'How we jumped out of Boko Haram truck' - girls who escaped speak | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 May 2014

'How we jumped out of Boko Haram truck' - girls who escaped speak

Punch interviews two of the girls who jumped out of the truck they were being transported in by Boko Haram men after the men stormed their school and kidnapped over 250 girls. Interview below

What is your name?
Sawok: My name is Amina Sawok.
Walse: My name is Thabita Walse.

Can you describe the attack on your school?
Sawok: We were in the hostel. One of the men dressed in military camouflage asked us where our dining hall was. From our hostels, they took us to the dining hall and from there, we were moved into the waiting vehicles and they headed towards Damboa town. The incident happened around 11pm.
Walse: It is a long story. They came to our school and deceived us into believing they were soldiers. They were dressed in military uniform and made us believe they were about rescuing us only for us to later find out that they were insurgents. When we discovered, it was already too late and there was little we could do. Continue...

At what point did you know they were not real soldiers but insurgents?
Sawok: They were shouting and rude. That was when it became clear to us that they were insurgents, then they started shooting and set our school on fire. They even shot the security men guarding the school.
How did you escape?
Sawok: I jumped out of the vehicle that looked like a truck.
Walse: Our vehicle developed a problem and they were forced to stop. I took the opportunity with some girls to run into a dark bush.

What gave you the courage to jump out of the vehicle?
Sawok: I have heard a lot about Boko Haram, the bad things they do and how they have killed many people in the state. I was afraid and I became desperate. I felt getting to their camp could be dangerous for me and it would be better if I escaped.  That gave me the courage to jump out.  I believed that I would only get injured since it was dark and they may not know how to look for me in the bush.

Did all the girls that escaped plan it?
Sawok: No, I believe the same thing was running through our minds. Immediately one of us jumped out, the rest of us just started following her.
Do you have any injury?
Sawok: No, I am very fine.

How do you feel about the others that were not able to escape?
Sawok: I would have loved all of us to escape.  I can’t celebrate my escape because some of my friends and classmates are still in the hands of the insurgents and I don’t know what they are facing. It is my prayer that they should be freed.
Walse: I have no problem, I am okay and very strong physically. The only problem I have is that some of my friends are still held hostage by terrorists.

130 comments:

My prayers are with all the girls. These girls are not gonna be the same after that horrible experience

Hmm..
Don't know what to believe anymore..

#BringBackOurGirls
#JonaDivideNigeria
#EnoughIsEnough

* My R1.50c comment *

Chai! Imagine wat de must have passed tru and wat others are goin tru right now......

bella j said...

hmm GOD oh rescue your children..

dhobiz said...

I pray everything gets back to normal before its too late,God pls restore our hope

May God help us

Anastesia Obi said...

God plz save dos girls nd let dem come back safe nd sound. Amen.

See stupid question-what gave u the courage to jump out yeye question... I stil insist that there is notn lyk boko muslims are in full support of this mu

Hey!!!!!!.. Naija. U ppl can lie sha

I thank God for there lifes and i also pray that the other girls will come out of the hand of those wicked BH alive..... #Bringbackourgirlssafe#

Thank God for their lives #bright bravo#

hmmmmmm. Hw tru is dis info. why re dey jst intervewing d girls now??? so many questns yet no ans..... all is well in Naija.....

So where did the story of them being kidnapped while writing their final exam come from? Smh

God will bring all of em bk in Jesus name amen.#BRINGBACKOURGIRLS#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

I dnt beliv dis one bit...

I pray dey ar save too

FDJ

I don't believe this crap. The state governor knows about this kidnap.

Hmmmm...how are we sure its these kids that spoke the grammar? I am happy they are alive if this is really true, and I pray the rest of the kids be found soonest.

Na wa oooo

Lie Lie ppl.. Lie lie naija.. Lie lie o lie lie. SCAM!!!!!.. The story sounds too fake, I'm sure this is to make Nigeria and the world feel better. BRING BACK OUR GIRLS OOo!!!!!. Lie lie ppl

#bringourgirlsback thank your God for ur safety, others weren't lucky, but we pray by God's grace that they will be released alive and complete.

linda......Uk said...

Something is not really right here,,,this interview is fake,,, honestly I am begining to doubt this kidnap gist...bcos people are craving for pictures of the girls and you bastards came up with this silly and unreliable interview with a ghost picture.... You people are really toilling with people's emotions,,,,I can't believe this gist until we see a proof.....

Fake story!!!

linda......Uk said...

Something is not really right here,,,this interview is fake,,, honestly I am begining to doubt this kidnap gist...bcos people are craving for pictures of the girls and you bastards came up with this silly and unreliable interview,,,,,,

linda......Uk said...

