Michael Douglas denies remarks about oral sex causing his cancer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 June 2013

Michael Douglas denies remarks about oral sex causing his cancer

68 year old Hollywood actor, Michael Douglas has denied that he said his throat cancer was caused by oral sex. The actor's rep Allen Burry told the Associated Press that Michael was talking about the causes of the type of cancer he had, but not the cause of his cancer specifically.

Douglas was said to have made the remarks during an interview with The Guardian, who say they stand firmly by the quote, and that Michael was not misrepresented in any way.

The Guardian then published the audio of the interview, and the transcript of the comment. Below is the Q & A between Michael Douglas and The Guardian film writer, Xan Brooks.
Brooks: “Do you feel, in hindsight, that you overloaded your system? Overloaded your system with drugs, smoking, drink?”
Douglas: “No. No. Ah, without getting too specific, this particular cancer is caused by something called HPV, which actually comes about from cunnilingus.”
Sounds to me like he said it!

44 comments:

Is Michael Douglas shy of people referring to him as the man who caught a cancer from giving head? Lol! Because his statement clearly implies the fact that he referred to oral sex, HPV and all.

There's nothing wrong with being a "pervert" within legal limits ~Old Pervert proverb

He has knocked job for many people already,made me do some research on it and from what I saw no more Ishi Ewu for me.

Mtcheww all this celeb are crazy! Imagine Kim K wants to eat her own placenta after child birth in order to remain young Yuck!

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

all this stories now pisses me off..what do we get to believe cos every story is now turning into a lie...

His wife must have been sad ...so he decided to take his statement back...even the denial is still saying the same thing....he did not outright deny ..he still said is a cause of cancer....

jewel said...

He said it,. His denying ever saying it. That's not gonna change the fact.. Fact is oga mi u get am for throat cancer...go get cured or better still look for a healthy way to manage the disease and stay alive a lil while longer.
Not interested in this cheap publicity whether stunts or not..!.

Andy Dickson said...

Lady L, depends on how we understand it. Anyways, a message and lesson has been passed across.

His comments were the truth but Hollywood is a multi million dollar biz and the retraction came from a PR spokesperson I am guessing.

Imagine Hollywood actors refusing to do kissing scenes in movies? How much it would cost the industry? Even though, supposedly, this type of cancer can't be contracted through kissing?

At least he has brought about awareness.

Happy Licky LIcky and be careful of your sticky sticky y'all.

Adeniyi oluwaseyi said...

Tht's very bad

David Awunor said...

Looks like he can't stand being called "Man who got cancer from oral sex" his denial is just an excuse.

☺Hë•⌣•hë•⌣•Hë•⌣•hë .... People and misconception... But anyways as dat is wat is d cause of dat type of cancer den it must av been d cause of his own too naa.. Abi he got his own frm using bad toothpaste?

Michael Douglas! He still has "Dog 'L' Arse" on his mind, brain and thin lips. Hell knows how many "Bushes," " deserts" and "Rivers" his thin lips have "Navigated!" One can even see the little smile in his eyes from all the memories of his various "Expeditions" and "Explorations."

He need to take it easy though. On this side of town some people aren't too surprised because, allegedly... I will keep the rest of the gist!

I am not ITK but remember a LIBER said some Naija work in tinseltown? Damn right and we know where and when to zip it up.

Stay richer all of you and for all of you who click on here today, may God provide a beautiful surprise for you all, Amen.

You are a hot mess! Lol! Heads ahoy!

I know givin head doznt cause any cancer..I'll kip it up#wink#

Opeedo said...

♓ε's a liar jor...... ...... Pls click HERE for hot naijagist

Blackberry said...

Funny enof how many pple in Nigeria hav got throat cancer naa...hahahahahaa soo many pple giv heads still throat cancer is not rampant.....my man n I will continue wit our 69......if u n ur partner are HPV free then there is nothin to fear.....

Lol!rwl dis guy u r just crazy

He didt know it will go dat way. Big word = big meaning. All d same u get am,abi u nor get am. If nt 4 mr Douglas, I don't know HPV. So d deal has been done, and thank u linda ikeji. So pple stop licking licking of d " u know" n stop blow blow .

IMO...he didn't say so (technically)...because he opened his statement by saying..."without getting too specific...." this, to me, means he is not referring to his own case specifically but was talking generally...i rest my case!...*big smile*...

