El-Rufai sues PDP, Olisa Metuh, Thisday for N1.5billion | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 May 2014

El-Rufai sues PDP, Olisa Metuh, Thisday for N1.5billion

Former FCT Minister and Deputy National Secretary to All Progressive Congress, APC, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, has instituted a N1.5billion libel suit against the PDP, its National Publicity Secretary, Mr. Olisa Metuh and ThisDay newspaper before a High Court in Abuja over statements he said were authorized by Metuh on behalf of the PDP linking him to the Boko Haram insurgency, which he finds defamatory.

El Rufai said the defamatory statements were published in Thisday newspaper which he joined in the suit as third defendant.

Mallam El-Rufai said that in a separate Thisday newspaper publications of March 17 and March 28, Metuh claimed that he (El-Rufai) collected N5billion as consultancy fee from the suspended governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Lamido Sanusi and also in another publication said that himself and Gen. Buhari know more about the Boko Haram insurgency. Continue...

He quoted one of the publications as saying,
“specifically, PDP cited the instance of an APC chieftain, ostensibly the former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Nasir El-Rufai, who collected N5billion for consultancy fees provided to the Central Bank and another N1.5billion diverted to APC to enable it open offices across the federation”.
The former minister also quoted the publication of March 23 as being “boldly captioned as, ‘In a daring move, PDP says Buhari, el-Rufai, know more about B’Haram’”.

The former minister claimed that the publications caused him irreparable injury and damaged his hard-earned reputation.

He is specifically seeking an order awarding N1billion as general damages against Metuh and PDP.

He is also seeking another order awarding additional N500 million as general damages jointly and severally against all the three defendants, including ThisDay newspaper.

El-Rufai is also seeking the award for “the injury, embarrassment and distress suffered in respect of the loss of reputation and goodwill as a result of the malicious, unwarranted and defamatory utterance against the person of the plaintiff.” He also seeks for a written apology be made published in the same medium as the defamatory statements.

The ex-minister equally wants the court to give an order of perpetual injunction restraining the defendants from further defaming him.

The case has been adjourned till June 5 for mention before Justice Abubakar Talba.

Source: The Nation

109 comments:

Thieves!!!!

Ok #bright bravo#

Oh pls get a life mallam! Aint nobody got time for this. #bringbackourgirls

1.5Billion. hahahahaha *faints. Thief don see where to retire on

Eniola Badmus Turns OAP, Begins Radio Show On Monday

DOBY DOBY said...

Rubbish. .. lyk its nt true. . Bt pdp secretary nxt tym u involve sm1 in a crime pls make sure u av evidence. . Nd buhari said in 2011 dat he wil make d country ungovernable for Gej.. so Gej shld also sue him.. dis pple shld bring bac our gals nd deal with bh nd nt dis rubbish. .

ok, ahaf hear, but bring back our girls n stop d bombing.......yaxx

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Omoh.. This pdp are really crazy oo... Make I catch one of them sha..
Hello pals, I would love you guyz to take a stroll on my tech blog, We offer latest on freebrowsing tips, computer tips, mobile tips and other related tips.

femi said...

mstchewwww

Tiwa Savage pictured eating Amala in Style

Lmao hahahaha!....Boko Haram sponsors are now running around like headless chickens.
Just when everyone should be looking for a way to remedy the calamitous acts of Boko Haram, the Mallan's trying to divert attention to himself.....

* My R1.50c comment *

Omo London said...

El Rufai dey mad.

Ozed said...

Hmmmm."I will make the country ungovernable for you"

its alright. let dem keep fighting themselves

I Love African Music said...

