US Government seize home belonging to Alamieyeseigha in Maryland | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 June 2013

US Government seize home belonging to Alamieyeseigha in Maryland

The US government has seized a Rockville home belonging to former Bayelsa governor, Diepreye Alamieyeseigha, the U.S. Department of Justice said in a news release last week Friday May 31.

Feds said they seized the home because the former governor bought the house using stolen state money. Alamieyeseigha was ordered to relinquish the $700,000 home on May 24, following an investigation by U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement.
Fedederal prosecutors claim Alamieyeseigha bought the Rockville property during his first term as governor “with funds obtained through corruption, abuse of office, money laundering and other violations of Nigerian and U.S. law.”

According to ICE, the title to the property was transferred to a shell corporation controlled by Alamieyeseigha.
Citing federal prosecutors, The Wall Street Journal reported Friday that Alamieyeseigha bought $8 million in properties around the globe with bribes he received while he was governor.
Alamieyeseigha, WSJ reported, denied the charges and offered a very different account than the Justice Department of how the house came into his possession. The article cites a 2011 affidavit in which Alamieyeseigha stated:
“I am not unaware of the monkey politics that is played in third world countries like Nigeria with the active connivance of over zealous individuals, agencies and government parastals (sic) touting themselves as global ethics compliance monitors. The civil forfeiture action which was brought against the defendant property in a quest to score cheap points as the global watchdog should be dismissed.”
Read The Wall Street Journal’s story here.
In a news release, Acting Assistant Attorney General Mythili Raman said the seizure was made possible through DOJ’s Kleptocracy Initiative.
“Foreign officials who think they can use the United States as a stash-house are sorely mistaken,” Raman said in the news release.
Alamieyeseigha pleaded guilty to money laundering and other charges in 2007 - two years after he was impeached - and was sentenced to two years in prison, The Gazette reported. He was pardoned by Nigeria’s president in March.

SOURCE

86 comments:

Clz said...

Its about time!

mystic said...

Why are these people so cruel..eh?
God my these idiaaaatssss never go free. Wealth doesn't even fit his self. Mtcheeeeewwww!

Nice one US! At least show Nigeria how to deal with corrupt politicians, here in Nigeria we celebrate our leaders cupidity!

I don't sympathize with him. Onye oshi mmuo.#Long hiss#

very good!

they will be stealing our money and buying houses abroad. enriching themselves while the masses suffer and a majority homeless.

See the U.S fighting crime and corruption by leaders while our very own President is granting same criminal presidential pardon.

Good! very good!

way to go. wished others like him will suffer same fate.

GEJ see your pardoned criminal.....u can run but you can't hide.

Dental news said...

Will be money be returned to federal government of Nigeria?
Pls we need it,I have many patients that can't afford treatment ,pls help the needy.

Jonah do you see y sef,America dey do your work.Idiot.

I throway salute give US government

Doing what EFCC couldn't do

Carry on!

kunle said...

Good move, i don't know why Gej didn't seize all this man properties. He must be a thief as well. He act like such--------aid and abetting.

discover secrets to losing some weight and eating healthy

Hahahaha (in a malificient voice) there is no peace for the wicked, they never go unpunished, do they?

ASA said...

The US Government is more corrupt just like their counterparts in other parts of the Western world. When this money was stolen and used to invest in their countries, they never questioned it. They only find ways to confiscate stolen Nigerian wealth and monies to build on their economy that is undergoing recession. Why can't they send the monies back to Nigeria if they are not interest in it? It is the same thing that happens in the UK and Switzerland. African leaders steal their countries' monies and transfer it to accounts in these countries. When these leaders are nabbed for corruption, these so called Western governments confiscate these monies and turn it to their own wealth. Yet they start preaching against corruption. Was it not through the connivance of some of the banks in their countries that these African leaders succeed in transferring stolen money to their countries?
NONSENSE. CORRUPT AFRICAN LEADERS, MAKE UNA LEARN OOOOO

If the nigerian govt cant do their jobs others will do it for them. A disgrace of a country plundering national property

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Haha! I trust the US. They don't take rubbish! Good job lads!!

