Dark Skin Discolouration (Hyperpigmentation) by LaserDerm Clinics | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 May 2013

Dark Skin Discolouration (Hyperpigmentation) by LaserDerm Clinics

The colour of ones skin is mainly due to the amount of brown pigment melanin. This is produced within the skin in cells called melanocytes. The amount of melanin is determined by constitutional colour (white, brown or black skin) and the result of exposure to ultraviolet radiation (e.g Sun). 

Hyperpigmentation (dark patches) is a common, usually harmless condition in which patches of skin become darker in color than the normal surrounding skin. This darkening occurs when an excess of melanin, the brown pigment that produces normal skin colour, forms deposits in the skin. 

Hyperpigmentation is known to be associated with a number of skin conditions and diseases eg. Melasma (a skin condition more common in women and thought to be related to hormones as in pregnancy, use of combined contraceptives, HRT etc), Tinea (fungal infection usually in moist areas e.g. armpits, under breasts, groin etc) and a host of other medical conditions. Hyperpigmentation is also seen following injury to the skin or inflammation of the skin which leads to PIH.

Post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation (PIH) is a discolouration of the skin that occurs after there has been an insult to the skin and it has healed.

PIH can occur after the following skin infections, dermatitis, Acne, exposure to ultraviolet light(Sun), allergic reactions, reactions to medications, trauma etc. Sometimes no cause is found.

There are several ways to treat problems with hyperpigmentation, ranging from supervised use of topical products like Hydroquinone, tretinoin, azelaic acid, arbutine, liquorice, Kojic acid, to use of modern lasers, medical microdermabrasion, exfoliants and also regular use of sunscreen.

At Laserderm clinics, we cannot over emphasize the importance of individuals seeking advice of registered clinicians or dermatologist before embarking on any treatment for hyperpigmentation. We also hope to educate people on the risk of using creams sold on the open market for skin lightening/bleaching. Most do not know the concentration of toxic compounds in some of these creams including the 'mixed' creams bought in various outlets. The dangers associated with the use of some of these creams include blood cancers such as leukemia, liver and kidney cancer as well as other severe skin conditions like allergic dermatitis, ochronosis which is a skin condition which makes the skin to turn a dark purple shade.

60 comments:

sweet babe said...

Pls tell dem o. Lindiway post dis comment sharpely.

Is dis news,?? I sure say na only me go comment for dis one...xxx

Tonto Dikeh, Monalisa Chinda, Toke Makinwa e.t.c una don hear. Toh, a word is enough for the wise.

very important info..everybody is looking to be lighter without knowing the consequences.
visit nursebugz.blogspot.com

So how do u contact them?

skin on fire baby said...

Una don hear am

How can I reach them? Contct addy?

Now this is one Educative info.Kudos to U Linda.We need this kind of Constant Reminders.Dis issue of Bleaching cannot be over emphasized.

Like we don't know all theeeeseeee. Abegi!

So how do u contact them?

Girls that bleach digust me. Anytime I see them, I feel like throwing up especially this abuja runs girls and self proclaimed big girls. They smell like shit and they now do one kind of irritating make up that makes them look like masquerades.
My advice to the guys that are obsessed with light skinned girls, pls go for the girls that are naturally fair in complexion and not the ones that over bleach their skin. If you want to know if she is a natural, check her family members, at least one or two of them will be light skinned cos some guys are clueless when it comes to this kind of issue.

Thanks for dis educating info. I hop d black dat wants to turn white overnite will read dis

I too sabi!!! U don't know anything. Always appreciate useful info. If nt 4 urcef, atleast 4 odas

princessfummite said...

Hmmmmm, #word# bleachers in da house. Make una dey dere dey bleach well well, cancer knocks @ d door o, ma sheabutter still intact. Tonto d miss double coloured leg, beta hear o before u waste finish cos u don over bleach now so tey ur face don dey shrink.enuf said

What of their contacts? Mail, adress,or phone no

This article is about hyperpigmentation, its causes, and treatments. HOWEVER, all that most commentators saw was the word "bleaching" and that set them off. Nigerians are obsessed with bleaching whether it is the ones that bleach or those that hate them for bleaching. You people need Jesus.

Rukky sanda are u reading

No wonder, a guy actually said this to me, he said if u wanna know if a girl is naturally light-skinned, check her family, someone must be yellow, he said am not even as light skin as my sisters and mum

Rukky's own is extremely disgusting she is my neigb she is now turnin red.

Wuhahahaha, lol@ red. But I wanna ask o, i am very curious about monalisa chinda, did she bleach or is that naturally her skin?? Cuz she looks so yellow

Very insightful...thanks Linda for sharing! Pls will need their contact I've always had dark knuckles n armpit. It's becoming annoying cos I'm dark skinned but my knuckles are darker than my skin colour...don't wanna be mistaken for one who's attempted bleaching. Lol!

tara said...

educative info? u mean advert!

tara said...

ull have to be going into family tree be dat. my mom was wondering aloud last week as to why me n my young cousin r so fair. our great grandmom was very fair. my parents were fair too but lost it. so this ur conclusion may not be very true

tara said...

hope der prices wnt break a leg?