Something is not really right here,,,this interview is fake,,, honestly I am begining to doubt this kidnap gist...bcos people are craving for pictures of the girls and you bastards came up with this silly and unreliable interview with a ghost picture.... You people are really toilling with people's emotions,,,,I can't believe this gist until we see a proof.....

Eugenia Ekeji said...

God's willing, they'll all come home alive.

Hmmmm lord have mercy on us oo.

Is it just me or does this interview nd supposed "escapees" feels or seem kinda unreal?

Shock waves flowed down my spine while reading this.
I pray the other girls will be found hale and hearty.

bizzy bright said...

God pls intervene on this matta even though our government have failed us..*crying*

For some reason I don't believe this crap...its a pity that our leaders actually think some Nigerians don't think..they just come up with some 'cock and bull' story... All am Waiting for is for their secrets to burst open..

tunde said...

Eehyah, God will save your friends its only a matter of time ok. Be positive they will be back in Jesus name.

Tunde is back again (in pastor Adeboye's voice)

Sola said...

May God rid us of this evil plaguing our country. may our leaders be bold enough to take action.

confessor said...

Ohhhh my! Lucky girls
#Bringbackourgirls#

Dis are brave girls, may the God lord help the others.

Can u imagine? Thank God for ur life.#bringbackourgirls#

The Perfect Bitch said...

Hmmmm..make-believe!!God rescue these girls plssss.dunno wat to believe anymore

I pray that God will continue to protect them wherever they are IJN

Story story story

I hope all you doubting thomas are now satisfied with this interview. And I hope this has brought food to your tables. *longHiss* Wonder why some people would ever think the whole story about the missing girls is just a set up. I feel your pain girls. We would keep praying for your friends to come out soon.

I hope our dear minsiter kema chikwe won't deny dis now

see more atAlhaji Abdul Waheed Yusuf Ariyo a.k.a Aditu Nla has passed away

I'm sorry. I'm still not buying it. These people have been paid!! It's a fight against gej just like d nyanyan bombimgs

Food for thought below...

NORTHERN ELDERS ARE PLAYING WITH THE LIVES OF THEIR KIDS BECAUSE OF POLITICAL POWER. PLS ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS IF YOU CAN: 1. How many students are in that village school that 230 of them were kidnapped in just one night raid? 2. What did Boko Haram use to kidnap 230 students at once? Luxury bus or aircraft? 3. Are they all boarding students? 4. Why did it take the school authorities/Borno State government almost one week to realize that the figure of the supposedly abducted students was no longer 124? 5. Is it that easy to escape from Boko Haram that almost 40 of the girls were able to flee? 6. How did they find their way home from the supposed forest that they were taken to? 7. Why did the Principal of the school recant after giving information to the military authorities that soldiers rescued some of the girls? I have a strong conviction that the scenario was created to achieve a predetermined end. That is why nobody is blaming the DPO, Area Commissioner, Army Commander, Field Commander, SSS State Director, the state governor, the CDS, the NSA or the security agencies. Rather, all accusing fingers are pointing at the President. What is the motive? - Make the President look insensitive, bad, wicked, callous and indeed unelectable again. - Make it look the emergency rule in the states has not worked. - Stop the President from extending the emergency rule any further. - Pollute the minds of Nigerians so that the President cannot impose total emergency rule that will see to the suspension of all democratic structures in those states (constitutional or unconstitutional). The plan is to cry wolf where there is none, and they have succeeded in doing that in order to get sympathy.... Please resend till we get the right answer"

why dont u guys just give us the news the way dey said it.
I dont tnk dose children actually used the word
"insurgents"

Let all of us b security @ alert,dat's it....
#BringBackOurGirls

Wizzy said...

That's why ÈŠ̝̊̅t̶̲̥̅̊ I̶̲̥̅̊s̤̥̈̊ GÆ¡̴̴̴̴̮͡Æ¡̴͡d t̶̲̥̅̊Æ¡̣̣̣̇̇̇ βε a kpako pikin,others could escaped along side wit d them, ßut were afraid of Τ̲̣̣̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ aftermath

..........Via LIB READER........

Sincerely speaking, its obvious that we have wrong people in the Govt, there is nothing like Govt is trying, Until we get a selfless leader as president, this menac will still continue, however if am in president's shoe, I would suggest he critically evaluate himself, his capabilities, his authorities as a president, if the bible could even attest that kings are gods, their words are command, then the president should make complet use of his powers without fear nor mercy or resign as a world african Hero if that is the only option left for peace to reign in Nigerai, because the whole thing is gradually taking another shape and the country Nigeria is heavily threatend...May God interceed and Raise Moses for Nigerians pls in JESUS Name! 2k!