Yet he was pardoned by our clueless Pre-siddon-look, Jonah. That's why Nigeria will not move forward period!!!

GEJ's brother...

GREAT NEWS!

Opeedo said...

This is a story of hunting shadows ,,,....... Pls click HERE for hot naijagist

Nw dats a country dt has zero tolerance for corruption!
De shld b kind enuf to dash me d house sha, am a very responsible nigerian. :-)

Jonathan you better go and tell them the monkey government you run have granted him pardon and as such they should return the house back to your criminal mentor. yeye jona . The CEO of criminals

Raylah said...

Shame! Goodluck Jonathan is jst an embarassing he-goat... Falling our country's hand for nth... Smh

Na wa o, we wey he steal our money we dey pardon him while dem wey no b their moni dey still confiscate his property kai naija na wa o again

wemimo said...

Well we know is stolen money from d nigeria acc...and he paid for d haus with d money...will dy refund naija d money? Or dash us d haus. .

June said...

Serves him Right..#Nemesis is a bitch!

iphie said...

good move.

Narutobase said...

Next pls

moneymoney said...

He has money. Let him buy another apartment. #Rubbish#.

U.S government seizing a home in nigeria! :o
World power or what..?
Can the palestine or iraqi government seize a home in Dallas..?

with all the money he embezzled na rockville he dey buy house, cant even go buy house for mitchellville, bowie or make he proud make he go protomac he disappointed me menh

What is doing dis U.S people sef? Don't they know we have pardoned him? He is our son and we have forgiven him for his 'philantropic' gestures in the Niger Delta. They had better keep the money cos if they send it back here we will just hand it over back to him.

soon we shall hear about "I had no shoes"awon to fi Biro gbewiri...

Why should they return the money to NIgeria? If you guys were so interested in the money, Our judiciary should have done the hard work. Now you are all expecting others to work and give the proceeds to lazy asses sitting on their backsides, afterall this same guy is a free man in Nigeria.

BABAA said...

de seizure won't affect him, since he has been pardoned, der is more money to steal, more bribes to be taken, more inflated contract money to be diverted, more foreign countries where he can disguise himself as a woman and enter to go and build his graveyard, den at de end of de day, his generation will suffer. VANITY UPON VANITY,

they should sell the house and use the money for something very useful in bayelsa state like a repairing schools, building of clinics and etc.

Its Potomac o

BABAA said...

annon 11:39pm. Don't just comment 4 commenting sake, go through de story line b/4 u say what u dnt know

Shameless Leaders, good 4 him

Leo said...

Linda, for your attention... "US Government seizes (not SEIZE) home belonging to Alamieyeseigha in Maryland"

MYRAYA SAYS said...

Good!!!! Its been a long time coming...
MYRAYA

Eyaa illitrate ode! Go do ur research b4 coming to a blog to show ur ignorance, they don't keep d money but send it back to the country where it was stolen from. Wawa kawai

Maryland is in US. Thank me later!

with all the money he embezzled na rockville he dey buy house, cant even go buy house for mitchellville, bowie or make he proud make he go protomac he disappointed me menh

June 5, 2013 at 11:42 PM

Your clearly have no idea of real estate values in Rockville.....educate your selfmbeforemyou open your ignorant mouth.

You compare Mitchellville, Bowie to. Rockville......I dey laugh at your low class knowledge

Money Laundering

Money laundering generally refers to financial transactions in which criminals, including terrorist organizations, attempt to disguise the proceeds, sources or nature of their illicit activities. Money laundering facilitates a broad range of serious underlying criminal offenses and ultimately threatens the integrity of the financial system.

