#BringBackOurGirls: Actress Anne Hathaway leads protest in LA | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 May 2014

#BringBackOurGirls: Actress Anne Hathaway leads protest in LA

Oscar winning actress Anne Hathaway yesterday Thursday May 8th took to the streets of Los Angeles to raise awareness for the Bring Back Our Girls cause. She was joined by her husband Adam Shulman and a few others. During the protest, Anne grabbed a megaphone and said...
"These Nigerian girls are part of the 5% who are able to seek an education, they were taken from their beds in the middle of the night by cowards, cowards who tell them that girls do not deserve an education. Do we agree with these cowards?" she asked the crowd, then yelled, "What do you want?" the crowd replied "Our girls!"
See more photos after the cut...

147 comments:

May Gof bless una.
Bringbackourgirls.

FUNMINISTA said...

Now I. Wish I was among those girls,I for don turn star.what else can make the whole world look stupid?*thinking*

its all good. we need our girls back

Thanx

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Chai... We need our girls oo.... Abeg.. Make this BH bringbackourgirls oo

Hello pals, I would love you guyz to take a stroll on my tech blog, We offer latest on freebrowsing tips, computer tips, mobile tips and other related tips.

I guess dencia also told Hathaway bout it too...*rolling my eyes *

Anne hathaway my screen goddess! I luv u and luv u more in devil wears prada. Way to go gal! Sure it was dencia dat sent d message across to her too! Lwkmd!

Aww! this is lovely.God bless these people.

Only God in heaven knows if and when our girls will be brought back..

Miss Atinuke said...

Dats very great of her bt the thing is its already 25days since dis girls went missin nd u tink dey ill be found nw? To all d celebs takin pics from deir bedrooms,dat wnt solve d problem..stand up nd fight,most of dis girls must av been married to older men,some may av been killed..like i mean its 25days already! I jst hope werever dey re may the Lord guide and protect dem all..Amen!

Her heart and intention is in the right place, but her statistics are WAYYYYY off! How can she say only %5 percent of Nigerians attend school? This is what I don't like about these Hollywood bruhaha. They sensationalize stories to make it sound more interesting.That ticks me off for real. Like I said, her heart is in the right place. But she should get her stats right...

These people will be disappointed when the find out no girls were missing o

Bless her soul #bringbackourgirls

Please where is Dencia, Oops i see she is busy texting Nicki her bleaching cream bulk Purchaser! oops i 4got, Nicki doesnt use cheap Hydroquinone laced poisons! Choi! Eat your heart out VAIN CAMEROONIAN! See Gist! You wont believe what happened

This is serious.

Nice one.

Esther Oyiza Kokori said...

Right now I feel like crying, anytime I listen to the news abt these gurlz I feel cold now its real and I can't help thinking it could av been me or my sisters. God pls help them, I don't want to imagine the trauma they are going through, tears.

Finally u got the gist Linda nwa Ikeji. Nice sha.

5%??? Where s heck did she get that statistic from???

NigerianGirl said...

Much as we appreciate the fact that the struggle against terrorism and Boko Harram is a global one. Much as we appreciate the ability of American celebrities to lend their voices to the search of our daughters. it is also important that the figures are gotten right! I believe that the percentage of Nigerian girls who are educated and getting educated are way more than 5%. Calculated by density, I bet that figure tops the number in American and most of the western world. SO before coming out to put out figures appropriate research should be made so as not to look a complete twat or stereotypical 'ignorant american'. I nor blame them. Na us mess up our own house sooooteee na the neighbours don de shout se our house de smell. Kai! we need a revolution! Ahan! Kilode?!

NigerianGirl said...

Much as we appreciate the fact that the struggle against terrorism and Boko Harram is a global one. Much as we appreciate the ability of American celebrities to lend their voices to the search of our daughters. it is also important that the figures are gotten right! I believe that the percentage of Nigerian girls who are educated and getting educated are way more than 5%. Calculated by density, I bet that figure tops the number in American and most of the western world. SO before coming out to put out figures appropriate research should be made so as not to look a complete twat or stereotypical 'ignorant american'. I nor blame them. Na us mess up our own house sooooteee na the neighbours don de shout se our house de smell. Kai! we need a revolution! Ahan! Kilode?!