Eiiyah! It's indeed a terrible nightmare

sugar said...

Bloody liars pulling up a publicity stunt, boko haram cannot be dat stupid as too kidnap girls and keep them in a vehicle without locking it properly and the girls waited for 2wks before coming out to tell dis stupid story. Mstcheeew ... Next pls

LAGOS RALLY PROGRAMME

THEME: Women for Peace & Justice- BRING BACK OUR GIRLS LAGOS RALLY.

DATE: 5th May 2014
TIME: 9am-3pm

Meeting Point: Allen Roundabout (9am)
March to Governor's office.

Dress code: Red top

To bring with you:
- Bottle of water
- White Handlerchief
- Candle and cut a small circular cardboard with tight hole in the middle to insert candle to catch the wax drips and protect your hand.

Pls, pls, pls Re-broadcast...

David (dave_gino) said...

Little Baddos. God will save the rest of them for us ooo

They will be saved IJN

Bony bony said...

Thank God for your life our future leaders

Who come dey fool who now just because we re now askin y no pics or names fro d girl kidnapped faces re now showing na wa

The lord is your strength ooo

Thank God for u guys that escaped ,let's just pray for the others that where not able. Chi .

May God help Nigeria.#bringbackourgirls#

May God touch their heart to free those children#saveourgirls#

May God help Nigeria.#bringbackourgirls#

Wow! That's brave of them. I don't know what I would have done in that situation.

Their decision/choice to escape is what I call "presence of mind". May God grant us the ability to make the right decisions when they matter most. I also pray that the other girls be found. #BringBackOurGirls.

thank God for your lives

Ok toothpick...now gerout!

I guess you'd have believed it if you were the one taken and that your miserable "hole" being pounded everyday with their smelly uncircumsised sticks! You annoy me, girl!

Am happy for the gals but i just wished all of them escaped the same time and i hope the goverment is not playing some tricks on us again....
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

The truth can not be hiden for too long. Publish the names n pictures of all the girls kidnapped. So that when I get to the forest I can identify them BH Give Us Our Girls

This story sounds so fake!!!! Was d story actually edited or did d children speak d grammer themselves?????

May the Lord ans ur prayers over ur friends #bring back our girls

Story!

Really?? Are these the words of a child? The grammer sounds too advanced tho. #GodHelpUs

Story. I don't jst knw y I don't believe this story. Does any1 feel same??
$$k@y$$

nella said...

All of a sudden, just after questions came up concerning the escaped girls, there comes an interview!

Haa same thing I thought oh. This one resemble scam. How did they know they were members of boko haram all of a sudden? Abeg, I'm pretty sure parents on the girls who escaped wouldn't want to disclose their identity for safety reasons.

Happy for them,God will save d rest

black n strong said...

It is confusing, Goodluck should place himself as an ordinary man. And ask himself if he's d president what will he do?

I seriously don't bliv ds story. Dey only make ds interview up since Nigerians ar asking questions abt d girls identity. I pray dey come back home alive.

Ôђ Lord, pls see these young girls through Amen!

O! said...

Insurgents! Now for some reason I place alil doubt on d authencity of this interview.. Making references to choice of words being used by the supposed girls.. Unless it was being translated to mean what is written not wat dey quoted themselves.. Let God be true..God guide us and the girls. Amen

The General's Wife said...

Hmmm....we start clamouring for the " truth" and suddenly they produce dese two girls with dese interview.why werent they interviewed since dis incident occured?! Something doesnt add up Here....whether Jona and his cohorts " have willingly dashed" our girls with d BH monsters and are telling is dey were kindnapped.cos let the truth be told,not even a mere chief of a village goes to bed at Night easily n happily knowing that not 50 o,not 70 o buh 100 of his villagers have being kidnapped.let alone young kids.let alone 234 of dem! Jona God is watching u.God is really watching u.#bringbackourgirls#

what sort of false news is this, the whole story do not ad up, how can i hear its university students that got kidnapped and in the news it said they where secondary students who were writing their waec then you guys come up with a picture of a primary school, can you pick one first of all because there are some grammatical vocabularies that only undergraduates can understand, then undergraduates do not call people in the same class as them classmates they are referred to as colleagues, my emotions have been played with and this is some bullshyt. another point would be who mentioned anything about a amp, how did the girls know they where gonna go to a camp?, and the last news said the girls escaped from where they took them to not labeling the place, now the girls said they jumped off a truck, like are u fucking kidding me, is this some sort of public relations stunt and to what course? because first of all the americans wanna help ay and they are gonna take the glory for something thats not real, nigerians fix up mhen fix the fuck up because these stories are not right, if i have to am clearly gonna take it up and make it a huge issue and interview these girls myself.

