'How I died twice with my only child' - mother of Nyanya bomb blast victim tells her story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 7 May 2014

'How I died twice with my only child' - mother of Nyanya bomb blast victim tells her story

A woman, madam Grace Omokoro Joe whose only child was killed in the Nyanya bombing narrated  the untimely death of her only  child who was to resume his first ever work on the said date in Abuja. The woman has been going through tough times since she lost her son. She fainted when she saw her son’s dead body at the park, and fainted the second time when the second bomb blast occurred. Right now, her only brother has relocated her from Nyanya since she can no longer stand the trauma.

Madam Grace spoke at a protest staged by the Nigerian Women in Clergy on Friday, under the leadership of Prophetess Nonie Roberson. The clergy women had used the protest to create a forum to target post traumatic syndrome among people they have identified as ‘forgotten victims’ of the bomb blast. Continue..

Narrating her horrible experience, the woman whose husband is also late said on the fateful day, her only child, Joel Olukayode, a graduate of Federal University of Technology, Minna was to resume his first temporary job in Abuja town. She said " on the fateful morning, we had our morning devotion and I asked my Son to take at least a cup of tea, but he said he was okay, and I gave him my blessing. After 10-15 minutes that he left, the blast went off. I went outside to check if he was still there, but I didn't see him, so I quickly ran to the park, and on getting there, I saw my Son on the ground, dead.  That was the last thing I could remember. He was my only child, and I guess, I died momentarily with him and I died the second time, but God says, there is still time."

Also narrating how they have been coping with the trauma of the blast, Mr. Balogun, brother to the bereaved woman said it was not easy going from one Mortuary to the other, checking all dead bodies of the victims of the blast before they could identify the body of the late Juel Olukayode, a 29 year old graduate of Chemical Engineering. He said "When she fainted, the body was taken away. So, when she was revived, we had to go to almost all hospitals in Abuja where bodies were deposited, looking for Joel's body, before we finally got it. The trauma of looking at almost all dead bodies deposited in various hospitals can better be imagined." Balogun said.

Please, this woman and many others need help.  Well-meaning Nigerians and the government are to join this campaign.
Written by Adoyi Ali

85 comments:

May his soul rest in peace and may the Lord give u strength to bear the loss

God please heal her wound. I wish to play the role of a son to you ma'am.

God abeg help us!

God please heal her wound. I wish to play the role of a son to you ma'am.

Heeyah!sobs#May his soul rest in peace

Is there no good news anymore in Nigeria?? I am tired of seeing dead bodies n people crying, please stop I beg

Wish he had taken that cup of tea. Hmmm. God pls help us 2 always hear when You speak. Give us d spirit of discernment. Even give us patience n make us obedient 2 Your instructions however they come. RIP Joel. May God console your mum.

Urbane Hanger said...

We must stop shedding of innocent blood in Nigeria. It begins with you and I.

HOW TO WEAR BRIGHT COLORED PANTS

Quite heart rendering.may God give her the fortitude to bear this great loss.
You will never understand how it feels till affects you,and to think the president went fro a political rally the next day.

JO said...

I pray that all the people/families undergoing such trauma find strength and peace, Amen. Sochukwuma :-(

Xstacee said...

God help Nigeria..... dis is getting too much.. feel for her

For makeup for all occasions add 7ae6798f

This is sad mehn. Boko haram will pay for all these evil. God pls confort this woman.

Sad! Really a sad one. Take heart madam!

Mz Mimi Lee @ DAVIDO my concern said...

OMG!!!!! Heart broken!! May God give her de strenght to stand dis trauma!

Its really a pity.indeed,nothing compares to the pain of loosing a loved one.

Omg I'm pregnant & my son is going to be call Joel. This is heartbreaking I can't imagine her pain I wouldn't wish it on anyone. So sad

Conflicting story...*shrugs* collapsed when she saw her son's dead body at the park,then moving round all hospitals to located the son's body*confused*

Chai! May God give her d strength to survive and get ova d trauma. RIP 2 d dead.......

This story actually made me cry. God take control of the situation, comfort relatives of the victims and save Nigeria, Amen

Hmmmmmm said...

