Satellite images of Baga shows massive destruction from military raid | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 1 May 2013

Satellite images of Baga shows massive destruction from military raid

Satellite images released yesterday by Human Right Watch reveal massive destruction of homes from a military raid on the town of Baga in Borno State on Tuesday and Wednesday April 16 and 17, 2013. At least 180 people were killed in the raid.

Baga residents told Human Rights Watch that soldiers ransacked the town after Boko Haram members attacked a military patrol, killing a soldier. Community leaders said that immediately after the attack they counted 2,000 burned homes and 183 bodies. Satellite images of the town analyzed by Human Rights Watch corroborate these accounts and identify 2,275 destroyed buildings, the vast majority likely residences, with another 125 severely damaged.

You guys need to see the satellite images. Check on it HERE

48 comments:

Wow. God have mercy!

still wondering how this menace will be curtailed.
They've rufused to dialogue with the govt,and when they're confronted innocent civilians suffer.

How appalling of a country we live in. Boko Haram on one end are a ruthless menace and our soldiers on the other end are incompetently wasting innocent lives too. SMH!

Nigeria wat a country.....

its a pity.so so sad.

Queros said...

Na mumu dae wori our security agencies,wen oyibo dae find terrorist 4 boston,hw many houses dem burn...? i mst leav ds contri weda devil lyk am or nt...babash!

Ok Nigeria is officially a failed state.

This is inaccurate!
The images are displayed with different resolution... the 'recent' image has gaussian noise applied to it, thus making it uniformly distorted, and creating a false sense of destruction.
Be aware!

RI said...

Over 500 people lost their lives here,I stay in maid.the press always takes out wrong information for the public.

Lord please heal our land.

Sayo said...

JESUS!!! M stil shakn

Good fish the lunatics out! Infact I doubt there is any such thing as collateral damage here cuz everyone in that village supports the demons!

1 soldier equals t0 1,000 boko harams and their supporters

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda you might not like what am about saying but i will say it non the less its a pity that over 180 lives were lost and houses burnt but can we compare this number to the thousand of Christians that boko haram attacks has consumed.BOKO HARAM has killed well over thousands of Nigerians most of their targets are innocent southerners easterners and other ethnic Nigerians that are not from the north the Nigeria military did not set out to destroy and decimate that area thru had reliable information from Nasa and credible in tell report that bokomites were in that area we should not forget that this is war on terror and collateral damage is always expected especially during such raid boko haram has killed thousands in their dastard attacks on Christians now 18o is gone and they are screaming let them see how painful it is the areas that the military target as bokjo enclave should be brought down to rubles civilians that feel that they are innocent should vacate that area and let the military continue their onslaught no mercy for boko haram members
enough is enough they have turned the north to wild wild west the military should intensify their campaign let them roll out all their arsenals into borno state after all they did the same thing in Niger delta i agree that innocent life's will be lost but let us look at it from the patriotic point of view they are casualties in the war to make Nigeria united once a while innocent blood will be spilled to keep our flag of nationality and sovereignty flying may the dead rest in peace no peace for boko haram and their families

Is this how to do military intelligence. however one wonders why human rights watch doesn't do the same When islamist fundamentalist do the same. Surely someone in that region must have camera phone to take photos and show what is on ground. Naija is finished.

Stop the lie there aint up to 2000 homes in baga, northern Nigeria isn't this even mapped out, have they got a GRA in Baga?

Lollybee said...

We seriously need divine intervention.Lord help us.pitiable scenario...

Shaken from what???? Tut tut! I beg park well joo, long hisssSsssssss. As for u Linda stick with gossip, just a piece of advice

I am not moved one bit,cos everybody in dat village knws dis boko harams and thy have refused to fish them out,gud for them,let them also have a feel of it.

God help my country

obikwelu ibeh said...

And jonathan says we v 2 live wit it.obviously dis govt is sick,lackin ideas.

This is so sad and worrisome.

See Ђδω some mumu Nigerians Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥.......quick †Φ judge...if the military did not do their job, Ђδω would we live I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ peace?...imagine, this same indigene who cried foul Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ the same shielding Boko...be careful Ђδω u comment α̲̅πϑ use ur brain †Φ analyze situation before commenting!

Pls gt ur facts straight Paul. There re Christians in dt locality. D soldiErs did not gt info, they raided dt town cz they lost one soldier there just lk they did in Odi Community in Bayelsa. For d sake of 1 they re willing 2 tk many evn children. While in countries lk US 4 d sake of 1 ciVilian they would sacrifice everyth. The truth is we dnt value lives here

Paul ojeih, u hit it on the head. When hundreds were killed in a plateau village some years back, where was human right watch or what ever? Hypocrites

I can predict what Jonathans comment will be about this report, I'm sure he will say its another attempt to undermine his government, lets see how his estimates of 30 casualties plays out !