Rest in peace Alhaji Ariyo. A great Singer indeed.

I want to ask why a boarding school should be having supper by that ungodly hour if the parade was not plan at first and why would the think those persons are there to rescue them,I went to a broading school and if there is anything like rescus mission it Should have been communicated to their parent and not millitants so this so called government we have are nut.beside were went the teachers and so called pricipals y didn't the travel along wit the rescue mission.nonesense

Lol. Bunch of crap (I'm sorry to say). 1.Secondary school girls talking like political analysts and journalists (and, I don't care which school dey attend)? 2.How can u jump out of a moving vehicle without sustaining injury on impact...just not possible! Dis is a carefully planned and written script. Nigerians don't be deceived! DacDuchess!

nasarawa said...

U were sent to sch, wetin the soldiers dey rescue ina frm? God help our country n d people in it!

Chika Grace said...

Oh God pls intervene in dis case save our girls $ bring dem bk home IJN

Shame on nigeria, failed state. Little girls like this have to fight for their own survival.

Who cares what u believe you flaming faggot.

Exactly what I was thinking but whatever be the case,may God help and be with us

Yes, it is only in a BROADING school that u can be taught to write like dis. Olodo, pls go back to school, u are nt composed at all

#BringBackOurGirls. #TakeOurPoliticians.

This is impressive the comments above, ``nigerians are becoming wiser! THIS STORY IS BULLSHIT! American wants our oil and the Northerners are trying to rule Nigeria! I don't know who is behind this bullshit but so Far our God lives they will be exposed!

GOD BLESS NIGERIA, I WILL NEVER GIVE UP ON OUR NATION!

Ps- please those young kids cannot speak the type of english that this interview is using!
Such a lie! kmt

Na were their shallow mind think go na. The re just children.

This is very impressive! Nigerians are becoming wiser and can see past all the nonsense the government and media are bringing to us.

Firstly, The north has always been in a state of emergency! They use the girls as sex slaves and they kill each other often! it is nothing surprising! maybe that's what their religion allows for, ejoor who am i to judge!
My question is why are Nigerians acting shocked about this news?

Secondly, from 100 to 200 sote they come use our dailing code 234! Abegi e be like say they write mumu 4 our forehead abi? we need an accurate number or a better lie cause this one isn't cutting the chase

Thirdly, America has been trying to come into Nigeria for a long time, we are blessed with oil and with out rising economy this shouldn't be a shocking news. In addition to this, Northerners have been trying to take over Nigeria for a long time, i don't know their evil plan o, whether na say they want chop government abi turn us all to slaves na them sabi. But clearly they have an agenda.
We really don't know who is behind it all but who ever it is will be exposed!

To finish up, this whole story doesn't add up, it is heart breaking to hear about missing kids but with Nigeria that likes to over do if this story was true i can bet they would have brought out some names of the students, teachers, interviews of the locals and etc.

We are over them always trying to use sentimental stories to be wicked, we don't want to hear again!

Nigeria is in a serious state of emergency but pointing hands to the president alone is very stupid because after all he isn't boko haram neither is he trying to get himself killed! he is obviously trying no one wants to have a bad reign in power.

I WILL NEVER GIVE UP ON NIGERIA! AS A NATION WE ARE STRONG AND BLESSED! it's high time we begin to realise this

ps. this interview is an obvious lie, those girls can't clearly speak english that well.
we are over this whole bullshit story! NEXXXXXXT!

Mummy E said...

GOD knows i dont believe all these lies and stories............Nigerians please cant u see what is really happening? nobody is missing we are just looking for missing GHOSTS.... for more info check www.jecintauyo.blogspot.com

So.. 15 year olds know and understand the usage of the word 'insurgents'? Okkk... Good for our educational system o!

Dat was a vry sharp and brave step frm those girls... May God continue to kip dem for thr parents

Candy said...

4 sum reason I doubt dis story. I went 2 boarding skln we hav dinner by 7. N den prep. Which ends arnd 10. Dis story says supper n den dey tot dey were soldiers tryn 2 rescue dem. Where were d other school officials wen dey were told 2 board d vehicle??? God will help our country n deliver us 4rm evil leaders.

Insurgents? which of them used that word??
Ndi oshi punch...gerrout.