These people knw about d insurgency but they are playing politics on the life of others.... God is watching

Hehehe oga El rufai.you want to start using that accusation to steal our money again into your bank account.All your plans won't succeed

Professor caught abusing a female student in his office
Here

Omg! You wont believe what this girl is doing with her Ukwu
Here

Assuming your girlfriend made this great mistake in Public, what will you do?
Here

Father Shows His 3 Year Old Son How To Smoke Cigarettes While His Mother Tapes It
Here

El Rufai! U are evil. see what u and other APC members has turn our nation to. U are a sponsor of Boko Haram ant it will soon Boko u, hoooohaaaaaa. Onye Ojooo. D evil that men like do, lives with them

I Buhari did not go to court on account of name calling,I see no reason why this clown should.He speaks,looks,tweets,smells and even reasons BH.soon he'll sing a different story

Metuh is an ignorant loud-mouth. I am in the construction industry and to be paid N5.0 billion for a quantity surveying consultancy service would mean a project cost of almost 1 trillion naira! Unfortunately, Metuh is a typical example of the type of people found in this government and the PDP.

This short man should go and take several seats at the national stadium. Always in the news for the wrong thing. Mtcheeeeew............

Peejay said...

Ghen Ghen! PDP has stepped on the tail of a snake. Lets watch and see what unfolds.

Opelicious Morgann said...

Na dem sabi

MECURY said...

God save this country!

Olisa Metuh should get ready to tell Nigerians what he knew about El rufai's involvement with boko haram, I guess that will give us a clue to who the sponsors are, and if he doesn't have any evidence to buttress his statement, he should be made to pay for defamation.

Krizo 01 said...

Look at his mouth like smone Just recovering from leprosy. So defamatory remarks offends u too. U say so much nonsence about people and when say what is a fact about u its defamation. Stupid el rufai. The innocent lives u waste everyday will hunt u forever

When we have more serious matters on hand, this one is bringing up rubbish suit. He said they know more. He didn't say they sponsor them which to be frank is what most Nigerians believe. It is normal for political parties to accuse one another so El-Rufai has no case. It should be thrown out of court

Dis man sha..Alwaiz looking for trouble..we even see him on d news more than GEJ....................#King

El rufia will never stop. Demon in human form

Truthfulness pays!

These people ehn.. Is that what the nation should worry about?..this madness is getting too much. Everyone should be thinking of how to put the nation back in order not about your slefish reason..... CLIP

Jenny Cherish said...

Mr.El Rufai or woteva u r called,pls we hv enough problems in d country now,d lives lost in Kano and Jos twin blasts,the missing girls,and all u can think of is ur reputation,wot statement hv u released on fresh blast dat happened y/day in Jos?All u came to bother us dis early morning is ur stupid reputation.Point of correction u neva had any atom of reputation so go and hv several seats and stop bugging us wit ur irrelevant claims.

Na wa ooooo! Jst becos of this small accusation.... Pple are dying, some are missing and this one is here demanding for money

These mallams should go and rest , they've done more harm than good to this country. U cant even buy fruits without thinking if they are poisoned . u can't even invite an aboki to your compound without thinking he might attack you. We only exist in this country , we don't live life anymore just because of some blood thirsty demons in human flesh. Very ugly things

This guy must be smoking sumtin..

LMAO @ DIS ABOKI
U JST NEVA CEASE TO AMAZE ME

LOOKING 4 MONEY FOR YOUR CAMPAIGNE ABI????

HOW COME BUARI AND SANUSI DINT SUE, GUES D SENT DIER BOY BOY TO REP DEM

DAY BY DAY YOUR LIFE AS A JOKER BECOMES MORE VISIBLE.

WHAT U SHUD DO IS PROVE NIG WRONG BY ENDING BOKO MENACE; WE ALL KNW U ARE CAPABLE; DEN UR INNOCENCE WL BE PROVEN

So himself sabi sue? Wat of all d derogatory stuff es said bout others? So e dey pain u?? Mtchwww

Amarachukwu said...

Till june then.

bbm 7439955a said...

El rufag not rufai. U are a bloody fag better go back to Ur farm. While did it take u so long to come out saying and creaming. After u've cleaned up the mess and burnt the document. Faggots. ENGR Emy

Abeg go siddon jare. This your holier than thou attitude is becoming nuseauting. You and oby and just losers.

ANYA IKENGA said...

Hell-Rufai, sorry. Did u not say u will effect change of government by force? and did ur friend not say the monkeys and baboons will be soaked in their own blood? since you guys are not in the army i guess you are using your boys.