Damage Control but its not even working rather its giving him in the more...

Hmmmm kim K want to eat her own placenta for her to remain young after child birth, naa waah oooh I never hear dis one before she for eat her unborn child naaa winchi

Of course he said it.

IkwerreBoy said...

whatever but I'm glad they've been able to use this medium to enlighten the public.

Lili Nwa always be sure before u post ooooo lol

James said...

Research actually proves it. Oral sex on someone with the Human PapillomaVirus could get you cancer but HEY! Keep being defiant and stubborn, refusing to accept the truth. Don't let facts get in your way, Linda. Just ignorantly go on.

By the way, HPV can cause cervical cancer in women so go on with your "I don't believe" attitude ;-)

He did not say it. He qualified his statement by saying, "without being specific this particular cancer is......" Guardian, in its bid to publish sensational headlines, deliberately misinterpreted him. Very typical of junk journalism!

MD meant there was no way he could narrow down the cause of his cancer. No doctor can say specifically the cause of any type of cancer.

He's only said that his type of cancer is believed to be mostly caused by HPV

MADAM DON VEX..MAYBE THREATENING DIVORCE...

Exactly!

na wa o.pple like to cover up for their faw.Perverse generation.God design every parts of our body for a specific purpose.this is the result of abuse of purpose.He that have ear let him hear ooo

bitchplis said...

Ahhh!!! Ogechi is back...

That he said that does not mean that he himself got it from oral sex.

Moral of the story ... Don't eat pussy anyhow .... However know that oral sex is not the only way you get this type of cancer...

sexyboocalher said...

10Q!!! Al ds oda I must comment by4c sayn rubbish**mschewwwww**

The man no wan gree say he use mouth wash dirty plate!

Jade said...

Linda,pls tell ur fellow celebs to always consult their PR before they post things on social networks(eg Beyonce) or grant interviews. I mean if they are going to retract or flat out deny why bother in the first place. We the fans have accepted that with our celebs its all PR and no real personalities these days so pls before u celebs fart or cough let alone speak,consult ur PR cos u are beginning to look like dumbos.

Dental news said...

Whatever the man claims ,the fact still remains that oral and oropharyngeal cancer can be caused by HPV infection a common sexually transmitted disease however HPV is not the only predisposing factor (the right words to use instead of cause ) to oral cancer.other causes include heavy smoking and alcoholism with genetics being the most important factor.
HPV has also been implicated in other benign lesions like the genital and oral warts.
For more info visit www.dentistng.com

The recording of this interview has been released. He said it. I think his wife is probably appalled because she will be stigmatized. People will naturally presume she got it from him, although he coulda had it years before meeting her. Now she will be directed to the special toilet in people's homes. HE did a strong thing coming out with this revelation. Many of our young people say things like because of AIDS, we now do oral. Oral is no different. If you have abrasions in your mouth from say hot tea, you can get infected with anything on the dick or pussy. Worse still, if you have a herpes breakout around your mouth, you cannot hide it and its frigging nasty to look at. Its better hidden under layers of clothing. Look before you lick. In fact, do not lick at all.

Also, this means no more pecks on the cheeks or kisses for his wife in movies...... wahala which has dollar signs!! He is under duress to retract his statement but he should be strongly patted on the back for saying what many hide from even their spouses!!

oree said...

I am so so angry now with Lindiway, with so much cold and rain lastnite, my husband refused to give me a good head becos he read this shit here. I have told him that we go for HPV test. Babe I can't live for long without a daily dose of a head. You wan kill person? Don't you know a good daily dose will make your day stress free? Aaaarrrrgggghhhhhh

Am guessing his wife wasn't happy with the statement and he wanna save his ass...hahahahajaj

LBM said...

Abeg u get sense jare...it doesn't even have to be ur opinion that is the fact....allow the retards to express their ignorance

theodora said...

That one is his own cup of coffee....www.unn.edu.ng

So...bitch..pls#

Bobby E said...

chill its not dt simple.. if dt excerpt is from the interview, its ambiguous in the sense that it doesn't completely rule out that he said its the general cause of d cancer and not his.. he said and i quote 'without getting too specific, this particular cancer is caused by something called HPV, which actually comes about from cunnilingus.' in other words generally, this kind of cancer (of the mouth) is caused by something called HPV. and not The cancer i had was caused by HPV..(two different meanings)