Four killed in well trying to retrieve bucket in Cross Rivers State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 May 2014

Four killed in well trying to retrieve bucket in Cross Rivers State

This is a strange story. Four men including two brothers drowned in a well in their compound at Ogoja Road, Ikom in Cross River State, while trying to retrieve a bucket that fell into the well.

According to a Vanguard report, the first person to enter the well was John Ushie, who lived in the compound. While preparing to go to work that day, he went to the well in the compound to fetch water but the bucket he was using to draw water fell in the well. He thought it was a good idea to try to retrieve the bucket but ended up drowning when he jumped into the well.

His brother, Boniface, who was not around when the incident occurred, rushed home and jumped into the well to rescue his brother but also downed in the process.

When Boniface didn't come out, another neighbor jumped in to try to rescue the two brothers and he too drowned. When the landlord of the house, Eyung Ebam, saw what had happened, he too jumped into the well to rescue the drowned men and...yes, he also drowned. Sounds like something from 'Tales By Moonlight' but apparently this really happened. Continue...

From Vanguard
“It was at this point that nobody was willing to get into the well and the National Drug Law Enforcement, NDLEA, officials who were mounting a road block close to the house called the Fire Service and they arrived soon ”, an eye witness told Sunday Vanguard.

The eye witness explained that when the Fire Service men arrived, one of them jumped into the well with a rope with which he tied the landlord who was the last person to drown  in order to pull him out. “He tied the rope around his chest region and gradually his colleagues dragged him out but when he got close to the point they wanted to grab him and pull him out, the rope slipped and he went down again hitting the others inside which may have eventually killed everyone inside,” the neighbour said.

The four bodies were pulled out by the Fire Service men and taken to County Hospital, Ikom Four Corners and the victims confirmed dead by Dr. Ukwam, the medical doctor, there. An official of the Cross River State Fire Service, Ikom, Mt Linus Ework, said he got a distress  call at about 7 am and he and his men rushed to the scene to rescue the victims but “it was unfortunate that it was a little too late as three of them were pulled out dead”.

72 comments:

May their souls rest in peace #bright bravo#

ordinary bucket as cost dem dia life

Which Nigerian Celebrity Has These Shape ?

Mystery

dis sounds like one of basket mouths jokes. first person jumped in, 2nd followed, 3rd followed ,4th folowed, jst becos of bucket.....HAHA.......May their souls rest inpeace. AMEN......

femi said...

na wa !! tinz we here

something to spice up ur sunday These are the funniest church posters you’ll EVER see!!

This is not ordinary! An evil attack! Wonders! RIP to d dead...

Please this is not witch craft,that nonsense doesn't exist. This boys didn't know how to swim. That was their death.RIP

Too bad...

R.I.P Yall... Sai!!

……………..
¤GROWN MAN IN A YOUNG BODY¤

MikkeyJ said...

Lolz...They were jumpin one after the other. Funny but terrible. Bad news.
Damn!

I know every dunce and moron on LIB will start shouting witch craft. There's nothing like that. This boys couldn't swim, they where not prepared, to. Rescue someone u have to be prepared and skilled for the task. RIP biko.

Gosh bad news, wat a story..

There's definitely an evil spirit behind this mystery.I have heard of such exact incidence that happened in Sokoto state many years ago.About 6 persons died there.

Nigerians pls be prepared with the adequate equipment and skills when going on a rescue mission. All you people shouting witch craft and supernatural bullshit,pls shut up,that shit doesn't exist. RIP.

End tym tinz May deir souls rest in perfect peace

FDJ

Nwa Aba said...

This is strange, but the fourth person to die na Mugu

dhobiz said...

This is really strange,what could have happened?

Jesssssssssss this is strange I think there must be something inside the well that drowned them.

Nkan bee! Orisirisi wey dey happen on dis earth!

Holy jesus!!!! This is d madness of d highest order.4 pple drowned in a day cos of bucket.is d bucket Gold.

It's spiritual jor....haba

Lady kim kim said...

Ahhhhhh dis is indeed strange and pathetic

Witchcraft at work.

bella j said...

hmm this s crazy... na wa oh, na witchcraft thingsss...

I just hope that the bucket was made of diamond.. never heard in my life of people jumping inside a well just to bring out a bucket that fell into it.

Hat kind of pathetic rescue operation is that? Tying a rope around the chest of someone thats drowning? ThTs first degree murder!! Nigerian rescue people need to be flown abroad and trained how to rescue thoroughly.

