Container truck crushes man to death in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 June 2013

Container truck crushes man to death in Lagos

According to a report by Punch, a heavy loaded 40-foot container fell on a government meat van yesterday June 6th, crushing a passerby and wounding several others. The sad event took place at Ikeja Along Bus Stop on Lagos-Abeokuta Expressway in Lagos.

Eyewitnesses said the truck had swerved off the road to avoid colliding with some policemen, who were chasing a motorcycle rider, before the incident occurred around 9am.

The victim, identified as Samuel Ogunnaike, was an employee of a popular phone dealer in Computer Village, Ikeja, and was on his way to the office when he met his death. Any hope that he could survive the accident was dashed after he was trapped for about four hours before his body was retrieved from the wreckage. (Punch)

67 comments:

oh my God! sob,sob...

Jeez! Look at this! How sad! RIP to him.

Candy Briggs said...

Oh my world!..May his hustling soul rest in peace!

D real problem re d idiots in uniform who call demselves police men, haba dey cross d road wtout looking n people just av 2 use deir brakes. 2 what end I ask. Now dis. Dey shld teach dis idiots in black some manners

June said...

OMG! This is sad RIP Mr. Samuel

MYRAYA SAYS said...

OMG!!!!! Rily sad... Bad news everyday... I dread dese container trucks.. RIP
MYRAYA

When Romance Is Gone said...

Lagos state govt should come up with some stringent regulations for big vehicles.May the dead RIP.

Lagos state needs to do something about these container thingy,it's becoming a weekly thing.i think they sud hv a time to ply the roads ,since they are becoming a menace to the society.

So sad....may god help us

bitchplis said...

It should have crushed those stupid policemen...so so sad.

Wat a sad news,may his soul rest in prfct peace.

Amaka Amalu said...

Nawooooooh!dis one na ultimely death! May God alimighty grant him eternal rest, amen.

Anna said...

Oh God!! This is so sad, may his soul RIP

yhujii said...

RIP dear...ife n'eme n'obodo

Samuel was my branch manager @d office till his death dat morning on his way 2work... We can't hold our tears, he's such a nice n calm fellow, very determined and focused...we love u boss but GOD Loves u most.. Rest in perfect peace. Amen

Omg!*tears* RIP

datsharpguy said...

Too bad

God keep guiding and protecting us oooooo

nobody kwns his time

ahhhh

@abtme2012 said...

God dey.
overzealous law enforcement officers at work again.
He shld have crushed those police officers instead. Why are they not running after politicians with such seriousness?

shaggy said...

Yday's was crazy,I felt like carrying my car on my head and trek home.I think d govt shld stop dis reckless container drivers 4rm ploughing our roads during day and plough @ nite cos wit dis we wudnt have causlties.and dis stupid olopas am sure dey wudnt wait,dem go don run wit their bend bend shoes.longest hissss

Crying!!! So so sad.

DOCTOR FIBROID

Chaaii, Samuel aka Belle my surest manager,friend,adviser,down 2earth,die a mysterious death, all caused by police men chasing Okada...GoD wil avenge ur death Sir! RIP

Police Again!!!

What a pity,may his soul RIP

Nigeria police again? Nawa o

OMG!very sad. RIP bro

God help us in Nigeria

May his soul rest in peace

May God comfort his family. Containers falling off trucks and killing innocent Nigerians is becoming a recurring problem. Should the containers not be properly secured on the trucks?

wemimo said...

Hmmm ds life ehn...

I think too many people die from our inability to treat emergencies as emergencies. Even after having had an accident such as this, many people have survived because someone was quick to get to them and see what the situation really was.
Look at the recent container crash accident that involved 3 zenith staff members. The lady was rescued because she was conscious enough to call for help. What if one or both the other guys were just unconscious but alive?
I pray God helps us....every life is a treasure, and worth more.
God rest his soul.

Rest in peace samuel

I Think they should sack those police on duty that they may be that will teach them a lesson,look at what police caused at ilorin last 2 weeks. Then government should stop the container driver during the day.

cofellow.com said...

May his sould rest in peace. "Re-posted" on cofellow.com

So sad.this man wakedup like all of us.nt knwing his mr dealth is waiting 4 him on his way.chie!may his rest in d Lord.

Lord have mercy on his soul.so sad

Really in tears!I still saw him last saturday.we were together in a party.samuel aka belle,u should have said dat was the last time.*crying*RIP

Deemez said...

I support your view 100%, d prob is the fools in black & where is our emergency response team, if its western country, dey wud be on ground within minutes, imagine, 4 hours!

shaggy said...