Damn.... 9ja ooo we done suffer. Nigeria should just divide itself.

jessicamor. said...

God bless dem richly,there neva said GEJ u r stupid or u r a coward,pls kip praying 4 Nigeria's there is notin God can not do,he sees all n he knows wat we r goin tru right now,prayers!!!!!!!!!!prayers!!!!!!!!!! Dat is what we nid.

An Dennis tell Anne make e protest too?

God bless all their efforts at identifying with us.
#BringBackOurGirls

Mab said...

How nice of her, ##bringbackourgirls

One love my dear advocate. They are more than cowards, fools that hv no respect for woman hood, what a pity and shameful thing. Weak pigs.

God bless u guyz.

Jesus Reigns said...

Thank you Lord for this awareness,if nothing at least it has made Goodluck Jonathan's sleep restless. Useless man who doesn't care what happens to his citizens. Anyway what shld I expect from someone who consistently sleeps with a dumb wife/dumb companion. Seriously how did we get here?,how did it get this bad? Msheeeeew am upset with this country for real. But God will help us.i know He will

Doro Diva said...

Dese pple r taking it P more dan naija celebs sef.......hmmmn. Una weldone o

Choi oyibo sabi so something sha, see how nice looking their placards are lol. #bringbackourgirls.

Tnx baby. Me like u too much.

impressive. .it gave me goose bumps

Naijaporntube said...

Watch Nigeria sex tape and cool down ppl
http://naijaporntube.mobi/nigerian-sex-tape/

DOBY DOBY said...

Nice one.. dnt worry it wil soon be over..

mula said...

Mama we made it!!!

panafricanist said...

Way to go Anne Hathaway. Thanks 4 supporting us Nigerians on this quest to #BringBackOurGirls

kabir said...

Awwwww...this is just so touching..thank u

Jeezzz! A very nice demonstration. Thanks Anne

Ozed said...

Good Anne.The cowards must bring back our girls.They hate western education but everything they use is a product of western education.Cowards.

Linda it's osacr award winner not nominated. ...#BringBackOurGirls

Milipadarose said...

It's heart-warming to have such love and support from USA, Britain, France, China and celebrated persons such as Mitchell Obama, Anne Hathaway and others. May God bless this cause by giving us back our giving and putting an end to terrorism in Nigeria and d world. God bless all of u who care and grant us victory. Amen.

I lyk her speech #BringBackOurGirls

Yoruba hausa igbo calabar let's come to reality, this people are just playing games no body is missing my fellow nigerian let's try to think about this am Not supporting any party but let's look at the issue well, mark my word today buhari and babangida are the boko haram boss and governor of maiduguri know about all what's happening don't let those people full us

Dear Linda, Anne Hathaway is not an Oscar nominated Actress, she won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress in 2013 for her role in Les Miserables *first time commenter btw* lol

#BringBackOurGirls

DeNnis? Ahaaa! Wat of denzel?????????

Thanks for lending your voice Ann, it means alot to us. You're so sweet !

Bless her,I pray all our effort won't be in vain

U dey mad ni, i bu onye ara? Kai...how u come worse like dis #iSorryForUrMama# onye uwa.
Jennipukka

5percent ni ,hw can she say dat wen nigeria 60percent of our population are graduates ,she wan try us ,like americans gp to school ,we dnt need hypocritical suport

Na dencia tell Anne......she should go inside cos her skin go peel if she ever dey inside dey protest...stupid geh

5percent ni ,hw can she say dat wen nigeria 60percent of our population are graduates ,she wan try us ,like americans gp to school ,we dnt need hypocritical suport

Mr Wilheminna Moses abi na wetin b ur name sef? Na only sabi ur name, just like na only u waka come! Shebi u wan just tell us say u sabi d name of d film wen ann hithaway dey, am sure dats d only film of hers u knw am sure of dat! Shhhhh, sabi sabi. Xtel is ma Name

Lol this isn't funny, and I know I'm not supposed to say this but these hollywood celebrities are beginning to annoy me. I'm just getting the vibe that some of them do not even know what they are talking about. Lol she said the girls were taken from their beds in the middle of the night?! What? Then she says these "Nigerian girls are part of the 5% who are able to seek education". I don't know if this lady thinks she auditioning for a role or something. But if she's going to do something as serious as this, she should get her darn facts right. The really funny ones are the sheep that followed her. I am sure half of them don't even know what the "bring back our girls" stand for. To be honest, the hashtag has taken on a different meaning internationally.
It is well