Linda, wey d address or phone number?

Enough said!please can someone recommend a good toning cream for me?....omo I need to brightening up oooo, weather u like it or not light Skinned girls r more attractive,and that's d KOKO.

I so love this comment.

TO THE PEOPLE THAT SAID IF YOU WANT TO KNOW IF SM1 IS NATURALLY FAIR, a family member of the person must be fair too. What FOOLISH theory is that?well my friend is naturally fair and her parents + siblings are DARK.Maybe she got her fairness frm her great grand parents. So cos u wnna knw if sm1 is 'NATURALLY FAIR', u go travel to grave go check her grand parents. *hiss* So pls stop saying uncertified facts oh.Linda pls post this

Both!

the address is:
no. 33 Akin Osiyemi Str off Allen Avenue Ikeja.or check out their website:
www.laserdermclinicsng.com

Wu be dah idiAt wey call Monalisa? Cnt u see she's almost an albino. Olodo oshi! U shud tell Tonto, Rukky n co n lv Monalisa. Mooooo

Me too...especially my knuckles

I disagree @both!she's naturally fair,if u c her 1on1 u'll b amazed,she looks like an oyinbo,tew lightskinned!n fresh too

Their consultation fee na 7k...called dem early dis year for my pimples..I had to pick race cos I b student ooo

I think I see their ad on the right side of this blog.

Grandparents are family members na!

@ the address ikeja things dey fear me.

Lollybee said...

Okay thanks 4 d addy.Can any1 offer advice.a friend of mine is light skinned n just moved tu a new environ only tu get there n ve tu cope wit tiny unseen flies dat usually bite her.wit dat she's now got dark spots on her legs n arms.r dey capable of dis too or is dere a home remedy?

Rubynnia said...

@10:54, you've got a point but what if that family member is no more or has become dark due to sun exposure?

I've seen couples who are dark skin and their children are light skin; what do you have to say about that?

TooLeggitToQuit said...

Drugs(antibiotics) induced my melasma (hyper-pigmentation), other triggers are also birth control pills, hormonal imbalance caused by abortion or pregnancy.
But as usual, LIBers would display their ignorance...if you see proper hyper-pigmentation una go see say no be bleaching...I had a boss at work that was as dark as Mercy Johnson with pigmentation issues (black spots as black as your keyboard)
and by the way, fellow sufferers out there should stay away from laser treatment, it just f*cks your skin up on a phenomenal scale....

Rubynnia said...

@10:54, you've got a point but what if that family member is no more or has become dark due to sun exposure?

I've seen couples who are dark skin and their children are light skin; what do you have to say about that?

great info thnks linda

Your analysis is baseless...Have you heard of recessive gene and its manifestation. Do a lil research on it, and thank me later.

Exactly!

If u wanna kw if a lady iS naturally fair, check her scalp(meemee).

This would cost me an arm and a leg!

Zaynab malik shoukd be your beauty of The day if that is really her picture... Mehn The girl is fine...

OGE said...

D highest bleacher i knw is frm a family of yellowness...lol, she's d only dark person cos she took aftr her dad n she wnts to be yellow by all means. So dis type if u check background,u ll b so fooled cos u ll tell her u r nt even as fair as ur brodas n mum. #My point,It doesn't work dat way

Am black and I love d skin am wearing, if it common? Go mkt go find am.**lol**

Self hating pig. You've been brainwashed to mi return. I'm sure white people are laughing their heads off

tonye said...

Bottom line: STOP BLEACHING!!!!

Pls I just need 2 knw wat 2 use 2 tone my skil a little lik d black americans, pls don't hate.

Ure mad!monalisa is naturally a light person,can u stop mentiong my name pls!

Toke

Bleaching dey reign nw

Bleaching does nothing but make u stink and get ur skin rinkle ealier than it should.So those of u that bleach get ready to look 40@30.

Monalisa is naturally light-skinned.

*Minxy* said...

Monalisa is naturally light in complexion. Get your facts right before you call people out.

*Minxy* said...

I feel the need to slap you with a dictionary right now. "Urcef", "odas" seriously???!

*Minxy* said...

Shame on you @ "light skinned girls are more attactive". You obviously are suffering from a condition called "self-hate".

Light and FAB said...

Truth is EVERYONE loves light skinned girls, that's why ALL Nigerian girls bleach. Look ever since i turned light skin, damn, tons and tons of male attention and bitchy jelous stars from girls. Girls coming up to me @ church, asking 'hi, nice skin, please what cream do you use?' 'wow neat girl'. etc.

Its so funny how in this world. everyone loves to drown in tales of liesssssss.

Guys would say they love their ladies natural, but they would NEVER approach a girl with no makeup and regular hair Vs 24 inch long lovely middle part Peruvian human hair.

You better get with the program before its to late.