Is this for real?it sounds strange to me.

Ope said...

Demonic manipulation

Eugenia Ekeji said...

This is daring a Lion's Den.

chaiii...ochokiipo!!!

This story is hard to believe

This is scary,no tale fairy.#tayo

AZ said...

Tragedy!!! Four people died bcos of one bucket

DOBY DOBY said...

Dis is sooo sad.. may deir souls rest in peace

It so like a joke and funny,cos of bucket! I can see why GEJ no get and dull in nature.seems people 4rm in town na moron.RIP

Mot

Not ordinary obviously. Have heard of a case of, a boy drowning in a stream, his brother rushed to help but, instead the brother drowned and the boy survived. Shit happens! We all live by the mercy, grace and love of God.

All these people that claim to be exposed and will come and comment thrash, wait until something strange happens to you. Na una go take front seat 4 TB Joshua church. Yeye!

This story belongs in Ripley's believe it or not. Strange sh*t!!! That well has being condemned and 4 lives lost just for a bucket that cost no less than 200 naira. So sad

ur from whc of the planet? jess bkuz u dont bliv in it doesnt mean it doesnt exist. am not sayn d cause of d dead persons is witchcraft buh diaz a higher life to this physical life*get ur butt together

Bony bony said...

Wonders is not ending oooo baba God see nigeria tru

Serious, the whole thing sounds funny but mehn this is so damn painfull...... May the souls of the dead R.I.P......
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

What's a story!!

So strange rip

This is so strange may dere soul rip

You don visit that area before? Dey there o.

They have killed dem all at night

Sweet heart, do ple swim in wells? SMH

Not a believable story... They should perform an autopsy to determine if they drowned...sounds like a very convenient murder...

Sometin must be wrong some where. What is bucket dt can cause d death of four men nt children.

R.I.P

Um Nawa oh, all of dem are trying to do Nigerian superman. And they died rip

Na well.....no b river,Mr/Miss swimmer

Very funny but sad. I think the well 'winked' at them or probly whispered to them to jump in... na wah o

Its only in calabar u will see this rubish...mumu people....LONLYDON

Rumestikal618 said...

I dont understand o; a well with water, men trying to rescue bucket cum human being. But as a Pathologist-in-training. All four deaths can be explained and yes,it can happpen

Linda tuk tru sey diz no b anoda foolish naija film coz diz cnt b real...... Jump inside Well 2 rescue like is a pool?anywayz let d dead bury d dead.case closed

gold said...

this is one of the funniest things i have heard my life seriously because of a bucket who does that, anyway rip

Quite sympathetic! RIP to the deceased!

God have mercy.RIP
#UKWU 1 say so#

Preety said...

Ordinary bucket?Shey bucket don finish for his house ni? Where ws d eye witness wen all of dem got drowned? Abi hw did dey knw it ws d brodas 1st, followed by d neighbour and finally d landlord? Funniest story ever.

May dey souls rest in peace Amen

Why does the headline say four people??? I'm counting five (5)...

1. John Ushie
2. Boniface (John's brother)
3. Un-named Neighbor
4. Eyung Ebam (landlord)
5. Fire Service man

It's high time Nigeria's journalists (starting with you Linda) start taking university-level classes in English Composition and Writing.

***Lush

You are the dunce and moron on this blog clearly. Do pple swim in wells????

tobechi ozueh said...

4:45 tanx 4 askin him dat quesh,if to say u dey der 2 u 4 jump enta makin it 5ppl hopin u wil swim out....ODE

5 died.

amarule said...

Confirm, nothing like witchcraft but seriously they do exist but you dont need to believe on that. God is 1 and he his the only supernatural man. RIP 2 DEM STILL.

amarule said...

Confirm, nothing like witchcraft but seriously they do exist but you dont need to believe on that. God is 1 and he his the only supernatural man. RIP 2 DEM STILL.

Bbg Eze said...

Na wa o. It's like der'z smtin in d well dt was puiling dem 2come. Sad sad situation. RIP 2dead

Sounds strange. That should convince us that it's not ordinary when d bucket was not made of diamond. There is more to this. No human being on earth would want enter a well to rescue any one when the first and second persons were drowned already. The third person would never have entered the well for a rescue operation on a normal ground. There is really more to this spiritually

ZeeZee said...

Maybe there is something spiritual in that water or most likely an animal tearing them apart may their souls RIP