This is sad , God help us .Nigeria eh now

Anon 11:48 can just use ur head to think? Will they allow her take the body from the scene like that? You have issues if you don't know,you people don't trust anybody.use your head fa! Mtcheeeeeeew.conflicting story ko!

You have issues! Can't u use ur head? Will she get there and just pack the body from the scene? You people should stop watching nigerian films........you are dull, mtcheeeeew

Fool, so he was disobedient right? Taking a cup of tea would have averted the incidence, agreed! But why did you lay so much emphasis on obedience and discernment. Over sabi!

Confused? On this simple written story. Read again my dear or you keep quiet. Must you comment in your confused situation? Please allow reasonable people to talk here.

You obviously didn't read the story well. When she collapsed, her son's corpse was taken to the mortuary with other dead bodies. When she was revived, she (in company of her brother) had to go to the hospitals to look for the son's body. Understood now?

Ode

Bimmy said...

I am really sad about this. Where is she going to start from? It is well with you madam.

Na wa ooo. Maybe God assist her....i pity her. I feel her pains.. God will comfort u Madam.... There's God oooo

Read 2 understand dear, when she fainted, they took d body. So when she woke up, dats when dey started looking for d body again. RIP joel. Its well with us in dis country!

R u dumb or ur brain is jst on halt dt u dnt understand simple written english anymore.didn't u c wen she sed after she fainted,dey took d son's body 2 mortuary whic now made dem 2 go 2 diffferent mortuary so dey can identify his body.Read,understand n tink b4 commenting!!!

This is so painful and so touching, I was shedding tears as I was reading this, the beauty of our imperfection is no respecter of person, and the death of that young man Mr Joel Olukayode, bears eloquent testimony to our state of dystopia, Oh God please wipe out boko haram

Anon 11:48, did u read d story at all before commenting or didn't u read her son's body was taken away wen she fainted...why will u not be confused when ur eyes are for fancy and ur brain twisted..olodo!!

Anonymous u need not insult her,she jst made prayers......y so bitter?

wat a great loss. shes indeed going tru alot of pain. may God give her yhe grace to liveon..........

I can imagine d pain...may his soul rest in peace...cnt wait for dis boko haram to be wipe out

As the President of Nigerian women in Clergy I encourage all of us to join hands together and Remember these forgotten victims, All focused their attention visiting only victims in the hospital with phsical scars, we have these group we call the"Forgotten Victims"they lost loved ones, they saw the attack, they are living but has stopped living since after the Bomb blasts.They are suffering from Post Traumatic stress syndrome. We have set up processes to track them, pray with them, offer counseling, give relief materials, setting up how to track monitor,as to remember them on special occasions like Birthdays, mothers day, visitations, encouraging people to adopt parents that lost only children.The government, everyone has forgotten these victims and also effects of Post Trauma on victims.The visible scar healing is not enough......Nigerian women in clergy ....intercession advocatinging & the voice of the voiceless......Facebook:Pastor Nonnie Roberson

Went to my school. Studied my course. Now dead at 29. That's so sad. Only difference between us, I am no longer in that country. Use your head and vote right in 2015. If not, these news might continue.

U now done go out of line,why d insult? Am sure dis person was only trying to say if Joel had known he would have taken d tea, (cos taking d tea would have placed him @home during d explosion) it was his 1st day @work,he wanted to start on his "foot forward"....Rest in peace Joel...may God give ur mum strenght.
Jennipukka

@BONARIO to think amidst all these losses , tears, ad sorrows the president went for a rally is disheartening .RIP. To the mother may God be with you, comfort you, help you, be your husband ad son. Am so sad

Tynu said...

May God give u d grace to bear this huge loss ma. I was moved to tears. No human being shld be put thru such ordeal. Especially due to d heartlessness of some illitrates fighting 4 no reasonable cause. RIP Joel.

Aymii said...

May God help us not to be @ the wrong place @ the wrong time.......

Sad...may the young man rest in peace.

Its really ur grace dat saves us lord...may God strengthen u ijn

may his soul rest in peace

Gosh, I understnd. I'm an only child n my dad is late too, wen I had an accident ma mom almost ran mad. Oh God pls comfort her. Bokoharam ooooooo Ur days re numbered

Ehya... May God console her. Its not in any way easy to lost a only child.. What a pity

'Mikun said...