Esther kokori, abeg shut up for thr, if u really feel touch, we don't need ur tears or speculartions, just go on knees in da middle of da nite n beg God with those tears, instead of sheddin crocodile tears, who cares if u cry or not, only God sees d tears so cry to God nt to lindas blog. Xtel is ma name

Mr anonumous, is it statistics dat is ur problm? How many of una Nigeria stars don carry microphone enter road protest? Atleast she tried by creatn dis awarness, u shl b atleast grateful, if it were dem dat there gals were kidnap, one Nig wil not protest dat am sure of, shhhhhh, xtel is ma name

Mr Wilheminna Moses abi na wetin b ur name sef? Na only sabi ur name, just like na only u waka come! Shebi u wan just tell us say u sabi d name of d film wen ann hithaway dey, am sure dats d only film of hers u knw am sure of dat! Shhhhh, sabi sabi. Xtel is ma Name

You must be sick to hv said that. You are as wicked & useless as Akpabio.

Taken from their beds kwa!! Na wa oo....

Come oh I've been thinking this Boko leader shebe him were cloth he de use computa ko he use paper he use pen right him speech no be western education be that he talk say say he no b illiterate den he is a bloody hypocrirty he needs to kill him self first na only stone and water and knife he need to use

LOL, PLACE COME TAKE STYLE RESEMBLE NNPC ABUJA.............NO, BUT SERIOUSLY, #BRINGBACKOURGIRLS!

You can only fault her if u hv d correct figure.pls stop dis unnecessary ranting.

God bless U real good sweet lady. Linda pls put up that Maku's CNN suff. Is he mistaking CNN for NTA? Your boss went dancing skelewu few hours after d girls were abducted & here defending trash.

Ama sle said...

Awww..that's so cool,thanks guys!

You can only fault her if u hv d correct figure.pls stop dis unnecessary ranting.

Do you know how many nothern girls are out of school? These people don't play wt figures that can't be verified.

You must be sick to hv said that. You are as wicked & useless as Akpabio.

Wait who are you people protesting to, abi for or against? You think boko haram will just return the girls cus you said so? I mean the government have heard sooooo ?

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

May d God I serve wipe u with d holy cane .....oloshi!

BukkyLagos said...

Wow!!!The show of love from all over is overwhelming.Its just so glad to see that some people actually do care no matter what race it is.They are not even here but raising awareness and showing so much love.I pray that God will remember y'all for this great act of love and protect you from the evils of this perilious times.

No girl let alone girls were kidnapped..

In nothern Nigeria, yes! Even less than 5%
$$k@y$$

You're a fool Funminista, have you no shae? You're a child of Lucifer, how dare be talking shit all along, if you were one of the innocent girls in the bokoharam camp, you will pray that the awareness never seizes, cos that's sort of like your only hope, as long as ppl keep this in the face of the world and the government, they will make it priority, thank God for the western celebrities, they came into this, cos they wanted the US government to be aware and be involved, the #obamahelp, they achieved something, they got us some help, so who in the hell are u? if u were in boko haram net, it won't be saying crap my dear, u don't know what its like to be away from home and away from hope, so sTFU, ur talk as well as your silly face disgust the world... Shut it!!! why shouldn't every body talk about this and raise placards, hasn't this gone on long enough, how much more blood has to keep crying, do u have a heart of stone, doesn't all the happeniNgs weaken you, the fact that the awareness has gotten us help is a good enough achievement, and we won't stop till teRrorism is wiped from nigeria and from the face of the earth.. So please everyone raise placards, cry, wail, lose your sleep, lose appetite, the kardashians shud talk, don't play down on them and use this opportunity to disrespect them, atleast the emulate love and concern its better dan not being concerned, they did nothing wrong that to show love... Lupita speak, Chinwetal where the hell are you, where's Beyonce, the world should come out and help us end the virus that is eating deep. Have u lost someone is all this attack? No u haven't, if u have u wud differ in ur reasoning and understand what pain is.. we agree terrorism has over powered us, we are confused weak, scared, we agree. Just come safe our asses.... How dare you say ppl are making a show of it, yes they are, its a show of love, and help, they should not stop, we enjoy it, we appreciate, not just about chibok but terror and security. Thank you Anne Hathaway, Thanks to every celebrity who's been warm about this, don't mmind all this pako Nigerian girls.. #Endterrorrism #Bringbackourgirls.