HellRufai we dnt care about u,jst shutup already ok!! To tink that u nd the rest of d nigerian politicians wud put citizens through dis torture just bcos of politics and wealth is dehumanising,y'all shd go n die,if dem lik make dem amputate ur legs we dnt care,we jst need sane and patriotic leaders

God will punish u hellrufai..all dis money dt u are sueing for damages for,is it to equip bokoharam? Na mouth u dey,even 5naira wey wash u no go c,u dis imbecile,bloody mallam wt no pedigree,crazy lots,insteadof u ppl to work togeda to ensure peace u r smoking lala

You don broke ni? Ole

This maggot has come again. Mtshewwww
Maybe he has run out of funds for his boko haram boys. God is watching you. Repent, you and your aboki colleagues
Lil Lin if you like carry am chop sandwich.

Oboy see money wey this people dey mention abeg..... Politics is the real shit i swear....

meet Faith Ojo said...

Infact I knw rightnow ACN wud wishing they never merged with buhari's party and now they wud hav just been taking advantage of this fight btw both pdp and buhari and no other party any sane person wud hav voted than ACN

cubixthoughts said...

This election is going to be the greatest soap opera to ever grace our country...thieves vs robbers..either way we are getting stolen from.

Live at www.loopscard.com

So watin e go use d money do!!!clueless idiot!!

Ojukwu said “It is better that we move slightly apart and survive, it is much worse that we move closer and perish in the collision.” Aburi Accord playing out.

Thieves.......stupid useless retards...just shut up ewu....shey u are broke ni?

Dsame El rufia dat said presi Gej was trianing snipers, hired assasins and marked out oppositions for eliminating without proof is suing someone else for speaking d truth about him and his cohorts...
So he now knws what it means to murder people's integrity ??
We are watching !!

Beyond reasonable doubt! Hope El Rufai knows that!

Guiterrez said...

He is the chief sponsor. we all know

El-rufai but u have forgotten so soon ur statement dat "blood will flow if any fulani is killed again" u guys take nigerians for granted! All those killed are fowls cos they are nt fulanis! Anyway this is just d beginning... 4 ur info u have NO reputation. I am calling u Boko haram and dat is whom u re

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

To think that Nigeria is in a state of penury and all this mallam can think of is this? This goes far to explain the LOVE this APC and its cohorts have for this country.. It is well..

These mallams want to take over naija by force...things re not done D̶̲̥̅̊at way.I'll still vote for Gej,notherners can't take over power by force. Nah

Y'all can't fool all Nigerians.if one of dem notherners were in power,u wuldnt hear of boko tok more of d haram..una wan frustrate Gej abi,e no go work 4 una

U wan sue for 9ja? Baba suwe go tell you how far...

Perhaps, you should be sue for all the names calling and insult you have been tweeting from day one. Infact, if you are also sued your dameges will run into hundreds of billions. Midget like you! You play a game of calling people names, they paid u back in your own coin and you are complaining. As a matter of fact, GEJ should start sueing all those terrorist that promise to make his government ungovernable in 2011. Season of litigation has started. I will luv this movie.APC! BOKOHARAM party!

Mallam hell rufai, u re a bloody big JOKE, just STFU!!!! Who are u fooling? I for one know that u re a Boko financier, an adviser n a Boko spy, just go n DIE.

Dr David Chux.O. said...

From some comments here,I know know that many Nigerians are not critical thinkers. This lawsuit is a step in the right direction. It will accomplish three things. It will expose El-Rufai's link to Boko Haram if any. It will expose Olisah Metuh as a liar if he can't prove the link. It will force public office holders to be careful of their utterances unless they have proof and therefore it will make Nigerians more civil in our relationship with one another.

Diva-Chilee said...

lmagine this mallam talking rubbish,all i knw is that any atom of rumour there must be truth there so stop blabing n focus on how to bringbackourgirls....
Diva-Chilee

Nigerians, what a people! Its pathetic how ignorant the sum of them are. Reading the comments validates how SO much they lack rational thinking!

Think bfor u type. U just want to stay relevAnt. Smh for u.