I have come to realise one thing in Nigeria, sentiment is what is killing us. How can we say mass killing of humans is justified? We lashed out at Obasanjo for taking down Odi and Saki biam when army sack the whole communities. Now 'Hrm Paul' is justifying the killing of 180 souls for not exposing BOKO HARAM members right??? How many thieves av u told police their hide out? How many questionable rich men have you reported to the police?If the combined team of Army n police in Lagos have done same to the community where two boko haram suspects were arrested recently at Ijora,what would people be saying by now? You people would have blamed the people too for not reporting them to the security operatives right? I wonder why God still allow some people to live by the way they think and measure up situations! Always measure situations as if it was you. The Baga community is a porous town of fish market where different people come to do business. Beg God to forgive you o,HRM,cos no human has the right to take another mans life. So for you to justify the killing of innocent souls as what serves them right is gullible.

LET THEM HAVE A FEEL OF WHAT THEY HAVE BEEN INFLICTING ON OTHERS

Raphael Anagbado Esq. said...

I do not believe this. When did Baga become so planned with streets in vertical and horizontal shapes that most parts of Lagos does not even have.

What I see look more like the 'Dogon yaro' trees to me than burnt houses. Moreover the trees are a common sight in Borno state.

The north is rili "Wild Wild West"

Lolest.
I feel sorry 4 d innocent 1ns
Most tyms dey don't xpose BH 4 fear of being killed.

God is the judge
Life goes on.

J.

People habouring terrorist are not innocent! D people provided their homes as hide out 2 boko haram,they shud've expected this too.

You are a wise thinker Jare all ds whites wanna do is cause comotions in our states

Kill dem, bring dem dwn, or show us boko haram. Army neva finish wit una. A tip of ice........... Our broda wey una dey point hand give boko haram mke dem go bomb nko, u see buhari said it blood 4 blood, n no pirce no pay. U price u must pay. Shikina! Shikina!! Shikina ooooo!!!

Blackberry said...

Dis is wat happens wen u harbour n hide terrorists, mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeewwwww....in Nigerdelta atleast we know d millitants by names......tom polo dem n d rest...but dese hausa Pple choose to hid their own....by the time all d houses r burnt u pple will xpose dem

Bucky said...

Yes!The military needs to crack down on these Islamic troublemakers!They need to feel the pain the families of these victims are feeling instead of keeping quiet and hiding evil...they are too shortsighted!

Na today?

CommonSense said...

Our military is something...I get rooting out Boko Haram, I really do, but killing civilians who are powerless to defend themselves is an egregious offense. When the military starts acting like terrorists it is hard to see who is right in this war.

May all the innocent souls lost rest in peace!

Charles Ahaoma said...

It's a pity if innocent lives were lost in the raid however; Baga is a small town of less than 2.5km sq where then did over 2,000 houses come from? All these aboki no get sense at all...

This is so sad. What value do we place on life? I've got an article on my blog that contrasts the Boston bombing response to the Baga massacre....very shameful.

I believe baga should be a village settlement. How many of us have tried looking at a satellite image from google map? It will definitely not show what Linda is posting here. Linda there is what is called 'rules of engagement', and our soldiers and well trained to know when to unleash. Please get your facts straight before posting.

I agree with u Jare...in d first instance, what is d population of baga? How many households are there? In many small towns especially in the north. With a -population between 5000-10000, the total households there may not be more than 1000. So,how did they come by this figure? These are all lies propagated; if they are serious, let them call their fanatical lunatics to order. Every life is precious, while its happening elsewhere, the "Human Rights Watch" will not be watching. They are whipping up sentiments. How did they come up with the figures? Let them tell us how they collected and collated their data. Smh

Dyu hav any better ideas? Mtcheeew....

Every life is precious.....tell Noko Haram to stop the killings.. Not justifying any killing.

Now, somebody is thinking

It's just a pity that it turned out like that for the people of baga community. Boko haram has killed thousands of innocent people. Pls don't blame the military, blame boko haram. If boko haram didn't attack soldiers in that community, that wouldn't have happened.

Look it doesn't matter what the white man is trying to depict..the fact remains that over 150ppl lost their lives!!!!!!!!!!!and hundreds of houses were destroyed. We r nt interested in your tech skill and analysis.they can show whatever they like...

And as for @anon 10:09pm the whites don't need to cause commotion in our states..if u read the papers more often u would knw that we(nigerians) are very capable of causing all the commotion to ourselves ,the 'whites' as u so ignorantly put it r jus throwing it right back on our faces.

kassim said...

Soldiers acted negatively.