On the 1st May 2014, Chinedu Ejikere “Edu or Edu Wondon”, (pictured above) the first son and the breadwinner of his poor family was brutally murdered by the Nigerian Police on Obioma Street, Achara Layout, Enugu after he had just gone over to see a friend from the close by Umunogo/ Obianodo Street where his mum owns a small grocery kiosk. Shot at close range in his chest region in what was apparently an illegal arrest went wrong. Continue..
Mr George Eluka of 16 Amawbia Street, Uwani, Enugu friends with Edu Ejikere initiated the supposed arrest of Edu as they had done a business dealing and Edu was owing him just over 100,000 naira so he went to the police and ordered for Edu’s arrest.
While
Edu was at Obioma Street, Achara Layout, having gone to see a friend,
policemen in plain clothes then attacked him. They handcuffed him and
started beating him up, and in trying to put him in the car, one of the
policemen tried to poke him with a loaded gun and it fired. What then
transpired after he was shot was an act of inhumanity. Having fired a
gunshot, the police drew attention to what was happening as onlookers
started running because they thought they were armed robbers.
The police
left Edu on the road for dead and drove off, realizing he still had
their handcuffs, which is a significant piece of evidence, reversed back
to remove the cuffs on him and take their handcuffs thereby leaving no
evidence. On arriving at the scene a crowd had gathered trying to help
the young man who everyone in the area knew as a hardworking, jovial
individual so the police started shooting into the air to disperse
people and of course had everyone running for their lives again. While
in the process of trying to remove the cuffs on him, the people started
shouting trying to alert everyone to block the road with anything so
they won’t be able to leave. And they panicked and left without totally
removing the handcuffs.
The
members of the public then hurriedly took Edu to Eastern Medical
Centre, Enugu where the doctors tried to save his life but failed.
The serial number on the handcuffs # 10338. A pic of Edu below...
*The update we are getting is that the squad that went to make the arrest are from SARS (Special anti-robbery squad) Enugu division and are aware of what happened but are still currently denying knowledge of the identities of the officers who went to make the arrest. Mr George Eluka who initiated the arrest is still currently on the run and hasn't been apprehended.
I
have also attached a picture of the deceased Chinedu Ejikere before he
was killed so people can see how lively the young man was.
Many thanks,
Achara Layout Neighbourhood Association.
124 comments:
Na wa oooh
Nigerian police are so useless let justice be done #bright bravo#
And Frank Mba will tell us Police is your friend.smh
Just like Boko haram,the Nigerian police force is another menace that has robbed many innocent Nigerians of their lives.its quite unfortunate and disheartening.
If they are raping small girls,they'll be shooting drivers for refusing to give bribes.
#ThereIsGodoo!
Oh God! have mercy on ur people.
Blood of Jesus!!!!!!!!!!! Wat is all dis? Just like dat? Police we dnt need u! Ur of no use to dis country! May God wipe all of u, beasts! May u suffer till u die! Ur generations will no no peace. Rest in peace edu!
Nigerian police With their family deserve death by hanging
Animals! I hope they get life sentence . I weep for Nigeria
What a wicked world justice must take it cause and the dead will not allow dem rest until dey fish dem out
God help us in dis country
The Nigerian police are causing more nuisance than the so called agberos,may your soul rest in peace now that his business associate will come and eat his corpse,human being and heartlessness
What a cruel world.
Na waoooo! RIP Edu!
☹ news....2 bad...all dis police are 2 wicked...
My dear Nigeria!! What a pity that at this modern day, security operatives are this cruel and act with impunity! How sad! For the officer(s) in question, perdition awaits you all!
OMG this is my neighbourhood... This is unbelievable. Am soo speechless. SARS enugu zone is the most brutal and deadliest set of policemen that I've set my eyes. Just don't enter their trap else they kill u and throw u inside the river behind their office or better still sell u to kidnappers who happen to be their associates.
Chai!
Nigeria na waa!
Ana ekwu nke ana ekwu, ozo etiputa isi!