You are speaking my mind. I don't believe any of this shit, as sad as it all is, there is still no prove of any abduction

EXACTLY! Thnk u

Sorry oh!!! i really do not understand the story..i know Goodluck has his problem and all but how come all the stories are contradicting each other...Previously the story going round is the girls were writing waec and now the interview is that the kidnapping happened at about 11pm...Excuse me but do they write WAEC at night now?? I have tried not to have doubts about this but i think a lot needs to be questioned because if this is just some facade it really is petty but at the same time if these girls were kidnapped then God help them!

Taught they said they were writing physics WAEC Exams,Now this girl said it happened around 11pm! I'm confused!

Bull crap, I have a mind that connects and from the first day I didn't believe this shit. Will never till We all have solid proof

i dont believe this so if nigerians are not sking for the list of there names and pictures they wont bring out the list and what kind of stupid question are they asking the gurls,they better dont use those gurls for politics ritual...i dont trust our goverment and h so cll mr president badluck or whatever i dont give a back just get us our girls back, i wish it was the politician or gov or president daugther was involve am very suure they wont be sitting down saying ll this shit

Those girls couldn't have used the word insurgent

The incident happened around 11pm? :s thot they were writing trier physics exam? Dem dey write exam for midnight? Northerners pls go n form ur own country o ndi oshi #divideNigeria

Hmmmmm!!
#bringbackourgirlsstupidbokoharamities#

Are there no school in the south?? Why did they choose to kidnap there children??? Those that make sence to u??. Why would the be killing there own people that would vote for them??. What of the schoOl of thought that says!! Gudluck don't want electIoon to hold in north that's why he is fuelling the insurgence??? My friend!! In as much as the are not big fans of ebele!! If the want to kill the wount kill there own. Rething.

GOD almighty will help us in this country....#BringBackOurGirl
Its getting too late.#cry

candy pls learn to read well, she sd they were in their room nt dat they r eatin in dinning by dat tym, just as u mention prep ends by 10pm n d incident took place by 11pm

Wendy M said...

@Candy aswear tz a fake story!!!!!!!b4 11pm z supposed 2 b lite out......So aw come d dinning hall gist entered!!!!!!Our leaders are Finished!

Hehehehe! God u alone knows the true story n situation of Nigeria. Biko help us chukwu.... Cos all we need is redemption.

BIko Linda approvuo my comment biko kwa.... It haf do u....I always comment but I don't see it... Hiian!

Hehehehe! God u alone knows the true story n situation of Nigeria. Biko help us chukwu.... Cos all we need is redemption.

i can't just understand nigeria, i mean nigeria is so rich naturally, instead of using the money to make the country secure, and fighting terrorism, the government is just there eating all the money, damn u better use that your money to stop those boko haram members before they do something worst than they did.

Uncle Jona, U MUST bring back our girls, you MUST and if thats the only thing you achieve as the President of Nigeria, i will applaud you and pls have the courage to divide the north from us, let them go with the name Nigeria and their brutal religion and let us start with a new name and continue serving our one and only true God and his son Jesus Christ.

May boko haram and all their supporters never know peace and may the wrath of God come down mightily on them and their generations in Jesus name. Amen.

I don't believe the story either! Somehow also the words and articulation don't sound like a girl of that age bracket and perhaps quality of school they were abducted from...This is only coming cos people stsrted asking the obvious. #WeAreNoFools

and for a second I thought you had a good head on your shoulders. chai

Wendy, candy and dat anonymous punk..... tis obvious that you guys cannot read

May d roth of d Almighty God be on whoever planned all this, and may all northern leaders never know peace in their lives. IJN AMEN

story story stoooooooooooooooory... even kids from corona are not this articulate

Video of these girls speaking with the interviewer or I don't believe. Shikena!

Insurgents???? They really used that word????!!! Woww...really brillant students!!!! #Kudos

anonymous 11:51AM, brilliant gini? this is a scam jare, hausa's dont speak correct english of such, not to talk of pupil. Na frame up

This is all arrangee. Yes I say is all a plot to discredit the govt

Candy n annon 9;46pm, d interview said "we were in our hostels around 11pm when some men dressed in army camouflag came to d hostel n asked us to go to d dinning hall"
D sstory may b a lie, bt it how dt a lot of libers here jst wnt to make comments without even understanding d content of wt dy read, dy didn't ay dy were writin phyics practicals lyk one of u jst said, n 4 u who is sayin "divide Nigeria" I bet u wld ask dsame tin when u go to d new republic u will b given
Its called comprehension
Solary

is it that people are stupid or what? It was WAEC period not that they were specifically writing a paper at the time of the incident. And FYI, the very day that these girls escaped, BBC news interviewed a couple of the escaped girls before the government cut off access to the media.

Rescue them from what? Was there a prior problem that made them expect soldiers?

This kinda sounds groomed n made up.