LASU reopens June 23rd | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 June 2014

LASU reopens June 23rd

The management of the Lagos State University, LASU, has announced the resumption of academic activities in the school. The school re-opens June 23rd after it was shut down following weeks of students' protest over increase in school fees. The school fees have since been reduced.

Below is a statement released by the school's spokesperson, Kayode Sutton...
"Sequel to the Lagos State government’s agreement to the reduction of the Lagos State University School Fees by 34% to 60% across different faculties, the university management has come up with the precise amount to be paid by students in all departments and faculties. In a swift compliance to this agreement, the Governing Council of the University has approved new school fees which now ranges between N76,250.00 for a final year student in the Arts Department (49.3% reduction), and N158, 250.00 for a 200 level Engineering and Medical (Direct entry) student.

“In the new school fees as approved by the Council, a 100 level student in the Adebola Adegunwa School of Communication will now pay N103, 250.00, and a 200 level student (Direct Entry) will be required to pay same fee, while a 200 level returning student pays N88,250.00. For the College of Medicine, a fresh student is expected to pay N115, 750.00, ditto, a final year medical student, while a 200 level (Direct Entry) student in the same College pays N158,250.00, representing a 36.4% reduction.

“The approval also stipulated that a 100 level Engineering student pays N115,750.00 , while the returning students in 200_500 level will pay N143,250.00, N143,250.00, N131,750.00 and N106,750.00 respectively. New entrants (100 level) in the Faculty of Management Sciences and a final year (500 level) student will now pay N103,250.00, N113,250.00, N98,250.00, N98,250.00, N86,750.00 and N86,750.00 respectively" the statement read

43 comments:

GOOD!

That's a great news, one to put smiles on the face of the students

still too damn high..the highest fees i paid back in uniben as recently as 2011 was my final year fees which was #10,700

DOBY DOBY said...

Nd nw I get y d SUG presido didn't understand d percentage reduction. . Really confusing. . So after d reduction d fees is stil dis high. . Im imaginin the increament.. engineering nd medicine stdents fees is way much higher.. d diff is clear..

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Kudos to the students of the sch,they really tried...they fought for their interest..some schs will not even dare to protest

thank God at least there is a deduction, government haas to understand that its not easy bcos there are sum student who pay their own bills, i dont even see the need for an increase.
sensualintimacydesires.blogspot.com

www.glowyshoes.com said...

At last...staying at home is not funny at all

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Its a welcomed development.

The amount is much #bright bravo#

Good news but the money still big small o. I spent less than 200k 2ru out my university days. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Its still expensive... With d rate of increasing poverty in our society, not many parents can afford this. the one's that can will pay unwillingly.
Its left for the students to be up-and-doin in their studies cos ur parents would hve invested more than a million naira on u all thru ur four or five years stay in sch including sch fees, books, accomodation and allowances.

God help Nigeria

Education is a foregone issue in this country, all those Abacha money should be funneled into health and education but no! PDP and APC will just horde the money and use it for re-election campaigns and bribery!

Wow! Dis is a grt development. I congratulate dem on a successful protest. They are welcome back

This is suicide......the fees is just too much....

XDON D DON

I think its ok now.at last their protest yield out a result.but the money is still much

For free browsing cheats on blackberry,android and pc
Like us on Facebook

Better. They should fix up everything concerning school fees. To avoid protests.

next of kin said...

Shit upon shit!!!....how do they expect a struggling student that pays his/her school fee his/her self to cope with this huge sum of money....education is drowning in the corrupt river of NIGERIA leaders every year......LORD save us....NEXT OF KIN

Hmmnn... Parents are really trying. May our parents live to eat the fruit of there Labour IJN!

Finally Nigeria Education is going to be as Obj said some time ago...that education is not for poor

I wonder why sudden increase in school fees of most state universities... There is God....

Check my blog post. Linda Ikeji acquire brand new car for her business manager Click to Read

Oskirin said...

good 4 dem.hope dey will nt increase it again later in d future? i neva paid up 2 50k 2ruout my 4 yrs dere in d late 90s.

In my honest opinion these figures are still too high for an average person. half bread is better than none though.

we ve greedy leaders in dis country.... 25000 - 150000..... Its so unfair... Most of us pay dis school fees by ourselves.... No sponsor no guardian.... Cant d leaders be reasonable..... #final year student#

Kaiiiii.......I remember d days of N15,000 - N30,000 sch fees. Now Govt universities are equal 2 dat of private Schools with d same infrastructures & lil or no improvement.
Ohhhhhhh Nigeria, we hail thee......

Kaiiiii.......I remember d days of N15,000 - N30,000 sch fees. Now Govt universities are equal 2 dat of private Schools with d same infrastructures & lil or no improvement.
Ohhhhhhh Nigeria, we hail thee......

wicked leaders.... He paid peanut as a student... He's now a govnor.... All he can do is to increase fees.....

God will deliver us in from the hand of APC.
I think Fasola wants to kill his party in Lagos.it is obvious that he is not seeking for any political office under APC again.
Selfish Antichrist

Evangelist Olusegun said...

Thank God oooooo.I must commend the bravery and doggedness of the Students Union and all the students that participated in the protest,may God liberate us from the shackles of self oppression,God bless you all.

Evangelist Olusegun said...

Thank God for the reduction in school fee,many thanks to the students union and all the students that participated in the struggle to survive,may the Lord bless you all.Kudos to LSG too.It is well,our freedom shall surely come one day.

Cynthia Iyede said...

Its still high n not ok for d commoners. Haba! Did fashola n d workers expecially d academic n non staff pay dis much when they were in sch? Common! Its still too high jare. Its not a private sch is it? After all dis payments, where is d job after leaving sch. Wch kind country be dis sef?

Lady kim kim said...

Yey no job out there.sad

Still expensive.
Can a civil service with 3 kids in Lasu afford this?

Abbie said...

Mehn! I don't even understand this difference in the school fees based on department and faculty. Why not just make the school fees a unified amount? Anyways, it's a gud thing the fees were reduced. Aluta continua...

~It's me noni! Ur 1 and only Abbie~

THIS LASU SEF SHAA!...ANYWAIZ I THANK GOD THAT THEY ARE RESUMING SOON...
Dondumex.com

They tried but the fee is still a bit high.

Hmmm na WA ooo for people oooo..i remembered when the SUG president asked for these figures to be spelt out in black n white saying NO to percentage but Naira & Kobo...some of Una open mouth wey nor get control dey talk nonsense, dey talk rubbish talk...mtcheww. Hope you guys now knw why he said that,not that he or his parents doesn't knw conversion like Una suggest or accused. Now everyone is praising him after much slander. Nways it's good this happened now at least we will pause n think before we talk.
Omo this fees still high ooo Wetin sef?

Bros tell dem oº° me jst graduated last year frm uniben too n M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ highest fee was 14,000 but guess lasu fees is cos of state uni tins sha

idiot if is PDP govt now u will abuse them that the fee is high

I calculated all the fees I paid while I was in Unilorin between 2007 and 2011, it wasn't up to N70,000 can you imagine...

Fashola is a bastard .ask him how much he paid while he was in lasu,even when money was still mire valueable. And now he s a governor,all he can do us increase sch fees.....And dis stupid reduction shuld nit make any1 vote for him o.y did he increase it in d first place.Ahhh I pity dos poor widows who r strugling to train dier kids. How abt dos who av no sponsors.hmmmmmm God help us.

God bless you...still high

Nice one....
sign out

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Bbg Eze said...

If it's reduced as it is, then how much wz it b4 cos honestly, d figures I'm seeing r stl damn high

Hmmmmn it's all good