Nigerian cab driver shot dead in Washington DC | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 June 2013

Nigerian cab driver shot dead in Washington DC

57 year old cab driver Solomon James Okoroh (pictured above) was shot dead around 3am yesterday morning Tuesday June 4th in the 2400 block of Ontario Road, Adams Morgan, by two men who tried to rob him while riding in his cab, according to DC police.

The murder of Okoroh unfolded right in front of police, who took off after the suspects and chased them down under heavy gunfire.

Police say Solomon Okoroh was murdered around 3:15 a.m. Tuesday after picking up two men in his cab. Officers working a robbery detail in the neighborhood saw the cab in distress and then heard the gunshot before it crashed into a sign and parking meter near Ontario and Kalorama Roads.
The two suspects bailed out and got into a running gun battle with officers. Police caught one of them in the street, but the other tried to hide in a nearby apartment.

"There were 20 shots fired at them, 20 shots," said Jim Graham, (D-Ward 1) the D.C. councilmember who represents this part of the city. "The tragedy is horrible, but the remarkable thing is the police were right here."
Police caught and arrested both suspects. One of them, 32-year old Ercell Overton, is charged with first-degree murder, felony assault on a police officer and burglary. The other suspect, 24-year old Joshua King, is being held on an unrelated probation violation.
"What happened was there was an apparent robbery of a cab driver that led to the murder of that cab driver," Graham said explaining the apparent motive.
Okoroh had driven for Classic Cab Company for about 15 years. The company says he had a wife and five children. He was more than a cabbie to them, he was a friend.
"I tell you, all cab drivers are scared for this to happen, because say for $10 or $15 fee, not justified to die," said Chamroeum Muy at Classic Cab.
Those who knew Okoroh said he had been warned about the dangers, but wasn't one to discriminate.
"This is very terrible because he is one of the few guys that he will not pass anybody. He stops for everyone, he stops for anyone," said Evelyn Ruiz.
She last saw him Saturday when he came by Classic Cab to pick up his insurance card as he did every week.
Okoroh lived in Glenarden, Md. He leaves behind a wife and five children. His son, Prince, plays basketball at Howard University.

A friend read a statement from the family saying in part, "We are saddened such a senseless act took the precious life of Mr. Solomon Okoroh, a very spiritual man, a deacon that loves his church but more than that a family man that loves his family."

Police say the 57-year-old cabbie was shot in the shoulder and later died. Despite the heavy gunfire, neither the suspects nor police was hit.

Source: MYFOXDC

92 comments:

*Covers ear and close eyes*
am tired of saying RIP.
Why now??????????????????????????? death everywhere, every fucking day.
oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
*squeezing my face*

Rip!

May his soul rest in peace.

MAY GOD HELP US. MAY HE CONTINUE TO GUIDE US.

Danz said...

Chei...may his soul RIP, Amen!

Wonder what is happening to REAL english

How sad! RIP!

if naa white man die 4 9ja our president will give national speech lets c if obama will do d same. rip young man.

legendkid said...

so, sad may his soul rest in peace. Amen

May is soul R.I.P....oh God 4giv our sin death rate is jus 2much..pls pardon us and lead us 2 d rty path.

sad, bt y obodo oyibo?

So sad. RIP

@57 d man z stl a cab driver and am sure he travelled out in search of greener pastures,while d stupid politicians we hav here are busy eating all our money...seriously Dear God switch dis killn nw,u knw d hearts of men strt wt dis evil nd wocked politicians....may his gentle soul RIP...

Even in America!

Soo sad! RIP!

May he rest in peace, amen & may his family be comforted

Cherykoko said...

Choi, RIP Mr OKoro. All these thuglife, gangster, mobster and shii can like to stop already.

SIMPLE BABY said...

AMERIKA. sad way to go.RIP mr. Okoroh.

Ovoko said...

So sad! RIP!

Nekky Jay said...

Dis is sad. Chei

Too sad! Rest in peace! No one is safe! God I thank You for life

Amaka Amalu said...

♍Æ” dear! May u rest in d bossom ☺f̶̲̥̅̊ d almighty God! But,wait.ooo if na Nigeria person wey shot any American dem g come arrest am even if d person D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣? On top ☺f̶̲̥̅̊ d hospital bed.! Anyway, we will wait 2 hear d whole stories.

RIP MR OKOROH

May he RIP...mtcheeew very sad!

Asin ehhhhhh... Same hia oooo

Nilla said...

May his soul rest in peace!

Dont know wat to say to his family but let them continue to hold on-to God. Its well. OZ

anybody notice Nigeria's are the one getting in a whole lot of shit these days.... RIP

maybe his one of those dads that went to America to hustle to keep food on the table for his family. so sad

Hrm paul ojeih said...

life is so unfair i followed his story on cnn he was quite respected in his community his son is on sports scholarship in Howard he is a damn good basket ball player soon to be drafted i just hope he does well and helps his mum and sibs may the departed soul rest in peace

Worse things happen over here my friend America o

Such an unfair world... RIP sir.. And those that are saying even in obodo oyinbo...smh.. This things happen anywhere everywhere...

