffering and smiling as the Great fela Anikulapo has said.You can make a life with your self I'm this country just look around you and think. You will definitely find something to do.

Hummmmmmmm.....RIPP to the dead.

If some of our African leaders are doing da right thing,there won't be such story of immigrants. Such a sad incident. Rip to the dead.

So unfortunate

It's simply END TIME. The only way out is giving your life to CHRIST! Rapture is so close than we think.

True talk.most E.U citizens relocated to Africa in search of better opportunities. Those whose relatives are doing well in Africa keep using us what we are doing here with all the opportunities they're taking advantage of in Africa.I remember a German guy telling us he was going to Africa to start a bakery and we all laughed at him.Guess what he went to Cameroon and saw many other opportunities and he says he cannot come back.

iyke cindy said...

RIP to dem....700...gosh dats massive.

It's simply END TIME. The only way out is giving your life to CHRIST! Rapture is so close than we think.

Those 28 people they rescued not go die again oh... Cus dem saw dealth but they pass am

Na wa ooo... RIP
Too bad

Why looking for greener pastures when the grass has same colour everywhere? RIP.

Italy don put something like Bermuda for dat water???

Am right with you. Stupidity that's what I call it.

R.I.P

OMG, only 28 survived?

Death everywhere end time things,God help and save we your children from untimely death.

RIP!

before you say RIP realise that this people wanted to RIP by taking such a trip

May their souls rest in peace Amen. by dobis112@gmail.com

mmababy said...

This is sad

mmababy said...

This is bad

mmababy said...

This is bad

All in the name of greener pastures. May their soul rest in peace. There is nothing like home peace of mind.

Esang said...

What a pity,phobia for water is wisdom for survival I guess.I don't like water oooooo

God oooooooo