Photo: 60-year old Nigerian woman gives birth through IVF | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 June 2014

Photo: 60-year old Nigerian woman gives birth through IVF

60 year old Mrs Omolara Irurhe (pictured above) who had been looking of a child for over 30 years reportedly gave birth to a baby girl this past Monday June 16th through the Invitro Fertilization (IVF) treatment at a Specialist Hospital in Lagos.

The Nation reports that Mrs Irurhe, who has been married for 31 years, started the IVF treatment in 2010 and said her faith in God and her believe in modern medicine helped her go through the process, after many years of childlessness in marriage. She said her husband, Mr Adekunle Irurhe's Catholic belief of one man one wife made him not to marry another woman and stood by her through all the years.
"I believe we should not limit God and what the doctors can do in this modern age. I believe this is the appointed time. I was very hopeful throughout the years I was childless and I remained focused on God. We went to many hospitals but we didn’t give up,” she said

An elated Mr Adekunle Irurhe said though there were pressures to get another wife, he was determined to stay with his wife alone as that was the practice of his own parents. He said his wife's belief in the In vitro fertilization method made him support her.
"I supported her throughout because my wife was dogged and she believed in herself. When I saw her faith, I had no choice but to go with her. She kept telling me she would have her child. I wasn’t thinking of another wife. I came from a monogamous family and I decided she is all I will have. The family was understanding too and we fought together to get this baby".
Mrs Irurhe has made history as the oldest woman in Africa to give birth to a child via Invitro Fertilization.

138 comments:

Look, I don't mean to sound inconsiderate but at a point, after trying for a child and not succeeding, you have to step back and forget about it.

Hear me out: She's 60. Tell me, what are the chances of her living till the child is 18? Even then, the child will probably spend more time taking care of her than vice versa.

Hope this doesn't come to bite her in the buttocks but it doesn't look likely.

Wow!!!! Thank God for her faith...!!!!! The Lord that did it for her will surely do it for ma aunty and other women looking for the fruit of the womb

NawtiByNature!!!!!

Wow! Congrats to her. Am so happy for her.

kometic said...

Wow....

All i will say is that her husband has the same date of birth with our lord jesus christ....

Emjay said...

Congratulation madam
#Em jay#

Oba said...

Congratulations Ma. it's the Lord's doing, may his name be praised. Thank you wonderful Jehovah

Wow congrats to her.

I hope she finds her place in the Guiness Book of world record.

Congrats grandma mum. I hope the child mature quick in young age so she will enjoy her parents in old age. They have to look for better ways to speed up her learning and understanding of the world at at 10 her mum will be 70 at 20 she will be 80.

Wow, welcome cutey u choose a good day to b born june 16 my bday.

60 years..dairis nothing GOD can't perform

Wow, welcome cutey u choose a good day to b born june 16 my bday.

We thank God for his mercies.goes to show that that there are still some good husband's out there.thanks Mr Irurhe for standing by your wife.may that lord bless and keep our family, IJN.welcome to the world little one.,SURULERE

How touching! For a man to be this patient with his wife he must be the type that entertains spite with a smile, makes a pastime of strange news, turns choler to sanguine, vinegar into wine, vexation into sport, a has a salve for a greater sore. All the best to the couple and their new bundle of joy.

How touching! For a man to be this patient with his wife he must be the type that entertains spite with a smile, makes a pastime of strange news, turns choler to sanguine, vinegar into wine, vexation into sport, and has a salve for a greater sore. All the best to the couple and their new bundle of joy.

She doesn't look 60, God also has renewed her youth as well as blessing her with a child. Isn't God amazing?
Wow!!!!!

wow!!!! that's a prove that we serve a marvelous GOD.... thank you LORD

Galore said...

we bless GOD...ds is one sincere woman that says d Truth

Some will just go...Abracadabra...dey wl say....dey had a baby,,without telling us,,how dey got d baby.....yes,,i know,,GOD gives baby,,but,,,GOD uses someone

One good story!. God bless you all.

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" wow, that's really a big testimony. Am so happy for her. Its not easy. Even though it would had still been good if she did it earlier, bt as she said, God's time is only the best. She had her baby at God's appointed time. Congrats

Wow! I'm so hpy 4 them. May God do same 4 many childless women out there.

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" wow, that's really a big testimony. Am so happy for her. Its not easy. Even though it would had still been good if she did it earlier, bt as she said, God's time is only the best. She had her baby at God's appointed time. Congrats

Wow! Congratulations to them! 60?!! When is menopause isn't that around 45? Damn!!! Congrats once again!