May God comfort his family. Lindooo post my comment o ehen ehen

Why would Obama give a speech? Its one of the random killings that occur everyday. And recently crime rates in the US has been on a staggering increase these past few weeks. RIP mr James

Shyla

Feel so bad abt d death of the innocent young man.

Austin said...

wow!!! Thats so bad. It almost makes me think it's delibrate. Nigerians out there should always be careful. Some people out there are racists..

Also check out my news blog, we give you updates from every news category, be it entertainment, sports, job vacancies, political etc.. http://elitenaija.net

Anna said...

So sad report, may his soul RIP.

Blackberry said...

Hehehee wocked? Relax darling anon.....if u were in power, u wud have eaten d so called money too.....cos if u don't play accordin to d rules, u wud b set up n suspended.....

Timothy said...

If he wasn't Nigerian this wont be news here. People die everyday many go unsung.

Linda are you sure his whole family have been notified? Make sure nobody is hearing about the death of a loved one for the first time on your blog. Be carfull now.

sorry

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Smh

Poor kids,may he rest in peace

He's a cab driver but he has a home, has been able to see his children through Uni, he's got food on the table everyday etc. that's the diff between Naija and yankee

RIP!where is †Ñ’ξ american dream

Well, this is what Naija brothers and sisters suffer here to send dollars to Nigeria.

Ehn ehn,dey don do their own now o,if nah 9jarian nw dem go call am terrorist. Obama I dey qait 4 ur speech o! •Estrano Lala

Wilsoniyke said...

Man's inhumanity to man,all equal to Vanity!

kunle said...

May his soul rest in peace.

Obama fit no hear self talkless. DC bad boys hmmm

AKATA BASTARD. Those bloody african americans in yankee are scum of the earth. They are a disgrace to the black race. Always doing the dumbest stupidest schit. What did they kill him for now. Igbo man sef. Was the money worth your life. Now you leave behind children and wife to be depressed and sad over your demise

very sad. Glad they caught them. A lot of these murders go unsolved. He was a father of five so sad

RIP..may God accept your soul......THE DON

Yes not just in america... Everywhere. May hs soul rip.

Poor man trying to earn a living. May his soul rest in peace. Amen

RIP, earth doe!

Jade said...

May his soul RIP. Alas after all the strivings for a better tomorrow,tomorrow is never guaranteed.

GOD av mercy on dis generation. May his soul rest in peace. Amen

Dan

Dan

Dan

May his soul rest in peace...but one thing that you don't do is argue or try to fight these thugs cos they will waste you over a dollar. So sad!

Adeyinka said...

This is so sad, May he rest in peace.

Tears rolling down really sad

»kruiza« said...

RIP mr Okoroh. No place is safer... Even in America u can be murdered just lyk dat, dey should stop blacklisting other countries.... "He without sin should cast d first stone". God pls continue to protect us all

U r a big fool.... Senseless if u think all white ple who die here are noticed??? He wiill talk depending on the circumstances so just shut Ur mouth

B€£ said...

Rip

I wonda d amount of publicity we would ave xperienced had it been dat it was an american that died in naija..(Hen they'll start callin us terrorists

All for how much ehn? RIP sir. 15years working hard. God bless your sir. condolence to the family and friends of Mr Okoroh

Wow......too badt

RIP,its very saddened.

Its so unfortunate, rest in peace

Rest in peace bro

At least their police will still catch those robbers and charge them with 1st degree murder but in naija, na sorry they go dey tell him family, case closed!.

Na wao oh hmm RIP may God welcme ur soul Amen.

DIVA said...

STUPID ANONYMOUS COMMENTS!! WHO THE HELL ARE YOU TO JUDGE A MAN PROVIDING FOR HIS FAMILY BECAUSE HE IS A CAB DRIVER... YALL ARE SICK IN THE HEAD...FOOLISH LIB READERS.... IM DONE

Celebrity World said...

Rip

RIP Sir!

wemimo said...

Hmmmm Oluwa oh

Nekky said...

so sad. may his soul res in peace.

pretty T said...

at least he was making an honest living. the keyword being "HONEST" unlike some of you scumbags on this page opening your legs and those fucking theirs fellow men just to hammer!!! RIP man

Jay said...

So sad,RIP.

theodora said...

May his gentle soul rest in the bossom of the lord ....www.unn.edu.ng

May his gentle soul RIP.

~prodigy07~ said...

sad! so sad

e bonto said...

Oh my God,it is unfortunate and pathetic,may his gentle SOUL R,I.P

I swr O!he'd be richer dan some pple who wear suit to work everyday here in naija!

May His soul RIP. I know His family, his wife is very kind woman. May God console his Wife and entire family. Amen

Reejay said...

Nawa oooo and d children many oo hw their mumsy go do na... Rip sha

rest in peace

Though they call u a cab man but all what u have achieved is more than what they call u,my greatest joy is that u were up right and honest.we will miss u but God needs u most.rip uncle.love u,sleep on till we meet to part no more ijn

princess dee said...

Cab drivers earn well in the US.But a lot of educated Nigerians work as professionals these days.Gone are those days Nigs abroad were doing odd jobs. May the soul of the departed rest in peace.