Nigeria’s multibillion naira drones obsolete – Israeli Expert say | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 May 2014

Nigeria’s multibillion naira drones obsolete – Israeli Expert say

The multi-billion naira drones purchased by the Nigerian Government in 2006 for the surveillance of petroleum pipelines in the Niger Delta that might have been used by the military in the search for the missing Chibok girls are said to be obsolete due to lack of maintenance & use since they were bought

Vanguard reports that Tsur Dvir, a Marketing Officer for Aeronautics Defense Systems, a firm based south of Tel Aviv, that supplied Nigeria with Aerostar unmanned aerial vehicles, said yesterday that to the best of their knowledge, the drones are not operational.
"To the best of our knowledge, these systems are not operational. They (drones) are probably parked in a yard somewhere".
He said lack of maintenance have reduced their operational effectiveness and made them obsolete.  Tsur said they received a letter of inquiry for maintenance on the drones from the Nigerian govt but it was never followed through
"We did receive an inquiry from them about spare parts, but it never turned into a deal. I wish it had.” he said.
Aerospace industry experts say each drone cost between $15 million and $17 million.

Meanwhile, Nigeria unveiled a locally-made drone at an Air Force base in Kaduna in December last year, although it has not flown since.

89 comments:

Lol... that's Nigeria for you. They buy something good and leave it to diminish and eventually, get damaged. Thumbs up to our leaders who are using the maintenance money for their selfish accomplishments.

Look at what they are using our money to buy, SMH

'Locally made drone' lol. Nigerians must pirate every thing. Lol

k dats naija 4 u

Too Bad

We have foolish leaders, period.

Stop wasting our money and bring back our girls. Nonsense

Nigeria is going to go broke and bankrupt in some few years, who wants to bet.

BeBe said...

Oh Fudge!!!! :(

So we have drone self and am sure they purchase second bcos my country can never spend so much money on such things abeg....

Which one is DRONE again, who is operating the drone, an oyinbo man, kEep wasting our money.

Black people are not capable of ruling them selves, u blacks where better of as slaves.

No light, food is expensive as shit, no roads, security is bad, education is terrible, etc and it is drone they went to buy. Olodo nigerians are ruling us.

I can NEVER waste my tears again for nigeria, we are finished, if they hired our unemployed youth to guard those pipelines, 1 million dollars is enough to pay them for 5 years. SMH.

Okay oh, drones. Lol is this a joke

WHY ARE THESE SO CALLED IDIOTS IN THE GOVERNMENT SOOOO USELESS!!!! They just keep pouring money down the drain!!! People are suffering on the streets!! Starving!! Dying!!! These just goes to prove their level of incompetence!! Geez!! May amadioha fire all of you and your families and their generations to come!!! I dont know how people the the IQ of a common house fly should be in that position!!! Millions and billions of dollars going down the drain every single day!!!! This is infuriating!!!!!

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Damn''' money dey naija oo....
Hello pals, I would love you guyz to take a stroll on my tech blog, We offer latest on freebrowsing tips, computer tips, mobile tips and other related tips.

SouthEastern said...

Nigeria! lack of maintenance in everything. Interested in only spending billions to acquire something thereafter the rot begins and we would look the other way. Same thing applies to the our National stadium in surulere Lagos. it has become the shame of a nation

Its a pity.I'm sure there's budget for the maintenance,corruption is another major problem impeding the growth of our nation after ethno-religious sentiments.

bbm 7439955a said...

Next gist.... Anyways am less busy in the office this week. Cos I have a broken leg.... . ENGR Emy

Wtf!!! Dis pathetic, our govt hav been knwn to hav poor maintenance culture, so aint surprised...

Okay, boring news tho

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

Money totally wasted..they can still waste as much as they want too..afterall do they ve anything to lose?? #failed Government#

Sweetest Mom said...

OK ooooo

Economic waste

famonzo said...

Am not suprised. When drones dat costed so much r not been maintained. They prefer to buy more presidential fleet of jet than to bother about drones. Moreover, someone should be responsible for dis.