DOBY DOBY said...

Dis is a miracle. . Faith is d answer.. God bless dem. . D lord neva dissapoints his pple

Congrats Mr & Mrs Adekunle. Glory b to God for making it possible.

Elated cOuple...choi it didn't easy

May God continue to bless this family abundantly. Amen.

Faithful is He who has promised. Congratulations woman, God will keep you and bless the New Born baby.

Congratulations to her and her hubby,av had 2 failed ivf and I know the emotional trauma I passed through @ each time,guess she was quite tenacious, I also praise her courage to come out in the open,alot of pple keep sealed lips,they won't even acknowledge that they had assisted fertility....May God bless the child and also grant the parents long life.

Wow

Lik d bible said ur faith has made u well,congrat maam, dere is notin God can nt do,I can imagine ur happineSs,nd u gave birth on dis wondrful month ,u ar blessed congrat madam #bebo#

Tegsvilles said...

She is a good friend to my Mum.
So I know about her condition. I thank God 4 His Miracles in her Life.

Praise God!!!!!!!!! Thank God for your miracle.

The catholic Church does not permit tge use of ivf madam!

OBINNA JAMES said...

Congrats.

PURPLE said...

True, bt at least its on record that she gave birth

See how sallow u think, d joy mothering a child cant b compare to anything in d world. So wat do u ve to say to someone young who died at birth or fell ill afta birth. Wouldn't d child live?

God be praised.

PURPLE said...

Mehn, u are one bitter soul

Lilybabe said...

Wow...God is great!cngrats 2 d parents!dat child is a miracle!

me said...

Lmaoooo.. FOH!!

Although she looks younger than 60, but all the same congratulations, I am a mother and I tell you being childless for that long could make one very irrelevant her husband is a real man, standing by her and giving her all the courage would be her greatest motivation.

#OyaGuinnessbookofrecords# make una celebrate her too

jacktally said...

God bless the husband!!!! this is what love is all about

Rhoda said...

Congratulations mummy....your faith has moved the mountain in your life. May your testimony be permanent in Jesus Name..and may God crown you and your husband with long life and sound health to raise her and watch her achieve feats in life..

Shut up. DUMB IDIOT.

God who has begun a good thing will perfect it. Thank God for the story of Sarah,Elizabeth...has come to pass in our time. Thank you Mother Mary for your intercession. I know her thru my mum. Mum always had nice things to say about her. She really is a nice woman&am happy for this testimony. My mum cld not believe it when i told her. To God be the glory,great things he has done!

Wow! Congrats to her, is the lords doing!

Ani said...

Just shut the fuck up! You don't have to say anything ok.

Here is a Woman (dat I happen 2 knw well,she is a friend of my Mums) who happens to have taught other pples Children all her Life (frm being a Teacher to Principal wt d Lagos State Government).
At 60 She didn't give up Hope (d one thing dat gives Life Meaning).
Thank God 4 answering her Prayers.
Cogratulations Ma.

Ada Owerri 1 said...

Congrates ma'am so happy for you...may God bless nd keep ur little cutie for you

Congrats to her....

Anonymous 12.52 God will prove you wrong! Why will you be so inhuman? Any way God trained Isaac the child will be fine by Gods grace.

Nothing compares to the joy of having and holding your own child. I'm certain the woman will be fulfilled even she dies right now. God who made this possible will take care of the baby if anything happens.

Thnk God for her life

I am a bit surprised that as a catholic she embarked on this venture, but I want to congratulate her and her family. Theres nothing impossible with GOD. Lets have that in mind

ThankGod.wow.

waaoooo it can only be God may His name alone be praised 4ever. but I really wonder those who are counting the woman's age against the daughters, God is awesome u know, God will surely work things out btw the baby and her parents so that they will be there to watch her become something in life. God have a purpose for keeping that woman till 60yrs b4 blessing her wit a baby, dt same God will perfect His work. am happy for the family

Congrats!!!

Wot a real man dat stood beside her all dis painful yrs...I thank God for patience of her hubby...congrts u both, d lord b praised....

wonderful God

wonderful GOD

halimsy said...

Congrate ma Like the say God time is e best

But u just sounded inconsiderate. Pls just be happy for her, or keep ur opinion to urslf. U aren't God, so don't help her count d number of years she still has to live. Thank u.

All things are possible with God

Wrong.....simply wrong. What a selfish mother she is bringing a child to this world at 60. The child probably has some congenital issues not mentioned here due to the age of her parents.
You didn't do the procedure in your 30s or 40s. Why wait till 60? What is wrong with simply adopting? Now the child will spend her entire teenage and adult life looking after her aged parents.