May his soul RIP!
#BringBackOurGirls
#JonaDivideNigeria
#EnoughIsEnough
* My R1.50c comment *
Naija police! That a man owes money is not the business of the police, because of small change d accuser must have paid they have ended a life! What a pity
Sad face "Blood in my eyes" sometimes I ask what is the reason for this world.
Wow so sad, I just pray justice can be done for this hardworking young man and his family....
God will judge the evil set of people we call policemen
WHAT A PATHETIC STORY!!.....SAD SAD SAD!!!...THE NIGERIAN POLICE IS ALWAYS ON THE NEWS FOR ALL THE WRONG REASONS....THIS POLICEMAN MUST DANCE TO THE TUNE OF HIS MUSIC!!
Rip
God wud punish them,and generation as a whole,they keep killing innocent ppl all the time.may their children and children die the same way if the try to cover the hoodlums who did thiz.may they knw no peace amen.
Tagun.
In dis my achara layout dt am livin,to b sincere wht happens in dis neighbourhood is wht one can't really explain,cult guys issues,robbery n co,nawaoo,tnk we r plannin relocatin,such a pity,may his soul rest in perfect peace amen!
May his soul rest in perfecr peace. Police is our friend
LINDA IKEJI ,C I C enugu semper family looses yet another person rest in peace edu margoo wondon mgbogboo chaii semper family will miss you LORD KNOWS
Rest in peace Nedu!
Seriously dis forces in naija use gun anyhow..
No hiding place for d wicked. RIP Edu
Ana ya Boko haram, ana ndi ara police! Which kind dead country be this?
Ohh my God, I can't stop crying linda, why is Nigeria police so heartless like dis? I fell in love with him wen I have not read the write up without knowing that this handsome guy is dead, infact those police will never see gud thing in there life they will die a painful death, peace will be far from them and there generation unborn.
Its only in naija dat we hear stories lyk dis. . D worst or annoying part of it is dat dis forces dnt evn do deir job.. they only arrest d poor nd take d lil money dey av.. seriously police and sars shld b deprived of usin gun cos its causing more harm than good to d nation. . 2day is police next its sars.. linda dis sars pple wicked no b small.. they av a station at awkuzu in anambra state.. they kill every tuesday nd its only d poor dat u wil see der abi d rich no dey commit crime. . RIP edu.. may almighty God strengthen ur lovd ones nd family esp ur mum nd siblings
SARS jst wasted dis mans life. jst like dat. May his soul rest in peace. Amen
Nigeria Drama!!!
All dis killings by policemen is becoming too much. Dey ought to be kild too
Am actually in tears on getting this news.. This was my school mate back then in primary school. He lived a quiet life., most times I will be the one looking for trouble and he will always advice me that trouble is not good. May your soul rest in peace "Ejikere ndi Uwa" as I fondly call you. I pray those involved in this dastardly act will be brought to book..
Sooooooo sad!!! Kai. Am short of words. This is what you get when you have illiterates in the police force.
The devil in men!
RIP#so sad#
RIP#so sad#
Nigerian Police and their brutal way of working. RIP Edu
Tired of this country abeg
Inhumanity to mankind
PS linda update us about nigeria Actor Emma EhuMadu, let's knw how he's doin, if him need more prayer? there is a lot of things to pray for, one after the other.
~CYNTHIA~ commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET
Soo bad..smh
..RIP
This so sad,RIP
Nigerian Police is so useless!
This is why citizens hate the police
wat a cruel world. Wil nigeria police ever change?,
This is terrible!
Lindy baby post my comment
Police there is God ooooo!
So sad this happened in my neighbourhood and to Edu...didn't know d last time I saw him would be the last forever...RIP dear!!!
... and justice will not be served as usual in this jungle called Nigeria!
Nigeria feels more like a death trap by the day...smh!!
I hope the policemen are caught. They can't get away with this.
