Worshippers escape death in Owerri as police uncover explosives in Church | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 June 2014

Worshippers escape death in Owerri as police uncover explosives in Church

According to a breaking news report on Premium Times, two Improvised Explosive Devices was discovered at a church, Winners Chapel on Port Harcourt road in Owerri, Imo state this morning June 15th. The police defused the bomb after detecting them. The Commissioner of Police in Imo state, Abdumajid Ali, said they have arrested six suspects over the discovery of the explosives.

The police say they believe the explosives were planted on Saturday night and timed to explode after worshippers had gathered for worship today. Thankfully it was discovered on time. Details later

Update: Deputy Superintendent of Police Enwerem, explains more about the incident this morning.
"During their check, it was discovered that Improvised Explosive Devices in forms of refrigerator compressor concealed in sack bags were discovered. One was promptly detonated at the scene because it was on a timer. The other one was dis-alarmed and then taken away for detonation.”
The police spokesperson said those arrested have not been directly linked to planting the deadly explosives.
“They were arrested because we believe we might be able to obtain information that could lead to the arrest of the perpetrators from them,” Mr. Enwerem said. “Investigations are ongoing.”

The state police commissioner, Mr. Ali had while briefing journalists at the church premises said the command would do everything possible to unravel the perpetrators of the act.

229 comments:

1 – 200 of 229   Newer›   Newest»

HOW DID THEY KNOW ABT THE EXPLOSIVES::::

huh? God actually saved them o. power of prayers.

Discover how to make legal and cool income from your phone daily here from today.. click

Thanh God ooo...

C.E.O.

oilandgasdissertation said...

praise God

Came for service only to see everyone outside...heard it was six bombs. So many people with different news.

God pls Help us.M rily happy for d church members.

Thank GOD all lives were save.

May d almighty God punish rochas okorocha, he's been playing ds APC agenda now gone too far. He has a lot to tell us about ds bomb.

Thank God dys tragedy was evaded. Plz hope dey've not moved their madness from d north 2 d east!

Thank God......buthow did d policemen sniff d bomb there? Nways glory to God.

What is wrong with this aboki, let it end in the North ooh

Omalicha Uj said...

God pls oooooo... If East is not safe then there's problem oo!!!!

Thank God nobody died

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

Many faces of Uncle Boko.

Cynthia Iyede said...

Thank you Jesus. So will all their plans continue to fail. God disappoints d devices of the crafty such that their hands can't perform their enterprise.

Thank God for them o.

Tnk U Lord!

GOD punish devil for ma own owerri

THANK YOU JESUS

#King said...

Linda I was scared dis morning..I had to call my LFC frnds warning them to stay indoors..the bomb was planted 8pm ystdy..its more than 2 explosives..they wired it from d gate(entrance) to d church..well but God is really in control..And I was thinking of visiting owerri later dis month..I may stay back in Gidi..may God save his pple.................................#KingOfKings

Them don enter East? Chai!!!

Choi it could have been very catastrophic.Thank God it was aaverted.But could have planted the bomb? Even in the east?

Linda, I'm one of your reader from owerri, it was at the early hours of today when i have dressed for church, approaching to the church, their was a blow, but not really like a bomb blow, that is when the near by police station that was assigned to the Living Faith Church (AKA WINNER'S CHAPLE)deployed their fully armed Police to the Church Vicinity, then the Military Division (34 Atlary Brigade Obirinze)was alerted and they also deployed their Military Men. The Church didn't conduct the 1st Service in the Church,we conducted in IMO STATE NEW STADIUM KNOWN AS (HERO SQUARE STADIUM and the 2nd Service is going on right as I'm posting. Kelechi Maurice a Memeber of Living Faith Church (AKA WINNER'S CHAPEL). The God of Shiloh is strongly with us.

PROPHET said...

God never forsake his own.

Fine gal said...

BH don reach owerri? God help nigeria

STEPHANIE said...

TO GOD BE THE GLORY

Janelicious said...

In Imo kwa, God we need you.

Thank God

Mrs DAvido

OMG, Thankfully it was discover in time. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

So they hav extend this to Owerri! God hav mercy!

Lord Jesus,we need your divine intervention in this country.