Hmmm God is good

Ur simply a retard...Can't u just be happy without spoiling this beautiful news with ur wicked mouth

are u a human being.instead of u to celebrate God's goodness.are u God? or in custody of her life.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Amazing!!! Wish the child can grow tomorrow and turns to an adult so the folks will enjoy her. Age is the main factor here.. But God is ever magnificent

U hv a good sense of humor. I love $ respect u a lot

Where did you have yours? If in Nigeria, I won't be surprised.m cos most of these doctors here don't know how to do it, and they charge exorbitant fees. In Benin Rep. There's a female doctor from France who owns the hospital where they have been carrying out IVF successfully for less than 130k naira. I'm glad for this woman tho. May God help her raise the child right.

At least someone can call her Mum now, and she'll smile. I bu onye amusu! There's nothing God cannot do, he did it for Elizabeth in the bible.

Shut your stinking mouth. If you were in her shoes, won't you still want a child at that age? .I'm happy that her husband stood by her all these years. Kudos to him. Happy for her

God is faithful, congrat

Like India Nigerians should learn to invest in this kinda inventions to help others seeking the fruit of the womb! Cos if uv never been through this ull never understand how painful it is to be childless even for just a year.....and pls let's all do our best to settle down on time, guys get something doing+ladies do ur best to make a wife out of the gurl u are rt now so a man can find u on time.......and as for those calculating how long the parents would live pls don't be foolish cos the joy of having a baby supersedes all this nonsense calc.

some anony are so annoyin,@annony 12.52,someone that heard this great news and knows how painful n spiteful it can get for women wt no child/ren,ws here stupidly analysing hw many years d mother wl be when d child is at some certain age,hw wicked of u,re u God that keeps or preserves life,that woman is sixty n she didnt look it one bit,that means God renewed her youth,watch yr comments befor d wrath of God descends on you!

P baby said...

am so happy 4 her atleast she has a child to call her own

ANONYMOUS 12.52PM.U MUST BE A MAD MAN TO SAY SUCH DO U WISH HER DEAD GOD HAS ANSWERED HER PRAYERS SO Y SAYING RUBBISH .U MUST B A SADDEST.

What faith can do.congrats ma.

DoroMauryn. said...

Awesome Jehova!

There's nuting God cannot do anon.......be happy 4 her. Am sure ur. A man to have said give it up like dat! Do u know d joy of a mother carrying her fruit of d womb? Sure u dnt. Seal ur lips!

OK at a doctor, for in vitro to work she must still be getting her period, so this woman still get her period at 60 cos there is no shame in using a serigate

Congratulation but madam you are too old!

Even if she dies tomorrow.. Which hopefully she won't.. She didn't die barren.. Which is more than enough testimony.

true that

You are such a sad person going by this comment. Did u even congratulate the woman before voicing your unsolicited and ignorant comment? How old ws Sarah in the bible when she had Isaac? Are you God? Infact may God have mercy on you and your likes, amen!

Congratulations ma'am. Anonymous 12:52, God didn't give her child now because he wants her to die soon. He gave her this child because he is faithful. And she will live to take care of the child.

Oloriburuku ni e. May you should pray for your case to be like that so people can mock you too. Must you comment? This is joyful and it isn't your business in what happens next in the family. Oloriburuku, oloshi....ko ni da fun e- ashiere

Congrats the Adekunles' BBG u are most welcome. Faithful GOD i thank u

Another oloriburuku. For your mind now, you sabi type English. Werey, what's your business? If you aren't rejoicing with them...shut the fuck up. Do something else- like pray till you enter 70 before you born so people can mock you too. You wey dem don born since, you don take care of your parents? Jobless werey

Thank God for her but why didn't she abduct all these years?

XDON D DON

God is EVER ALWAYS FAITHFUL! Do you guys remember the story of Abraham and Sarah? That's God right there... never give up on God cos He won't give up on you.

Wow... And that makes him the God of possibility! Congrats to them!

This woman deserve it. I know her personally, she is very kind and loving, she never cease to rejoice with people celebrating. She had great faith that could move a mountain, congrats ma. Ire akari ooo. All those waiting on the lord, dont give up because God is about to do something wonderful in your life...

My God is a miraculous God,he fetches water with basket to disgrace the bucket,he will do all he says he will do.none shall be barren in her land.Thank you Jesus.You have done it again

Lord you re so very much wonderful, thank u lord for the joy u gave dis age couple.

