Parents, school principal say no girl was rescued in Chibok | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 April 2014

Parents, school principal say no girl was rescued in Chibok

Yesterday evening we all heard the happy news that over a hundred secondary school girls abducted on Monday evening at Government Girls Secondary School Chibok had been freed by the military. But unfortunately this information is not true.

Parents of the missing girls, the principal of the school and Borno state governor told reporters this morning that the military lied about the rescue operation as the girls were still missing.

Below is what the principal of the school, Mrs Asabe Kwambura, told Premium Times this morning:
"There is nothing in the military statement that is true about our abducted girls. Up till now we are still waiting and praying for the safe return of the students; all I know is that we have only 14 of them, and the security people especially the Vigilante and the well meaning volunteers of Gwoza are still out searching for them. The military people too are in the bush searching. So we have not received any information that they have gotten the students yet. So let it be clear that all the information passed on the media by the military concerning 107 girls is not true. I, as the principal did not tell any body any figure on released students other than what our Governor, His Excellency Kashim Shettima had informed the media.” Continue...
Borno state Governor, ashim Shettima told the BBC Hausa service this morning that only 14 girls had escaped
“We have recovered 14 of the girls and we have announced a N50 million reward for any credible information that will help us get our girls released and rejoined with their families.” 
Military spokesperson Major General Chris Olukolade, had issued a statement yesterday claiming that over 100 abducted girls had been freed and only 8 were missing. But when contacted again, Olukayode said it was the principal of the school who told the military that only eight girls were now missing.

The Principal defended herself by saying;
"I told them that I don’t want to be seen to be contradicting myself on that because what the governor said was what we know about; and I told them there may be additional rescue of the girls, but up to this moment we have not received any of them apart from what we had before.What the governor said is still the true picture of the whole issue and that information given by the military is totally wrong.”

79 comments:

Y did they lie mitcheew #bright bravo#

see wahala. wat kind of fake news was dat yday?. like i said,nollywood movie. may God help the girls sha

*to the military*Is it all for self glorification or what?Just spoilt my mood.oohh poor girls.

What is going on in this country? Who is deceiving who? in the words of femi kuti "I sorry sorry o, I sorry for Nigeria"

In a situation like this there is always a propaganda

Nawao at this juncture u begin to wonder how organised our whole approach at combating this insurgency is,when the smallest of all information's comesout confusing.
Its a pity

May God help the girls

Adedayo Renewable... Contact me for your solar system and waste to energy said...

Don't know who or what to believe anymore. Please, God save this nation.

I said it those monkeys are lying!! Lord av mercy

Can you imagine dat

God!!!!!! What's going on in this country!

Some people playing politics with peoples lives.

Dis military dem de fuckup sha can una de lie with una sef una nor rescue any of dis gals dem una cum media de fool una sef pple dey talk yesterday dis military if de lie see de true don cum out nah shame on to de military I'm very disappointed on dem.Hiss..Steadyman Say So

I lost in d whole gist now. How many missing,rescue and abducted? Can someone explain better.

May God save us in this country.

I had my reservation when I read the news here of their rescue.A lot is going on with the khaki boys that Nigerians are not privy to.The millitary in a bid to retain their credibility can do anything to bulshit the people.Right from the day this insurgency started,there have been hide and seek in the army's press releases.I won't say much but time will blow all of their gimmicks and all that is hidden will be made known.I only pity the low ranking soldiers whose lives are in their mouth each time they face the BH.

This country Nigeria is turning to something else

The northern leaders shoulp please come together as one to address the state of the nation.why do I have a feeling that this whole thing was staged/planned in the first place. #prayfornaija#

And their point exactly is?
Smh

Hmmmm no be small thing oo, which one we go believe now! The number is even confusing! Today 200 tomorrow 103 now 108, abeg all we need is the girls back safely no b number!

And de tink lying to us about it will solve dis prob......naija I hail thee!

This country has turned into something else.

See o, dey wanted to lie dey didn't even say a small figure...a whole hundred...

Which way Nigeria?which kind tin be this?God deliver us oh

I said it,in the first post, everything looked fishy,u can't deceive me. All this is nollywood movie they are acting for us.nigerians are so dumb, u people believe everything, that's why ur pastors are rich billionaire, nigerians are very ignorant

God unto ur hands we commit dos innocent guls pls let dem return bk safy as for dos militries nd fake news hmmm

Politics has crept into this issue also. Must we play politics with every thing? Principal of the school now rely on information given by the Governor on her adopted students. Na wao!

SO HOW ARE WE SURE THE MILITARY IS NOT AIDING THE BOKO HARRAM??!! HA!!!!! NIGERIA IS IN TROUBLE!

This is the same country we are supposed to help?! They can't even tell a bloody truth to save their lives talk more of the lives of citizen. They should be fired the lot of them who made that disclosure yesterday.

Tamuno said...

50million reward? They should interrogate that governor, he knows something....

So who is fooling who

OTUNBA said...

Useless country 9ja army na wa 4 dem oooo

I think the military spokesman should be fired. #Nigerianarmysucks

Nigeria is a failed country,

A̶̲̥̅♏ Crying about what I jst heard now why all dis nonsense govt have Ï„̅☺ do some thing abt it B4 the give dis girls HIV that's all I know. Happy by name

No doubt, this people have been playing with our minds this whole time....

Ds country is confused

Naija

My Lord hav mercy.

hmmmmm this military should know more about this girls abduction. if they can release false news like that.

confused nation! How can u say 100 people were rescused when u did not confirm. Btw, u r the military spokesman!

