Are these two Nollywood's highest grossing box office actors? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 January 2015

Are these two Nollywood's highest grossing box office actors?

They are both very good looking and deliver superb acting performances film after film particularly on the big screen. Before you start to think this post is about how much they command in acting fees and or royalties generated from financial returns on films, it isn't.....rather it is about their likeability, influence on a film and religious following been converted into financial performance at the Nigerian box office through film ticket sales (which is the clearest indicator yet of how well a film does or can do in Nigeria).
OC and Majid have been very consistent over the last 3 years and have starred in a number of either critically acclaimed or box office smash hit films‎. Majid was the biggest star in 2014 starring in 5 of the top 10 films last year namely knocking on Heaven's door, Brother's Keeper, Being Mrs Elliot, Champagne and 30 Days in Atlanta. OC had success with Half of a Yellow Sun (though a small role) and When Love Happens but his body of work since 2012 has been outstanding no wonder why 2015 has started strongly for him with Funny comedy 'Gone Too Far' which was a Top 20 hit when it was released in the UK last October, making OC an instant international cross over star. A post for another day 'How come a Ghanian Actor is the highest grossing actor in Nollywood?'

The duo are expertly cast in The Department by Producer Chinaza Onuzo and Uduak Isong who thoroughly did their research about the star-system the Nigerian Film Industry operates. The Department stars Osas Ighodaro (in her first Nollywood film), Jide Kosoko and Desmond Elliot. It is written by Chinaza Onuzo and Directed by Remi Vaughn-Richards.

Other notable mentions for Top Grossing actors are;
Ayo Makun - extraordinary 2014 starring in 3 films (Number 1 fan, Being Mrs Elliot and 30 Days in Atlanta) and responsible for the biggest ever cinema film in Nigeria.
Desmond Elliot - has had a number of cameo roles but consistent over the years and should be acknowledged for his improved Directing of cinema films.
Blossom Chukwujekwu - silent star of Flower Girl who has gone on to blossom with star performances in films such as Finding Mercy, Knocking on Heaven's door and even a cameo in 'When Love Happens'

Watch OC Ukeje and Majid Michel star in 'The Department' out in cinemas from this Friday Jan 30, 2015‎. Check out the trailer....

Source: Nigerian Cinema Exhibition Coalition

91 comments:

Wel deserved

Amarachi said...

Why did you pafila this one here .Dint see the post earlier

Wel deserved

hmmmm

I don't want to believe.... Where dem keep @Joseph Benjamin?

"Heaven on earth!!! Wonders without end,that's my new realm"

For me, its Majid

Please

I go for Majid..please where is Van Vicker..he's sucha a boring actor.

oladapo said...

Yes THEY HAVE BEEN CONSISTENT..

Oc 4 me

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

No comments here, a busy wit d giveaway. Lol. Anyway, both respected actors. It doesn't matter if MM isn't Nigerian. In Hollywood ur nationality don't matter, nd dat helps broaden d no of intelligent actors dat industry has, thereby releasing internationally acclaimed Oscar winning films.

Hmmmm, Interesting.

Hard working can make one the king in another land.

Na them sabi!

They good actors.. Secret. Room made me really like OC.. Buh Majid? Since day one.. He makes me cry whenever he cries in movies.. His acting is not just acting but reality!

both good actors

Is Mani a nollywood actor? Used to think he just featured in Nigerian movies

chio said...

Yea! They are both gr8t.i also luv Joseph Benjamin gr8tchioma@gmail.com

Dotted lines said...

Dey r cute! Datz all. Bou luv majid more

Grace said...

congratulations to them all.lindaaaaaaaa i offend u abi ?Abeg post my comment

Linda, if you ask that kind question, na who we go ask???

chocolate said...

I cnt fit read dis long story jara

Lola Idije said...

Which of them carry big thing down under abeg?

I have seen Majid, bum in one of the Ghanaian movie he acted, tried so hard to see his cock.

namzoz@yahoo.com

OC Ukeje is my guy anyday

They're both good looking? Ehm, this first guy, the dark one isn't good looking.

CELEB said...

Yes. They are good

Well dy are really gud actors....do love der acting

Majid sure knows hw to act.......very real

OC is jst an ova hyped talentless actor so I won't be surprise if he hyped his way up d list. Majid is really good n he was born to act.

They are actually two actors that are constantly improving their skills. i would watch anything with UC or majid in it.

Love dem both

DeeD25 said...

With some of their ridiculous box office movies?? the ones that should've never left the editing room?

For me, Majid Michel is the man. His talent.

umoh Linda said...