Anonymous and Purple ..u guys are daft..may God forgive u..hopeless mofos..if she no die make una kill am na

God be praised! But Why are you guys so myopic? Anon 12:52pm was only looking at a bigger picture.Sometimes we have to put aside selfish needs and think about others. Yes, it would be on record that she had a child but have you thought about the kind of life that child would have with aged parents or no parents at all if they succumb to death while he or she is still young? We should try to think clearly and not cloud our judgment with selfish desires

Thank you! May God bless you for this comment! Not with all the suffering we have in this world. I pray they really have someone they can trust to raise this child if anything happens to them

Which wrath of God! The person just stated the obvious... Having a child is not the beginning and end of a woman. This is just the reality of the world we live in. While most Nigerians are very sentimental, just doesn't make sense to put a child through this. Congratulations to the woman, she achieved her heart desire but the child will need serious prayers and protection from God. That's what we should be directing our energies to instead of leaving nasty comments for someone that honestly spoke the truth...

My dear anon 3:35pm you and I know that the days of unimaginable long life and good health of the biblical era are long gone. When someone is being selfless dont mistake it for ignorance. May God have mercy on us all not just anon 12:52pm

God is indeed wonderful! But they should hve adopted since naa while still tryiing for their own. By now,they wil have older kid(s) who wil also help out wit d new born considering the age of the parents

WOW, COOLEST BEANZZZZZZZ. PRAISE GOD!

i think what we should be doing here is thanking God on this woman's behalf rather than criticizing her that she is selfish,this n dat,if u know wat it means to be childless when u r married then u will understand the joy of motherhood she is experiencing now, whether ivf or natural birth,it is still the lords doing cos several women have done it n it failed them but hers stayed,so it is God who made it possible,i am catholic but i still rejoice with this woman cos in all things we have to give thanx to God.for those counting her years, we r not God,dat u married early n have kids early does not guarantee that u will be there alive to take care of them.she may live up to 100 if God wishes.so it not yours to decide.whether she is there or not,God will take care of the child.praise the name of our lord Jesus.mother of perpetual help.....pray for us

CONGRATULATIONS!!! Mummy.God is truly not sleeping.I know he that gave the girl to you would give you the strength and well with all to train her.But Nigerians sha and the I must born syndrome,why didn't they adopt after some years and continue trying for their own.Being a mother is more than just birthing children,training kids makes a woman a mother!Please if you are passing through fertility issues and you have the means go and adopt but keep on trying and believing God would bring a child to the world through you.

Wow! I read dis wit tears rolling down,her story is one of hope,having experienced what it is like trying to concieve for over one year especially when medical reprts says nothing is wrong,I can't imagine waiting for 30years in this society where children is seen as marraige validation.I pray anyone waiting for fruit of the womb will receive their own blessing Soon without delay.to those counting her age,na una sabi,she knew her age befre going for ivf and despite her old age God made it happen.be happy for them.kudos to the husband!

Congrat o

God I thank you for puting smile in her face & laugh in her mouth. Miraclous baby welcome to the world.

Nne or Nna, what is the guarantee that you spring chicken will live long enough to see your child turn 18 with the way young people are going now?

U are actually right and not just dat,after a certain age women are more likely to have babies with some type of deformity or babies wiv down syndrome den those kids spend d rest of their live suffering which is not fair.

Congrats to d lady and her husband but Linda why is dis news? I have seen lots of old women put to bed through IVF.once helped a 58 year old woman deliver twin via IVF.also knew another 55yr old woman who was preggies wit quadruplets via IVF.the list goes on.so happy for dem jare.God is indeed wonderful

Look at all of them. Stupid Africans with "I must have a child" mentality. There's a reason you're the poorest continent in the world despite breeding like rabbits.

Coming here to tell me of Sarah and Elizabeth. Don't think realistically and bring a child to your sad world because you're too selfish to think of the consequences. You are the dumb individuals. Nonsensical fools.

Wow! The truth is really something people on here don't like to hear.

Yes! God is indeed wonderful. Congrats to her. I guess God has plans for her life to take care of that child. She is indeed blessed. Mo-1

See faith in action! God is good o! God never disappoint as long as you stay faithful. To God be the glory , Congrats to this blessed family. Her faith in God kept her husband by her side and gave her a healthy baby in her old age, amazing!

AMIJEZ said...

God does His things the way He likes, He proved Himself again in the life of this woman. And for you anonymous to be the first to comment your useless nonsence. Think with your brain not your anus.