Linda, I'm one of your reader from owerri, it was at the early hours of today when i have dressed for church, approaching to the church, their was a blow, but not really like a bomb blow, that is when the near by police station that was assigned to the Living Faith Church (AKA WINNER'S CHAPLE)deployed their fully armed Police to the Church Vicinity, then the Military Division (34 Atlary Brigade Obirinze)was alerted and they also deployed their Military Men. The Church didn't conduct the 1st Service in the Church,we conducted in IMO STATE NEW STADIUM KNOWN AS (HERO SQUARE STADIUM and the 2nd Service is going on right as I'm posting. Kelechi Maurice a Memeber of Living Faith Church (AKA WINNER'S CHAPEL). The God of Shiloh is strongly with us.

Thank God ooo

So dis na true story. Hmmmm God we praise u

Wow! The worshippers wud neva cease to thank God for d rest of dia lives.. Who says there's no God??

They think we serve a dead God.

hmmmm God is realy working may God almighty expose all d cuiprit in this even act.

Nna I don begin to fear APC state ooo~Onahboy

Bomb In the east again? Lord ve mercy on ur children.Thank God for the detection I nt.........

############GOD punish#######################devil

Rochas show mi ur frnds nd I will tel u who u are stupid igbo man,even d cp na musim idiots muslims all of u will burn in hell

ndia abiakwa ozo

Now.. This beasts will know who they are dealing. The God of bishop David Oyedepo,Abioye,Aremu,Abayomi and the host of others is not asleep. There shall be no loss. thank you sweet Jesus

Cynthia said...

Is never our portion IJN Amen.God shall always protect his children and expose d wicked!

Adaobi said...

E don reach south-east?? Baba God bikokwa.

So these dreadful people think their plans will work.God will not allow such to happen

MISSPERFECT said...

No were is save in dis world,on christ d solid rock we stand,Lord take control.

Amen

Rushel

Wow thank God for the timely intervention of the police.

Awesome God, may ur name be praised.

What!!! In my own state......it is high time all Aboki in Imo state should go dead or alive....

XDON D DON

There end is come,quote me!!!

Exceeding Grace? Strange Works.

hmmm thank God oo

Boko Haram u failed and so will u guys continue to fail in the name of almighty Allah.

no not in the east!!

Hmmmm.....it is well, thank God ooo.

I don't want to believe its coming to the south

chynwe said...

There shall be no lost...Thank God 4saving us

no not in the east!!

For though we walk (live) in the flesh, we are not carrying on our warfare according to the flesh and using mere human weapons. For the weapons of our warfare are not physical [weapons of flesh and blood], but they are mighty before God for the overthrow and destruction of strongholds. God is faithful

No one should try onyedekpo,winners are no go AREA

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Boko Haram?? Has it now escalated to the east? Hmmmmm!! Thanks to God for averting such wicked act.. Those suspects should be interrogated and totured until they speak on their sponsor of such an evil act...

Jehovah has the final say!!!! Their plans will always amount to nothing!! so these BH don enter east????

OMG#JesusTakeThewheel#It is well

PRETTY GIRL

Thank you sweet Lord! Chineke nara ekele na otito.

@ april jay you should add your name to your list coz he isyour Godas well

Dr. Igwe Nwagu Benjamin said...

This is serious ...today would 've mark the end of insurgents in Nigeria if such evil happened cus is a real embarrasement to ve extended their stupidity 1st to south east ...ANIMALS .

J(G)anjaweed said...

What is it with this APC people, sacrificing the lives of the common man in order to gain power. We never heard of anything like bomb in the south, but now Alhaji Rochas Turncoat Okorocha has joined APC; the janjaweed party, they are now attempting to bomb churches. May God save us from enemies within.

Hmmmmm! Nawa oooooo! So d don enter o town b dt? GOD v mercy, protect my family O LORD.

" The police detonated the bomb after detecting them " Linda ????? How could they have detonated the bomb ??? Its like saying they set it off .... like i said once , proof read.

Chinonso Charles said...

Thank you lord . . .

Making Naira Online

Lolo the great manager said...

Thank u Jesus! Their plans have failed

damsel said...

Na wahoooo owerri keh

God will continually frustrate dir plans in Jesus name. Just sayin...D Curious1

Ol boy! them don dey move this thing come west small small o...Gobe!

U don't dear God,

Nobody will applaud d police now.little appreciation will make them work well

Gold said...

I thank God..I would have been a victim,but Our good lord ddnt allow that!.. Glory 2God for his divine protection over d winners' family,owerri chapter...most grateful!

Glitters said...

Imo state again? May God continue to shield us from this blood thirsty nitwits.