Imaging if people have sued El Rufai for defamation, he would have been several times bankrupt. He said the only way to unseat the President is through force. And we are seeing brute force all over our country. El-Rufai was sending messages on twitter when the DSS H/O was under attack by "escaping" Boko Haram detainees. Those tweets were in support of Boko Haram. Sanusi Lamido Sanusi is being prosecuted for funding terrorism, Sanusi is El-Rufai's friend. El-Rufai admitted that his "company" was paid N5b for consultancy by the CBN, (this is on tape on tape). If you put all these pieces together, plus what Olisah Metuh and the government may know that we don't know, you won't be wrong to say that there's an element of truth in the allegation. The only thing is that they are cowards, why not come out boldly and declare war on Nigeria if they are men. Hiding under Shekau is cowardly. Do what your mates are doing in Libya, set up your "Nigerian Liberation Council" and become their spokespersons in the Western capitals. Bring it on El-Rufai. "Those who seek war will surely see war." - Yoruba proverb.

Uloma said...

We don hear u.....buh d truth cn only b hidden for long, it wld eventually come out!

Kemikal (aka Wizard From The Future) said...

2 of 2

Nasir El-Rufai, you are a joke. NO MATTER HOW LONG IT TAKES, NASIR EL-RUFAI WILL, EVENTUALLY, BE JAILED FOR A LONG LONG TIME FOR CORRUPTION, TREASON AND ECONOMIC SABOTAGE. That's the message. Read between the lines, I'm sure you can guess where it came from. Your fellow northerners slaughtered several Nigerians, wrecked havoc on Nigerian's economy, orphaned so many, ripped so many families apart, crippled so many people, destroyed so many homes and businesses, and you, Nasir El-Rufai, shamelessly want to claim compensation? You no serious. You will be snowed under with litigations for the next TEN YEARS. And, Nasir El-Rufai, your political career is OVER. Nasir El-Rufai, you will never again hold public office and just like you sabotaged Nigeria's economy, your private businesses too will be permanently sabotaged. Nasir El-Rufai, you are a scumbag. Shame on you, Nasir El-Rufai, and your rotten children, b!tch. Nasir El-Rufai, your lawsuit has no merit and will be thrown out and you will be landed a legal bill with a lot of zeros. It's a promise. Nasir El-Rufai, you are fooling yourself. You know the true identity of Boko Haram and it's leadership. Nasir El-Rufai, to win your stupid court case, resurrect all the people that were massacred by your fellow NORTHERNERS and BOKO HARAM. Nasir El-Rufai, you're an evil creature. Nasir El-Rufai, you are a TRAITOR. Nasir El-Rufai, for your treachery, economic sabotage and for all the upheaval, misery and instability which you and your fellow northerners wrecked on Nigerians, Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Nigerian economy, the Presidency, and Nigeria's reputation, you deserve a seizure and heart attack. Btw, Nasir El-Rufai, why do you loiter on social networks, old man? You're like a PADEOPHILE loitering around a nursery. You are constantly loitering the social networks, being a nuisance and seeking for opportunity to smear the Presidency and the Federal Givernment. Nasir El-Rufai, like I told you in the past, get off the internet, especially Twitter. Go to MySpace or Facebook. Twitter is for young, bright and innocent people, like me, who will one day occupy ASO ROCK and deprive Nasir El-Rufai of his assets and liberty and exile his vagabond children, Buhari & his family and Sanni Abacha's family.

Is like you are fan of APC

Nonsense man,dey will give u so that u can use it n sponsor Boko people so that dey will kip bringing gals 4 u 2 f***.....#BringOurFutureWives

Exactly.

So u now lack money to fund ur pet project boko haram. I dey laf oooo.

this guy is not serious

El rufai the mall am with cow brain. This tiny man can make noise. #bringbackourgirls.

U are crazy see what. People are typing see what ur are typeing are u not. In this world mad person, nigeria is. Turning to another thing we outside nigeria know what we are saying

Metuh is a lawyer so he knw beta b4 making dat daring move..El-rufai himself is a noise maker

Very well said anon, d mallam should go and take several spooky seats...mtcheeeew!

Chiboy u must hv lost ur mind- Wot did PDP do to u? Pls tell urself d truth n get out of dat sinking boat ur in b4 it's too late!