Damn! Naija police why??? God! Where's the justice? The police men in question must face the law for what they have done? The nigeria police force is a disgrace and we are tired of having u folks around.these peeps have done more harm than good for the good people of nigeria.Fuck all these dirty cops. God go punish una one by one. Damn! I hate dis peeps,They have killed a lot of innocent peeps in d name of accidental discharge and to make things worse they are never made to face the law for their crimes. #justiceforEDU#
Worthless Nigerian Police men. May his soul rest in peace.
Anything wrong with him?
Blood of God...evil dat men do,I stay in d same neighbourhood o n I didn't hear dis news,igbariam street 2 be precise..dis is hw dis useless policemen wanted 2 deny I and my friend our rights bcos of a laptop,we kinda fought dem o n people gathered buh tanks be to God dey didn't shot us,though my friend was d stubborn character n d owner of d laptop,I actuali begged him 2 calm down dat dis people is capable of doin nasty tins n at d end Of d day,dey wil jst label us criminals,dis actuali hapund arond dat uwani boys secondary sch,,b4 we culd knw it,we dey DPO office..RIP EDU..nigerian police no be am atall,I jst weak 4 d country
I saw the useless policeman walking freely today. His name is mike and I wish I am God. Edu death will never go unpunished, either in this life or life after
Police !Hmmmm May God punish all of them *tears* imagine dis young chap full of life mtcheeeeew kai God save us pls
That arm of the police force called SARs should be looked into. The don't wear uniforms, there no name or number to identify them. They will surely do more and go free
So sad,rip Oga edu
The Nigeria Police is a corrupt and rotten system and we appeal to the Enugu State Govt to look into the killing of this young man and possibly help in reaching the IG. The handcuffs has the serial number and just like a firearm, every police officer signs before taking possession. I pity that boy that led the police because his life is in great danger. The policemen involved in this dastardly act will not hesitate to eliminate him to cover up this heinous wickedness to humanity. The police should open up and expose those behind this deadly act because they know them.
Its high time people have it in their minds that police is not ur friend! Infact I dnt see any difference between ds bastard police n d bloody filthy cowards known as Boko haram. Imagine idiots assigned to protect lives n properties? Is ds not a big shame on ds country? They should jus remember that there is God oooooooooh, Awon olosho.
Rip edu..........
Chai! Datz world for u my people
NIGERIAN POLICE!!!
RIP Edu. Nigeria, ike gwukwara. $£.
Nigerian police that ÈŠ̝̊̅§ supposed to protect our lives n @ every little money offered to them by individuals they go ahead n waste another person. RIP mr Edu.
Its a pity and you are such a good person, my first meeting with you was such a good first impression... Kai! May your soul rest in peace.
when will nigeria get rid of these bad eggs in d police force, those that were not trained, illiterate ,animals, hegoats the worse part is that they just go scort free d govtment will not take action concerning this inhumane act
RIP Chinedu ejikere am still never believe the story until I saw this picture of u.my classmate from jss1 to ss3
Chineke zoputa anyi biko
RIP Chinedu ejikere
And people still wonder why police stations are set ablaze... Jungle justice is appropriate in this matter, believe me.
Chai Nedu Nwannem a laaa.... *waterrunawaymyeyes*...#thereisGodoh!..thereisGodooooooohhhhh*
Haa nigerian police our girls are dyin in d hands of the so called boko haram una no fit do anytin buh 2 go shot innocent man chia chineke mere anyi ebere
May his soul rest in peace.
'Jikere ka-anyi ga lesson'as we happily sang with ur surname in Mrs Nwosu's class, Zik Avenue primary school, primary 5. U were jovial even as a child. Can't believe this is how I will read about u, very sad story. May God rest ur soul.
What we need is justice. The murderer hiding under police uniform should be be prosecuted. That is the only way we will start considering police as part of our society. Else it is the police against our society. Edu cannot even hurt a fly yet he died a painful death in the hands of the Nigerian police. We are pleading to human right activists and legal practitioners to come to our aid and fight for justice for this young man. His death needs to be avenged.