Not knowing the diference between detonate and defuse is a shame on premium times, sahara reporters.

damsel said...

Na wahoo owerri keh? May God help us.

Thank you Jesus

The lord for puting d plans of d enemy to shame

Angie Cape said...

Thank God!!
Oh well; the devil is a liar!

*My R1.50c comment*

Nwalady said...

Thank you Jesus!

It is the Lord's doing. Igbo land is no go area for them, they better bear that in mind. Thank You Jesus!

sucrescalada said...

The sooner we realise that Nigerian is in war... Maybe the better for us! Cos now bomb and boko haram in the east??? That's the height of it! Dey can kill dem selfs in the north buh bringing it down east! This is real trouble!

Christabel said...

D Battle has jst began!! Doz Fools bokoharam u̶̲̥̅̊ ve over stayed ur welcome hia in Nigeria.. God of David Oyedepo will frustrate,persecute nd also distroy all bokoharam nd dia sponsors. In JESUS NAME AMEN!!!!

Thank u lord for puting d plans of d enemy to shame. God of winners u be baba oh! I salute u

Thank u Jesus! Wat a mighty God we serve!

mystic Sun said...

Hmmmmm, dis is serious ooo. Am in owerri and datz my church..we were relocated to anoda venue - Heroes Square for the sunday service.

This has been my fears for long, dat wen ibo man starts bombing, it will be a catastrophy, imagine the evil men planting the bomb and timed it to esplode by 8.30am, which is d peak of 1st servicee. Two of the bombs planted by the gate and the 3rd one inside the church. If not for God, the casualty culd ve been smtin else. We give all Glory to the Almighty God.
Back to my fears, a jobless ibo guy can collect cash and drop d bomb to explode, but count him out to be a suicide bomber...Am still on my knees praying to God, dat dis bombing biz never be the affairs of my beloved brodas....
Thanks to God for His Mercies 2day.

Other states should wake up and put serious security checks in place. Boko haram are daring d south,east,and West. Make we no give dem chance o. Useless dirty pple.

Other states should wake up and put serious security checks in place o. Boko goats will target states with less security. Make we no giv dem chance o.

To God be the glory,weeping 4 our love ones
shall not be our portion

usiomoifo lawrenta said...

the
execeeding grace nd strange works of God is upon d lives of we winners
family.all praises 2 God almighty.cos d devil cant just help
failing.says lawrenta

daisy dixon said...

Yes oooo,there shall be no loss in jesus name cos d bible says wen 2 or 3 r gathered in my name God is there in our midst.their plans av failed.

Thank you Jesus! I attended that Church some sundays ago and the Church took time to pray against BH. God is at work!

Awwwww, Awesome GOD!

Thank u Jesus, forever u r good.

usiomoifo lawrenta said...

the
execeeding grace nd strange works of God is upon d lives of we winners
family.all praises 2 God almighty.cos d devil cant just help
failing.says lawrenta

Oyom .Y said...

Oh yes Cynthia! Our God is awesome,HE INDEED HAS DISAPPOINTED THE DEVICES OF THE CRAFTY SO THAT THEIR HANDS CANNOT PERFORM THEIR ENTERPRISE!THANK U LORD FOR THIS STRANGE ACT & STRANGE WORK.

Lucy chibuike said...

Thank God. Linda is it the work of Biko Haram? Cause if na dem, dem dey look for troubleooo

Thank you Lord Jesus for You are Greater than the evil plots of men & devil himselve. Imo people, BH don enter o. Una Gov go enta BH party, una don see? Lin, ur grammer dey turn my belle at times- " two improvised explosive devices 'was' discovered..." Make sure say u publish am o!

Dope Frank said...

Owerri Is Not Safe Anymore , That Means Nowhere In This Country Is Safe... So So Sad

Madam or oga April Jay Dis is not about doz preachers is about the intervention of God and the security consciousness of the worshippers. Report suspicious objects nd persons to the appropriate authorities nd not claim its the God of ur preachers dat saved U ok? Be smart and not religious#26247c63

Dey naw in Owerri now...

Queen Eliza. said...

AMEN Thank God for His mercy.

It's time to get rid of all the aboki in Owerri. A stitch in time saves nine

Would have been a bloody day today buh God in his infinite mercy turned it around for our good.he is forever a faithful God. #greatfulheart#

Thank you Jesus!!!!!