The United States Department of the Treasury is fully dedicated to combating all aspects of money laundering at home and abroad, through the mission of the Office of Terrorism and Financial Intelligence (TFI). TFI utilizes the Department's many assets - including a diverse range of legal authorities, core financial expertise, operational resources, and expansive relationships with the private sector, interagency and international communities - to identify and attack money laundering vulnerabilities and networks across the domestic and international financial systems."
Money Laundering through the Football Sector-07/20/2009
Best Practices Paper On Special Recommendation III-06/30/2009
Vulnerabilities of Casinos and Gaming Sector-03/01/2009
Risk-Based Approach – Guidance for Casinos-10/23/2008
Risk-Based Approach – Guidance for Legal Professionals-10/23/2008
Best Practices Paper on Trade-based Money Laundering-06/20/2008
Risk-Based Approach – Guidance for Accountants-06/17/2008
Terrorist Financing-02/29/2008
2007 National Money Laundering Strategy-05/03/2007
New Payment Methods-10/13/2006
Trade-based Money Laundering-06/23/2006
U.S. Money Laundering Threat Assessment-01/11/2006
U.S. Money Laundering Threat Assessment Fact Sheet-01/11/2006

Select an Office within Terrorism and Financial Intelligence (optional)

Terrorism and Financial Intelligence

Treasury Executive Office for Asset Forfeiture
​The Treasury Executive Office for Asset Forfeiture (TEOAF) administers the Treasury Forfeiture Fund (TFF). The TFF is the receipt account for deposit of non-tax forfeitures made pursuant to laws enforced or administered by it participating Treasury and Department of Homeland Security agencies. The Fund was established in 1992 as the successor to what was then the Customs Forfeiture Fund. The TFF participating agencies are:

Internal Revenue Service Criminal Investigations Division (IRS-CI), U.S. Department of the Treasury;
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), Department of Homeland Security;
U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP), Department of Homeland Security;
U.S. Secret Service (USSS), Department of Homeland Security;
U.S. Coast Guard, Department of Homeland Security.
The TFF is a special fund. Special funds are federal fund collections that are earmarked by law for a specific purpose. The enabling legislation for TFF (Title 31 U.S.C. 9703) defines those purposes for which Treasury forfeiture revenue may be used. In addition to the agencies listed above, the funds can be allocated to other law enforcement entities that do not have forfeiture authority, such as financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN), Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC), and Tax and Trade Bureau.

As the administrator for the TFF, TEOAF performs the following functions:
Promotes the use of proceeds from asset forfeitures to fund programs and activities aimed at disrupting criminal enterprises and enhancing forfeiture capabilities;
Manages TFF revenues to cover the cost of asset forfeiture program;
Promotes financial stability and vitality of the Fund;
Identifies and addresses program risks.
Mission
Resources
Contacts
The Mission of the Treasury Forfeiture Fund (TFF) is to affirmatively influence the consistent and strategic use of asset forfeiture by participating agencies to disrupt and dismantle criminal enterprises.

So that small ugly house costs $700,000. Even with stolen money you can't buy yourself a decent property? Shame on you!

Wow! Your level of illiteracy is overwhelming, go do your research properly before yarning stuffs you don't know.

Na our money he thief oh! No be America money so make them transfer the house or it's equivalent

Check dis out guys,it's fr real
http://Money4Refer.com/index.php?refcode=21848

Mumu, maryland is in USA. Gosh, u re very local.

So JONA hv failed again?
Let him pardon his oga in crime the second time... SHAME!

Alams don't worry let US continue to seize your properties; Jonathan will continue to grant you state pardon. And by the way start compilling the $ and £ worth of all your properties seized all over the world as your brother is currently thinking of amnesty for you ALONE to compenciate you.

Milly..u look familiar
r u one of Onwa s daughter in law

But eemmm, US Govt, na our money for Naija naw... So do fast send our cash back to us, or which kind confiscate be dis!? Help us make e no enter your pocket o... #frownface

That house is the picture is definitely not $700,000.

PowehNg said...

Too long, learn how to summarize. Meanwhile what has your country done to stop this corrupt practices. Pardon right?

PowehNg said...

Too long, learn how to summarize. Meanwhile what has your country done to stop this corrupt practices. Pardon right?

@BLOGLORD- good of you to enlighten us that the ex governor is a thief but it is really because of readers like you that Nigeria is in a big mess in the first place- you prefer to curse leaders by tapping your fingers on a screen but you are not prepared to do the dirty job of matching out on a protest movement that could wake up young people, the poor and the unemployed. Do you hold your leaders to account?