Parazzi said...

This country is almost a failed country. Nothing works here

lakesides said...

Could this be another corruption in place.Nigeria is not poor to maintain a drone bought for security purpose.Our leaders pls lead us well

Peejay said...

The story of Nigeria. Smh.

Naija i salute ooooo...they have loot d money to their own account. God help us..

ASHANKA said...

This article no make sense abeg

dudette said...

Unfinished projects has become a habit for our leaders!! That money could have been useful to the masses...smh

I weep for my nation.....

I trust Nigeria' when it comes to Purchasing and excessive spending FG are fullyvfit. But when it comes to Maintenance FG are reluctant.

DOBY DOBY said...

Biko dey shld do smtin fast nd stp dis bh

MECURY said...

Nothing works in this useless country they call Nigeria. Haba !!

There are many problem plaguing this country, let just hope and pray for a better nigeria...#nigeriaisnot1....@blissful_jay

Expect the loser called Abati to come and insult them and deny it.lol.What a disgrace,we are the laughing stock of the world.GEJ's government has exposed a lot of decay in the system.God's grace, anyone who doesn't have the interest of Nigeria at heart will not even live long enough to run for an election in 2015

pixie said...

Bunch of idiots...all of dem. Even you...yes you thats work in gov parastatals and org. U are all the same. Sitting on your employess salary and mishandling funds that has been disbursed for everyone. U raise unneccessary vouchers and squander public funds. And ltr u say politicians are wicked.all of u join togeder are candidates of hell.....yeye dey small... am outta here

instead of the president to employ people that actually went to school and know how these things function, he stubbornly retains illiterates as advisers. nepotism is a major problem in this country.

It looks like a wingless bird. They should continue, no problem.

Ok.

Truthfulness pays!

Privatise d military if they kno not what they'e got to do their work... Haba, which kind country be this sef.

Its all about contracts to them its just an excuse to steal money which they add to the cost of these things.

#CO

Nigeria we hail thee...!

Big lie! What is drones, get routers, set network topo integrations, remote car and cameras why should Nigerian Army purchase drones for $15M

rejoice said...

When you think of such wastage. Not that it is a waste buying the drone, but buying it and not using it......
There is God o

oojkklk

Y'all see y we shud blame GEJ?so we gat drones yet dis BH r killing ppl easily Hmmm even d US believe nd depend so much on drones
Ola Brampton say so

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

NIGERIACRACY!...I suggest they should bid for that drone bought by google rather than relying on this faded and wornout multibillion drone
that is useless as at hand now...
see Maheeda showing off her shaveless regimen

Hahahahahaha ..... what a joke! we cant even manage ourselves...we should go and bring in foreigner to lead us! we are so fucked

contract thing. contracting the right job to the wrong person. My paddy paddy, now see when its mostly needed it turns to a national embarrassment.

just tell me how an unused aircraft become obsolete, and requires a part, so they're tokunbo drones.

bought sumtin but no maintenance.... Nigeria wake up

We are not a country. They need to demolish naija and rebuild from scratch...excluding these fucking malos

Uloma said...

Mschewwwwww! Rubbish!

"0 Comment" is exactly right

Nigeria!!!

There's God oo..how can dis animals spend huge amount of money on toys they won't use?? God save Nigeria..cursed country....................#King

cubixthoughts said...

Na by to buy drone? You need trained personnel to fly them. They think it's like video game where you just plug in and fly. Did they even test it to make sure they sold us a working drone to start with? I weep for our country

From wwww.loopscard.com

Sorry to say Nigeria is a very foolish country, How can they buy a drone when the country does not even have a proper military and force co ordination. Also China sells very cheap drone if truly it's gas pipe line they want to use it for, when other countries are using drone to monitor their countries parameter you are monitoring pipe line that can easily be save guarded with point to point security post, that will create job in this country where their is no job and also give we nigerian basic ideas of where these pipe are located. I wonder how we can have so much money and not have Good security.