Bokos! They are here now..............(Running away)

I am just wondering why Imo is been targeted knowing fully well its an APC state. I am worried and pray that what I am thiinking is not true. We only witnessed bombing as this and scare of bombing during Abacha.

Thank God ooooo. This is a testimony but y my church. God will punish all pertrators of this evil act.

Exceeding Grace..strange works..strange act Exceeding grace.There shall be no loss!!! Thank you sweet Jesus.

Christabel said...

D Battle has jst began!! Doz Fools bokoharam u̶̲̥̅̊ ve over stayed ur welcome hia in Nigeria.. God of David Oyedepo will frustrate,persecute nd also distroy all bokoharam nd dia sponsors. In JESUS NAME AMEN!!!!

BRIGHTINO said...

Like seriously? Are u for real ? "The God of bishop David Oyedepo,Abioye,Aremu,Abayomi and the host " Now I am tempted to believe that this might be a publicity stunt by winners chapel.

Ds pple dont evn knw ds is our yr of exceeding grace, i laugh in spanish

Phinarime said...

Thank u Jesus! The God of David Oyedepo never fails. All glory be unto ur name oh lord.

From north2east hmmmm,these vampires are gradually moving in2 d eastern part,thank God 4 God,the Lord shall preserve his children from ALL evil*fashionista LeonorA*

Thank GOD for HIS grace

Ozed said...

Do they want to take their battle to the Eastern heartland.It will not work for them.There are too many Hausas in Owerri,they even have quarters there called Ama Hausa.

The God of Oyedepo I a alive

Thanks goodness!!!!

LONLYDON said...

That is my church.....Our God is not asleep.

You can't toil with d God of bishop david,he is neva asleep.Exceeding grace

Surely our God is a living God. Let his name be praise for ever

Tank u Jesus for saving the life of ur children

Hmm God is alive

Bigtymerbitz said...

Is this the work of the boko boys or the work of some jobless pple who r trying to stair up civil war in this country? #massob. Lord help us

Linda! Detonate ke? Abeg o...

Your sick..God of gods, not human being like ursef..

ALUMINIUM said...

Tnk God!!!! And so shall it be

Ngy said...

Thank u jesus

Faithful God he has done it again

Thank God for them,our God will bring the wicked out

PRAISE GOD FAILURE WILL CONTINUE TO BE THEIR PORTION.THE DAYS OF TERRORISM IN NIGERIA IS NUMBERED BABANGIDA AND ABACHA FAILED IN THEIR BID TO ISLAMISED THIS COUNTRY NIGERIA IS NOT AN ISLAMIC COUNTRY IT IS FOR JESUS.UR DEMANDS AND WISHES CAN NEVR MATERIALISED U GUYS SHLD STOP WASTING YOUR TIME AND RESOURCES.IT IS TIME FOR THEIR BLOOD TO FLOW AND THEY WILL ALL DIE PAINFUL DEATH.

Thank you Lord Jesus,more failed attempts IJN

Linda! Detonate ke? Hhmmmm...

Thanks be to God almighty! But I must say that Gov. Rochas Okorocha and his radical Islamic party/sect (APC) must be held responsible if anything goes wrong in Imo state, period!

Lord u are Wonderful, we say thank u 4 de preservation of lifes 2day, take all de Glory Lord, bravo 2 de imo state police force, nice work, peace Udo.

Lord ve mercy,ma bestfrd was dia.wat wil I ve done?fank Lord fr shamin d wicked 1c.hup dey got d rit pple nd nt jst pickin up pple 2 accuse wrongly coz police do dat alot.

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Thank God for His gracious deeds.

Thank God

The God of the Liberation Commission neither sleeps nor slumber...Thank You Lord,we are grateful!!

Thank God dt their plan failed

God you are so good and awesome, receive all praise aba father. Thank you Jesus for saving us today.

God pls save us 4rm d hands of the wicked.

Hmmm I sincerely h0pe it's n0t BH 0, c0s I pity all d hausa men in d east if the b0mb had gn 0ff n d attack linked in anyway t0 them. Wicked pe0ple!

Are you looking for a sugar mummy or daddy please call dis line 09096552678 please be mature..

Is Boko harram in Owerri now???!!!..hmm. Thank God they FAILED!

I trust God. Thank You Jesus. $£.

Thank u Jesus. All I am saying is thank u.

Aeida said...

Yes dear! There shall be no loss in all our churches! God of Bishop Oyedepo will continually fight for his people. It's indeed out year of exceeding grace and we shall continue to see the strange works and acts of God in our lived!