I luv 0c ukeje so much, he is rlly gud

So in ur opinion,oc na fine boy abi? Majid is d real deal. He dwarfed oc in all departments. By d way, (half of a yellow sun) oc featured in only one scene. He is trying sha.

@Sophia Stephen

Nice one and...
Thumbs up to them.

Hope they do better to win award's???

Nice one and...
Thumbs up to them.

Nice one and...
Thumbs up to them.

Nice one and...
Thumbs up to them.

Nice one and...
Thumbs up to them.

Nice one and...
Thumbs up to them.

Seen. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

That's good.

Abdul Mk said...

chai let me click linda adsense... jst saying

i was at the premier. It was wonderful. Asides Jide Kosoko's effortless blunders, and its backstory coming up short. The movie was good tho

Majid is a super actor, I like his perfomances. He's so real. Ukeje is good as well

Lin Lin my love!

elovi said...

Wow love dem both

Aunty Linda Majid wsnt in 30days in Atlanta ooooo point of correction ma.dharmeeymariam@gmail.com

Get in here all naija movie lover and ans the question...me xclusive

Majid my crush.miracleudechukwu@gmail.com

both of them are tops for now,great actors.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Good 4 both of them. #lindagiveawayonmymind

Yea they are both great actors!!!

Beautiful men

@annoymous 10.19pm,Majid was in 30days in Atlanta,watch d movie again

good for them

Mercy said...

Would u like to get paid any time people buy fuel in Noigeria?
A US company is currently looking for 50 sharp people to work with to take advantage of the NEW WAY to do business in the OIL AND GAS industry through a new government approved business opportunity in the petroluem sector.
This can be done part time or full time with an income potential of N250,000 to N600,000 monthly.
Who to attend: Undergraduates, Graduates, Civil servants, Youth Corpers, Bankers, Business men / women, Corporate Executives and Retirees.
Only 50 seats are available. Reserve our seat NOW and SMS your Name + Reserve - Oil Seat +GSM no to 08034852798 or 09094640545
Date: Saturday 31st January, 2015
Time: 4pm
Venue: Lagos State University Teaching Hospital (LASUTH), Malaria Research Centre Hall
Gate Fee: N1,000
AND
Date: Sunday 1st February, 2015
Time: 5pm
Venue: sweet sensation. 75, Bode Thomas Road, Surulere, Lagos
Gate Fee: N1,000

OC ukeje doesn't know how to act movies please hope he reads this post his body character is so poor AY is even far better actor than OC ukeje

Ramsey Jim iyke Majid Joseph Benjamin Ay Haba notable actors dey before OC ukeje

When he won best actor and was given car smh to Pple that decided to give him that car what were they thinking credit shld be given to whom deserved he never reach to be compared with Majid Nna eh! when he deserves it I will credit him for now Nna Okwa No no

I love majid movies duh

ANYWAYS, IS A PAID POST! AND TO THE PRODUCERS THIS NOT HOW TO PROMOTE A MOVIE!

Love Dem both

luisa said...

Fool go to Ghana and see whether you will be a superstar in the next 5 years. Nothing personal but that's the truth I don't hate Em' but Ghana will never let a. Nigerian outshine their local actors

I love both guys, dey are equally good actors. Linda take note!

Personally I still find it hard to see somefin outstanding in OC's acting...

When I go to my movie lady in the hood, I always ask for new Majid films. He is a very consistent actor, easy on the eyes and knows what he is doing. Is he the best, no. The best Nollywood actor is the man with the best voice in all of African cinema, Olu Jacobs.

jessy said...

Oc nailed it in love or something like that, both are fantastic actors.

tobbyloba said...

hmmmm

they are both good

both good

tobbyloba said...

gud

both gud

Congrats to them. Never would i have guessed right if i was asked to answer. Linda i don miss your give away oh!!! I de class when you send am choi...... E de pain me oh

lolz mummie linda 12,+ comment smh hmmm no give away 4 me b dat

Majid is a good actor

I'll watch any Michael Majid movie . OC Ukeje, u have all my encouragements; Keep working hard, u are surely getting there; just be consistent with your work.

They are both great actors

They are both great actors,kudos to them

no comments

CHIGLOBEST2003@YAHOO.COM

Really... did u watch it from d beginning??? Who sponsored Ay's trip????

SONORA CAPITAL & INV. LTD said...

hey! think of taking the next trip abroad and need BTA/PTA?@ Sonora Capital&Inv Ltd, we do (Cash and Transfer) on USD EURO AND GBP at a very competitive rate. we supply AGO (Diesel) with the ambience of Lagos State as well. Contact Person: Jerome 08033962100

The kind of laugh I just laughed. Which kain publicity stunt is this.nonsense