May God grant her the fortitude to bear the loss.

I know the tears am shedding right now cant do little or nothing at all but someway somehow, kings and queens shall come to your rising. I know this will remain in you forever but my God the comforter will come to your aid.

Best comments. My heart goes out to her and all those who lost a love one. God please help us.

God save our land. RIP Mr Joel n tak hat ma'ama

Didn't u read on? Mumu, she collapsed nd the body was recovered before she regained consciousness. Must u comment. Ode

Only child, chai

rest in peace joel nd mama it is well.

OMG. May his soul rest in peace. Ijn. Amenf

God, only son and all tne money been spent on him during school hours is nw gone... May his soul R.I.P....

Amen.. Just wondering if such a thing happened to me; as a mother I feel her pain. Just when it's the son's turn to take care of her, death snatches him away frm her; an only child! *sheds tears*, it's only a mother that can understand how she feels, and no amount of support can bring him back. She can only get some closure if BH and their sponsors are stopped.

AnonymousMay 7, 2014 at 11:48 PM.. foolishlness. Madam Grace take heart Ma....May his soul rest in peace

Oh ma may God give the grace to bear such loss n may his soul rest in peace...Amen.

best baby said...

God, dis is so painful

May they soul Rip.

Mena Peters Triflections said...

Too many problems in Nigeria. Years of bad governance and neglect hunting us. Where do we begin?

U are just a fool, Wat has rally got to do with boko-haram, I hope u didn't go to work d next day , after the blast?

DOBY DOBY said...

God wil be ur strength. . Take heart.. I can feel ur pain

Mummy I can't console you enough, but take heart because your son is in a better place where there is no more sorrow. Only Jesus will comfort you.

Kenyan Gal said...

same story back here at home in kenya...nairobi has now bekam a terrorists play ground with grenades and home made bombs going off everywhere on the innocent public...may GOD COMFORT HER FAMILY

Because it hasn't hit you....anyway your entitled to your own opinion.....Eburu ozu onye ozo na. agafe ya adika ebu osisi mana Eburu ozu onye ihu na'anya igaghota otu osi afu...be guided...God is up thr

U r d bigger fool @Anon 12:18

Oh my God!
Keep protecting us.
Mummy Kayode it is well with you

Epic!!! said...

Its just sad reading all this every min, everywhere on social media, news and...God we need you!!!

#Via Smile 4G network

My heart bleeds, I'm in constant pain and fear for my beloved motherland. Only God can give the families fortitude to bear d loss. Take heart ma'am. It is well in jesus name.

I can't even bring myself to imagine her grief.

Lord Have Mercy....RIP

Olaide Davies said...

May God be with you ma .

Olaide Davies said...

May God be with you ma .

bubu endowed said...

U guys are so funny or don't understand wot u read.d mad wuz found wit a baby.some said d baby wuz dead sum said d baby is alive.and u open ur mouth to say he might be innocent.smh

May God see you through. Amen!

What a life kai....God plz heal & comfort dis bereaved woman & her likes. Amen!!

I see dat some people are just in a quest 2 comment so fast dat dey wldn't even read b4 commenting. MU MU.
As for @usarah abuede okodugha mourn with does dat mourn. If u cant do dat go unto d next post, u mustn't read n comment.

Adaeze said...

This is so so sad! May God grant her the fortitude to bear the loss. Amen.

So sowi about dat ma'am,wish I can always be dere 4 u,dear joel may ur gentle soul rest in d perfect peace of God,Amen.

Sad may God heal her broken heart

May the Almighty God help her.

eyaa! ewuo!! may God wipe away ur tears'.0

short of words

He was my friend, short of words right now.

God pls be for her and be her husband ,son and hope, strengthen her ,wish we can help to take the pains away, an only child ,I feel ur pains ma but the lord is your mursul .CHI.

Dear anonymous, I have been following your comments for a while,pls are you at war with the world or you are a celebrity posting in disguise against every one that has ever said wrong about you.

cusatarus said...

Rest in peace Joel..