US CELEB SEEMS TO CARE MORE ABOUT OUR GIRLS THAN OUR CELEBRATED PROSTITUTES.LINDA THANKS FOR SHOWING ALL THIS.IT MAKES ME BELIEVE THAT ALL WILL BE WELL.UNLIKE DAT STUPID NAIJAGIST WHO ONLY SHOW NONSENSE OR POST FOOLISH NONSENSE WHERE D USELESS IDIOT THAT R THERE ARE ALWAYS INSULTING D PRESIDENT IF LAUGHING D WIFE.SOMEBODY SHOULD CLOSE DOWN DAT USELESS BLOG CALLED NAIJAGIST.COM

26BAAF84 said...

Gud...nice move. Man addicted to p*rn launches bid to Marry his laptop

Geraldopino90 said...

Tanks Anne .Dencia boko haram will soon carry u so u can serve as light in d forest 4 them bcos u don white pass bulb light idiot fowl

Geraldopino90 said...

Fuminista ur comment thou

Geraldopino90 said...

Tanks Anne .Dencia boko haram will soon carry u so u can serve as light in d forest 4 them bcos u don white pass bulb light idiot fowl

Linda, good job with your blog always making it richer with information. However note that Anne Hathaway is not an Oscar nominee, she IS AN OSCAR WINNER - Les Miserables

Thanx to everyone who has lend their voice to this cause... *wewantourgirls*

Louis said...

I think we are doing the best we can, in terms of prayers and media publicity.... We can't take torches into the bush to look for the girls or who can...like I said prayers and media... After all..The US, Britain, France are helping...results! Isn't it?

I like this woman...sweet Anne...but d mistake she made was that they were taken from their beds in d middle of the night...false gist ma'am...they were abduted from their school...

What does it matter whether 3% or 5%, at least shes doing what is right! Does the statistics bring food to your table or better your life ? Some nigerians are just so pissing with their useless comments

Can u hear yourself at all? Smh!

I laugh at how stupid this guys will look when the truth comes out #nogirlswerekidnapped

Anon 12.33, will you shut up ur mouth if you have nothing good to contribute. Did GEJ abduct the girls?? Did you not hear that the government ordered the school closed down but the state governor instructed them to open it bcuz its a state owned school?? I wonder when pple like you will start making use of their brains.

Linda Anne won an oscar last year pls correct that to oscar winner!!! It is quite offensive ko!!!!

All u they're pretty much doing is talking, what needs to be done is get a manhunt to where these girls are and get them safe and sound to their families...please post this comment with a matter of urgency

XYZ said...

I swear, I have seen a lot of stupid people here, a lot !!!!. But you, FUNMINISTA take the crown.. Your dumbness is next to none... May God deliver you from this deadly disease of chronic stupidity... Smh

Linda are you still sleeping?, wake up the girls are found- check vanguard.

Make una bring back our girls ooooo

Everyone are crying out Loud yet this BH Junkies ain't stoping this there Inhumane.
Motherf**kers "Bring Back our Girls" ooh!
> 2LITY <> 2FACE & LINDA'S Numbr OnE FaN.

Now I know. Why ur fish brain is so myopic dense....how would you even think like that.....babe u fuck up, and I go treat ur fuck up..

#bringbackourgirls #takefunminista4life #AkeborjeOniranu

Be careful of wat u wish for, u think those girls r in paradise? Do u know d trauma they must b going through, do u know how many of them dat would have been raped by now . Do u know how they eat or sleep. I don't wish dat for my worst enemy. Be careful.

Linda there's dis broadcast going around dat Boko haram leader has declared Jihad n asking its members all over d country to pick up weapons n start killing all eXcept those who believe in Allah. Pls confirm if its true.

omenah said...

If U get sense u wouldn't wish dat

My heart melts each time I see all dis protest, im so touched! Lord pls rescue our Nation,gve us peace....bring back those girls.