@ASA: A fool and his money are soon parted. I am very sure that the western nations did not beg the African 'leaders' to steal their people's commonwealth and invest in obodo oyinbo. Western countries and even the eastern ones tend to take care of their own and protect their interests. While, we stupid black African nations tend to hate ourselves, steal from ourselves and carry our own wealth to go and enrich other countries and people. So, do not blame the oyinbos for looking out for themselves and watching us as we continue playing the fool. UNTIL we learn to love and care for ourselves, no one will respect us.

Frankie De-Darkhorse said...

The U.S on their own are thieves, if they don't send down the money equivalent of that house to the Nigerian Government.

Why r ur dpS so vulgar n dirty all d time?
OMOTENIOLA

That is the way a country tha wants to fight corruption should behave. Kudoos to American Government!!! Pls America should still check more of his likes from Nigeria, they have killed they fellow citizens.

Obinna Jonathan said...

Kudos to the US government. I hope Maina is listening.

pretty T said...

ASA God bless you for that opinion!!!! very sound. nigerians can be so sentimental and easily carried away. who is US fooling?? when he bought the house dint they know it was stolen funds??they are seriously using this means to develop their country and even Ghana has started employing this forfeiture technique. if only Nigerians would wake up and have stricter laws concerning foreigners,instead they wine and dine them re:the lebanese terrorist guys. rubbish!!

Oluwadamilola said...

$8million yea??? And Salau stole 2.5million naira, naira oo, and he's been sentenced to 168 years imprisonment with hard labour being seven years for each count for a 24 count charge..
Nige fucking riaaaaaaa..

Sell the house and donate it to charity.

You are a joker.monkey dey work, baboon go chop

'What is doing dis U.S people sef? Don't they know we have pardoned him? He is our son and we have forgiven him for his 'philantropic' gestures in the Niger Delta. They had better keep the money cos if they send it back here we will just hand it over back to him.'

I want to believe the first half of that comment is tongue-in-cheek because who the hell is 'we' when you say 'we' have pardoned him? It's only GEJ that understands what he's doing inside Aso Rock. I pray he has a house in Somalia that their government can seize sef. Since our government is incompetent let every pure water government in the world show Nigeria how it's done *hiss*

Linda this is not a new story in this country, please lets hear of important people and forget about all this 419 people jorh!

This is one of the best news that I have ever read this month...What Nigeria cannot do, United State can do better!

e bonto said...

Our President shd make sure naija gvt collect d.noney worth of d propty period.

Anon 7:17AM how many assets una own govt don fit seize for una own country?

No mind the clueless ppl saying the US better return the money to Naija...you sit down on ur dirty asses and expect to reap what u didn't sow..as if its not the same steal they'll steal the money if its returned to Nigeria...nonsense

Double gbam!!...in fact I dash u jara, gbam!

Good fr him

Did they question him when he was bringing the money? Guess they were happy!If the USA are not partners in crime, they should return the money back to NIgeria.

they should go to dubai oooo!!!!! that is where the houses are!!!! these people ehn its only God that will punish them!!! politicians are devil incarnates. sadly they are a reflection of the average nigerian so even if they go will we have people of integrity to take over?

OLEEEEEEEEEE..BARAWOOOOOO

Talking trash...rockville is very elite neighbourhood o...bowie ke??

ok we get it dey have seized th property. R dey returning the money for the purchase to us in Nigeria or what? A lot of questions really, who will take ownership of the house? would dey sell the house and give us back our money. Don't let anyone come here and 'bobo' us o that they are watching out for us.

Pls sell the property and use the proceeds to develop the already developed United State of America.....Cos the said bible said for therefore shall a man leaves his Father's House(Nigeria)and be cling to his wife(America).....and spend the rest of his life....I'm coming over to the US soon....don't belong here..how can a convicted suddenly become a free man...

The worth of the house should be returned back to Nigeria bcos if they seize it, it makes no difference

Everybody tryna talk like they know shit...protomac ko...ode

Only him? others nko?

Nope