Sylvonce said...

As in ehn! When we were all getting all excited. God just keep dem all safe and hopefully prevent them frm rape, Amen!

Abeg may una stop this hide n seek game

Even d Military is losing their credibility! Haaaaa! Dat feeling u get wen d western world looks so down on us'

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

The question now is:......Who com be LIAR? Who should i believe or should I just BLANK?

And no one has been fired, no one is being fired, no one will be fired. Stupid president managing stupid pple.

Nigeria can never fight BH until we ask for international help, BH will continue to terrorise our country. Let me ask does it mean dat UN can not come for our help? After so many international mission Nigeria have helped in fighting as UN member. With loss of life and reources. Why they can't help Nigeria fight BH?

This our country sha na only God fit save us

Sylvonce said...

As in ehn! Omg! Just wen we were getting all excited and nw dis?? God pls keep them safe

D president is busy campaigning 4 2015 elections,governors are busy sweeping d president outta their states,d military are busy telling lies,boko haram is busy bombing and d people are d only collateral damage in all of ds chaos called Nigeria!kai which way Jehovah?

Who is deceiving who?

What is going on this country, oh God serve us all.

Julietta said...

D major problem we are facing in dis our country is our leaders, boko haram is just primary issue. How can our leaders b so deceitful??? I'm almost going insane with d kind of things dat happens in dis country. For heaven sake we are talking ant human lives here! First dey lied abt d exact no of abducted girls saying its 103 (Linda's blog), BBC stated dat d no is upto 200, same thing with abuja's bombing! Where are we really heading to??? D soldiers wud say dey killed 500 bh members 2day, 2moro dey wud tell us dat 1000 bh members has attacked another village, dem no dey finish, abegi who is fooling who???

Man Of God said...

could it be that the girls are rescued by the military BUT yet to be handed over to their Parents/Principal OR we are about witnessing anoda episode of missing in action! God help us o

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Whose report shall we believe? We shall believe in the report of The Lord.. Ok God take absolute control..

As in ehn, maybe na movie we dey watch....which kin parole be dis sef,what's really wrong with this country.
Nnaa ehn,I don taya for dis pple sef....and to top it all,The World has gone crazy....change ur tv channel,sad news every where #SadFace#
Jennipukka

The principal iz even incoherent.

Nawa oooo,wey I be don dey happy.

TWO said...

Yes ooo my brother I have the same feeling too. Staged/planned too.

Which of these stories is true for goodness sakes???

VivianBanks said...

Am just tired of this whole insurgency happening in our country, where do we go from here?

God bless Nigeria my country..

uju said...

Supported

Is d Governor d new principal of d school? Dat lady n d Governor shud b questioned. Dnt undastnd dz her "wat d Governor said is wat we know abt". Sheey na she n d Governor dey do principal work ne? Dey shuddnt play politics wt doz gals' lifes

Pls wat r they using d girls for biko. The ones kidnapped d last time have they been found?

I strongly suspect this governor. He sounds like he knows a lot more than hes letting out. Only time will tell.

Oh! God please help my Country.

So boko haram nolonger want to get to heaven b4 having their virgins? I heard that there is no more virgins in heaven, is it true?

sure boy said...

Is d govt faking information as a strategy 2 confuse nigerians or d abductors? Still wondering

Between d gvnmt and the school principal who is suppose to gv the exact figure of the abducted girls and d numbers that if returned? Y can't she tell Nigerians Wht exactly happened instead of referring to Wht d governor said..... .....this is rubbish,they are Nt telling us the truth

Confidential idiot said...

Chaiiii dis girls pussy go don hear am hut from dis Boko boys..3 to 5 some tin

What nonsense!!
Mate!!!!! I will not be surprised if some ppl in the government are even part of the sect!
Awon oniranu
Arrrgghhh

The issue of bokoharam cannot but be traced to the military in the country among other factors. Since the inception of democracy in the country, a lot might have not been going alright within the military not forgetting the fact that there was negotiation, deliberation and agreement before military decided to give democracy space, it didn't just happen by chance. Military has benefited more than ever from the crisis most especially the generals. A lot of confession has been made how they found some soldiers training BHaram, General Azazi wanted to talk but he was killed, when Jonathan got to know about this conspiracy, he said there is BH in his government, he was warned and started to play along, Al-Mustapha was released as ordered by the big wings in the military, Politicians don't want military back and are not ready to die so they continue to dance to their tune.

pretty pee said...

anon 11: 20 UN will only come wen Nigerians call for them our leaders will give them permission to come to our rescue, Nigerians army's, going to UN to fight they call for it but our leaders are feeling reluctant about the issue.

Nigeria a new face of terrror, wen they finish from the north, boko haram mission move to the south and west, with their powerful backup they would burn down half of Nigeria, this massage is from the underground Rat. A spy who love Nigerians, run, run, the terror is here starting from the northern sky as the wind blows it spreads right in ur own face, 2015 no one would live to tell the story, don't cry for me Ngerians u know I would never leave u I'll keep my promise

The news making the round says the girls have been released. Now we here otherwise that they have nit been released. What are we to believe?

That fool should be sacked! Instead of searching for the students, they anoounced they had found them. These are the boko haram sponsors deceiving Nigerians. If the media did not follow up, everyone would have believed the story while these girls suffer at the hands of their captors. I hate this country more each day. Animals!

Nkem said...

Anon 2.34pm your conspiracy theory is worrisome. Hope your story is not true oh.

My dear, these youngies dey kp attacking, 4wat? Wen dey knw whr 2attack abi I shd spell it out?