Oskirin said...

Dr. David Chilux. O.out of d commenter on ds subject matter, u r d only 1 dt hit d nail on head n u didnt let ur ethnicity 2 bcloud ur sense of reasonin.God will bless u uncountable times.amen,amen n amen.as 4 odas,make una continue 2 play 2 d gallery.....UP MAN U! we don get world class coach.Arsenal,bware....im cumin 2 get u.

Dis mahn is a beast of burden.......like criously? U're sueing ppl 4 defamation of character? U're nothing but a dim-itted, un-repentant animal.....u and ur miserable blood sucking cohorts will perish in HELL.....think abt d homes uve ripped bare,hopes u crushed, d lives uve taken, d potentials uve wasted, d properties,breadwinners,d orphans uve new created, U WILL KNW NO PEACE....u will die a shameful death.....ur flesh will be roasted d way u roast ppl in ur bomb blasts.........d cry of innocent souls are on ur head......becoz u want 2 prove a pt.....becoz u want 2 attain a particular height....my prayer evryday is 4 u 2 meet ur waterloo.....ENOF IS ENOF......u will be disgraced publicly.....beast

C his mouth lyk 1.5billion naira..can he count it if given 2 him in coins???...yeye ppl! They shld pls #BringBackourGirls... By @successralu

@Dr. David. Chux O. I'm beginning to identify you as Elrufai in disguise, cos each time his problems are being tabled on here, you craw out from your hole to begin to make some steewpid and useless comments. Have forgotten all the name callings you've been belting out to Pres. Gej. You must be a fool to be asking for litigation. Are you a critical thinker you dumbass.

@Anon 10.45a. The president cannot sue Rufai even if he wants to cos he.will have to voluntary void his immunity from prosecusion. And we all know he would not do that cos he has a lot more to loose!! If anybody feels agrieved with Rufai he can always call him out that does not mean Rufai cannot sue.anybody he feels has offended him. Nobody has a right to make careless statements about another without proof or evidence. Metuh is supposed to be a lawyer he should know better politics or no.

Most comments here are just showing petty ethnic bigotry. El Rufai has a right to clear his name. If Metuh comes up with his proof I will be one of the first to ask DSS to promptly pick El Rufai up. But I know where the truth of the matter lies. If government had any evidence Rufai would be singing from behind bars by now.

So he also knws ow to sue abi.. ok oo... we are waiting to know if he would win

Bonario APC shut ur ignorant trap. Biased loser

EL RUFAI AND HIS UGLY LIPS...THIEF!!!!

Al Tequila said...

El Rufai, how body, how "business"? How's your mistress? I pray God she stays with you and didn't drift away with boys her age, cos if she did you'd be distraught and take out your anger on your long suffering wife. Nasir, I need a favour from you. #ElRufaiBringBackOurGirls, please! We are begging you. If you want money, name the amount and also name the Emir of Boko Haram, please. Also help us put dog sh!t into his soup and put donkey pee and menstrual blood into his tea. I unseriously hope El Rufai is NOT the Emir of Boko Haram because it can land him into everlasting problem even among his fellow Hausa / Fulani people, and they can disown El Rufai, exile his wives and mistresses and sell his bastard children into slavery in Iraq, Romania, Somalia or Siberia. We don't want that to happen. I am praying (playing?) that El Rufai is NOT the Emir of Boko Haram. Nasir, seen any Boko Haram in your neighbour? No? I thought as much cos if I was you, me too won't bomb myself or blow up my neighbourhood. If you did for pr purposes, you might not survive it to reap the political "rewards." DISCLAIMER ALERT, DISCLAIMER ALERT, DISCLAIMER ALERT: I have been typographying and being used by unseen hands, forces and minds. Forgive me. I'm not suggesting that El Rufai has anything to do with Boko Haram. No, no, no. I'm not suggesting that El Rufai has ever heard of Boko Haram. I'm not suggesting that El Rufai has any reason or motive to be part of Boko Haram. I'm not suggesting that El Rufai has a heart. I'm not suggesting that El Rufai should be arrested. I'm suggesting that El Rufai is a GREEDY POLITICIAN El Rufai is in politics for "business," and for his pockets and his own selfish interests. If satan was in charge in Aso Rock, as long as he's Hausa or Fulani, El Rufai will do business with him. Although El Rufai hears no evil, sees no evil and speaks no evil, some accuse him of being grossly incompetent, lacking leadership qualities, morally bankrupt and lacks a sense of good judgment. In my humble opinion, El Rufai is squeaky clean, he is not corrupt, and he's damn so pious. Very, very soon, Nasir El Rufai shall be summoned to the Vatican and the Pope shall bestow a brand new sainthood on NASIR EL RUFAI and after his investiture (coronation?), he shall be known as: Saint Nasir El Rufai, non-member of Boko Haram.

