Real reason Kunle Afolayan was dropped as a Glo ambassador | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 6 June 2013

Real reason Kunle Afolayan was dropped as a Glo ambassador

Kinda a petty reason, but it's the truth. The prolific movie director and actor was dropped as a Glo ambassador a few months ago because of Saka. Yes, Saka the actor and new MTN ambassador. Real name Afiz Ayetoro.

According to what I gathered, Kunle Afolayan was booted out when Globacom found out that one of the main characters in his Phone Swap movie (which was sponsored by Globacom) was Saka, an Etisalat face for many of their brands, at the time. (Before he ported to MTN )

Prior to him being dropped as an ambassador, Kunle had a smooth relationship with the company and did not go against any terms in his contract and was really shocked at his termination. Thing is, Kunle had been working on his movie long before he was approached to be a Glo ambassador.

Globacom sponsored the movie and when it eventually came out and they saw Saka in it, that was it!

66 comments:

tyronne said...

Kunle afolayan, u can't bite the finger that feeds you. Omo na big dulling o , make Glo comot for you matter, aniwais , your movies good production , good pictures . Anoda door will open man.

Awww! dats fate for you.
one man's fortune results to anothers misfortune.

That's why endorsement deals are very dicey.You stick to the terms of the agreement to the latter.

I don PORT ooo!!!

Gbam

Davido,Sinarambo....I see u B-red.

Kunle needs to read the documents he signed and speak to a lawyer if there is a lawsuit awaiting Glo.

if he doesnt, these big guns ll think they can get away with murder

When d movie comot and when Saka port..??
I don't think that's the main reason jor..there's more to it..
Moreover the movie was shot using GLO Office at Mike Adenuga Towers or maybe another branch as one of its locations..

@sheikh_alazeez

This, to me doesn't add up at all... You need to confirm from your source or whr ever you getting your bits from.... E nor make sense at all...

Globacom can really be very funny..I have worked as a staff for 4 years now and i can authritavely say ЪŦ d company is d most terrible company anybody can be in..D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ treat people like piece of trash..I'm only dere still cos i don't have a choice..

Make Money Online Nigeria said...

Good for him joor

Na dem sabi!!!

Very Petty reason, I hope the movie becomes a mega hit so they can learn to think business first and forget petty grudges before they make another mistake.

Jumyk said...

Oga O°˚˚˚O°˚˚˚°! See politics Απϑ beefing

This globacom boss must be crazy.....kunle forge ahead joo.to hell wth globacom ambassador title

Agbede Omoniyi said...

But that is madness, so just because he use Saka in his movie he hv to be dropped as their ambassador.

Seriously??

Ron

Aphrodite said...

Rubbish! Silly Network, so dey want to be Casting 4 him nw? Wat a Petty excuse indeed! ┌П┐ (•͡_ •͡┌П┐ Dey shud all tk several rides on dt! Nuffin do u jare Kunle! Phone swap, one of my best Naija movie...

If its true...what pettiness

my guy move on jare all dis endorsement wey dem take dey contro una like say una b baby shmmm....1 way close another open. linlin love pls post my com

Saka don cos wahala make him too port to MTN now

Mitchell said...

What's dia beef with Saka? He did not port 4rm dia network now. But it seems all d oda networks r beefing mtn 4 dis advertising coup. Check out airtel's porting ad. Smh. Its just business ppl. As long as dey dint do anything illegal. Get over it!

that is called conflict of interest. reason is not bad at all

Like seriously? Shallow minded ppl I must say

Well, Kunle should have known better.

WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP; SO GLO CAN BE THIS MEAN NAWA OH

Lol! Business gone sour!

Kunle is a bloody liar, he shot the film while he was an ambassador and refused to show it to the Man until 2 days to the premier. And he was asked if he wasn't the one dat produced phone swap and saw Afiz in it what brand will come his mind, Kunle himself confirmed he would think Etisalat! The man asked him to edit it and he didn't! He wasn't asked to refund the over 11 million naira given to him by glo. And he wasn't asked to refund his contract money too. He's a bloody hypocrite.

i dont believe dat story, dere is more 2 it, maybe dere was a breach in the terms of contract, or someone was lookin 4 kunle"s downfall, i must say he really represented glo. kunle more brand products 2 come

"Kinda a"? are you serious? your misplaced choice of words are becoming more ridiculous by the day! :D fix up please.

wats wrong wit Glo. i guess thrs room for career progress. d fact dt Saka was featured in d movie doesnt mean dey cnt do biznex in future. Glo stop beefing

Na wa o!