I pity u and those gals wish dey were free like u

Everybody now wants a piece of this action! Anyway as long as they are doing something about it.

I'm sure d girls r all pregnant by now. Don't even want to imagine wat d r goin tru or exposed to. Infections STDs even AIDs from those dirty idiots. Scary scary thoughts

U no get sense o,make boko haram pipu rape u abyhow,go na,who stop u?

fabulous. price said...

Linda biko!! She is an Oscar winning Actress not a nominee, she won for her role in LES MESERABLE. So u better correct dat mistake, anyway i love this babe, keep up the gud work

u wish u were among d girls dat we dnt even know their wellbeing now. we dnt know hw dey re fairing or anytin else............. How cud u wish ur enermy such let alone urself????? wat kindof fame do u tink those girls av now dats makng u wish to be like dem?We gat no picture of dem, No name..... Wat re U really tinking??????? May GOD help uuu. OR maybe u re just looking for publicity on Lindas blog. U want pple to comment under ur name nd am sure u re gonna get it...

Godblessher.......bringbackourgirls

#epiphany#

Thanks for your surport # bring back our girls. Point of correction!! 5% of Nigerian girls going to school, that's in correction we do not expect that.

Fight who? Where? Ehn you that you're in Nigeria go and fight now.
At least they're standing and protesting, its the fighting part I'm pondering over

Oluwadamilola said...

Huh? Girl u crazy to wish for something like that.. careful what you wish for coz you just might Gerrit all.

She just fall my hands with 5percent who r able to seek an education. In Nigeria? Naaaa!!!! I still love her though! Tnx alot

Good job, but i believe that what we would hear in future is aclaimed/assumed abducted girls.

Where is those foolish tribalists saying no girl is missing? It is illogical thinking to believe that all these protests are staged. Nigerians, be wise and awake your leaders to rise up to their responsibilities. Chai#daris God oo

Lol! For once you're on the same page with Onyx Godwin. Happy for you both.

-El'dickulous...

Grammar!! Na by force? Dennis ko Dencia ni

Chuka said...

For Linda info she is an Oscar winner, tagging her Oscar nominated actress is inappropriate. Kudos to their effort.

After 26days of missing army has not rescue one girl. Hmmmmm. That is why I keep insisting that the pictures of these girls be released, who knows whether one of these girls is the new wife of my neighbour. But I will I know, I don't know them.

Am loving all this support we are getting. I pray God will make it fruitful. God bless them all, God bless Nigeria.

Will all this protest bring d gals bck? I ask

pwitie B said...

Fuminister d bleacher hv bin following ur comments pertaining to d missing chibok school girls u sef d use story gain popularity 4 Linda blog all cos of 100k u badmouth pips who are way above u hw dare u say dis issue makes d whole world stupid hv u ever thought of wat does poor girls may hv bin subjected to?maybe if ur sister,niece or even u lyk u rightly wished ur pathetic self were among d missing children,u wouldn't hv undermined d power of protest,it onli shows what u knw best is to bleach u dnt knw wat awareness means illiteracy runs in ur blood I see.

My dear...same feelings....but what ever it is let the grace of God almighty avail.

Jay said...

Anne Hathaway is an Oscar award winner and not a nominee. To those complaining about her inaccurate statistics,give her a break!!! At least she's campaigning for a cause that concerns us. Unlike our Nigerian celebrities who seem more interested in showing off their wealth through every available media channel.

Wow you are really STUPID. I feel bad for you truly

Wea our celebz..... Anyways d white folks r workin reali hard fr us,God bless dem more

Sylvonce said...

Awwww...God bless ur heart Anne! #BringBackOurGirls #ENDviolence

May God bless u. Infact we really need help.

kgramme said...

Pls ppl shuld stop all dis embarassment nd stop insultin our country Nigeria we r trying to rescue d girls dis is what bono haram members want the disgrace on d country so other country can pity us for lack of security we don't want any morw protests concerning #bringbackourgirls any more we r trying to bring dem back Jonathan is trying out forces r all trying. Pls ooooo Americans don't protest for us anymore stop insulting nd disgracing our beloved country Nigeria.