O ma se o..I hope people will wake up and see that indeed Nigeria is in real trouble...Nigeria is a walking corpse and yet people are still in hope...
It is sooo sad,,,,

Hope all this insult is not to the persent goverment? because all these started way back.

the behemoth cancer that will finish up Nigeria is very stronger than Boko haram. It is corruption. ICPC and GEJ recently said that stealing is not corruption. Chai!!

>>>>>>NIGERIANS ARE GREAT PEOPLE>>>>

Just think aloud o.. is it possible for a ministry responsible for the maintenance of Govt/Nigerian/public properties be created? It's just that some people might see it as an avenue to siphon money again. I tire abeg.

Your father is a slave, you pig. Bastard pikin.

Those calling GEJ names shey na OBJ buy dis nonsense I cant find his name bein mentioned hereooooo. Ok no problem

You racist bastard.You deserve to be a slave.It's people like you that live and die in a retarded state.Just how well can you manage home?Better mind your business or keep your retarded opinion to yourself.

Na waooo Oga which kin English be dis one na?u go kill person oooo!!!

The problem in Nigerian culture that i have noticed since i moved to U.S is that Nigeria does not have maintenance culture that is why things don't last long in Nigeria the can build something but find it hard to maintain it. from there airports, to roads, beaches, electricity gas pipe lines and houses until all Nigerians start knowing how to maintain what the have and keep it in other this type of national embarrassment will keep happening.

All those trying to blame GEJ, erm those drones were purchased in 2006, so technically GEJ met the rot, unfortunately he also joined the group of "wetin concern me leaders

Chief OO - Haba!

AGB said...

A lot of times we reason very lowly in this country. A foreigner comes and says "we haven't seen any drones so I suspect they're obsolete or broken down due to poor maintenance" and my foolish ever inferiority-complex-eaten compatriots start talking their country down again as usual. THAT'S THE EXACT REASON NOBODY IS GOING TO TAKE US SERIOUSLY...cos we choose to talk,think,act and behave like daft programmed zombies.

Tell me, where in the world does a country open up its arsenal to foreigners (even if they're so close allies)? Do you guys know the repercussions of such actions?
Also, aunty Linda, at the end of your post you said the locally-made drones haven't flown since they were commissioned? Well, I don't know for sure if that's true but I certainly know that the Air Force would not come to you and tell you "we are about to fly our drones Madam Linda."
Thanks.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Slave Number 1. May Boko Haram be your case..

Were not where but u kinda made a point.

Did you say "Another major problem"? Guy, wake up,it is the only major problem we have.

They just think up some project, get an obscene amount of money to execute it, then spend a fraction of it on substandard sh*t and fold their hands and watch it crumble! Why did they buy the drones in the first place and not use it? Simple, cos the drones weren't working! Scam!!!!

I tell u, Aba made drones

THE COUNTRY HAS PROBLEMS WITH LIGHT AND WATER AND THEY ARE BUSY MAKING DRONES KE? ARE THEY SERIOUS? HM!

That's how to waste free oil money. It'll continue unless Nigeria is restructured and ND people are left to manage their oil. Give me Odua Republic abeg. I'm no longer interested in 1 Nigeria.

Can't stop laughing....This makes sense....lol.

Onajite said...

Born throway for sure!!

Lmao @ anon 3:50 ure very funny,its basic English na ,abi u no go schl?

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

It was a good concept to have ordered it in 2006 due to the Niger Delta militant surge. Remember, Yaradua got ill and subsequent administration went to sleep.

Saw it in a press release and I laughed, looks like a toy, FG/ defense minister please watch 24 or google drones 2014. To see current pic and specs.
And stop acting illiterate.

Amen. These corrupt mofos love spending because its the main source of stealing. They cany even fix our roads. Barawo's.

Tripple AMEN to that!

I disagree. The locally made drone (GULMA) has been in use since it was made this year. This drone was made in Airforce Institute of technology. Appreciate the little you have so u may have the opportunity to appreciate something big. #kidarmani

LOL NIGERIA MY COUNTRY hmmmmmmm