9jadeltapikin.. said...

Naijadeltapikin.. Abegggg make glo go sit down joooor afterall saka ws use in d movie b4 kunle got the deal S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ y making noise abggg mke dem go rest jare

Just that, that really petty so meaning don't mess wit adenuga ℓǎ̜̣̍U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅ђº¤°`ƠU̶̲̥̅̊Tº¤°`ℓƠU̶̲̥̅̊D̶̲̥̅̊

Haa na waaa ooooo!!! Innocent boy, I pity him. And the saka self na products prostitute wey just dey port here and there, see how he just carry him own yangi come kobalise anoda person wey carry oil..

Gallant Babe said...

so unfair , lindy post ma comment oooo

kunle said...

What Saka did really hurt Glo, how about Etisalat and the decision Glo took to cancel his contract is not his fault from the news. Anyway, any competitive firm can do that----Loyalty to a brand key. Hope MTN remain loyal to the man because i wonder after MTN, which other big GSM firm will hire Saka in this country. Besides, Mr Kunle might still be useful in future. Good luck, truly love his works. A great role model.

discover secrets to losing some weight and eating healthy

Wasn't dat movie released long b4 saka ported? Don't understand d beef

Bt true true diz saka man don really spoil em show for telecoms companies.Etisalat will neva use him again for betrayin der trust let alone glo. I hop MTN pays him enough for all dz beef he has caused

JayDizzle said...

I wouldn't be surprised if I see an Ad. One day with SAKA dragging Kunle along as he ports to MTN...Hehehehe,.. #RunsAway

ykay said...

Afiz ayetoro or oyetoro....all join !!!

People, the issue here is not Saka porting to MTN abeg. The issue is that Saka has always been the face of Etisalat and so when GLO sponsors and finances a movie, they expect to see actors who are identified with their own brand and not another. Anybody watching that film, particularly with a title relating to phones would have seen Saka and automatically assumed that some sort of financing or sponsorship came from Etisalat. So in conclusion, from a corporate affairs/PR executive point of view, Kunle did wrong.

@Anonymous 3.40pm: well said.Kunle was very wrong to have featured Saka in a movie sponsored by Glo ,knowing fully well that Saka was the brand face for Etisalat. I would have also recommended that his contract be terminated.

I doubt very much the veracity of this story...

Ebukah Emmanuel Nzeji said...

I am not suprised. It's very paramount that when signing contracts, one must be very wary and circumspect inorder to prevent being shortchanged. Mr Afolayan's case is perhaps a result of his attorney's failure to do the aforementioned. Do follow me on twitter via the handle: @Ebukahnzeji

MYRAYA SAYS said...

To me,,dese r flimsy excuses... Well,,one lesson learnt..*Watch ur 2day,,,it might affect ur 2moro* Am sure now hez regretting using Saka for d movie....
MYRAYA

Linda u luk so much like mo abudu

He was just an "ambassador" or whatever...glo is not obligated to keep him if they don't want to

Rubynnia said...

Let MTN take him up!
Se fini!

whispernaija.com said...

That's very unfair of Glo ........
Pls click HERE for hot entertainment gist

Ofilispeaks.com said...

omg...did stupidity just port over to glo? wtf...how can you sponsor a movie and not know who the main actor is. Are they smoking ported weed?

Common sense suppose tell dis kunle guy sometin nah, if na me get glo sef I no go like am! Why not use other actors in glo pay roll? After all glo sponsored d movie. And I assume glo is paying so much on all d suppose ambassadors because glo need them to represent GLO and not any other! Dats all!

U don't only av a choice, u av choices..... ur problem is complacency

I'd expect this from MTN, not GLO! Very petty

when signing contracts or terms of agreement, one really has to be veryyyyy careful not to breach.

When man closes the door God Opens a window kunle did not do anytin wrong its just show business.God will do something better for him

Ur english sha....smh

LaFerrari said...

So because Messi goes for ADIDAS and FcBarcelona for NIKE then he should be remove from Been A Barca player or what? ....

@tyronne can't u read?he made d movie way before he became a glo ambassador.dnt b so quick to judge or comment.

Wats wrong wt GLO. Anyways dnt even lyk d ntwk b4 sef.

theodora said...

life goes on even at that

raza_khulna said...

Very Petty reason, I hope the movie becomes a mega hit so they can learn to think business first and forget petty grudges before they make another mistake. He is remy hair man

Bollywood Masala in hindi said...

your best to be grateful. Although everything can seem meaningless after a large disappointment, cultivating gratitude for what you have will help to relieve the pain of your loss. Thanks