Who knows who will be their next victim
Edu my good friend, I spoke with you on the phone 3 hours before your death, this world is useless.May your soul never rest in peace until all their family are dead, may their families and children never achieve anything life. idiots
#Justiceforchinedu let us start a petition to the Inspector General's notice.
Those we love don't go away,
They walk beside us every day,
Unseen, unheard, but always near,
Edu,its very unfortunate, but we know you are still very near. R.I.P
Edu, its very unfortunate, but we know you are still very near.R.I.P
Still loved, still missed and very dear.
Life is full of suprises, today you make a proposal, tomorrow you have a different result. Chinedu, couldnt have believed that his transaction with his friend that he owed, could lead to his death. The imidiate solution is to calm the families involved... the Chinedu's family and the Eluka's family whose names are being given wrong impression. The IG should not pretend that nothing happened. He should imidiatly give orders tat the police should stop harrassing innocent people living around the area. The State Commissioner of police should be humble enough to apologise to the citizens of Enugu for that police brutality, although it was an accidental discharge. The police should send their men for constant updating and friends and well wishers should keep on praying and encouraging the Chinedu's family. The Eluka family that is now being tagged negatively for using a legitmate means should be duely compensated for the defamation of their names. It is from this point that things can take better shape
God of mercy,I know that guy wella oo,he stays near my area in AL,I haven't heard this ooo,probably cos am in school...justice Abeg o
Edu all I can say is that your killers will never go scot free. Atleast we've known the name of the police man (Mike). We want justice. Mike will never know peace. Calling on all Semper Fidelis guys to join in the fight for #Justiceforedu. Linda,thank you for a good work.
The problem with Nigeria is lack of discipline, no justice people re not responsible for their actions. We need a new justice system and more prisons.
The pains Nigerian Police causes everyday is more than the little or no good they do. God have mercy
These SARS guys are weed addicts, their head no correct at αℓℓ. RIP to the deceased. And αѕ for his friend, hope he has been paid the money he has been owed. People shaa.
Mazi nwannem I feel ur pain,I knew how close u guys were...May His soul continue to rest in peace!
I think Nigerian Police has killed more innocent people than Boko sef.
RIP Nwanne m! RIP okene!
See how they wasted my friends brother's life . # justiceforEdu
business patners sha!!!mike or wotever ur name is,don't worry u re so on ur way to ur doom.it certain u can't go scot free
RIP. Vengeance is mine says the Lord. May God give the family fortitude to bear the loss.
ola lib
We have not receive any official statement from the police. If it was a useless policeman that was killed by an armed robber, they will come to Achara Lay Out and start arresting anybody they see on the streets. If they like, let them deploy the officer who killed Chinedu to Sambisa forest, Achara Lay Out youths will go there and fish him out. Then, we will try him in our court and deal with him accordingly. As for George Eluka, you had better reveal the identities of these cops because they are looking for you too to shut you up permanently.
PLEASE CAN SOMEONE TELL ME OF ONE GOOD THING THAT THE NIGERIAN POLICE HAS EVER DONE?NOT EVEN ONE GOODNEWS ABOUT THEM AND STILL THE ARE BEING PAID.HE WHO KILLS BY THE SWORD MUST DIE BY IT.JUSTICE MUST PREVAIL.RIP EDU
RIP EDU.SOO SAD.
I will advise his family and friends to take this matter to Brekete family in Abuja(live on radio every morning monday to friday 7:30 to 8:30 Love Fm 104.5) Ahmed Isa is the voice of the voiceless.Police in Enugu will not prosecute their own. Hand it over to Brekete family to take it up with Frank Mba.
HMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!! Nigerian police only una waka come...chaii chaiii der is God oooo!!!!