Enough of this madness..
It is not just #bring back our girls. BH bringing back or releasing the girls is not a solution.
Lasting Solution should be #ARREST BOKO HARAM. Thats the root cause of all this wahala. Otherwise we will be running round in circles like a dog chasing its tail.

See stupidity persona talkin nonsense oo...if u av notin sensible to say.,sharrrap!...,funmumusta like u....,**sevantex**

Dencia is a pathetic breaching ambassador! Smh.

U sound like a learner. Will outsiders be the ones to start ur protests and agitation for the girls to be brought back? For almost 2weeks, ur Govt was silent and decided, and it took well spirited Nigerians like Oby Ezekwesili(?) to raise awareness about these missing girls before it was brought to the attention of the world.

World wide....

Chidimma said...

Awwww! Am so touched. God please bring these girls back. Thank u so much Anne and tanks to all the international community for lending a voice. #bringbackourgirls

We wont live in fear...no!!..we wont hide our faces in despair...no!!...ur guns and bombs..dont scare us..for we knw we'r not at ur mercy..you parade urselves as lords of darkness..u sold ur souls to the evil dat has nw consumed u...see wat uve bcm...walking shadows of hells fierce demons...hidding under a masquerade of religion...you dance to ur music of death...but knw dis...we'rnt dismayed...for on this rock..HE has built HIS church and the gates has nt and will not prevail against it...ur songs will still come to an end...and ur dance...wid be a dance of shame...GOD has risen to judge the cries of the children uve held in your captivity..#GODwillbringbckourgirls#spreadthewordPROJECTHOPE#..KAY.CAN.TALK#

DownUnder said...

Nna so u sef see the fallacy? 5% Nigerian girls indeed. Anyways, the most important thing is to secure the girls safely.

Holy Guy said...

Either we are still slaves or still thinking like slaves, where are all our celebrities who when they talk we listen for them to champion issues like these, the only time you can get them to gather is when they need grant from Aso rock or when they gather to fight over how they will share the grant from govt

#Nogirlsaremissing

#NoGirlsAreMissing

God bless them all..... #bringbackourgirls

@Anonymous 3:59 AM, she didn't say 5% in the north. She says " these Nigerian girls are 5% who are able to seek education." And that is absolutely false. I know many people worship white celebrities and everything they do is gold. But I'd still like it better if they report the truth sometimes. You may not see it, but this statistics is very important.

When your country keeps no records, no statistics, conflicting figures even if u find? I'm sure she is speaking on what she saw on some blog of website. In that aspect I can't blame her.

#wasteoftime!
#cryingmorethantheberived!
Tell me, how women are protesting in Sokoto? Katsina? Kano? Gigawa? Taraba? Gombe? Niger? Kaduna?

Ijeoma okoli.... Lol@neighbour... U are right

Jess said...

Anne Hathaway: What do we want?
Me: Your pretty white lace blouse!

Bimbo said...

Nice initiatives. Good to know our stars have also followed suit today, finally.
But we must never forget that the struggle is not only about the girls. They are the focus and the immediate desire, but the ultimate goal without which the recovery of the girls would be vain is the discovery and subjection to judicial process of the master minders of this whole insurgency. By that I do not mean just the terorists, but the big boys and girls who are right in our midst and causing so much pain to us.
It is also time to revisit the several situations that have allowed Boko Haram to surface: principally structures of corruption, mediocrity in governance and non-performance. Boko Haram came up because these aformentioned conditions were available, and definitely favourable for the growth of such terrorist groups.
We would have failed if we merely save these girls. We would still be far from uhuru
bimbo
http://bimboamole.org/

Maybe na when they kidnap ur children u go rephrase that ur statement #mtcheeew #shm #bringbackourgirls #jare

Thank u all for ur support

IH said...

Has nobody else noticed the '5%'??? I love Anne but please more than 5% of Nigerian girls get an education. Thanks for the effort anyway #BringBackOurGirls

Yes my county, as you put it, keeps record. And she should know better. Instead of looking at blog for information, she should check her source. This is typical Hollywood bullshit. They gotta over-dramatize and exerggerate certain information. Even you too should familiarize yourself with ' my country's statistics. A little f.o.c and f.y.I, Nigeria has the highest number of graduates in Africa. Now what you do with that information is entirely up to you. Thank me later...or not. Makes no difference to me. Buh-bye!