Insensitive animal, i pray you don't experience barreness

Congrats †̥ you two

On what authority did u say this. Pls get your facts before disseminating falsehoods. The Catholic Church stands firmly with assisted conception.

My dear it is not called being stupid, but you and your likes failing to understand the reasoning of Anon.12:52 and his likes. It is not a bad thing in itself that she got her heart's desire of mothering a child, the real concern is with the probability of the child not experiencing much of her parent's because face it their youth have long been spent. The child will probably spend time meant to chase her own dreams catering to aged parents. Let's not get overly sentimental. Everyone is happy for her.

U know it's God u r questioning abi? Or is it not He who knows how eggs and sperms meet and become babies with bones?

Ndi Catholic mgbo. Biko no hating. Madam congrats. God that gave u the baby will give you the grace to raise the baby and in your youth carry your children's children. For those counting age for you they are not the give of life and can die when their own children are 18 days if baba says so. So thank God. No be only u do ivf. God still blesses who he chooses to bless.

@ Anon u'r such a saddist n a kill joy can't u just be happy for her n leave d rest for God.d God dat kept her thru d process hasn't left n he will see her to d end.congrats ma God keep u n d baby n shame bad belly pple like dis (Anon).

To the first that commented, my question is, you that is 18,what have you done for your parents? How dare you? You want to play God? Let me tell you, that God of Sarah is her God and nothing you can do about it. Nothing. His plans for His people are moving along according to His divine purposes. And in Him, the impossible is possible.

LEEZ said...

Wow! At 60??? God is indeed faithful!! I know two women who tried IVF but it failed! Congrats ma!

LEEZ said...

And yeaa! Kudos to her husband!

Omo-Oba-Loyo said...

Congratulations ma, may the Lord keep you, the Baby and your Husband. I would like to personally thank your Husband for standing by you. God bless your family. Amen

LEEZ said...

Pray you don't find yourself in such sitution! Smh

LEEZ said...

Yeaaa exactly! She doesn't look 60.. God really blessed her

People who lost their parent at a tender age still survive so why sound as she has bad bringing the grl in2 dis world...what if she hadd child iimmediately after her marriage & died same thing g would have happened 2 the grl so God knows best why she kept d women till this time b4 having a child so anon don't question God b4 he bend ur mouth 4u.

Linda pls I am interested in Ivf. Been looking for the fruit of the womb since 4yrs of marriage. I av done it twice and it has failed.
What hospital in Lagos did this woman do her ivf?

My God these couple are selfish. Really? At 60? Not everyone is destined to have a child. Or better still whatever happened to IVF in your 30s, 40s or bad as e bad 60s. What quality of life are they going to provide for this child. If na me be the pikin ehen, the kind slap when I go give these parents ehn wen I turn 15 ehn, dem go hear am. What rubbish. Please tell me what quality of life they are going to give this child, they can't be involved in any facet of this child's growing up at all. At 60, they can't play with the child, they can't run with the child, they can't even do homework with this child. Please tell me what sort of quality of life are they going to give this child. I am a strong supporter of modern medicine and I strongly believe in God but at some point in someone's life you just have to put your needs ahead of others and stop being selfish. They could have done IVF at 30, 40 or 50. Definitely not at 60.They are both too selfish. Its not fair on the child because they have about max 20 more years to live leaving that child an orphan. Make them hope say them write better will o and dem rich so that this child will be well looked after. What rubbish. mcheewww.

Some pple r fools , ignorance is a disease indeed. Wat brought abt death here now, d woman is 60 yes bt God has shown her love nd mercy. We should rejoice with her cos nothing like child. Chukwu Kere akwu oyibo Ga nye ya mmiri oga anwu.

Just read she did it at St Ives hospital. There are two branches. One In ikeja and one In ikoyi. You can Google them for their details so you can visit them. God would bless you with the fruit of the womb.

U guyz dat don't av anything reasonable to say plzzzzz! Kp shot,if u don't wnt God to tak U or Ur parent off diz earth,Diz is only a sign dat dere is a God Somwhere,U big Foolsss,go and Think.

mikey said...

There is nothing too difficult for God to do

Congratulations to you madam for this miracle that God has done for you.

I pray that you and your husband will live long to see this child become great. This is really God's doing. It is only He that could have done this for you considering the fact that many younger women have failed IVF treatments.

Some comments have shown that if it depended on men, you will not have had the chance to be a mother today but thanks to the good Lord for not making it that way.

He decided to use you to give hope to the hopeless. May His name alone be praised for ever, Amen.