OH OH! IT'S ON.........WHERE'S MY POPCORN?

Dr. David thank you for ur comment. One logical person in 200 is not ideal but it's something. God bless you for being able to think and articulate ur thots with flair.

That's how you know nigeria is hopeless. No rationale thot. And these are the ones with access to information.

You are to be pitied. You'll most likely die unknown and unheard of. A slave like you dreaming of aso rock.....lol.

Too many stupid people here. If the pdp has evidence of his complicity with boko haram they should arrest him. But if they dont he has a right to take them to court as he has rightly done. Fin

Misinformer, that wasn't Buhari. A PDP politician said so just before their primaries. Shame on you, liar.

El Rufai but its not a lie that you are a sponsor of BH na. Person no need jaz man to confirm

Bonario, no let me swear for you hear. How much El Rufai de pay you? Sure if he give u good cash, u will carry bomb for him. No worry na you dem go bomb next

I agree wit you completely. God showed him small na, when he caused his daughter to overdose wit our stolen money. All your faamily wil go the same way b4 we finally hang you idiot

Bonario, no let me swear for you hear. How much El Rufai de pay you? Sure if he give u good cash, u will carry bomb for him. No worry na you dem go bomb next

Anon 4:06pm. U r a low life. Insulting someone is different from slander or libel. Dr. David is def a critical thinker and you are at the other end of d spectrum.....brain dead. How u survive without a brain is worth investigating.

Osikiri thank you for recognising dr. David's comment. God bless you too. I love it when people use their brains.

Angie, why r u so fond of making stupid statements on this blog? Prove that El-Rufai is a Boko sponsor or shut up! Is every Mallam now a BH member? Dunce

Dsame El rufia dat said presi Gej was trianing snipers, hired assasins and marked out oppositions for eliminating without proof is suing someone else for speaking d truth about him and his cohorts...
So he now knws what it means to murder people's integrity ??
We are watching !!

Dumb BONARIO always blindly against GEJ! Sick mofo

Thank u Anonymous 7:50! Wen ppl r uneducated d result is Doby Doby! Chiroma a pdp chieftain threatened d whole nation after d elections & now pdp wanna use evry opportunity dey hav to pin it on d opposition...I jst feel for nigerians who believe d slightest of pdp stories

U Nigerians will jst be too stupid to believe d Pdp at dis time...Dey r selling a story to u & u hav all bought.Will it be so difficult to link Boko Haram to El-Rufai, Buhari & d likes if dey r d actual sponsors????#Ignorant nation

Anon 8.43am, u summed it up perfectly! Metuh is a joker, like his boss.

Dr. David Chux, see why we don't need Democracy in Nigeria? Of the over 200 comments here, urs is the only logical one. We r in the minority in Nigeria and that is a big problem.

Oskirin, United people r always intelligent. Thank u!

Oskirin said...

@ anonymous 9:28pm.
tnx 4 tankin me.it's jus so sad dt some of us usually comments here b4 we tink.whn issues like ds r brot 2 d front buna,we shd take a luk at it critically, weigh it n cum out wit suggestions.i still maitain,if PDP (whc is my party)av strong evidence against ds set of pple,dey shd provide it n also arraign dem 4 propa prosecution.witout dt,metuh n co shd stop distubin our ears n eyes wit all dere Petty n claims.

Good! Ppl should start paying for their goofs.