Ha....thank God

Which one be God of oyedepo abeg???? So those people who died or their churches were burnt down don't have or serve God ba? Abeg pack well jare. Just thank God 4 rescuing his people.

Baba God still dey heaven ooo

I give God allllll the Glory. I'm God is nevr asleep.

Tracy~ (God's best).. said...

For the lord is with us like a mighty terrible one, there all our persecutors shall stumble, they shall not prevail: they shall be greatly ashamed; for they shall not prosper:their everlastiing confusion shall never be forgotten...God never forsake his own. Never

Police detonated the bomb? I think you mean defused. #ThankMeNow cos if they detonated, this will be a different story.

See ur mouth....who is den ur God.....u are d brain washed type. I am a winners but I call God my God and not anybodys

Lord all thanks to you

Linda,I guess you made a mistake
Disarmed not detonated

DOBY DOBY said...

Thank God oo. . Our lord is alive

thank God for the discovery

Indeed its a season of vengance upon them. Thank God.

Noskey said...

If Boko Haram go bomb east, Owerri fit be the first place...a lot of Niger Rep kids with parents begging on the streets, and the immigration and the state govt has been doing nothing about it, now how can they protect their citizens when a lot of illegal immigrants are there constituting nuisance on their streets?

Mau Mau said...

There's power in the blood of JESUS!!! Period.

I trust O-TOWN. One day u will wake up and find out that all muslims in owerri hve bng sent packing....dnt joke with O-TOWN spirit....they re likr moving train wen they start.

Where are the suspects and the bomb that detonated not a blur pix of a car flashing light? I just left PortHarcourt road Owerri, I even clubbed at Mimi and lodged at Newton Suits.

Please what was time the bomb was detected?

Where are the suspects and the bomb that detonated not a blur pix of a car flashing light? I just left PortHarcourt road Owerri, I even clubbed at Mimi and lodged at Newton Suits.

Thank you Jesus,our God of exceeding grace and strange works. There shall be no loss.

They are playing with fire. God of David Oyedepo will surely deal with them, ijn. Amen

Sylvonce said...

Amen ooh! Thank u Jesus! It wld have been a black Sunday buh His mercies always prevail

God is good. Owerri is a cool city, we no want bombs Ooº°˚ ˚°ºoo .

Micheal said...

Now they should be ready to dance with fire....our God is alive...Exceeding Grace

Thank you Jesus for you are our shield and shelter

Kelly said...

God will make their path dark and slippery. Judgment and God's vengeance shall locate them Ecc 8:11

Boko haram in owerri..................hian God is wonderful,,,scared tho!! #columbiana#

Indeed there is God.

Thank you Jesus for you are our shield and shelter

God save us all Sø̲ many sud βε̲̣̣̣̥ xposed cox ηo̲̣̥ were ɪ̣̇ƨ̣̇ save xcept ĩ̷̊η Christ Jesus ....@creamyvicky

SHADYBRIAN said...

I guess d police 'defused' d bomb and not 'detonate'...lindodo take note. Jamb english lol

Dr Lee said...

But who tipped the police off in the first place? #justasking

Hmmmm.....Thank God oooo

Pushing gradualy to the East? God will see us thru.

PDP we dey see your hand o! But we can no longer be deceived.

Thank you Jesus. My God will continue to fight for us IJN.

Lady kim kim said...

Thank u jesus,It is never gonna b our portion.we re praying against bokoharamantheir sponsors and perpetrators.the lord will let diverse calamities befall them all speedily

Exceeding Grace! Strange works! Our God is not does not fail. I'm a winner for life. Thank you Jesus for strange works and strange acts in the life of winners and the world at large. Be thou exaulted sweet lord. #quent's 1st lady#

Thank God

Lord, May your Name alone be praised.

Lady kay said...

Thank you Jesus

God of winners will continue to make them fail Deut 2 vs 15...God will destroy them with their own weapon IJN

Tank God for protection

Baba God you too much.

Wow! Thank God o

WHAT I HATE IN ALL THESE ISSUE IS, SUSPECTS ARE IMPRISONED INSTEAD OF BEING PARALYSED. FROM THERE THEY ESCAPE AND BECOME MORE DANGEROUS.

Beejay said...

May the God of Liberation mandate be praised.He will surely not forsake His people.God wil frustrate every evil devices IJN.Amen.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 229   Newer› Newest»