Linda post my 1st comment ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

*crying* too sad

For how long would we continue like dis in dis country! Siezing bikes seems to be more important than lives now in 9ja dis idiots in black wud go 2 any length 2steal 1bike....Fashola God is watchin u on 3D camera......may the soul of this young man RIP

O̲̣̣̥ÏŒ̲̣̣̣̥ø̲̣̣̥ọ̥h̶̲̥̅̊ God,this is bad,May his soul rest I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ peace...☹☹☹

Samuel Ogunnike aka Belle as he was fondly called by his friends and colleagues was no stranger to many,to some he was a colleague,a friend,to his family a father,a husband,a brother. To me he was a mentor,an advicer,but most of all a role model who's life style influenced me and those around him. I learnt the ethics of hardwork and loyalty from him despite working for a company who's staff welfare is nothing to write home about.
But like he said about nine days to his death on his face book page "Lord go with me this week and bless my going out and coming in' and a day to his death "I have learnt to stop complaining to God but I thank by the seconds for everything I face".
I celebrate life of a Legend,one of his kind in his lifetime. Your legacy will forever live on. Samuel Ogunnike will will forever live on.

Its rather unfurtunate, that an innocent soul had to pay for the greed and insensitityof our police men...r.I.p samuel .

jahbasini said...

Men na wa o, those containers on trucks , I don complain tire, I dey dread dem for road pass any thing, and evry day these keeps on reoccuring with out any one calling the container owners to order, don't put container on a flat bodied truck, and not properly tie it up and expect the container not to fall#rip bro samuel#its the life we living#anotti elele

The accident affected almost all corp members who passed out yesterday we all treked frm ikeja to cement bus stp it was really bad my body is srzly arching me. May der gentle soul rest in peace

How many more of such news do we have to hear everyday people dying mysteriously oh no heart breaking lord consol the family

Stupid police men...dt made me waka frm ikeja along to nysc camp for my pop...may his soul RIP

Oh my God! Not Again!

Chaii I saw dis it waz terrible very very it made 2 treck 4rom bolande oshodi 2 ipaja cos we passed out yesterday.it is terrible

Ijay said...

So so sad. May his soul Rest In Peace and may God give his family the fortitude to bear the loss.

DADDYSWIFE said...

May his soul Rest in The Bossom of Thy Lord

I really pity this country called Nigeria.

There are reported cases of containers falling off and killing people on a daily basis. Why cant there be a law to enforce the secure fastening of all containers to the trucks? Is it not commonsensical to make ensure such heavy load has little chance of falling over?

Where are the simplest things so hard to achieve in Nigeria?

Sad end

RIP bros,serious something should be done abt des heavy duty trucks plying the roads during the day! Such a painful way 2 die!!

Chris@Human hair said...

OMG...may his soul rest in peace. This truck should have time to operate.

VICTOR EKEANYANWU said...

Who is to blame now? Is it the Government who banned Okada on that road, or the Policemen who use sledgehammers to kill houseflies (by using excessive force to chase Okadamen so they can cease their bikes and may be collect money from them), or the Okadaman who have refused to obey the law probably because they have families to feed, or the passengers who keep patronising them on that route probably because of the lack of patience for the mad traffic on that road, or the trailer driver who was trying to make way for the number 1 breakers of the law or flouters of traffic laws (the police) and who have refused to properly use harness and guys to secure there containers on the trucks, or is it the poor youngman who has paid with his life for something he knows nothing about (God Rest his Soul) or the other wounded victims (God grant them quick recovery). I have stopped apportioning total blames to the government. The orientation of our people is bad. Even if the government fixes everything in this country, we may still not get it right as a people. The young man is a victim of a failed society and some of us do not know how bad things have got until (God Forbid) such things happen around us. May we and our loved ones never be sacrificial lambs and victims of failure Amen.

RIP Bro.

Eyaaa...may God grant his soul eternal rest

sydney said...

May GOD in Heaven purnish those policemen for killing my Oga Samuel.....

It wil neva b wel wt dem!! AMEN!

he was the best and staff friendly manager in my organisation!!

this man saved my job only last month< and is always there to calm tins down.. he has neva for once , gotten angry even wen u get him to boiling point!!

Oga Belle, i cant believe ur gone , just a few hours ago < i reported ur boys to u @ the office and u took very good care of the situation----next tin, ur dead!!

I am here in ur office, stil hoping u wil come and "yab" me and my kids...sob!

we love u bt God loves u most!
R..I...P BOSS!

Hmmmmm, slot! Slot! Slot! #lips sealed# may his soul rest in peace

Most of the container companies don't clamp the container to the lorry base, making it very unstable, especially when the roads are not even flat.
Please Lagos State govt. and LASTMA should enforce stricter regulations for lorreis.
Lorry lanes should be clearly marked on roads... the list goes on. We need to organise ourselves to avoid more accidents. RIP

Aryah said...

Ok. So who is to blame now? The driver who swereved to avoid the police? Or the police who were pursuing the okada man. Or the okada man who instigated the pursuit.
Who do we hold responsible for this man's death?