If the blood of this young man has not already cried out to God for vengeance on the perpetrator and accomplices who have carried out this act, I will add my pained request for just one curse on them and their immediate family unto ten generations......'the earth shall open up and swallow all your goods, houses, peace and serenity of your spirit AND you shall run from pillar to post with no hope of recompense'
Somadina, nobody has any issues with Eluka so don't be pathetic. Somebody's son is lying in the mortuary and you talking about compensating the family of the person that caused the death. I don't know your relationship with the Eluka family but if you don't have anything reasonable to comment, just stay off. Our aim is to let the authorities intervene and bring the perpetrators to justice. Afterall, we all know that the boy did not order the police to shoot Chinedu.
Well said! Justice is all we want. People who are paid to protect us cannot be killing us yet we complain about Boko Haram. BH are known terrorists but this is worse than BH. Such thing will not happen in South Africa because citizens are allowed to carry firearms. It is my opinion that when the police join terrorists in killing us, then there is need for the government to arm the citizens. Otherwise, we arm ourseves and fight back, Period!
SARS!!!! You will be surprised how u can manipulate and use SARS when you have about 50,000. They can do and undo
rip edu wondon .
So sad that the people protecting the community are now the criminals terrorising the place.May the soul of this handsome young guy rest in peace.
This is what I have been talking about. Look at all the comments. The deceased is Igbo...the person who went to report him is Igbo...everything happened in Igboland. Nobody on this blog has come out to say something detrimental about Igbo peeps becos of this. Had it been a Yoruba case, some people here would have come out with such tribalistic gabbage. Seriously a lot of people need to grow up. This can happen anywhere in Naija! Igbo or Yoruba...a bad person is a bad person!
Rip Edu. May God receive your soul and give you eternal rest from this wicked world. Semper Fidelis
Enough is Enough! I think the IG of police should just scrap SARS because they have deviated from the specified duty for which they were formed. If they were busy with armed robbers, I don't think they'll have time for domestic affairs. A woman quarrels with her husband-SARS; a trader owes another trader-SARS, teacher flogs student-SARS, boyfriend and girlfriend argue-SARS, two fighting in face me I face you compound-SARS, mechanic spoil oga motor-SARS. Are we going to run out of this town because of these monsters we have created to protect us. Is SARS not Special Anti Robbery Squad? Why are they doing the jobs of police, road safety, VIO, customs and immigration. The powers given to these animals have completely taken control of them. The anti kidnapping and terrorist squad are more responsible and focused on their specified duty. JUSTICE IS WHAT WE ASK FOR!!!!
It's a shame hw we do not value lives in Nigeria. When we r doin smthings to a fellow human, we shld really think if same thing is bn done to us or our family member. I've Net with dis young, innocent Man n right now, I am Left with one question. Why is it difficult 4 nice pple to stay alive mostly in Nigeria? We better brake it if it a curse.If nt,we will have to answer to the nxt generation. ESP, the police whom we r suppose to entrust our safety to.Meanwhile, the World is watchn Nigeria n iré mess!!!
SARS has been biased. Please something urgent needs to be done. #justiceforedu All we need is justice. Mike won't go scot free. Edu,you won't die in vain.
Abeg how we fit do am? We no dey Abuja.
hmmmmmmmm
sad too sad.
Edu was like a fifth brother from another mother. From our primary school days to now,he is been so quiet,hardworking and vibrant. One thing I know is the day of reckoning is here. Edu's blood spilled on that Achara layout ground is echoing justice. There is no Hiding place for this Eluka and Sars. Eluka come and eat his corpse now and vomit ur money!!Edu God will give your mum and siblings fortitude and inner peace..As u rest in peace,calamity awaits them,the earth will not contain them,till they turn themselves in IJN.AMEN.
Edu may ur soul rest in perfect peace Amen.SO SADDDDDDDDDD
Edu the world in deed is a wicked place, but believed it justice must play it role! REST IN PEACE nwa
Igbo men are ballless.once they are killed all you will hear is RIP. These police men who kill you like goats will continue until you know what is called revenge. If you can't hit them personally, hit their children or other family members, all you need is a single catradge.There is no benefit of justice for the dead therefore just shut your coward mouths and take action instead.
Rip